Fallout Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 629 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the aftermath of a world-wide nuclear war, Fallout will challenge you to survive in an unknown and dangerous world. You will take the role of a Vault-dweller, a person who has grown up in a secluded, underground survival Vault. Circumstances arise that force you to go Outside -- to aSet in the aftermath of a world-wide nuclear war, Fallout will challenge you to survive in an unknown and dangerous world. You will take the role of a Vault-dweller, a person who has grown up in a secluded, underground survival Vault. Circumstances arise that force you to go Outside -- to a strange world 80 years after the end of the modern civilization. A world of mutants, radiation, gangs and violence. Your immediate task is to find a replacement for the broken water purification controller chip. Without that chip, your fellow Vault dwellers are doomed to dehydration or be forced to leave the safety of the Vault for the Outside. [Interplay] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 100
    Perhaps the strongest aspect of Fallout is that it is ideal for RPG newbies yet at the same time provides a depth of role-playing that veterans can really get stuck into. It also has the best replay value of any game I've experienced to date.
  2. This is one of those rare games that oozes quality from every pore.
  3. The story is so well developed in this game you'll wonder why you've been playing mindless shooting games like "Quake." When you start the game you'll be treated to with one of the most chilling, well-written introductions a game has ever been blessed with.
  4. Above all, the NPC interaction and voice acting are the best in any game to date. This game is possibly the best investment an RPG fan can presently make, and will prove entertaining for countless gaming hours.
  5. This top-down RPG is without a doubt the best PC RPG we have played in years. That's not an exaggeration. Years. I can't think of another game that comes even close to Fallout's excellent character generation and skill system, great story, and classy delivery.
  6. Fallout's detailed graphics, compelling plot, and intuitive gameplay should deservedly broaden its appeal beyond the hard-core role-playing game audience. Put simply, Fallout may be the best role-playing game to be released in years.
  7. A decent RPG where you can indeed actually advance your character and choose one of many paths through the story.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 79
  2. Negative: 4 out of 79
  1. Mar 26, 2015
    10
    I played this for the first time in 2014 and it's now my favourite PC game. I would rate it 9.8/10. For 1997 it had unexpectedly smart visualsI played this for the first time in 2014 and it's now my favourite PC game. I would rate it 9.8/10. For 1997 it had unexpectedly smart visuals with close-ups in dialogue, combat animations, beautiful environments and excellent art design.

    The "S.P.E.C.I.A.L." character system is unique, there are funny icons illustrating every "perk". Different character builds change the gameplay completely as well as the outcome of situations. Dialogue choices and actions change the game world meaningfully. On top of that Fallout has the best top down combat system I have experienced. Targeting different body parts with unarmed, melee and different types of ammo makes it very tactical. The combat animations are engrossing.

    Sound effects and voice acting are good, the music however is reptitive. Put on some 50's or 60's music and enjoy this classic!
    Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    User Score, Y U are so low? Fallout is greatest CRPG ever. You can play it for 500 hours and still discover new things (like i did). AmazingUser Score, Y U are so low? Fallout is greatest CRPG ever. You can play it for 500 hours and still discover new things (like i did). Amazing storyline, amazing characters, amazing gameplay! Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    The first of it's series, Fallout gives you the aspect of a RPG game with high standards and graphics which I say are still good today on aThe first of it's series, Fallout gives you the aspect of a RPG game with high standards and graphics which I say are still good today on a lousy laptop. The atmosphere is outstanding for people new to RPG games. Where to start?
    Characters look the same but they aren't. You'll always see how various the people are in this game as the graphics DON'T make the game better, the game itself does. Let your imagination strike and think about how the characters look like! Some of them have voice acting, some don't. The facial animations aren't actually animations so whatever. The storyline is the most interesting (in the point of Intellectual storyline) after Half Life Trilogy. The Great War being placed into a long timespan dating from 2030s to 2077 when the nuclear bombs started replacing the rain from the clouds. You can see, everything looks like 1960s for a reason. It's then when this thing almost happened the same back then! But didn't, which in Fallout did. The soundtrack gave the atmosphere plus points and it's great. The gameplay is awesome, based on strategy combat.
    So this game marked my childhood - as everyones'. Some may agree, some may don't.
    Expand
  4. DanielD.
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    Simply one of the best.. EVER!! ...;)
  5. EliasO.
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    This is the greatest game ever. The story the cutscenes. I also love the characters they all have their own interesting personalites except This is the greatest game ever. The story the cutscenes. I also love the characters they all have their own interesting personalites except dogmeat. The game characters also have some good quotes. This game you can play over and over again and never get bored. There is so much freedom in this game. You can start the game leave the vault and head straight to the military base. You can also kill whoever you want as long as you are strong enough. You can spend days or weeks playing it once or beat it in one day. All in all this is a game no game fan should miss. Expand
  6. Wildsnail
    Feb 13, 2008
    9
    Been on a retro trip lately and Fallout is well worthy of playing. A lot of fun with some nicely dark humour and plenty of player freedom. I Been on a retro trip lately and Fallout is well worthy of playing. A lot of fun with some nicely dark humour and plenty of player freedom. I found the graphics acceptable but did find it a little buggy as I had a repeated crash on the same part quite near the end and some of the fights can be horrendously unfair as you can sometimes be killed unexpectedly by single critical hits. However, as long as you save regularly, this isn't much of a problem and doesn't spoil a classic RPG/adventure. It really gives me high hopes for Fallout 3 as I hope Bethesda will make a post-apocalyptic Oblivion. Expand
  7. DerekA.
    Mar 11, 2008
    0
    I honestly can not see what people like in this game. Its turn-based combat is absolutely wretched and the RP choices in this game are I honestly can not see what people like in this game. Its turn-based combat is absolutely wretched and the RP choices in this game are pitiful to say the least. Go play Betrayal at Kondor if you want a good RPG. I could maybe see this being fun when I was 10 for the goofy violence, but any adult that plays this game will surely see how terrible this game really is. Expand

See all 79 User Reviews