Fallout 3 PC

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3548 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MrD
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    There's enough details in the other user comments to justify a 10. I'm just adding my vote to help offset the retards who give it a zero. Zero would mean the worst game ever made. FO3 is NOT the worst game ever made. It's fine to have your opinion that FO3 might be the worst Fallout game ever made. But the worst game ever made? Voting any game a zero is a sign of a hollow There's enough details in the other user comments to justify a 10. I'm just adding my vote to help offset the retards who give it a zero. Zero would mean the worst game ever made. FO3 is NOT the worst game ever made. It's fine to have your opinion that FO3 might be the worst Fallout game ever made. But the worst game ever made? Voting any game a zero is a sign of a hollow vote. Wish there was some way to flag retarded posts for deletion... And a lesser rant: for people that refuse to give a 10 because that would mean a perfect game... umm... then you really have a scale of 9. 10 means "as perfect as any game you will buy at present." The industry and technology are advancing, and will always advance. Ratings on video games are on a curve, not an absolute. You know, by that logic, why give things 9... surely the 9's of the future will make current games look like a 5, maybe we should reserve more than just 10 for the future? Yeah, let's rate all current games a maximum of 5 so that the future has room for 6,7,8,9, and 10s. D'oh! Expand
  2. Dr.Piranha
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    This is quite the extraordinary game. Not only do you have have the amazing story line, you have your choices on how you want to carry it out. You can choose to go down the path of the good and the righteous, or you could be as evil and maniacal as you wish. And you don't just have to do the campaign, you have many many choices of little side quests to do along the side. Depending on This is quite the extraordinary game. Not only do you have have the amazing story line, you have your choices on how you want to carry it out. You can choose to go down the path of the good and the righteous, or you could be as evil and maniacal as you wish. And you don't just have to do the campaign, you have many many choices of little side quests to do along the side. Depending on how you play the game, you get a different ending. This does have its little flaws... its little glitches, but nothing major... and nothing that takes away from the playablity and the fun. Expand
  3. SteveM.
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    A Fallout sequel that has been well worth the wait. This game is a true show of Bethesda's ability to recreate that FO environment. Equipped with amazing visuals, atmospheric sounds and top notch gameplay. The immersion factor is at an all time high with this game.
  4. JamesB.
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best RPGs I've ever played in my 36 years. There's a large world to explore with numerous imaginative quests that can be done any time you like. The perks system makes the game especially fun. I played this game 8 hours a day for a week. This is the only game in which I've ever had to choke back tears at the end -- literally. After this one, I can forgive This is one of the best RPGs I've ever played in my 36 years. There's a large world to explore with numerous imaginative quests that can be done any time you like. The perks system makes the game especially fun. I played this game 8 hours a day for a week. This is the only game in which I've ever had to choke back tears at the end -- literally. After this one, I can forgive bethesda softworks for having released oblivion. Expand
  5. lizard
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    Great game, I haven't played the previous Fallout games but I really enjoyed playing Oblivion, this is more of the same but with cooler weapons and a more interesting setting. Despite being mainly grey the landscape is far from being bland, everything seems natural and the attention to detail is superb - it's the kind of world that just begs to be explored. Combat is fun and the Great game, I haven't played the previous Fallout games but I really enjoyed playing Oblivion, this is more of the same but with cooler weapons and a more interesting setting. Despite being mainly grey the landscape is far from being bland, everything seems natural and the attention to detail is superb - it's the kind of world that just begs to be explored. Combat is fun and the AI appears to be an improvement over that seen in Oblivion. Everything runs like a charm even with graphics settings turned up quite high. I feel I have only just begun to scratch the surface of this game but so far it lives up to all my expectations .... and then some, I can see Fallout 3 occupying quite a bit of my time over the coming weeks. Expand
  6. noname
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    I'm giving this game 10 rating because I hate the oldschool Fallout fanboys and people who gives the game ratings before it's even released!!!!11one (Just kidding, I honestly believe it deserves more than 7.8. And I'm Fallout fan too. It's not Fallout 1 or 2 but it's good in it's own right. If it gets that many 100% percent reviews it can't be THAT bad.)
  7. AnonymousMC
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    Perfect game, sure it may be like oblivion and the engine but it is really good.. You start off as a baby, child, then adult, you even get to take a test which is really realistic. It has that nice bioshock feeling aswel for some reason. It feels sort of old style.
    Anyway, alot of quests to do.. Gets exciting by the minute, congratulations Bethesda softworks for making a perfect game.
  8. JordanD.
    Jan 3, 2009
    10
    I love this game. Combat is interesting, dialogue is great, but is hinderd by bad voice acting, i love the fiction, lots of content, but not half as much as oblivion, which makes sense because the fallout isnt bethesdas series, and too remain faithfull to the series, they have to stay with the established fiction.
  9. OliverS.
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Probably one of the best games I've ever played, it improved on Oblivion and its engine, had a fantastically immersive game world with an awesome atmosphere - loved the radio personally, much of the lack of the variety in Oblivion was dealt with and there were a ridiculous amount of unique locations, the stat system worked just fine if you ask me, and I found the graphics to be a lot Probably one of the best games I've ever played, it improved on Oblivion and its engine, had a fantastically immersive game world with an awesome atmosphere - loved the radio personally, much of the lack of the variety in Oblivion was dealt with and there were a ridiculous amount of unique locations, the stat system worked just fine if you ask me, and I found the graphics to be a lot better than the 'dated' graphics others are talking about here. Only faults are poor AI, a fair amount of bugs (but considering the scope of the game it's hard to fault them) and VATS glitching sometimes. Otherwise, between this game and the DLC I've spent well over 100 hours in and around the Wasteland. Loved every minute of it! Expand
  10. AnonymousMC
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    I can't believe some of the bad reviews given for this game, and also the reasons for giving it.
    People giving ratings of 0's and 1's because of "no weapon shortcuts" (There are actually..) and because there is "no flashlight" (This is actually...) or even "taking the S out of First person shooters" (You can shoot manually, they don't force the aiming system foo...
    I can't believe some of the bad reviews given for this game, and also the reasons for giving it.
    People giving ratings of 0's and 1's because of "no weapon shortcuts" (There are actually..) and because there is "no flashlight" (This is actually...) or even "taking the S out of First person shooters" (You can shoot manually, they don't force the aiming system foo... ><)
    I played and completed this game (which took ages btw ^^) and not because of bugs, or anything, but because its a long game! I had very VERY rare crashes, and was kept laughing right the way though by crazy dialoge. This is a great game and amazing value for money time wise. In short, This game is teh winz.
    Expand
  11. RogerI
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    Outstanding. If you like games that give you a sense of genuine exploration, you'll love this - except if you're stuck in the past worshipping the original games. Nostalgia is a wonderfull thing, but any new game should be judged on it's own merits. The vats targetting system works very well, the animations are a great improvement over Oblivion (animation always seems to be Outstanding. If you like games that give you a sense of genuine exploration, you'll love this - except if you're stuck in the past worshipping the original games. Nostalgia is a wonderfull thing, but any new game should be judged on it's own merits. The vats targetting system works very well, the animations are a great improvement over Oblivion (animation always seems to be Bethesda's weak point), and the copy/paste dungeons are gone. Yes, some areas look the same, but they don't suffer from the indentical locations that plagued Oblivion's dungeons. Make sure you try this for yourself, and if you do see someone moaning about the gameplay, I'll put money on them wanting to be back living in an isometric past. Expand
  12. Jamesg
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    The best graphics by far and an awesome game play. Even in the wasteland you can just take time and look around at how amazing it is. The game play is good to. With the vats even new people can be good at it. A good story line where you can choose to be good or evil. I played it more then twice to see what would happen as playing it evil then good.There is also a bunch of side quest in The best graphics by far and an awesome game play. Even in the wasteland you can just take time and look around at how amazing it is. The game play is good to. With the vats even new people can be good at it. A good story line where you can choose to be good or evil. I played it more then twice to see what would happen as playing it evil then good.There is also a bunch of side quest in case u beat the main one.If you like shooting then you definitely should get it. Expand
  13. ar
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    I really did not have a problem with this game. Not a huge gamer; it was definitely entertaining to me. Interesting story line (what would it actually be like after nuclear fallout?), although it CAN become repetitive after a while. All in all a ten for me.
  14. VAGamer
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    How could you not love this game? It is easily the best RPG that I have played. Its deep enough to cause you to think about what you are going to do next without scaring you that if you do one little thing that you will ruin the entire game. Sure, if you walk around, constantly mowing down enemies with a gatling laser machine gun might be meticulous... Well, it really isnt, but thats How could you not love this game? It is easily the best RPG that I have played. Its deep enough to cause you to think about what you are going to do next without scaring you that if you do one little thing that you will ruin the entire game. Sure, if you walk around, constantly mowing down enemies with a gatling laser machine gun might be meticulous... Well, it really isnt, but thats about the only negative thing I could think of. It does depart a bit from the old Fallout games, but it at least puts it in a different setting as an excuse. Overall, the game is amazing, the DLC is amazing, and I am amazed that it didnt get 10's and 100's from everyone. Expand
  15. CasperD.
    Feb 12, 2010
    10
    Fallout 3 is the best game ever after what i mean it got every thing cool places really cool places you can explore in hours i have played 51 hours on my man and not have seen all places around that the cool you need to move around and find places you never thougt would be there and when you find those places there will sjour be something to figth or get and that i love moust of the game Fallout 3 is the best game ever after what i mean it got every thing cool places really cool places you can explore in hours i have played 51 hours on my man and not have seen all places around that the cool you need to move around and find places you never thougt would be there and when you find those places there will sjour be something to figth or get and that i love moust of the game is the end where it ends whit saying (War war never change us) That did mean so much to me i would hope all in the world would buy the game and see what there mabye could happen if we did throw atombombs after hicother but not where there is gonna come monsters out of it but the hole map is incredible and can show something about the future watere there mabye not can be drinket and food there is bad for you i love the game. Thanks for you guys created the game i hope there will come a fallout 4 Multiplayer where you can play whit your friends in normal singleplayer places or campaigns where you begin a place and figth monsters there come from every where or just Team deathmach figthining mabye super mutant against raiders or vault members. But i moust say that you guys have made the game there inspired me and manny others keep going that way that is the rigth way. Expand
  16. MikeB
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    Amazing game, with the best atmosphere I've experienced in a game since the first half-life! Not a shooter and not a rpg, but something all together different and wonderful. It does have some bugs, but most can be avoided at least until the patches finally come out.
  17. AurelianoF
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    One of the best game i have ever played. Awesome environment with stunning graphics, sounds and atmosphere. What i liked about this game it's the oportunity of do whatever you want, go to any place you want, and especially the oportunity of take different decisions. At the beginning i didn't hold hope for this one since i never played Fallout 1 and 2. But then i gave it a try One of the best game i have ever played. Awesome environment with stunning graphics, sounds and atmosphere. What i liked about this game it's the oportunity of do whatever you want, go to any place you want, and especially the oportunity of take different decisions. At the beginning i didn't hold hope for this one since i never played Fallout 1 and 2. But then i gave it a try and i realized how amazing it is.. This is a ''MUST HAVE''.. Expand
  18. BobB.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    Holy heck, I'm surprised you guys gave it a low rating. I played Fallout 2, and personally I find Bethesda did a great job switching Fallout over to more action oriented. It is in fact different than Fall0out in multiple ways, but it's better to think the game as its own. Great graphics, achievements are there, role playing to boot. I have experienced no bugs other than having Holy heck, I'm surprised you guys gave it a low rating. I played Fallout 2, and personally I find Bethesda did a great job switching Fallout over to more action oriented. It is in fact different than Fall0out in multiple ways, but it's better to think the game as its own. Great graphics, achievements are there, role playing to boot. I have experienced no bugs other than having to turn of DotNet3.0 in control panel, and it runs incredibly smooth on my average comp (at least 40fps). I recommend this game to anyone who hasn't played fallout, i think bethesda targeted you for the game. However, if you are a fan of the old games, there is plenty enough in here, but remember, it's not the west coast in the game, things must be a little different. Expand
  19. SnorriS.
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    After a bad year in gaming My Pc finally made some sense Conan was awful (I might have had too high hopes) Warhammer Delivered fine for two weeks then I lost all my will of playing it. Fallout 3 I love that game a fallout game you can play on a 2008 gamer pc (I thought it wouldnt play this nicely) it is the best rpg title in years for me .It is a rpg not an fps great story funny and damn After a bad year in gaming My Pc finally made some sense Conan was awful (I might have had too high hopes) Warhammer Delivered fine for two weeks then I lost all my will of playing it. Fallout 3 I love that game a fallout game you can play on a 2008 gamer pc (I thought it wouldnt play this nicely) it is the best rpg title in years for me .It is a rpg not an fps great story funny and damn those super mutants.From an hardcore Fallout fan I say it is a true fallout game not oblivion 2. Expand
  20. BillM.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    So atmospheric, and so much to explore. Easily one of the best games this year. People who give this a 0 have a bad case of sour grapes. When you look at most user scores they're between 8-10. Do metacritic use standard mean for the user rating average? Even median would be more useful because it would lessen the effect of a few crazies who give out 0s.
  21. TS
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    This game accomplished one of the goals I never thought it could: I felt like I was in the world of Fallout I and II. The atmosphere of the first few levels inside the vault was as expected, quirky and a time to learn how to play. Once outside I saw the same landscape you would expect to see in the first two games, but from a powerhouse FPS perspective. That's a compliment if anyone This game accomplished one of the goals I never thought it could: I felt like I was in the world of Fallout I and II. The atmosphere of the first few levels inside the vault was as expected, quirky and a time to learn how to play. Once outside I saw the same landscape you would expect to see in the first two games, but from a powerhouse FPS perspective. That's a compliment if anyone is wondering. Dogmeat makes a return appearance (as he did in Fallout 2) and the brotherhood of steel are still there, as are supermutants, ghouls, molerats, giant ants, ridiculously overpowered weapons like the nuclear catapult and rockitlauncher. While some might complain that the game feels a bit like Oblivion (there is something about how the texture work was done that shows Bethesda's fingerprints a bit too much) I would say that is nothing to complain about. The controls are tight and the rather well done VATS system (which makes every bullet a ballet) gives perfect moments of gore in the middle of frenzied firefights. My one qualm might be with the inclusion of housing and upgrades for housing which brought me out of the fantasy a bit. This forces you to sleep in beds to regain health rather than simply resting. The enemies do get a bit dull at lower difficulties too. The first time I saw a group of gangers fighting supermutants I was level 4 and remembered Fallout 2's rather difficult to kill supermutants. So I turned tail and ran like hell only to discover, much later on, that the green beasts are a bit of a push over. Same with Ghouls (who could be found in the second fallout as zombie-like enemies). I was frightened at first (a creature screaming and running at me without skin reminded me of Oblivion's rather hard to kill zombies) But then I blew its head off and kept going. For those who have fond memories of Fallouts of the past (and are not as obsessed as mr. SUX) this will feel like going home all grown up. For those who enjoyed Oblivion, enjoy the better story and firearms. For those looking for a good game, enjoy. Expand
  22. SamW
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    First off, this game isn't perfect - I have yet to find one that is - but i'm giving it a perfect score rather than a 9 just to spite BethesdaSux, a butthurt loser who probably hasn't even played this game. On to the game. I'm only a few hours in, and I am completely drowning in the depth and immersion. I loved fallout 1 but really didn't care for fallout 2 (too First off, this game isn't perfect - I have yet to find one that is - but i'm giving it a perfect score rather than a 9 just to spite BethesdaSux, a butthurt loser who probably hasn't even played this game. On to the game. I'm only a few hours in, and I am completely drowning in the depth and immersion. I loved fallout 1 but really didn't care for fallout 2 (too much extraneous and stupidly incredulous stuff world and narrative wise), and fallout 3 is much more akin to the first than the second. I'm not one for writing big reviews, so i'll sum it up - impossible to do everything with one character, perfectly balanced combat (is this fun vs is this necessary), WAY beyond "oblivion with guns", and gameplay-wise the crown prince elect of titles like S.T.A.L.K.E.R. (inspired mostly by fallout in the first place), sitting next to the dusty throne of the grizzled old king Deus Ex - whose own genetic heir, deus ex invisible war, was a retard with multiple sclerosis that the kingdom disowned out of sheer lack of love. Anyway, long story short, fallout 3 is a worthy successor to its predecessors and is leaps and bounds above "oblivion" in every single way. Expand
  23. JonathanS
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing game that has managed to keep most of the elements from fallout that I loved. Only problems I've found is the inability to remap keys properly (some keys don't work, and defaults are kept despite changing them). I can explore seemingly endlessly and run into different tribes, factories, etc.
  24. Myoga
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    BethesdaSUX is retarded . . . So Fallout 3. The entire fate of the Fallout series falls upon Bethesda's shoulders. Do these people know the fallout universe? do they even try to convey the hilarious parallel universe? Hell yeah! Bethesda created a perfect game to go along with the fallout series mostly because they went away from where the other fallouts took place. They created BethesdaSUX is retarded . . . So Fallout 3. The entire fate of the Fallout series falls upon Bethesda's shoulders. Do these people know the fallout universe? do they even try to convey the hilarious parallel universe? Hell yeah! Bethesda created a perfect game to go along with the fallout series mostly because they went away from where the other fallouts took place. They created their own world using the rules of fallout and it does not fail. VATs is the most satisfying way of killing anything. Combine the weapons, carnage, choices, and spectacular graphics, this game steals best game of 08. Well worth the $50+, Oh yeah, fuck you BethesdaSUX. Expand
  25. BMF
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    Great game Bethesda captured the feal of the original games very well the only con i can think of is the animation for running and some other movements is very strange looking and erratic.
  26. DanQ.
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing! Plays much more like Oblivion (drastically improved in every way, mind you) in a futuristic-setting rather than a true Fallout game, but it is an incredible experience nevertheless. I can't believe people are actually saying the graphics are mediocre. In my opinion, the graphics of this game are right up there with Crysis, Call of Duty: WAW, and whatever the Absolutely amazing! Plays much more like Oblivion (drastically improved in every way, mind you) in a futuristic-setting rather than a true Fallout game, but it is an incredible experience nevertheless. I can't believe people are actually saying the graphics are mediocre. In my opinion, the graphics of this game are right up there with Crysis, Call of Duty: WAW, and whatever the current standards for graphics are today. But unquestionably, it's the exquisite, open-ended gameplay that makes this game so memorable. A game for the ages! Expand
  27. lucky
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    This game is fantastic .the whole freedom thing is awesome .I had a crash in 15 hours of the gameplay.But that doesn't mean u give a 0 to such a good game.The graphics are good if not awesome . The music and sounds really well done. We should not miss a game like this.Simply the best game of 2008.
  28. ChaseF.
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome. Thats the main word for it, awesome. The graphics are great, but no one really pays attention to that after a couple hours. The game has so much in it, and everything about it is fun. People are complaining about problems that i plain don't see. It'll quit out sometimes, big deal; that's what the auto save is for. Plus you could play the whole game This game is awesome. Thats the main word for it, awesome. The graphics are great, but no one really pays attention to that after a couple hours. The game has so much in it, and everything about it is fun. People are complaining about problems that i plain don't see. It'll quit out sometimes, big deal; that's what the auto save is for. Plus you could play the whole game over as the opposite karma and get a different storyline completely. Expand
  29. William
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    To those who think the game sucks because of crashing on your PC: get a friggin X-Box, or a better PC. You ineptitude should not reflect in your gamer rating. As for the game itself, this is probably the first RPG I have ever liked, mostly because it plays both as a shooter and as a quest-based role-player. The side quests, while not all linked or necessary, make the replay value of the To those who think the game sucks because of crashing on your PC: get a friggin X-Box, or a better PC. You ineptitude should not reflect in your gamer rating. As for the game itself, this is probably the first RPG I have ever liked, mostly because it plays both as a shooter and as a quest-based role-player. The side quests, while not all linked or necessary, make the replay value of the game huge, not to mention the customization. Expand
  30. KirkC
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    The game is vast, lanscapes changed all the time. Characters have a good standing with the rest of the game. The vault was once your home and now the rest of the wasteland is and will become. Although the game has various bugs which I experienced, including getting stuck in rocks, moving weird. Plus some others. Although being able to kill the same characters over and over again was The game is vast, lanscapes changed all the time. Characters have a good standing with the rest of the game. The vault was once your home and now the rest of the wasteland is and will become. Although the game has various bugs which I experienced, including getting stuck in rocks, moving weird. Plus some others. Although being able to kill the same characters over and over again was interesting. Further on in the game missions do become a bit tedious, but the game has unlimited potential. Overall; gameplay decent. Graphics awesome, sound great. Using a catapult nuke is the most amazing thing I have yet to see. Expand
  31. Silentkiller
    Jul 3, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. It deserves better than a 91. Everything about this game is amazing. The people who rate this a bad game are people who do not like RPG'S and/or live under a rock. If you loved or at least liked Oblivion this is a must buy!
  32. RasmusE.
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    Word's cant describe how much fun I've had with Falout 3. At the very moment i sav it was 75% Off i had to buy it! I didn't regret the buy as I've done with so many other games because right now I've spent more than 50 Hours playing and Exploring Washington DC and its surroundings.
  33. Dom
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    Excellent game. It brings the amazing features and qualities Bethesda brought with Oblivion, and melds them with the Fallout world. This game is tons of fun to play, and has a great story.
  34. DaveO
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    This is one of the most imaginative games I've played in my 15 years of playing computer games.While I was disappointed by some of the limits of the features in the game, it didn't really compare to the amount of GOOD that was in the game.
  35. BrianV.
    Mar 28, 2010
    10
    This is truly a masterpiece! Anyone saying otherwise just doesn't understand the gaming world. Only the amount of effort put into this game is... unreal just so unreal. You can only imagine how big and complex the fallout world is when you finished the game, and every single sidequest. As is said, the world of Fallout is HUGHE! you would spend full days of exploring every bit of the This is truly a masterpiece! Anyone saying otherwise just doesn't understand the gaming world. Only the amount of effort put into this game is... unreal just so unreal. You can only imagine how big and complex the fallout world is when you finished the game, and every single sidequest. As is said, the world of Fallout is HUGHE! you would spend full days of exploring every bit of the capital wasteland. To sum up more of the pro's: -MANY quests -very good story line -full voice acting of every character, and good voice acting -proably the game with the most freedom you'll find to date -extremely deep, in terms of missions, stories etc. -stealth -many different kind of weapons -decent graphics (not stunning, but it fits just right) The only con's i could find are some minor bugs, and the combat being 'meh' sometimes (why is the crosshair constantly only 2 arrowheads? realy a good crosshair for different types of weapons would make this game even better as it already is!). Expand
  36. P.Sh.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    This game is almost better than part 2 of the Franchise. I say "almost", because it tries to send a message and doesn't quite succeed. The ending is as linear as that of Fallout 2, only more visually impressive and a dozen times worse. The lack of post-game gameplay is disappointing, considering this is a Bethesda game, and the lack of a narrated epilogue detailing the future of the This game is almost better than part 2 of the Franchise. I say "almost", because it tries to send a message and doesn't quite succeed. The ending is as linear as that of Fallout 2, only more visually impressive and a dozen times worse. The lack of post-game gameplay is disappointing, considering this is a Bethesda game, and the lack of a narrated epilogue detailing the future of the setting is disapointing, considering this is a Fallout game. Expand
  37. EvanT
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    This is along side COD 4, Halo 3, and Gears 2 as the best games in history. BTW Derek T, you are a dumb f**k. I am pretty sure that there is something wrong with your brain. The game is a extremely improved mod of Oblivion, if a mod at all (most people don't think that it is a mod, it took three years to make). The movements and animations are better than any other free world game, This is along side COD 4, Halo 3, and Gears 2 as the best games in history. BTW Derek T, you are a dumb f**k. I am pretty sure that there is something wrong with your brain. The game is a extremely improved mod of Oblivion, if a mod at all (most people don't think that it is a mod, it took three years to make). The movements and animations are better than any other free world game, just look at San Andreas 2, and there is a world of difference. There is no reason that anyone should rate this less than a 9. Expand
  38. JoH.
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    I just bought fallout 3 6 days ago and I'm just blown away... I played fallout 1 and 2 and I have to say that it does live up to the legacy ! It is definitely one of the best games of his generation (a generation of many many really bad and dull games...but fortunately there is fallout 3 [and starcraft 2 let´s hope it goes well...]). The only negative point about this game are I just bought fallout 3 6 days ago and I'm just blown away... I played fallout 1 and 2 and I have to say that it does live up to the legacy ! It is definitely one of the best games of his generation (a generation of many many really bad and dull games...but fortunately there is fallout 3 [and starcraft 2 let´s hope it goes well...]). The only negative point about this game are the many crashes for the pc version although that doesn't disturb me from loving this game to the full extend, because :yeah it´s that good. Expand
  39. NicholasG.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    Bethesda has crafted one of the best role playing games ever with Fallout 3. The gameplay is refined, the open world is incredibly detailed and great to look at, and the moral choices and multiple paths may send many gamers through multiple playthroughs to experience everything. In short, this is one of the best games to be released this year and should not be missed by any action, rpg, Bethesda has crafted one of the best role playing games ever with Fallout 3. The gameplay is refined, the open world is incredibly detailed and great to look at, and the moral choices and multiple paths may send many gamers through multiple playthroughs to experience everything. In short, this is one of the best games to be released this year and should not be missed by any action, rpg, or adventure gaming fan. It's an experience not to be missed. Expand
  40. SlawekG
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Aside from some minor bugs - game is brilliant - you can feel the wasteland. Short main story but in old Fallouts you could finish it even faster then here - it backs it up with vast amount of side quests and locations you can visit. RPG of the year for me - maybe even game of the year we shall see.
  41. JG
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    A lot of whining over 'it isn't fallout!' Grow up. I see a lot of zero's from people who haven't played the game. Also, grow up. Game's solid, plays well, story so far has been good, voice actings good. It's similar to Bethesda's other games, but it's what you'd expect, with a few good surprises on top. Get over yourselves.
  42. AndrewW
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    While, its not perfect, this is probably the best game I will play all year. As for the people giving it low scores, they can't seem to get over the fact that the fallout franchise is being made by a new company. This game is worth your money. I played for about 10 hours and then restarted to build a better, stronger character once I had learned the ropes and am now looking at over a While, its not perfect, this is probably the best game I will play all year. As for the people giving it low scores, they can't seem to get over the fact that the fallout franchise is being made by a new company. This game is worth your money. I played for about 10 hours and then restarted to build a better, stronger character once I had learned the ropes and am now looking at over a hundred hours of gameplay. Yes, it is similar to oblivion, but it is made with the same engine so their are going to be similarities. The dialogue is great, even if some of the voice actors are not. Final verdict, get this game. Expand
  43. AndyB.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    As a fan of both fallout and oblivion all I see here is the best that both games had to offer. The "turn based" combat is excellent and visually stunning, the storyline is captivating. Its one of if not THEE best game out at the moment. The folks here who have rated this game "0" clearly have no idea what they are talking about!
  44. JosephP.
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game, the stories and quests stand up to the classics, and the game has enough changes to keep it interesting. All the skills count for something, and each play through with different tagged skills is a new challenge.
  45. RyanD.
    Nov 28, 2008
    10
    If I could sum up this game in one sentence, it would be this: Fallout 3 is incredibly fun and even a month later I am finding new stuff to do in the game! To be honest I have not played Fallout 1 and 2. Not yet anyways since I am about to buy them online. But I want to say this to the hardcore FO 1 and 2 fans: if you wanted Fallout 1/2 then go back to playing 1 and 2. Face it, the If I could sum up this game in one sentence, it would be this: Fallout 3 is incredibly fun and even a month later I am finding new stuff to do in the game! To be honest I have not played Fallout 1 and 2. Not yet anyways since I am about to buy them online. But I want to say this to the hardcore FO 1 and 2 fans: if you wanted Fallout 1/2 then go back to playing 1 and 2. Face it, the isometrical perspective in RPGs is old. Zelda on the NES old! Try and appreciate what the game is, not what the game isn't. OK? No? Then cry some more would you kindly? My conclusion with Fallout 3: No gamer should miss it and they have absolutely no reason to do so! Expand
  46. BMF
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    Great game Bethesda captured the feal of the original games very well the only con i can think of is the animation for running and some other movements is very strange looking and erratic.
  47. JorgeR.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    Overall an amazing work. The world begs to be explored and there are many mysteries to unearth. The character progression system is easily learned and quite fun, yet also has a level of depth allowing for countless types of characters and strategies. The dialogue and story draw you into the world well. Praise is also given for the scalability of the engine. I am playing it on a budget Overall an amazing work. The world begs to be explored and there are many mysteries to unearth. The character progression system is easily learned and quite fun, yet also has a level of depth allowing for countless types of characters and strategies. The dialogue and story draw you into the world well. Praise is also given for the scalability of the engine. I am playing it on a budget laptop with an AMD Turion 2.0 GHz Dual Core Processor and ATI 3100 Integrated Graphics. On that system I have Fallout 3 running at 800x600 with low/medium details and HDR Lighting activated. The framerate is smooth and the game looks amazing. Watching the post apocalyptic sunrise on a balcony in Megaton is a sight to behold. Wandering dead and broken highways, strolling through ghost towns and empty shells of cities is engrossing. It truly feels like exploring the remnants of civilization. The action that is mingled with the exploration is also top notch. The V.A.T.S. targeting system adds more tactics to encounters and is a joy to use. That's not to say that you're forced to it, regular first person combat works swimmingly as well and mixing the two is great fun. I highly recommend this game! Expand
  48. AnonymousMC
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    After about an hour of playing I found myself thinking "Oh no... Oblivion again... I've already played that game." Now, after around 20 hours of play I cannot wait to get home from work to jump back into this detailed, immersive and quite addictive game. Take the detractors with a grain of salt. This game is great!
  49. MatthewB.
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    A truly great game, where you feel there's always something new lurking round the next pile of nuked rubble. It takes out a lot of the more fussy aspects of Oblivion, and adds some innovative features like the VATS targeting system.
  50. AdamK
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    Stunning game, the whole apocalyptic atmosphere really works in this game, exactly what I have been waiting for. Day/Night cycles are impressive, however would have loved to see much more changing weather... V.A.T.S should be a buyable upgrade... it makes for very easy killing. I must say im very impressed so far, and hopefully look forward to fallout 4 if it is planned.
  51. LauraE.
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    Fallout 3 is a fantastic game. I loved the fantasy world of Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, and this game brought me out of the fantasy magic world into the nuclear war torn future world. I also love the interactive AI in the game, because unlike Oblivion the speech choices depend on your abilities and your sex. I personally enjoyed Fallout 3!
  52. LiquidWolf
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    Excellent game that is a good return to the Fallout genre. It's not quite what Fallout 1 and 2 were, but it is a still a good game in and of itself. I've never really played a game through twice, but this one will be the first in my memory.
  53. BenH.
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    Well what can i say... this game is Jaw dropping amazing. I don't think i have ever played a game so completely absorbing. When i finally finished the game i felt completely lost... like i was missing something i really cherished. I was straight away googling to find out information about whether there would be an expansion. This game is really about personal preference. You can do Well what can i say... this game is Jaw dropping amazing. I don't think i have ever played a game so completely absorbing. When i finally finished the game i felt completely lost... like i was missing something i really cherished. I was straight away googling to find out information about whether there would be an expansion. This game is really about personal preference. You can do most things your own way.. if someones talking down to you.. you don't have to take it, just hit the foolish sucker with your super sledge then rob his dead body blind haha. I won't go to much into the specifics of the game as people should just try this game and learn for their selves. Best game i have played in years and quite possibly the best game i have ever played.. and that is really saying something since im a multiplayer fiend. The other realy great thing about this is that it is built on the Oblivion Engine, Oblivion is one of the most modded games in history by fans. What this means is that fallout 3 is going to get a whole heap more content in the near future for us to play around with. The Modders already are very talented and practiced with Oblivion engine so we can expect the same on Fallout. The last thing i have to say is shame on you to the hardcore fans of fallout that gave this game a Zero. Even if this game had nothing to do with fallout it would still be one of the best games ever made. The fact you gave it a zero just shows that your reviews should not even be posted on this site. It makes me quite sick to be honest. I have played both Fallout and Fallout 2 and this game absolutley reeks of fallout and does the game justice. In fact this game makes fallout probably my favourite series of all time. Bethesda well done you really are the masters of Single Player RPG. Expand
  54. StuartD.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Pure.Digital.Crack. Yes, I recognize that the purists of the great, 1990's era Black Isle/Interplay prequels may not be entirely thrilled with the latest addition to the trilogy, but Fallout 3 is an incredible title. The gameplay is easy and intuitive, the graphics gorgeous (in an oppressively dark way), the story immersive. For anyone who liked Oblivion, they're bound to like Pure.Digital.Crack. Yes, I recognize that the purists of the great, 1990's era Black Isle/Interplay prequels may not be entirely thrilled with the latest addition to the trilogy, but Fallout 3 is an incredible title. The gameplay is easy and intuitive, the graphics gorgeous (in an oppressively dark way), the story immersive. For anyone who liked Oblivion, they're bound to like this. For those who liked the old Fallout games, give it a chance. I think you'll find it immersive. Expand
  55. J.W.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    If all you're concerned about is how close this game sticks to everything you hold dear concerning the old games, then don't buy this game because you'll never be pleased as you're an obsessive who needs to grow up and realise that trying to cling to the past and refusing to accept a game is honestly good because of the developer is incredibly pathetic, immature If all you're concerned about is how close this game sticks to everything you hold dear concerning the old games, then don't buy this game because you'll never be pleased as you're an obsessive who needs to grow up and realise that trying to cling to the past and refusing to accept a game is honestly good because of the developer is incredibly pathetic, immature behaviour. the game is fun. It carries the spirit of Fallout if only you'll let it show you. The combat is rich and varied, and frantic and fun enough to keep you constantly entertained. Character customisation is also fantastic, and the sheer amount of polish and content in the game is truly breath-taking. There are a few niggling little bugs, like the fact that some keys cannot be unbound on the keyboard and the occasional glitch but they're little things which should easily be solved with a small patch and don't tend to come up often. If you've never played Fallout before, buy this. If you have played Fallout before, buy this and don't be stupid, because it really and truly is a fantastic Fallout game. Expand
  56. MichaelR
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    I loved Fallout 2, but I love Fallout 3 more. Fallout 3 is damn near perfect. I bought it with a sceptical mind, and within a few hours the game convinced me that it was a work of genius. I could write a long review why it's excellent, so all I will 'say' are these words: brilliant, detailed world; mature content; great quests; great graphics; wonderful atmosphere; I loved Fallout 2, but I love Fallout 3 more. Fallout 3 is damn near perfect. I bought it with a sceptical mind, and within a few hours the game convinced me that it was a work of genius. I could write a long review why it's excellent, so all I will 'say' are these words: brilliant, detailed world; mature content; great quests; great graphics; wonderful atmosphere; imaginative enemies and monsters; great story and writing . . . . Buy it . . . you will not be disappointed. Expand
  57. MatthewN.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Game follows very closely to Fallout 1 and Fallout 2. Very pleased with visuals as well as great voice acting. Immersive game play that brings back old and creates new memories of great gaming under the fallout name.
  58. AnonymousMC
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    Zoh my God. So this game is totally bad for many reasons. First it uses teh engine that Oblivion was built on. This is the same reason I hate all Quake games (they were built with Doom engines) and Call of Duty: WOW (built with COD 4 engine). Also, anything built with the Source engine except for Half-Life 2 (this means TF2, Left for Dead, CS: Source, Etc.). Next, graphics, my PC is oldZoh my God. So this game is totally bad for many reasons. First it uses teh engine that Oblivion was built on. This is the same reason I hate all Quake games (they were built with Doom engines) and Call of Duty: WOW (built with COD 4 engine). Also, anything built with the Source engine except for Half-Life 2 (this means TF2, Left for Dead, CS: Source, Etc.). Next, graphics, my PC is old and can't run it <-- obviously a shortcoming of the game. Bugs, I played through the entire game; I put about 30 hours into it. THE GAME CRASHED 5 TIMES. Also, there was one time where a quest-necessary character got stuck on an object. I was left no choice but to quick-load!!!! These glitches made it nigh on unplayable. Voice acting... all I need to say, done by people. This means sometimes it is not Oscar worthy acting... terrible shortcoming. Also, the music, its like they took it straight from the 1940's or something. You think they could have gotten something more modern... like Soulja Boi.

    ...The long and short of it is, this game is amazing. If you liked Oblivion or Morrowind (or any RPG for that matter), you will absolutely love this game. I only wish it were longer...
    Expand
  59. AnonymousMC
    Dec 23, 2008
    10
    Man... This game amazed me...
    It's such a perfect mix of a fantastic RPG and a First-person shooter. I love RPGs, and this one is top-notch.
    Even though, I had a great problem with this game: ==>I never, NEVER, saw a game with so many bugs and my pc was good enough to run it! Still, an amazing game. A must have for every RPG fan. Great story, great environment... that destroyed
    Man... This game amazed me...
    It's such a perfect mix of a fantastic RPG and a First-person shooter. I love RPGs, and this one is top-notch.
    Even though, I had a great problem with this game:
    ==>I never, NEVER, saw a game with so many bugs and my pc was good enough to run it!
    Still, an amazing game. A must have for every RPG fan. Great story, great environment... that destroyed world... it's so unreal, and yet so convincing...
    Loved it!
    Expand
  60. AnonymousMC
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    @JeffC: There's no such thing as a water pistol in the game, and it doesn't have any multiplayer. We are talking about Fallout 3, not some childish disney game.
    The game is perfect, from the graphics, to the character personalities. This game has it all, and it indeed deserves to be on the top 50. Although, I wish Bethesda could do something about those bugs that keep coming
    @JeffC: There's no such thing as a water pistol in the game, and it doesn't have any multiplayer. We are talking about Fallout 3, not some childish disney game.
    The game is perfect, from the graphics, to the character personalities. This game has it all, and it indeed deserves to be on the top 50. Although, I wish Bethesda could do something about those bugs that keep coming every now and then.
    Expand
  61. ChuckL.
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    Wow! This game is totally awesome! Selecting your sex, your Look, and first missions when you are a baby. Fixing guns, armor accessories and other stuff. And details of world and effects are amazing! THANK YOU FALLOUT3 team! :3
  62. Lex
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    Just ignore bums like "BethesdaSUX" (short form of that nick would be BS...) No, it's not Bethesda who suck, it's YOU. They create great games with a lot of creativity involved. YOU Mr. BS are creating nothing but bs and pointless whining. Stop wasting peoples time and do the world a favour - just get lost.
  63. Maou
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    Amazing game, has it's flaws but really is a work of art. I can't put it down. I'm sure there are some inconsistencies but I'm having FUN and not going to nit pick. To me it's not oblivion with guns, other than an enhanced engine, the story, leveling, lore, environment is completely different. As for being all one color? it's called a wasteland (and it's Amazing game, has it's flaws but really is a work of art. I can't put it down. I'm sure there are some inconsistencies but I'm having FUN and not going to nit pick. To me it's not oblivion with guns, other than an enhanced engine, the story, leveling, lore, environment is completely different. As for being all one color? it's called a wasteland (and it's not really 1 color), not sure what people expect, there's not going to be a flowery romp in the country side. Expand
  64. RockandRoll
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Look, I loved the original Fallout games too. However, this game exceeded my expectations completely. I loved this game, and I believe that the effort that went into this game is what makes it good. Sure, it's not by Black Isle and sure there are a few bugs, but that is no reason to give it a terrible rating. Everyone has their own opinion. You cannot say a games sucks if there are Look, I loved the original Fallout games too. However, this game exceeded my expectations completely. I loved this game, and I believe that the effort that went into this game is what makes it good. Sure, it's not by Black Isle and sure there are a few bugs, but that is no reason to give it a terrible rating. Everyone has their own opinion. You cannot say a games sucks if there are many people who find it enjoyable, you may hate it but someone else will love it. Now Turok... THOSE were bad. Expand
  65. zachc.
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    ingnore the firt reiw becase i played it on the pc and it was fine. the game is perffect. vats is a great new toll of game play. the diloge is intreasting and fast pace. the only way the game could get buggy is if you played it on a unrecomed system and have a old comuter. but with uptodate were the gam act fine and not as buggy has the firt blog had said.
  66. JordanR
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    I know this game has been out for a long time, but I just wanted to see what it got. I saw someone who said they played it for thirty minutes, then got bored and stopped playing. I know a lot of people like that person. They start playing Fallout 3, and don't like it, but a lot of the time, if you keep playing, you like it. I love the game. It is awesome. I've played it and all I know this game has been out for a long time, but I just wanted to see what it got. I saw someone who said they played it for thirty minutes, then got bored and stopped playing. I know a lot of people like that person. They start playing Fallout 3, and don't like it, but a lot of the time, if you keep playing, you like it. I love the game. It is awesome. I've played it and all the DLC's. I've beaten it five times. Expand
  67. Curtis
    Jan 7, 2009
    10
    Honestly, it's been a while since I've played a game this good. You may be reading about "this game is so glitchy!" or "there are so many bugs!," but honestly, they don't bug me. I run the game on a modest computer at best, playing just barely on medium graphic settings and I really don't have any problems. The only thing that happens is after I go to place after Honestly, it's been a while since I've played a game this good. You may be reading about "this game is so glitchy!" or "there are so many bugs!," but honestly, they don't bug me. I run the game on a modest computer at best, playing just barely on medium graphic settings and I really don't have any problems. The only thing that happens is after I go to place after place, or go to an area where I see a vast area of Wasteland, the game slows down and the sound starts poping, but I believe this to be a computer problem as it has to load a heaping amount of things or remember a heaping amount of things, but in those situations all I do is exit the game and come back in and I'm fine. Now to the games details. The game starts out slow as it is just your life growing up in the vault, but once you get into the wasteland, your thrust into an open end game that lets you do whatever you damn please. This allows for limitless game play as you can help or hurt the random people you find. The main storyline could be longer, but with all the side quest and random monsters, it really does not matter after a while. Plus, the humor and irony in the game is pretty amusing. All in all, this is a game I would recommend for anyone and everyone, as long as you have something that can run it. Expand
  68. EdM.
    Jan 8, 2009
    10
    This game is totally immersive. I'm (maybe) half way thru the game and am already looking forward to replaying at the difficult settings. Have played for around 80-100 hours and had the game lock up once or twice, so glitches are probably due more to inadequate hardware - I have a 9800 GTS and it runs well. VATS system ands alot to the shooting experience, the quests are often This game is totally immersive. I'm (maybe) half way thru the game and am already looking forward to replaying at the difficult settings. Have played for around 80-100 hours and had the game lock up once or twice, so glitches are probably due more to inadequate hardware - I have a 9800 GTS and it runs well. VATS system ands alot to the shooting experience, the quests are often challenging, and there alot of high-intensity situations. Expand
  69. AnonymousMC
    Feb 10, 2009
    10
    10/10. The best pc game since Quake and Half-Life. It is the Fallout series finally in a 1st person view. Post-Apocalypic Atmosphere, Walkthrough NPC's, Slow Motion Actions, Interesting Weapons, Strategy Element with the VATS system per one move at a ti;me, Well Written Story, and there is much more. Very much looking forward to expansions, but hopefully at reasonable prices.10/10. The best pc game since Quake and Half-Life. It is the Fallout series finally in a 1st person view. Post-Apocalypic Atmosphere, Walkthrough NPC's, Slow Motion Actions, Interesting Weapons, Strategy Element with the VATS system per one move at a ti;me, Well Written Story, and there is much more. Very much looking forward to expansions, but hopefully at reasonable prices. :-D

    It also happens to me one of the most controversial games ever to hit the market.

    For me it is the perfect game. 10/10
    Expand
  70. SteveL.
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    I love this game.
  71. MattS.
    Apr 13, 2009
    10
    As a fan of the two "real" previous installments of Fallout 1 and 2, I can say that although Fallout 3 takes a turn away from some of the key fundamentals of the first two, i.e. turn based combat, overhead view, dark humor, self humor, etc; the new dynamics of Fallout 3 make you forget about whats missing from the old Fallout games with its breath taking graphics, a fun new combat system, As a fan of the two "real" previous installments of Fallout 1 and 2, I can say that although Fallout 3 takes a turn away from some of the key fundamentals of the first two, i.e. turn based combat, overhead view, dark humor, self humor, etc; the new dynamics of Fallout 3 make you forget about whats missing from the old Fallout games with its breath taking graphics, a fun new combat system, extensive landscape and open-endedness, and a relatively decent storyline. Also...come on...it's FALLOUT 3!!!!! Expand
  72. JesseC
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    The Game it's self is Fantastic, there is only a few things that need to be fix or need to be more realistic. But besides that. It's the best game I've ever played besides Fallout: Tactics.
  73. J.L
    Apr 21, 2009
    10
    I cant believe the ratings some people have given this game. I think its one of the best games I've played (I have Lots of games) Sure the Main story line is a little short but there is lots of sidequests to, if you was to do them ALL it would raise the playing hours to at least 70 hours. Also they is so many ways of doing the quests and so many different outcomes. The Graphics are I cant believe the ratings some people have given this game. I think its one of the best games I've played (I have Lots of games) Sure the Main story line is a little short but there is lots of sidequests to, if you was to do them ALL it would raise the playing hours to at least 70 hours. Also they is so many ways of doing the quests and so many different outcomes. The Graphics are very good, runs smoothly and to say how big the game is it loads really fast (around 3 or 4 seconds to load a new game) Over all Superb game, Well worth the money And anyone who says different is just well you know. Expand
  74. MathewN
    May 22, 2009
    10
    This game was one of the best games i have ever played, i will say that the main story was to short and that the side quests were a little boring but the fact that so many random things happened it kept the game new, Like the UFO for example. I love open games where it lats the player act as they would in a situation like this. The new expansions coming out are going to be a lot of fun. This game was one of the best games i have ever played, i will say that the main story was to short and that the side quests were a little boring but the fact that so many random things happened it kept the game new, Like the UFO for example. I love open games where it lats the player act as they would in a situation like this. The new expansions coming out are going to be a lot of fun. The Pitt, and Broken Steel showed a lot of newer elements and ideas i'm just sad that The Pitt ended so shortly, and how Broken steel was just to hard, But in the long run i am proud to have played this game and i am looking forward to more expansions and more material. Keep the Good stuff coming Bethesda! Expand
  75. OlavB
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    This is one of my favorite games that I have and It is the greatest game that Bethesta has made since Terminator SKYNET.
  76. |CA|Gir
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the best role-play games I have ever played. The role-play part doesn't interfere with the story line, which I found very nice. The weapons are very realistic because they can get f=damaged and that causes them to do less damage. The NPC AI isn't as bad as some say. So they make a wrong turn, or don't listen to you, or walk into a rock. So what. No AI is This game is one of the best role-play games I have ever played. The role-play part doesn't interfere with the story line, which I found very nice. The weapons are very realistic because they can get f=damaged and that causes them to do less damage. The NPC AI isn't as bad as some say. So they make a wrong turn, or don't listen to you, or walk into a rock. So what. No AI is perfect. Another part of this game is you can customize the color of your Pip-Boy and your HUD. And a nice part about the role-play is that you can be good or evil. And even if your evil, you can still become good. The karma system is very cool. The karma even effects how people like you in the game. I can't think of anything else. Best game ever. Expand
  77. MadisonL.
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    this is about as good as a awesomely modded Oblivion can get. my rig is probably more of a decepticon than a gaming rig, but i was still able to maximize the graphical settings with minimal AA and still get playable frames on my celeron. this score comes with consideration of the available user-made mods out there, and there are some pretty neat one that really appealed to me, that on top this is about as good as a awesomely modded Oblivion can get. my rig is probably more of a decepticon than a gaming rig, but i was still able to maximize the graphical settings with minimal AA and still get playable frames on my celeron. this score comes with consideration of the available user-made mods out there, and there are some pretty neat one that really appealed to me, that on top of the fact that there are DLCs released regularly, this one is definitely worth your dollar. However, like oblivion, tougher enemies toward the late game wouldn't hurt. Expand
  78. marrey
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    The first to combine and FPS with RPG and Universal acclaim did wonderfully!! Some say Boarderlands was better..........NOT. For the first time ever I felt free to do anything I wanted with my character, go wherever I wanted. This is not a role playing game........it's roleplaying first person shooter (tm)......loved every minute of playing this game. The DLC's (downloadable The first to combine and FPS with RPG and Universal acclaim did wonderfully!! Some say Boarderlands was better..........NOT. For the first time ever I felt free to do anything I wanted with my character, go wherever I wanted. This is not a role playing game........it's roleplaying first person shooter (tm)......loved every minute of playing this game. The DLC's (downloadable content) was ......good/ok. UNversal acclaim need to introduce multiplayer to FALLOUT.........they have started a whole new genre and its fantastic!!! Expand
  79. BenS
    Jan 17, 2010
    10
    awsome! awsome! awsome! i beat the game already and i beat it agian it it super fun and very big too and i hope soo this will get past 95% of awsomeness! thank you bethesda
  80. Sgt.Awesomeness
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    I've spent around 24 hours total on this game and haven't even cracked the surface of all the available objectives in the Capital Wasteland. That's what interests me about RPGs, the vast possibilities. Normally i'm a fan of a good old fashioned FPS game, but occasionally a game like Fallout 3 will come out with such complex and endless gameplay and will take me away I've spent around 24 hours total on this game and haven't even cracked the surface of all the available objectives in the Capital Wasteland. That's what interests me about RPGs, the vast possibilities. Normally i'm a fan of a good old fashioned FPS game, but occasionally a game like Fallout 3 will come out with such complex and endless gameplay and will take me away from FPS to a huge free-roam world like no other. A great game! Expand
  81. Max
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    I really don't understand why some reviewers give this game 5/10, 2/10 or even 1/10. The most common argument is that this game is a mod to Oblivion. This is total nonsence, you can say it on almost all of the games coming out today. For example, around 60% of the new games use the Unreal Engine. Does it make them Unreal mods? My guess is that the low scores are coming from I really don't understand why some reviewers give this game 5/10, 2/10 or even 1/10. The most common argument is that this game is a mod to Oblivion. This is total nonsence, you can say it on almost all of the games coming out today. For example, around 60% of the new games use the Unreal Engine. Does it make them Unreal mods? My guess is that the low scores are coming from Fallout1&2 hardcore fans and from people who thought they were bying a FPS. So, if you're hardcore fan of Fallout1&2 and you don't mind that it's gone 3D and realtime, then Fallout3 delievers. However, if you want an overhead view and turn based combat then Fallout3 isn't for you. Just don't bash it, say it like it really is: "This game isn't for me". Also, if you're looking for FPS you really shouldn't buy this game, because it's not (although it resembles one). Sure there are technincal issues, misplaced dialogs and incorrect AI on some occasions (mostly concerns NPCs), however they're all neglegible when you look at the whole picture. Interesting and very long side quests, immersive and vast world (I think the underground part is almost as large as the one on the surface), and easily 100+ hours of gameplay, that is of course if you don't just play for the main story line, which can be sprinted very fast (should I remind you that, Fallout1&2 and Oblivion had very short main story, and most of the game was about exploring and side quests). One thing to note is that PC versions surpasses the 360 and PS3, and I'm not talking about graphics here. It's all about the modding community, which makes this game even better with every comming day. And almost forgot, kudos to Bethsoft for the soundtrack. IMHO it's easily one of the best soundtracks for games. Normally I'd give this game 9/10 but because of all those 1/10 I'm going to rebalance the score. Solid 9/10. Expand
  82. MikeW.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    This game is great, I'm having a very enjoyable experience here. I don't think its perfect, more a 9 than a 10, but like others here I'm trying to balance out the moron PC fanboys that are pissed that the console playing population can experience their beloved and coveted fallout. Get a life, guys. Its not like the game is *your* private intellectual propery. Probably take This game is great, I'm having a very enjoyable experience here. I don't think its perfect, more a 9 than a 10, but like others here I'm trying to balance out the moron PC fanboys that are pissed that the console playing population can experience their beloved and coveted fallout. Get a life, guys. Its not like the game is *your* private intellectual propery. Probably take this more seriously than the black isle programmers. As to following the old series, I think this is pretty well in line, as many difference could be account for by the fact that it takes place on the east coast, instead of in Cali. which is where Fallout 1 and Fallout 2 took place. That does eliminate the whole tribal component, but hey, we get bombed out metro stations and downtown DC. I mean the geographic scale is much better than, say, Fallout 2. I mean New Reno was like 2 screens, teeny tiny... Reno is huge. At least they made an attempt to represent what a *city* looks like. people giving this less than a 6 are not being honest about gameplay and are instead voting on... some peripheral reason (e.g. pc turfwar pissing fight, angry nostalgia, comparison to obliv., politics of game studios etc.) The one notable exception is people having stability issues, which have been minimal in my game time. Note to others on metacritic: This scoreboard is here to rate the FREAKING GAME; not the studio, not the franchise, not games related to it, not the platform you play it on. Why is that so hard? Everyone's an expert on writing game code, apparently, and expects the programmers to fulfill their wildest dreams for 50 bucks. Puh-lease... its a f*cking game, relax a little. This mentality is exactly why people interested in computing and related sciences got such a bad reputation. You angry fan-boys are social cripples. Expand
  83. MiKE
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! You will be addicted, hooked! The game is simply amazing, once you start playing it, you will not want to stop! I played the PS3 first and I was impressed, and now I am playing the PC version and you just can't compare the two! The PC version is alot better, the graphics are crisp, the animation are better, and the controls feel like this game was made for the PC.
  84. PatrickM.
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    This game is simply amazing, from the gorgeous graphics, to the all out action. Not to mrtion the voice acting is pretty amazing too. This game is non-stop fun. One of my favorite things about the game is the V.A.T.S. targeting system. Overall this is one of the best games I've ever played.
  85. TheStodd
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    A few bugs, but so far Game of the Year without a doubt. The game Oblivion should have been! Ignore the naysayers - this is something very special, just make sure your rig can handle it (which any reasonable system should do).
  86. MarkT.
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    A few small shortcomings, just things were you say "It would have been cool if they did this", but any minor issues with the game are more than made up for by the fact that I've almost never had this much fun gaming.
  87. LoganS.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    The hallowed memories of yesteryears games makes the Fallout tradition a challenging project to have undertaken. Bethesda has not released a perfect game, but there is no doubt in my mind that this is indeed a worthy heir to the Fallout lineage. What it has lost by leaving the 3rd person isometric view it has gained back 100 fold by an amazingly detailed world, storylines that go far The hallowed memories of yesteryears games makes the Fallout tradition a challenging project to have undertaken. Bethesda has not released a perfect game, but there is no doubt in my mind that this is indeed a worthy heir to the Fallout lineage. What it has lost by leaving the 3rd person isometric view it has gained back 100 fold by an amazingly detailed world, storylines that go far beyond simple lines of dialog, and many different paths for the player to choose. There is in fact far more content than any single playthrough needs to experience, promising greater replayability. Expand
  88. JeffL.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    Here comes the voice of reason: Fallout Review from a true Fallout Fan: GRAPHICS: 9 These are fairly Oblivion-esque, obviously, they were made on the same engine, well technically not the same engine, an updated version of the engine. But they still felt whole heartedly like Fallout, you got the sense of despair and dirty/grimy/realism that the original had. I know I had many a time where Here comes the voice of reason: Fallout Review from a true Fallout Fan: GRAPHICS: 9 These are fairly Oblivion-esque, obviously, they were made on the same engine, well technically not the same engine, an updated version of the engine. But they still felt whole heartedly like Fallout, you got the sense of despair and dirty/grimy/realism that the original had. I know I had many a time where when I went into a building or a vault that I saw things on the ground or wall that I went.... "Oh shit, I'm gonna die," never once did I have that feeling with Oblivion. Bethesda pulled off the gore level nicely, we must remember that the originals were over the top for their time as well. GAMEPLAY: 9 The gameplay was solid, I am really impressed that it wasn't just Oblivion with guns, they made it a true Fallout game, and the V.A.T.S. was truly what did it. This allowed for the turn-based ability that one could hope for, I personally never did like the full TB system in the old ones anyway (used the "speed up" mode) I think that there was too much planning for killing one or two critters. If you were battling the echelons of hell then I would understand full TB, but it was only ever at most maybe 3 or 4 at a time. The dialog level fit in nicely, the swearing was only where it was in good taste, which is much like the originals. STORYLINE: 10 Simply amazing. I knew the story really had me when, after searching for my father's holotapes I come across one that is named "Better Days," where it sounds like the character's parents are in the course of romance, I didn't go WTF, but instead I laughed a little and cringed a little at the same time, as if I was actually the kid coming across this. They did a superb job of giving characters that needed to say something a personality that makes you love them or hate them or even something else. I know there were many times where I liked a character so much that I couldn't kill them, or was compelled to when asked to within a quest, this is what the original did as well, and I know it would make the original Fallout team proud. MISCELLANEOUS: The animation was clunky at times, but I expected that, this being on the same engine as Oblivion, and seeing the animation in Oblivion, I knew what to expect. I would say that the PC version is definitely the more streamlined of the 3 systems, and made my overall experience that much better. This definitely was built for the consoles simplicity wise but the computers pull it off so much better. My final verdict is a must buy. It's got its quirks but I know that the community is already strong and those things will be worked out pretty quickly. Expand
  89. TrevorG.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    Absolutely incredible game. Fallout 3 is a near perfect genre meld, borrowing the best virtues of First Person Shooters and RPGs. This game creates a stunningly immersive and incredibly detailed world that combines action, storytelling, and player choice into an unrivaled masterpiece. I have largely steered away from RPGs, due to a dislike for both the fantasy genre and stats based Absolutely incredible game. Fallout 3 is a near perfect genre meld, borrowing the best virtues of First Person Shooters and RPGs. This game creates a stunningly immersive and incredibly detailed world that combines action, storytelling, and player choice into an unrivaled masterpiece. I have largely steered away from RPGs, due to a dislike for both the fantasy genre and stats based gameplay, as well as a love of the first person perspective. Immersion is key to me. Half-Life 2 had previously been the bar for the "perfect game", but Fallout 3 may have vaulted over it. The attention to detail is unbelievable. Bethesda has created a magnificently realistic post-apocalyptic world that defies belief with it's plausibility. It is a testament to their work that you quickly stop marveling at the world and forget that the crumbling world around you had to be painstakingly created. It feels like the developers built a city, nuked it, then traveled 200 years in the future to see what it was like. I just "beat" the game, in terms of finishing the main storyline and being kicked to the main menu. I have not, however, experienced a large quantity of what this game has to offer. Depending on your choices, you create the "game" as you see fit. My decisions led me down a path that my friends did not go, and thus we experienced different things. I visited places they didn't even know about, and vice versus. We did different quests, and completed some in different ways. All of this blends seamlessly with the immersion and storyline to create a living world that is nothing I have ever seen. Expand
  90. EvanS.
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    Fallout 3 is one of the best games ever to come out this year, and perhaps this decade. Don't be turned away by the depression the wasteland causes and the sometimes too easy VATS system, everything from the speech choices to the quests are well thought out and executed perfectly. If you liked the exporation and the other elements that made Oblivion great, take it to the next step to Fallout 3 is one of the best games ever to come out this year, and perhaps this decade. Don't be turned away by the depression the wasteland causes and the sometimes too easy VATS system, everything from the speech choices to the quests are well thought out and executed perfectly. If you liked the exporation and the other elements that made Oblivion great, take it to the next step to Fallout 3 Do not hesitate to purchase this game, the wastes are waiting. Expand
  91. Mike
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    It has by far exeeded my expectations. D.C. wasteland feels real and the only bad thing about the game is that it is going to end. For now I spent nearly 50 hours avoiding the unevitable.
  92. GuilhermeG.
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    Let me be clear : fallout 3 missed a lot of things from the original games: Difficulty, Humor, Music, Interface among other things. And there are other less stelar points such as textures, animation and the barter and quest interface. And yes there are quite a few choices that show that Bethesda stuck too much stuff from the Elder Scrolls series. Epic music in fallout games ? Epic fail. Let me be clear : fallout 3 missed a lot of things from the original games: Difficulty, Humor, Music, Interface among other things. And there are other less stelar points such as textures, animation and the barter and quest interface. And yes there are quite a few choices that show that Bethesda stuck too much stuff from the Elder Scrolls series. Epic music in fallout games ? Epic fail. Vampires in Fallout games ? Epic fail. Enemies too easy to kill ? Epic fail. Get yourself radiated with 600 rads and don't die or loose much health like in the first games? Epic fail. (but it would be like that, because in reality, it takes a few hours to feel the effects even with that dose of radiation - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nuclear_bombs_and_health#Radiation_poisoning). I started very doubtfull of this game and noticing all of these things, but somewhere along the way you'll notice: I am playing fallout. You'll be searching lockers, tables and what not for your stuff. You'll be killing off ghouls and super mutants, raiders and mole rats. You'll be performing critical hits. You'll be leveling up expending the experience points on the same attributes as in previous games, and choosing the same perks. The game will suck you in. This I assure you. When you enter a mine field ridden busted down village, enter an abandoned house, where all windows are boarded up, with only a few sun rays going through, paint peeling off the walls, then you go up the stairs into the bedroom to find two sequeletons holding each other in bed...It's beyond words. The ambiance on this game is pure crack. The desolated wasteland is very well represented and it is oppressing. You'll be scavenging stuff to survive and managing your equipment with care. Traps will kill you. It's fun when you're walking around and then hear something drop on the floor. You look around and don't notice anything. You keep moving. Then you see at the edge of the screen something black rolling on the floor. You look down and then you understand : it's 3 grenades dropped from a trap in a walkway above you. Oh sh*t. And BUM. Also the first time you see a Super Mutant Behemoth is memorable. Hell yeah. About the interface, I already said where it fails. Other than that I think Bethesda chose to use a more realistic approach to the pip boy, and seriously i see no problem with that. It works fine for most things. It's a logical approach and seriously if you try to understand the original pip boy from the images, what the hell was that ? A PDA ? With valves ? With what shape ? Bethesda made an interesting choice and I like it. It's not as usable but far more realistic, and that's fine for me. I miss the sarcastic remarks, I miss the really dark humor, I miss the incredibly moody music and the high difficulty of the game. Sometime during my game experience I started thinking, damn this feels life the first fallout. And it does. Let me be clear though, besides the landscape, the game looks very last-gen. You won't get crispy clear textures like stalker, crysis and dead space. You won't get all those lightning effects. You won't get great facial expressions. But this is very much a work of love for the series and it shows. I quickly forgot the animations, the shoddy colision detection and the textures. I quickly forgot the stuff that shows that the mentality at Bethesda is very much stuck in the Elder scrolls series. You start wanting to find out about what is going on there, why this radio signal, where are these people, what secrets lurk in those tunnels ? You'll fight for your survival, make choices that affect character's lives, and explore. It WILL suck you in. I miss a lot of things from the original series and yes I'm sad that Bethesda didn't capture them. I'm sad that the game is wattered down for mass comsuption and the interface for console use. I wish brotherhood of steel guys felt more hardcore and invicible. I wish there was the plasma gattling gun. I wish you could apply medical care to yourself like in the original series. I wish mutants were much much harder. I was terrified of those guys in the originals, even at top levels. I wish the AI was better. I wish there was better dialog choices. I wish for the original fallout music. I wish the environment was even more scary, something more like stalker. I wish.... But you have to realize that I don't think anyone else could have done a better job. Everything in this game has a reason to be. I can perfectly understand almost all of the decisions Bethesda made in relation to this game. They all have logic and show that the game was really well tought. It shows a lot of dedication and hard work. Yes many things are different, but I still keep feeling like I'm back playing fallout 1. And it sucks you so much cause now you're playing in first person. Watching in your face all of those things you imagined when you were playing them 10 years ago. It's not perfect but it's a great game, with a huge scope that will keep you busy for a long time. Just thinking about some of the stuff I've played and watched sends me shiffers from the back of my head down my spine. It has been a long, long time since a game was able to make me feel like this. I am a hardcore gamer, from the days of playing on a 48k Spectrum with games stored on audio tapes, and I'm not easily impressed by most recent games. Far Cry 2 bores me to death, for example. Most game reviews suck these days and give wrong ratings. I would give Far Cry 2 a strong 60 or 70 at most. Fallout 3 would get a very strong 90, maybe 95. But to give this game a zero out of spite ? I'm giving it 10 just to counterbalance those brainless scores. Anyone that gives this game a zero only because it's not the original fallout, and doesn't recognize the great things about it is seriously retarded. This game is great on its own. It's strange but i keep thinking to myself : It's not fallout and at the same time, it IS fallout. I think Bethesda should go back to their labs, work on the engine, improve a lot of things : animation, collision detection, AI, textures, lightning. This engine needs an overhaul. Because I can't wait for another entry in the series. Fallout 4, for sure. Don't care about any MMORPGs, give me a proper singleplayer experience any day of the week. To sum this up : it's great to be playing fallout again. About time. Hell yeah. Oh and by the way, I can confirm something that I highly doubted when reading it in other reviews : VATS doesn't get old. Expand
  93. AnonymousMC
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    A fantastic RPG, Brilliant game, the stories and quests stand up to the classics, and the game has enough changes to keep it interesting.If you liked the exporation and the other elements that made Oblivion great, take it to the next step to Fallout 3.
    Is the game's of the year 2008.
  94. EricB.
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    anyone who didn't like the game has shity taste in games. probably people that like to play my simis life or trials or my pets or little big planet crappy games like those just a bunch of shitty opinions. I am sorry that the game didn't let you pick flowers like on harvest moon and feed your pets but it did offer good dialogue and great game play so its like oblivion but just anyone who didn't like the game has shity taste in games. probably people that like to play my simis life or trials or my pets or little big planet crappy games like those just a bunch of shitty opinions. I am sorry that the game didn't let you pick flowers like on harvest moon and feed your pets but it did offer good dialogue and great game play so its like oblivion but just fallout game play well sorry to burst your bubbles but that was the point. there is no other game out there like fallout 3 and that is what makes it good, to create something new and different is not easy so i give them allot of crdit for this one. Expand
  95. king
    Dec 27, 2008
    10
    For starters I'm not really an RPG fan and usually find it difficult to stick with one all the way through but this game kept me coming back. I've played it through once and I've already started another new game just so I can make different decisions. One of my favorite all time games and I've played games for 15 years!
  96. OmerE
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    I see where some people are coming from, when comparing the original installments in the franchise with this newest one. It is indeed quite a bit different. But different isn't bad. I'm really thoroughly enjoying this gaming experience. It is predominantly a first-person/third person shooter with a stronger (but not pure) RPG element. Despite all that, it's really just well I see where some people are coming from, when comparing the original installments in the franchise with this newest one. It is indeed quite a bit different. But different isn't bad. I'm really thoroughly enjoying this gaming experience. It is predominantly a first-person/third person shooter with a stronger (but not pure) RPG element. Despite all that, it's really just well put together. Most people downvoting Fallout 3 are basically cult-loyal to the original 2 games. I don't really think anything could have been done to appease these people. I really enjoyed 1 & 2, and 3 does feel incredibly different, and at times, it's hard to take it seriously as a 'true' addition to the series.. but it's definitely addictive, immersive, vast, detailed, beautiful and enjoyable. I think that deserves a 10 in itself. There's really nothing that I don't like about this game. As far as action-RPGs are concerned, this totally blows Far Cry 2 and Clear Sky out of the water. Get it. The people complaining are really being way too anal for their own good. They're just upset that this game isn't Fallout 1 or 2. Expand
  97. LandonF
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    This game is the best game i've ever played. The replay value is VERY high, IMO. this is about the fourth or fifth time i've beat it. there are many places to explore, things to do, and an epic main story. very well worth the money.
  98. GareBear
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    This game ties with call of duty in my opinion. both very different i know but i play both a looooooooooot. not like any other game i've played before.
  99. RandomRaider
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    Great system, great gameplay, great sounds, great interface, great graphics, great story, big and beautiful, this game has it all - and its a must have!
  100. AnonymousMC
    Jan 29, 2009
    10
    To Jason M: I have a vista 64bit and it runs fine. i mean it is better on a vista in my opinuen. and i agree with the other things you say but the not running part. Maybe you don't have good enogh ghx or something, i dont know, but don't give up fro it works fine with mine.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. PC PowerPlay
    90
    Minor niggles aside, Fallout 3 is almost entirely spectacular. Everything from the graphics, to the sound, to the plot is first-rate. The VATS system worlds like a charm, and it’s so easy to get the hang of, you’ll be cracking skulls like there’s no tomorrow. [Dec 2008, p.55]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    100
    A vast and open world of unimaginable possibilities opens in front of you in Fallout 3. Great story, flawless combat system, and the option to choose your own way makes it a hot candidate for game of the year. [Nov 2008]
  3. Fallout 3 is one of this year's best games. It's an unforgettable journey that lives up to the series. You are an ex-vault 101 inhabitant, and you discover a whole new world, full of zombies, mutants, raiders, aliens and all kinds of creatures. Welcome to this post-apocaliptic reality, where you are going to spend hundreds of hours.