User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 216

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2010
    7
    With the same difficulty settings, sometimes you won the same battle if you're sitting there only drinking coffee, but sometimes you lost the battle if you've given it all you have got. You almost can't kill anything with the default gun view, using the machinegun and iron sight view are more effective. But it takes a lot of experience as to use which gun and which aim-view are better,With the same difficulty settings, sometimes you won the same battle if you're sitting there only drinking coffee, but sometimes you lost the battle if you've given it all you have got. You almost can't kill anything with the default gun view, using the machinegun and iron sight view are more effective. But it takes a lot of experience as to use which gun and which aim-view are better, especially by how far the distance the bots are away from you. At some spots in a map it seem impossible to get a bot killed, especially when they're falling from a higher place to the ground or when they're jumping at a specific spot in a map, it's like game bugs, it's very hard to make a kill at a particular spot of the map, even when you're very ready with your aiming/gun. Sometimes it's like online with 300 pin, you need to aim ahead 2 to 4 steps of the running bot so the bullets could hit the target just 6 meters away using the non-iron-sight view. Sometimes the shots are seem as blanks when the target is jumping at the same direction of the shots fired. Rocket launchers does not work too well, it's not effective to fire a shot sometimes when your player is moving sideway (strafe) and pressing the fire key. Sniper scope view is funny, as a wall's vertical line are bended at the axis of the crosshair. The good thing is the flying aircrafts, you don't need a joystick to fly them, but to some others, they might prefers a better simulated flight control with a joystick. The hover-chopperâ Expand
  2. JBob
    Mar 30, 2010
    6
    I wanted to like this game. I'm a long-time id/Quake fan, going back to even before Wolf3d, but I could not get into this game. I tried. It just isn't fun to me in many ways. The sound are awful. They sound like an early 90's freeware game and come across as very childish. Also I don't like how the game 'feels' while playing. It's very uncomfortable and I wanted to like this game. I'm a long-time id/Quake fan, going back to even before Wolf3d, but I could not get into this game. I tried. It just isn't fun to me in many ways. The sound are awful. They sound like an early 90's freeware game and come across as very childish. Also I don't like how the game 'feels' while playing. It's very uncomfortable and performance is bad. I don't like the focused objectives in multiplayer gameplay. It all feels very canned an controlled and not spontaneous. I bought it for full price when it came out and excitedly installed it and was very quickly disappointed. I think the Battlefield games are much better in many ways like sound, graphics, controls feel, performance, more sandbox-like, etc etc. There are a bunch of retail copies of this game at a local retailer for $5 and they've been sitting there for over six months at that price and not selling. Don't pay more than $10 for it. It just isn't worth it. Get Battlefield 2 and install Project Reality if you want hardcore objectives-based FPS online game. Alternatively, go with BF: Bad Company 2 for a more accessible arcade FPS online game. Expand
  3. JohnB.
    Oct 3, 2007
    6
    This game brings to the table a nice in game browser and intresting, tidy gameplay, unfortunatly the game is lacking many other main areas. Sound is average, but does its job. Graphics are below average. Performance is bad considering what you get in return. I've never been such a fan of ET gameplay, luckily ETQW is a little better due to additions, but the movement feels bad, very This game brings to the table a nice in game browser and intresting, tidy gameplay, unfortunatly the game is lacking many other main areas. Sound is average, but does its job. Graphics are below average. Performance is bad considering what you get in return. I've never been such a fan of ET gameplay, luckily ETQW is a little better due to additions, but the movement feels bad, very unnatural and lacking fluidity compared to original ET and Quake. Animations aren't smooth, everything just feels jerky or lacking, despite running at perfect framerate. ID softwares engine is really showing its age, it barely copes with outdoor enviroments and is best left in the shadows of Doom3, where you can't notice how bad the graphics really are. It hurts to watch ID Software fall from making good engines and good games to poor engines and poor games. The games they make now are getting further and further away from their fanbase liking and at the same time getting worse and worse, a coincidence? I think not. A week after lanuch the game has less players than Quake 3 and four times less than the original ET. Considering this is a multiplayer only game, I'd say this game is a blowout. Expand
  4. GusS.
    Jan 7, 2008
    7
    Fun and frustrating all at once. Flight controls need work. Humans can't take a hit for anything and their weapons suck. Good objective stacking. Even moderate difficulty computer AI never misses, but yet never deviates from their plan of attack. Fun when playing PVP because of the human element.
  5. NickN.
    Oct 25, 2007
    6
    This game was a huge disappointment to me .After playing the demo i pumped for the full game thought the demo was brilliant . i then purchased the full game payed all the maps and allot of rounds later came to the conclusion that the game was totally unbalanced (strogg own everything).killing things can be a forever battle of bunny hopping .and the spawn killing and the rate of exploions This game was a huge disappointment to me .After playing the demo i pumped for the full game thought the demo was brilliant . i then purchased the full game payed all the maps and allot of rounds later came to the conclusion that the game was totally unbalanced (strogg own everything).killing things can be a forever battle of bunny hopping .and the spawn killing and the rate of exploions that just never end are very mind shorting .due to these two main factors this game just generly gets me annoyed pretty fast , only play it wen in a very good mood .unlike the old ER were u could always have a laugh playing it .PS there should be atleast one accurate gun in the game like in old ET with the m1 and kar. Expand
  6. N.K.
    Dec 9, 2007
    5
    A good game overall--Glad I got it for free with my video card though. The main problem (and it's a big one) is that NOBODY plays this game online. The servers are almost always empty or half-filled with bots--maybe 4 times out of the last two weeks I was able to find a server populated with 24 actual humans--when this was the case, the maps were excellent, the action was fast, and A good game overall--Glad I got it for free with my video card though. The main problem (and it's a big one) is that NOBODY plays this game online. The servers are almost always empty or half-filled with bots--maybe 4 times out of the last two weeks I was able to find a server populated with 24 actual humans--when this was the case, the maps were excellent, the action was fast, and gameplay balanced. But for the other 20 times I got on to only find a handful of people on the servers, I have to bump the score down. I REALLY want to play this game, but I can't, because nobody else is. Expand
  7. BrianS.
    Sep 29, 2007
    6
    ETQW delivers a fairly average online team place experience that really doesn't deviate too awful much from its predecessor Wolfenstein:ET except in the area of engine tech and story line. The addition of multiple vehicles to the game seems interesting enough but ETQW's maps lack the truely gigantic scale needed to make the vehicles strategically important. Add in the fact that ETQW delivers a fairly average online team place experience that really doesn't deviate too awful much from its predecessor Wolfenstein:ET except in the area of engine tech and story line. The addition of multiple vehicles to the game seems interesting enough but ETQW's maps lack the truely gigantic scale needed to make the vehicles strategically important. Add in the fact that ETQW is based in the dissapointingly bad Quake 4 story/franchise, and you have a team play game that not many people have a point of reference for on the story. There are, of course, some interesting areas in the level design but again for a modern engine theres nothing truely outstanding even there. Which given the overall power of the Id engine, is rather depressing. The engine tech is, of course, outstanding and on modern hardware the game runs like a champ, but in retrospect the game dynamics are a bit frantic and hard to pick up, even for people familiar with the ET concept, the weapons are immensely bad, all of them being incredibly difficult to aim, this may change over time and more cone of fire stability may be awarded as you advance but regardless it makes the game frustrating to play for experienced FPS players. To stay on the subject of weapons there appears to be a marked delay in the use of heavier damage weapons, the rocket launcher itself has a slight delay on fire in dumbfire mode and its homing rocket takes even longer for a lock (this reduces in time with experience rewards), the sniper rifle appears to fire a few milliseconds after you pull the trigger and is all but useless for anything but long range sniping, the downside to that is, the game is so frenetic that theres absolutely no real point to long range sniping because you can never really get into a good position for it and do your job as a CV class. Classes though, appear to be about as effective as the classes were in Wolfenstein:ET, without alot of major changes to the dynamics of the class base, but are also hard to distinguish from each other except in the areas of major class role. And last but not least the game lacks the true FPS feel of a Id engine game. The movement physics are less than spectacular and lack the fluid feel of the Wolf:ET build which made the game so fast paced and fun to play, ETQW is fast paced, but only in a speed and confusion sense, the physics of the game itself are average. Add in the fact that if your taking damage you really can't tell from where (especially against bots...but the bot AI is a whole different dissapointment) and ETQW falls short of really being the next level of online MP shooter games. ETQW may appeal to some, but as a long time veteran of online FPS gaming (Since Quake 1 back in the mid 90s) it is my opinion that while ETQW makes a stunning effort to try to take the great ET concept into a modern engine, it truely falls short of its target and is only yet another team based shooter amongst many other offerings on the market (BF2, BF2142, Team Fortress 2) and doesn't really out shine any of them in any specific way. As a long time fan of Id Software, Raven Software and Splash Damage I'd say that while ETQW is a great effort, its just yet more evidence that the Id camp has fallen out of touch with the fan base and is no longer capable of truly producing ground breaking games. Which is sad, I keep waiting for Id to produce something to take back its title as the Grandaddy of them all, but so far, Valve stays in the lead for truely brilliant game design and dynamics. Expand
  8. BobH.
    Oct 14, 2007
    5
    Great graphics, nice maps. Strogg weapons look too much alike. the strogg voices suck too. playing strogg is no fun at all. would have been better as axis vs. allies or east vs west. Call of Duty 4 looks like it will be a lot better. or Unreal Tournament 3 if you like aliens.
  9. Role
    Oct 22, 2007
    6
    After all the hype and build up of class based tactical combat, ETQW is finally here. Sadly it fails to deliver on so many of the promises that were made. There are two huge failings that really ruin the gameplay imho. One is that once both teams have deployed radar, there is no tactical challenge, no sniping or ambushes as there is no point - the enemy know where you are already. The After all the hype and build up of class based tactical combat, ETQW is finally here. Sadly it fails to deliver on so many of the promises that were made. There are two huge failings that really ruin the gameplay imho. One is that once both teams have deployed radar, there is no tactical challenge, no sniping or ambushes as there is no point - the enemy know where you are already. The second is that the spread of fire on the weapons is virtually nil, and unlike the awesome BF2, you can fire with virtually the same accuracy whilst bunnyhopping and dolphin diving. I have already bunnyhopped 3 proned scopers into oblivion due to this major failing. I think many people have also been put off by the massive learning curve involved in many of the objectives as so much is trial and error. With the frantic instant death style gameplay making it harder to figure out what it is you are supposed to be attacking/defending. On the plus side the graphics are great and you do not need a mammoth rig to run it at a decent framerate, and the objective style gameplay often means that on the first objective you are fighting outside in the open, for the second you may have to fight in dark corridors and abandoned mines so giving added variety. I really hope ID patch this game and balance out the weapons, because there is a belter of a concept here, badly let down by a game that is trying too hard to be both BF2 and counterstrikeat the same time, whilst forgetting its own ET roots. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. A brilliant and immersive game...On the one hand you've got the sheer technical prowess and experience of id, and on the other you've got Splash Damage's intrinsic understanding of what makes a good online shooter. Together, you've got a game that could set a new benchmark for the genre. [Nov 2007, p.62]
  2. ETQW delivers plenty of fast-paced action, and nothing beats the feeling of finally breaking through firmly entrenched defenses. It's not the absolute best multiplayer game, but it's definitely worth playing.
  3. No other combat game has maps this lavish, or ambitiously designed. [Nov 2007, p.88]