Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: F1 2012 spotlights all of the official teams, drivers and circuits from the 2012 FIA Formula One World Championship.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    90
    This installment of F1 series is another great hit from Codemasters. The PC Version is blessed with major technical improvements that let it overtake the console ones.
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    Newcomers will find F1 2012 a shock to the system compared to more conventional racing games, but the ample tools provided to get into the sport provide a gratifying experience with just a little bit of commitment on the player's part.
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    88
    This year's F1-Game is much more than an update. With its improved gameplay and graphics and the many Formula-1-contents F1 2012 is one of the best racing games available – although the rules-system and the AI aren't perfect yet.
  4. Sep 25, 2012
    80
    It's true that F1 2012 will never compete with iRacing for hardcore driving realism and authenticity, but it doesn't need to. It's a lovingly rendered and refreshingly accessible game that gives racing fans of all backgrounds a prime seat in the world's fastest and most exhilarating form of motorsport.
  5. Oct 2, 2012
    80
    New details, great presentation and more balanced gameplay. F1 2012 is the best Formula One racing game on the market, and it's not because there are no other titles. In short, Codemasters do a good job - they listen to the community, they keep the good stuff in the series, they always get wiser because of their previous mistakes. Throughout the evolution F1 2012 is one step closer to the racing game perfection. However, a revolutionary shift in the genre is still awaited.
  6. Sep 26, 2012
    80
    The great thing is, everybody can decide for themselves how much depth and realism they want from F1 2012. Granted, there might not be too much new stuff in this iteration, judged on its own merits, it is still a very satisfying experience, though.
  7. Sep 19, 2012
    65
    The only problem is that there's really very little reason to upgrade from F1 2011 other than the inclusion of new teams, cars and two new tracks. If Codemasters had resolved the numerous bugs and gameplay issues that have been present since day one of the reboot it'd be a different story, but if they can't do it by now, chances are they never will.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 10 out of 24
  1. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Is this a perfect game? No. It needs to improve in many ways. If you are a serious driver you can learn so much from it. It is educational you learn so many details of the car setup (interdependence of front & rear wing, camber, toe, tyre pressure, breaks...). I spent hours and hours just preparing for each track, watching onboard clips of of pro drivers on F1 web sites. If you cut off all helping aids it is really challenging. If you want to manually shift gears, you need to learn by heart EVERY corner of each track in what gear, when to break, where is the racing track... If you are 7 years old and just want to press the pedal this is probably not a game for you. Advice Advice: You could benefit from buying a good wheel.
    On the negative side there are so many things Codemaster can do better AI for one thing. Telemetry.
    But the very fact that I spent over 200 hours in the game and am still playing speaks for itself (and in this I am not counting F1 2011 time spent).
    Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    F1 2012 is a great game, having previously played F1 2011, I can say I like this new one a lot more. The new look is very snappy, the various modes they've added are pretty interesting, but the driving mechanics seem to have improved to be more realistic. I can't tell you how many times I've spun out or not braked hard/soon enough to be able to avoid running off the track. The traction of cars seems to be improved, in the sense that if you're not careful it's easier to spin out. However the things that prevent this game from getting a 10 in my book are the AI, and the bugs. The AI are still pretty much the same as 2011, trying to overtake on very short straights before having to swerve back behind you because they MUST take the racing line into the corner. They should be able to try and overtake properly on corners by cutting inside or going around the outside, not sticking to the racing line the entire race. The bugs were something else, the one bug where after a flashback your engine would immediately blow out, not due to you racing around the track in first and over-revving the engine so much, but for some unknown reason. Also sometimes after a flashback, in the final 'stage' of the flashback, the game freezes for a short period before resuming. It's annoying, and I hope Codemasters works it out. But yes, definitely a great racing game, definitely go for it if you're an F1 fan. Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    Codemasters does racing games, thats what they do and I FKIN LOVE THEM. Both Dirt and Grid are awesome but If you specificaly love F1 then there is no doubt, this is the best F1 game I've ever played. Collapse
  4. Sep 29, 2012
    7
    The best F1 game i ever played... the new modes are good and welcome. The graphics are fantastic, lights and physics really good. This is a good game, faster than 2010 and 2011. [ 9 / 10 ] Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2012
    6
    Although F1 2012 is probably the best F1 the Codies have made, when it comes to simulation they are quite literally decades behind Geoff Crammond. I have done about 1000 race laps and I have seen 1 yellow flag, no crashes and certainly no safety car. Scalectrix anyone? The difficulty level has had no thought behind it whatsoever - Intermediate is too easy (P1,Q1,R1 with Caterham), Professional is annoying (Pos 19 no matter what you do). It seems Codemasters like making one thing better but apparently intentionally making another thing worse?? Weird.
    They have taken out any feeling of belonging to a F1 team by using a crappy simple front end. Any feeling of me being the driver went out the window when he lifted his visor to show he had brown eyes! Imposter! That's not me! I have blue eyes. Its like Judge Dread taking his helmet off. NO!!
    For once though the **** cam is actually useable which is about the only thing that has improved since F1 2010 (didn't play 2011).
    Codemasters need to put more effort into F1 2013 or let someone else do it because I'm getting sick and tired of seeing an F1 title that still can't match what Geoff Crammond did in 1992! But if you're an F1 junkie F1 2012 is the best you're gonna get.
    Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2013
    4
    This game, if you do not have a wheelm it's a complete mess, playable only in the dumb "please help me with a lot of aids!" mode. Gamepad optimization is really poor, expecially consodering this is not a simulator. So, well, with the wheel? Since this is not a simulator, but an arcade game that requires a wheel to be enjoyed (at least) this suck. Have to set up a wheel? Well, gotta play rFactor or iRacing not this hybrid.Why? Because of realism. IA in this game is simply ridicolous, so it's the multiplayer mode. Try again please, F1 need a better game. Or we just continue to paly really better mods, as with a PC we can. Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2013
    0
    The multiplayer in this game does not work in Canada or the U.S. Buyers beware!

    My user profile randomly got corrupted. Had to start career
    from scratch.

    Then steam decided the game wasn't even installed on my pc.

    TOO MANY BUGS!
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews