Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    85
    Element4l is a "back to basics" of platform gaming. Brilliant.
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    80
    Element4l is a terrific game that is perfectly balanced in everything that it sets out to accomplish.
  3. Jun 5, 2013
    90
    Element4l is founded on solid mechanics, fresh gameplay, and a undeniable sense of style.
  4. PC Gamer
    Aug 16, 2013
    81
    Element4l knows what it wants to be, a new kind of platform game, and nails it with audacity. [Oct 2013, p.66]
  5. Jul 9, 2013
    88
    Element4l really surprised me. I was not expecting to find this much enjoyment out of what looked like just another platforming game that has been popping up in droves lately. For only $10 on Steam, Element4l will offer up a good challenge with some unique mechanics and presentation; not to mention a fantastic soundtrack. If you don’t mind a little trial and error, Element4l is a great purchase.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36
  1. Sep 26, 2015
    5
    At a first glance this seemed like a good idea. It's definitely original! I personally did not enjoy this game but it might have some appealAt a first glance this seemed like a good idea. It's definitely original! I personally did not enjoy this game but it might have some appeal to other kinds of people.

    Strangely enough, it reminds me of Dragon's Lair for the Sega CD. And I know exactly why. If you never played said game it works like this: you put the cd on and hit play, then a beautiful animation starts playing! cell shaded, Disney quality etc. That's no intro or cut-scene, that's the game. You have to press specific keys at specific moments to allow the movie to progress. It's a game 100% made of quick-time events, made before this term had been coined. And Element4l is exactly that under the hood; you have to press the correct key at the correct time, there's no margin for error and no flexibility at all. Which is a shame, I think the mechanics of this game really do allow for some open problem solving level design. Again, some people may enjoy this but, if they exist, I hope it's not because of the movie playing because Element4l doesn't have that part.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    This game is very challenging and level design looks great. Sometimes it gets too easy, but mostly it gets too damn hard. Actually, that´sThis game is very challenging and level design looks great. Sometimes it gets too easy, but mostly it gets too damn hard. Actually, that´s just good. It´s not classic game, but for those who really want to enjoy some challenges, this is your paradise. Full Review »
  3. gic
    Nov 28, 2013
    10
    An extremely original and challenging title.
    Absolutely beautiful graphics and soundtrack.
    Enjoyable mood. Two player co-op mode would be
    An extremely original and challenging title.
    Absolutely beautiful graphics and soundtrack.
    Enjoyable mood.
    Two player co-op mode would be an interesting addition.
    Full Review »