Element4l PC

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 26, 2015
    5
    At a first glance this seemed like a good idea. It's definitely original! I personally did not enjoy this game but it might have some appeal to other kinds of people.

    Strangely enough, it reminds me of Dragon's Lair for the Sega CD. And I know exactly why. If you never played said game it works like this: you put the cd on and hit play, then a beautiful animation starts playing! cell
    At a first glance this seemed like a good idea. It's definitely original! I personally did not enjoy this game but it might have some appeal to other kinds of people.

    Strangely enough, it reminds me of Dragon's Lair for the Sega CD. And I know exactly why. If you never played said game it works like this: you put the cd on and hit play, then a beautiful animation starts playing! cell shaded, Disney quality etc. That's no intro or cut-scene, that's the game. You have to press specific keys at specific moments to allow the movie to progress. It's a game 100% made of quick-time events, made before this term had been coined. And Element4l is exactly that under the hood; you have to press the correct key at the correct time, there's no margin for error and no flexibility at all. Which is a shame, I think the mechanics of this game really do allow for some open problem solving level design. Again, some people may enjoy this but, if they exist, I hope it's not because of the movie playing because Element4l doesn't have that part.
    Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    This game is very challenging and level design looks great. Sometimes it gets too easy, but mostly it gets too damn hard. Actually, that´s just good. It´s not classic game, but for those who really want to enjoy some challenges, this is your paradise.
  3. gic
    Nov 28, 2013
    10
    An extremely original and challenging title.
    Absolutely beautiful graphics and soundtrack.
    Enjoyable mood.
    Two player co-op mode would be an interesting addition.
  4. Nov 17, 2013
    7
    Element4l is an extremely hard "trial & error" game, very well refined but not for all the audience. The lovers of the genre will fall in love for it. VIRTUALINN.IT
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    An innovative and really interesting game, although there are a lot of incredibly hard parts. At least I have spent hundreds of attempts to pass a few places in this game. Not suitable for a choleric, unless they are an excellent gamer.
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    7
    They took such a simple idea and made it interesting. Solving puzzles by transforming into elements hardly sounds interesting at all... But trust me, it's pretty well done. A great casual indie title.
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    This game was a nice combination of puzzles and progress.

    This title is about denial. You play as an entity that has all four elements inside of it and can call forth any one of them at any time. However, you cannot move using the arrow keys. You can only move by becoming fire and leaping forward (as fire is want to do) then switching to ice to become a cube that slides across the
    This game was a nice combination of puzzles and progress.

    This title is about denial. You play as an entity that has all four elements inside of it and can call forth any one of them at any time. However, you cannot move using the arrow keys. You can only move by becoming fire and leaping forward (as fire is want to do) then switching to ice to become a cube that slides across the ground.

    In terms of pros, the puzzles are very creative, I enjoy the challenge of trying to work with the element-swapping game mechanic, and there's a little bit of replayability in that you may want to retry levels again later to see if you can beat your time or finish it without dying.

    In terms of cons, the graphics are nice but thematically bland. The game hints that there are enemies in the future, but it takes a long time for the story to develop to that point.

    Overall, there's a lot of fun to be had with this title and I encourage all of you to consider trying it out.
    Expand
  8. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    Very challenging. The gameplay was memorable and the level design was top notch. Warmly easy at certain points and dreadfully difficult at others. Although it was quite short, I enjoyed every minute of it.
  9. May 26, 2013
    9
    Element4l connects everything that's old school, classic, and fun, with something new, wonderful, and clever. From the visual beauty to the light and happy soundtrack, this game is a challenging joy that you will happily finish.
  10. May 26, 2013
    9
    Element4l connects everything that's old school, classic, and fun, with something new, wonderful, and clever. From the visual beauty to the light and happy soundtrack, this game is a challenging joy that you will happily finish.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    70
    By using the four elements you have to transit from one level to the other. This makes the game quite challenging, but also a bit repetitive. The beautiful soundtrack of the game saves the day.
  2. PC Gamer
    Aug 16, 2013
    81
    Element4l knows what it wants to be, a new kind of platform game, and nails it with audacity. [Oct 2013, p.66]
  3. Jul 9, 2013
    88
    Element4l really surprised me. I was not expecting to find this much enjoyment out of what looked like just another platforming game that has been popping up in droves lately. For only $10 on Steam, Element4l will offer up a good challenge with some unique mechanics and presentation; not to mention a fantastic soundtrack. If you don’t mind a little trial and error, Element4l is a great purchase.