Endless Space PC

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 486 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This galaxy is ancient, and its first intelligent life was the civilization we call the Endless. Long before our eyes gazed upon the stars they flew between them, though all that remains of this people is what we call Dust. A substance found scattered or in forgotten temples, it once gaveThis galaxy is ancient, and its first intelligent life was the civilization we call the Endless. Long before our eyes gazed upon the stars they flew between them, though all that remains of this people is what we call Dust. A substance found scattered or in forgotten temples, it once gave powers to admirals and galactic governors. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    90
    The highlight of the game by far is exploitation.
  2. Jul 5, 2012
    90
    I could honestly write a thousand words more on what makes Endless Space so much more addicting and absorbing than the bulk of its contemporaries. Visually, it's detailed and opulent where it needs to be, yet simple and clean everywhere else. It makes its voluminous level of complexity accessible with a terrific interface which affords a pace and ease of management that few other games in the genre can match. But I'm not going to write those thousand more words, folks. I've got a galaxy that's waiting to be conquered, one more time.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    83
    Master of Orion still retains its throne, but Endless Space with its enticing atmosphere and fluid gameplay is one of the best 4X games in recent years. [Sept 2012]
  4. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    A smart, polished and intelligent game of countless permutations. Its strength lies in how carefully and how cleverly it's balanced, as well as how it rewards all kinds of playing styles. We haven't seen a strategy game quite like this in a while.
  5. Jul 17, 2012
    80
    Endless Space smooths over a lot of the issues typical to 4x space, but it also bulldozes perhaps a bit much in the combat.
  6. Jul 13, 2012
    75
    It's a must for anyone looking to experience the genre for the first time; it's very newcomer friendly, but old hats might find it a bit wanting. Its longevity may also be increased by the multiplayer mode, but I personally don't have the patience for all these people who take far too long to take their turn. On the whole, it's more than worthy of your interest.
  7. 30
    It works but it's more of an "MS Excel strategy" than a regular game – controls are minimalistic and the motivation to game is absent. [Sept 2012]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 165
  2. Negative: 33 out of 165
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    4x space strategy game for people who love strategy. This is the best sci fy 4x game since master of orion 2. For me find the combat a tad bit4x space strategy game for people who love strategy. This is the best sci fy 4x game since master of orion 2. For me find the combat a tad bit poorer then moo2 but this game deserves to be named in the same sentence. I played this game from alpha to beta and now as a release, and I have enjoyed playing the game from day one. The feeling that each game is unique makes you feel that you are playing a new game eache time you play. The different races gives the game also different flavor which for makes hours and hours of fun. As if that was not enough to make you buy this game ill add something more. The game is working stabile and has very few bugs, and you don Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    I think this game is perfect choice who want to pursue realistic SF. For example, 'Sin Of Solar Empire' and 'Galactic Civilizations' are notI think this game is perfect choice who want to pursue realistic SF. For example, 'Sin Of Solar Empire' and 'Galactic Civilizations' are not realitstic SF 4X games but RTS that mix some 4X. This game is not warfare game. This is real 4X game and you need some skills of diplomacy and management. I hope that 'Sins Of Solar Empire' learn this game and next one maintain balance. Expand
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    9
    There has been a lot talked about the disappearance of the 4X-genre especially in round based space games. The genre-kings on which mostThere has been a lot talked about the disappearance of the 4X-genre especially in round based space games. The genre-kings on which most people would agree were Ascendancy and Master of Orion 2 back in 1995 and '96 and a lot of "heirs to the throne" showed up afterwards. But as most of these follow-ups like the Galactic Civilization Series, Imperium Galactica or Sins of a Solar Empire were great games of their own, nothing feels more like a "true" descendant to especially Master of Orion 2 as Endless Space. Of course, different aspects as the interface or the space battles added with action cards can't be count towards the classic points that made the genre so addictive, but they are both great new introductions to a new game feeling in the genre. Endless Space has a lot of things it does quite good and some things that could be made slightly better as well. Starting with the negative points, the AI has its flaws every now and then (although just according to some weird tactics, to that the player sometimes just has to adapt to), the micro-managing in fleet structure could be optimized and some translation fixes are still to be done.
    After all, the game as it was still in alpha and beta status looked polished and more finished even before release than some games don't do after months. When you watch the forum, you see a lot of ideas developer's take from the community, you have votes about new game features and permanent communication about problems or things that could be added into the game.
    The strength of the game is its motivational curve (with that well-known "just one more round"-feeling), the replayability with 8 races and the option for development of your own race as well, the perfect systems- and colony management, a great UI with its possibilitiy to have a complete overview of what's going on just one mouse-click away, a tech-tree with lots of different ways to play the race the way you want (through warfare, technological superiority, extremely fast expansion or just economical dominance) and so on...
    So after all Endless Space is just a classic (nonetheless modern), fun and deep game for all you 4x-nerds out there...and all others who just enjoy well designed games!
    Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    7
    As a gamer fairly new to the 4x genre, I found Endless Space a great introduction. The mechanics are easy to grasp and the game becomes lessAs a gamer fairly new to the 4x genre, I found Endless Space a great introduction. The mechanics are easy to grasp and the game becomes less intimidating the more you play. Unfortunately, a couple annoying flaws prevent it from standing out. The developer has admitted the game is not a finished product and I can only hope they dedicate themselves to continued improvement of a promising title. One flaw is the enemy AI. It will frequently amass huge fleets in one or two systems and do nothing with them. The AI does not actively challenge the player as he or she grows an empire across the galaxy map. The more your empire expands, the more your populace becomes unhappy. Even if you are playing an expansionist or militarist faction, you suffer an enormous approval penalty for growing your empire too quickly. Many people have complained about fleet combat because players have very limited control over it. Once you engage an enemy fleet with one of your own, your fleet attacks on its own. You have three rounds of combat to play a tactics card that gives you bonuses and rock paper scissors counters to other cards. You have no direct control over fleet movement or attack during combat. Personally, I don't mind this as it simulates managing an empire from afar and leaving the dirty work to the admirals. You can customize ships with technology that forms another rock paper scissors mechanic. Admittedly, I have not played multiplayer, but I am thinking it is probably a lot more rewarding than playing against the AI. If you're new to 4x games, I would recommend Endless Space. If you're a veteran looking for a new, engrossing experience, you might not find what you're looking for. The game is a good amount of fun, rewarding (if only for a while), and a nice segway into games like EU3, GalCiv2, and Victoria. Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    6
    This game is way too simple and the tech tree needs some balancing too, whit some tech pretty much useless. I did liked it, but after theThis game is way too simple and the tech tree needs some balancing too, whit some tech pretty much useless. I did liked it, but after the first game it gets boring really fast. What really left me disappointed were the "battles". You can "control" your ships choosing a battle card that has almost none impact on the battle, you can' t really control anything. The battles are slow, boring, and you don' t really have time to choose the best card, you have to pick one, hoping. Yes, the game has pretty good graphics, and it' s one of the few games with a turn-based gameplay, but the combat is unbalanced (lasers are OP, along with missiles) and you can' t really customize your ships, it' s all about putting your best techs. When I played, let' s see, in MoO2, I customized my ships in order to give a role to every ship, but in endless space support ships go front line, exploding after few shots. Also the planet management is quite a mess, and you don' t know what will happen unless you do it. Also I have seen many people comparing this game to MoO2, and I can assure you that Master of Orion is on a higer level. The best part about this game is its price. Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2012
    5
    Another title claiming to be the heir to Master of Orion 2. I buy every title that claims to be that heir. I guess it's my fault, I shouldAnother title claiming to be the heir to Master of Orion 2. I buy every title that claims to be that heir. I guess it's my fault, I should just go play that game. Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2012
    0
    Nope. Not a game you want, whether or not it's a Steam Free Weekend this weekend (11/30/12-12/2/12). Yuck. It's like intergalactic Risk:Nope. Not a game you want, whether or not it's a Steam Free Weekend this weekend (11/30/12-12/2/12). Yuck. It's like intergalactic Risk: It's slow, you can't figure out what to do, and basically, it's not a game I want in any way, shape, or form. Expand

See all 165 User Reviews