Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 480 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This galaxy is ancient, and its first intelligent life was the civilization we call the Endless. Long before our eyes gazed upon the stars they flew between them, though all that remains of this people is what we call Dust. A substance found scattered or in forgotten temples, it once gaveThis galaxy is ancient, and its first intelligent life was the civilization we call the Endless. Long before our eyes gazed upon the stars they flew between them, though all that remains of this people is what we call Dust. A substance found scattered or in forgotten temples, it once gave powers to admirals and galactic governors. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    90
    The highlight of the game by far is exploitation.
  2. Jul 5, 2012
    90
    I could honestly write a thousand words more on what makes Endless Space so much more addicting and absorbing than the bulk of its contemporaries. Visually, it's detailed and opulent where it needs to be, yet simple and clean everywhere else. It makes its voluminous level of complexity accessible with a terrific interface which affords a pace and ease of management that few other games in the genre can match. But I'm not going to write those thousand more words, folks. I've got a galaxy that's waiting to be conquered, one more time.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    83
    Master of Orion still retains its throne, but Endless Space with its enticing atmosphere and fluid gameplay is one of the best 4X games in recent years. [Sept 2012]
  4. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    A smart, polished and intelligent game of countless permutations. Its strength lies in how carefully and how cleverly it's balanced, as well as how it rewards all kinds of playing styles. We haven't seen a strategy game quite like this in a while.
  5. Jul 17, 2012
    80
    Endless Space smooths over a lot of the issues typical to 4x space, but it also bulldozes perhaps a bit much in the combat.
  6. Jul 13, 2012
    75
    It's a must for anyone looking to experience the genre for the first time; it's very newcomer friendly, but old hats might find it a bit wanting. Its longevity may also be increased by the multiplayer mode, but I personally don't have the patience for all these people who take far too long to take their turn. On the whole, it's more than worthy of your interest.
  7. 30
    It works but it's more of an "MS Excel strategy" than a regular game – controls are minimalistic and the motivation to game is absent. [Sept 2012]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 162
  2. Negative: 32 out of 162
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    4x space strategy game for people who love strategy. This is the best sci fy 4x game since master of orion 2. For me find the combat a tad bit4x space strategy game for people who love strategy. This is the best sci fy 4x game since master of orion 2. For me find the combat a tad bit poorer then moo2 but this game deserves to be named in the same sentence. I played this game from alpha to beta and now as a release, and I have enjoyed playing the game from day one. The feeling that each game is unique makes you feel that you are playing a new game eache time you play. The different races gives the game also different flavor which for makes hours and hours of fun. As if that was not enough to make you buy this game ill add something more. The game is working stabile and has very few bugs, and you don Expand
  2. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    Extremely good looking game and very customisable and overall enjoyable, few minor grudges with the game like it's extremely slow passed as itExtremely good looking game and very customisable and overall enjoyable, few minor grudges with the game like it's extremely slow passed as it is a turn-based game but I personally can live with that, Amazing game, graphics and thanks steam for letting me buy it for 12e. All the people who enjoy strategy and space I recommend it to you! Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2012
    9
    Awesome game. Nice graphics and nice gameplay. 1-2 hours are needed to learn well the game mchanics but there is a good tutorial that helps.Awesome game. Nice graphics and nice gameplay. 1-2 hours are needed to learn well the game mchanics but there is a good tutorial that helps. The game is deep and balanced, works fine and it's very fast. Only a few bugs in this first version but they are not so bad. Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    7
    As a gamer fairly new to the 4x genre, I found Endless Space a great introduction. The mechanics are easy to grasp and the game becomes lessAs a gamer fairly new to the 4x genre, I found Endless Space a great introduction. The mechanics are easy to grasp and the game becomes less intimidating the more you play. Unfortunately, a couple annoying flaws prevent it from standing out. The developer has admitted the game is not a finished product and I can only hope they dedicate themselves to continued improvement of a promising title. One flaw is the enemy AI. It will frequently amass huge fleets in one or two systems and do nothing with them. The AI does not actively challenge the player as he or she grows an empire across the galaxy map. The more your empire expands, the more your populace becomes unhappy. Even if you are playing an expansionist or militarist faction, you suffer an enormous approval penalty for growing your empire too quickly. Many people have complained about fleet combat because players have very limited control over it. Once you engage an enemy fleet with one of your own, your fleet attacks on its own. You have three rounds of combat to play a tactics card that gives you bonuses and rock paper scissors counters to other cards. You have no direct control over fleet movement or attack during combat. Personally, I don't mind this as it simulates managing an empire from afar and leaving the dirty work to the admirals. You can customize ships with technology that forms another rock paper scissors mechanic. Admittedly, I have not played multiplayer, but I am thinking it is probably a lot more rewarding than playing against the AI. If you're new to 4x games, I would recommend Endless Space. If you're a veteran looking for a new, engrossing experience, you might not find what you're looking for. The game is a good amount of fun, rewarding (if only for a while), and a nice segway into games like EU3, GalCiv2, and Victoria. Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2012
    6
    A goat in a pretty dress. GUI: In the trade screen items are listed for trade. But clicking on them often brings up an error message "tradeA goat in a pretty dress. GUI: In the trade screen items are listed for trade. But clicking on them often brings up an error message "trade refused. Reason is it contains an item you clicked". AI: The computer player frequently loses without any assistance, suffocating under the financial burden of many planetary upgrades that have no value or relevance to the planets they were put on. There is also no visible reaction or interaction with the player, it simply goes about it's private business of expanding and conquering worlds. So designing a rock-paper-scissors ship to defeat an opponent is a one-shot affair, with no counters forthcoming. Ships can be revamped at any colony shipyard; there's some needless restrictions on the number and naming of ship classes, which doesn't change the game play at all. The game is over after 20-30 turns, when it has become clear that you have completely outclassed all enemies. Then the rest of the time is spent on a long and dreary mop-up. Some bizarre penalty structure is applied to the player for early expansion because it is the winning strategy, which fails to alter the winning strategy. Overall, it can be enjoyed as a learning experience, an exploration of a new game for 10-20 hours. But I don't see any reason to play it again. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2012
    5
    The game is alright. It has a few flaws that are pretty glaring. One is the combat mechanic. It's a rock/paper/scissors guessing game. EvenThe game is alright. It has a few flaws that are pretty glaring. One is the combat mechanic. It's a rock/paper/scissors guessing game. Even vast gaps in strength between your fleet and the enemies don't matter if you pick poorly even once. Another flaw seems to be the AI for planets. At least half a dozen times I'll select an AI for upgrading a certain facet of a system's planets. Not only are there colonized planets/locations with no exploitations (one of the most basic construction items) but some have irritating problems. I had an AI on a system set for approval increase. I had three different approval increasing improvements available thanks to research and for what turned out to be 12 turns it did literally nothing. There are a few others, but suffice to say the game has a combination of buggy AI and poorly tested combat.

    An example of one of the worst battles I'd been in. Each engagement is a preliminary phase where you pick abilities, then you have long, medium, and melee range phases of the fight and then an epilogue thing and it's over. All automated. I picked -one- bad choice where the enemy had countered me. My fleet was an effective military score of about... 9200 or so. The enemy? 2100. If not a little less. Not only did I lose, I didn't even make it into the second phase of combat. All of my ships destroyed. Barely one of theirs dinged up. I would put this to a horrible RNG fluke. But similar (though not quite as bad) defeats have happened at least a half dozen more times in only the first 4 or 5 hours of me playing this game.

    I'd advise on waiting for a steam sale or a major patch to purchase this. I feel a bit cheated now and that I should have waited.
    Expand
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    0
    Poor turn-based game that has a military focus. A hack copy of Master of Orion without any fun.

    This is another example of Steam taking
    Poor turn-based game that has a military focus. A hack copy of Master of Orion without any fun.

    This is another example of Steam taking peoples money for complete crap.
    Expand

See all 162 User Reviews