Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Jun 19, 2014
    65
    Once again the World War II embraces another FPS varied enough and solid. Not the best in the genre, but entertaining enough.
  2. Jun 13, 2014
    63
    Fairly straight-forward first person shooter set during WW2 with average cryengine graphics and boring story. Although Enemy Front lacks highlights or memorable levels, some of the more open areas invite the player to experiment with the optional stealth /sniper gameplay. Unfortunately, this aforementioned game mechanic also has its flaws.
  3. Jun 16, 2014
    61
    Why use stealth if brute force works just as well? Good ideas, bad implementation and lots of wasted potential.
  4. Aug 25, 2014
    60
    I would situate this game somewhere between ‘acceptable’ and ‘not bad’. Developers had big ambitions and suffered a defeat, but in my eyes it’s an honorable defeat. [08/2014, p.56]
  5. Jul 21, 2014
    60
    It doesn't matter if the game explores an interesting yet unknown aspect of WWII, the Warsaw Uprising, its lack of presentation and good art direction, along with tons of bugs, overshadow some interesting design ideas and good level design. The lackluster multiplayer doesn't help much to improve the game, either.
  6. Jun 16, 2014
    55
    Enemy Front is a chaotic, poorly thought-out product that mixes good elements with some really bad ones. The developers weren't able to utilize CryEngine's power and did not deliver on their promise of sandbox gameplay. It's a shame because the game has some solid foundations for a good WWII shooter. Enemy Front is better that Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2, but all in all it's a disappointment.
  7. Jul 7, 2014
    50
    As dated and tired as any of the games it tries to copy, Enemy Front fails to make World War II shooters exciting again, and may actively be reminding us why we got so bored of them.
  8. Jun 25, 2014
    50
    An inconsistent World War 2 shooter that has been overtaken by unfinished AI, halfway decent game mechanics, and short gameplay duration. It would like to measure itself against distinctively more expensive game production, however, it is revealing its weaknesses all the more. Enemy Front is like universal brown sauce (UBS) – it does not have distinctive flavour whatsoever, and the next day after you finish the game – you will most likely not even remember it.
  9. Jun 23, 2014
    50
    It plays like a poor man's Call of Duty, copying everything except the stuff that makes the series enjoyable. It's unpolished, has terrible enemy AI, impossible stealth, boring multiplayer, a badly-told story, last-gen graphics, and the shooting is merely okay.
  10. Jun 17, 2014
    47
    Enemy Front's attempt to show a different side of war is thwarted by awful AI and behind-the-times combat that can't support the emphasis it puts on stealth and sniping. The multiplayer could have been a saving grace, but it's so threadbare that a sizable player community seems highly unlikely.
  11. Jul 9, 2014
    45
    As much as CI Games wants to re-brand itself as a triple-A development studio that produces only blockbuster games, the final result is all too familiar. Enemy Front looks better, sounds better, but it’s still boring as hell.
  12. 40
    Just another superfluous WW2 game that is brought down by horrendous AI and shoddy attempts at emotional heroism. [Issue#244]
  13. Jun 18, 2014
    40
    Enemy Front has some decent ideas, but ultimately wastes its energy on redundant stealth when it should have gone the all-out action route.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 12 out of 25
  1. Jun 14, 2014
    4
    For older gamers - like myself (way into the 30s at this point), this game is either going to be a serious affront to the memory of all thatFor older gamers - like myself (way into the 30s at this point), this game is either going to be a serious affront to the memory of all that was good about Medal of Honor's first instalment - because that is essentially what it is. A modern day Medal of Honor part 1.
    CryEngine..awesome. Lovely stuff we've had from CryEngine, notably the Crysis series. However, what the devs here have failed to realize is that though you may have impressive names at the front end of your game, piss poor gameplay will **** it right up. And it did. Royally.
    Just a nutshell list for you.
    1. The AI is SHOCKINGLY **** It is so bad in some areas it defies all belief. Any MoH Airborne players will relate immediately to how friggin annoying it is to have AI 'team mates' get in the damn way? Well these ones PUSH YOU out of the way - more often than not into harms way.
    2. There is no real cover mechanics here, you can't peak left or right from behind cover, but worse, the only kind of cover you get is from just moving behind a box or a sheet or metal. That's it! That is ALL it is.
    This leads to
    3. You face a small swarm of enemies, get yourself riddled with bullets and fire back. Rinse and repeat, over and over and over again.
    4. Back to dim AI, there is very little to show of in terms of real war-time tactics used here. If you want a tactical shooter with a WW2 theme, go play Brothers In Arms "Hell's Highway", or similar.

    This game, despite looking fairly good, was let down so very, very, VERY badly, by some seriously poor AI and limited gameplay.
    I hope, if they intend to release a 2nd one - which is unwise at this rate - that it is a VAST improvement upon this one.

    Save your money, buy something else. I mean it. You can thank me later.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 14, 2014
    0
    So I start the game and first thing I notice can't skip the intro, hmm not nice but I'll survive, then a loading screen pops that throws meSo I start the game and first thing I notice can't skip the intro, hmm not nice but I'll survive, then a loading screen pops that throws me the usual "press start to enter" before it throws me to the main menu wait! why?. Why do the games have that? it makes no sense. Now finally in the main menu I see that the game is set to use gamepad controls, ok lets change that (as much as I love my 360 pad I do prefer to play an fps game with mouse&keyboard) since the game isn't capable detecting my input automatically (something every modern pc game MUST be able to do) and SURPRISE! no option do do that. So I decide to try and play anyway and as usual you have this tutorial mission that shows you how to play. Unfortunately it means nothing to me since the game insists on gamepad and shows gamepad icons while I am using mouse and keyboard. Well the graphics are bad, AI tends to rush soldiers right in front of my gun. I played for an hour or two and quit the game.

    "Experience gorgeous environments, all powered by CryENGINE®3 technology. ." The developer says Well I call BS, Definitely not as advertised.

    STAY AWAY AND SAVE YOUR MONEY!!.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 13, 2014
    0
    Terribad -

    Next to no unique story. Next to no unique format. Dated graphics. Long load times. Horrible voice acting and scripting.
    Terribad -

    Next to no unique story.
    Next to no unique format.
    Dated graphics.
    Long load times.
    Horrible voice acting and scripting.
    Bad AI.

    Short linear maps with pretty much the same thing over and over. Held my attention for about an hour, much of that being load screens. And when I say bad graphics, I mean both animations and textures are at the very least 5 years out of date. Don't bother wasting your money. Really.
    Full Review »