User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 111
  2. Negative: 7 out of 111

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Fallout Tactics is a great game. Anyone who says this doesn't deserve the name "Fallout" hasn't played Fallout. The story is great, entertaining, and engaging, and straight out of the Fallout fiction. While the RPG elements of the previous two Fallout installments are mostly absent, Fallout Tactics gives you complete control of each member of your party down to the clothes they wear, the guns they carry, and exactly what they do. As you travel the wastes, you can pick up additional team members and types, making the customizability of this game and replayability immense. I have played and replayed this game multiple times, as the graphics and gameplay have stood up over the years quite well. My only complaint is the linearity of the storyline, but even then you can just go wander the wastelands if you feel like it, which is fun in itself (albeit dangerous). I wish I could find a game as well put together as Fallout Tactics these days. Expand
  2. Aug 5, 2011
    9
    This game is a great strategic type game. I also love to mess around with the multiplayer aspect, no one plays it really, but it's fun to have a friend over and make some custom characters and mow each other down once in a while. I think if tactics ever became a flash web game for multiplayer it would do great! As far as the actual game goes, I don't really recall much of a story line, I don't think it really claims to have one either, it's more managing your characters and setting up combat. If you really wanted a story I'm sure you could piece it together through missions but that would probably be annoying. Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2012
    7
    I don't understand all of the critical negativity surrounding this game (outside of Metacritic, that is!). It was never meant to be a direct sequel to the first two Fallout titles and yet it gets judged as if it were one time and time again. It's a combat strategy game with some adventure/RPG elements set in the Fallout universe. It also happens to be fairly good. It's aged reasonably well and I recommend it, as long as you're not planning to hold it to the light of the original Fallout titles. Expand
  4. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Fallout Tactics is a neglected masterpiece. This game gets so much right: Great atmosphere, Great sound., Great level design. Great character levelling. Great Tactical combat. However the game also falls off badly in the second half. meaning that it is hard to appreciate all the brilliant design by the time you finish it. The way the game finlly ends and fails is tragic: : It is too linear and so is a kind of long railroad rather than a role playing game with any meaningful choices in it. The inventory system is wonderful, but unfortunately most inventory choices become redundant in the second half of the game by which time the player team is way overpowered and the game thus becomes dull, and boring before it reaches its final, rather uninspired conclusion. This is a game that badly needs to be rebuilt and perfected. The fundamentals are so good, that this could be the basis for a brilliant, brilliant role playing experience Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    I started with the newer Fallout games. Then about a year ago I decided to pick up the triple pack (Fallout 1, 2, and this one. At first, I didn't quite understand this game. It was confusing, felt a little weird and such. I got a few missions in and I have to say that it isn't all that bad. I was astonished by the graphics of the cutscenes. A little disappointing in the linear gameplay.
    Though if the original 2 games had combat like this, it would be nearly perfect.
    I say around a 7 or 7.5 out of 10.
    Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    This is a really decent tactical squad game, i bought it as an x-com refugee looking for more of the same and was not disappointed. The building of your squad and play style is reminiscent of baldurs gate and you may nostalgically recognize more than a few voices throughout.

    It loses a mark for a few bugs to do with enemy miniguns and the annoying random attacks when you travel.
    72
    hours in Sept, 2013. Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    A very different idea to the original fallouts while still visually looking similar and concentrating on the same universe. Fallout tactics concentrates on... well.. tactics. And it does it well. Imagine Jagged Alliance in the fallout universe.
  8. Jul 31, 2014
    5
    Seems more like a mission to mission based game as in the Laser Squad series than an RPG like FO1 & FO2. Sound, graphics and animations are not to bad for a game this old. Though still being turn based and and the combat based on dice roll systems leaves the gamer out in the cold just watching the action. I think this old turn based mechanic has really had its day for me oh well.
  9. Jun 20, 2014
    5
    Its not realy a good game.It has some major flaws.Ive played all Falloutgames and ive played through Tactics when it came out and now im playing it the second time.The basic story is ok.The problem is the storytelling.Its bad.The game tells its "story" with some dialoges.Or should i say monologues?Cause you cant interact.And thats my major point why the sucks in terms of story.The characters are not important.Not your commanding officer, not the people you save(or kill) and not your team.The voiceacting is ok but thats it.The dialoges are short and tell not realy a story.You progress through the when you finish missions.These missions are sometimes well made, sometimes suck completely because they lack something.There are maps for sneaking, thats fun.IF IT WORKS PROPERLY!!The pathfinding is terrible and sometime youll get spotted because of that or you lose AP because the character takes a strange route.No go in a tactical game.How much the game is flawed depends on your characterbuild for the maincharacter.Play a sniper and the game is far to easy.Play a melee or unarmed character and you punish yourself.On example:The first enemys suck.You sneak behind them, hit them in the eyes and most of them die.Problems begin when you encaunter the mutants.They got nasty weapons(big guns).You sneak uppon them and melee them, youll die probally because of the high HP they got and you lack the power in meleecombat.Remeber those sneakcrits from fallout 3 or New Vegas?In Tactics even this crappy **** needs an extra perk.Makes the hole idea useless.Makes the deathclaw race useless.Yes, you can play with deathclaws in your party.Sounds amazing, right?Nope, they suck.Waste of time because they die too quickly.Just one example for bad balance and/or design decisions.Another topic are the random encounters.FAR TOO MANY!!!!And some of them are realy hard if you are on foot.Youve got you APC?The encounters are too easy in that case.Sorry, bad balancing.Another point is the progression in terms of equipment.The game lacks late game content especialy when you play with a meleechar.Youll get the ripper pretty early in the game, the powerfist too.These are the best weapons for close combat.That suckz.All in all, the game is realy fun in the first missions.There is a steady progression, you level up pretty quick.But the game gets boring pretty fast. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. It's simply too frenetic in spots for some tastes. Still, that's a fairly minor quibble with what is undoubtedly one of the more enjoyable strategy offerings of the year thus far.
  2. An innovative game with a long single player campaign filled with loads of detail and fun gameplay.
  3. A very enjoyable game with an intriguing storyline, a captivating environment, and engrossing gameplay.