Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 607 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a spin-off that contains around eight hours of original content and features a single open-world island to explore, with many of Far Cry 3's gameplay systems and mechanics making a return.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 90
    Thanks, Ubisoft Montreal, for getting this right on the first try, because this is undoubtedly the only time it will be fresh and exciting. Still, the degree of creativity and the load of ideas on display really demonstrates which ways you can treat your source material inventively via spin-offs or DLCs. I really could get used to that.
  2. May 9, 2013
    90
    This game is pure irony: story, dialogue, music, graphics... everything recalls the craziest clichés of the 80s.
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    90
    Like wandering through a theme park dedicated to the excess of 80s blockbuster entertainment, Blood Dragon takes Far Cry’s proven gameplay formula and adds humour, a new coat of paint and a script free from qualms of narrative dissonance.
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    81
    It's Far Cry 3 dressed as trashily as you can imagine; the joke only goes so far, but it's definitely fun to play. [July 2013, p.90]
  5. May 2, 2013
    80
    It´s a poor man's Far Cry 3 without the stunning vistas and cut mechanics, but it´s also a fun homage to the 80s and Action Hero movies, all while delivering a nice and straightforward shooter.
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    I really thought that Blood Dragon would quickly become too much, but I'm surprised that it was able to make me laugh all the way through this heavily deformed and 80's enriched Far Cry 3. It goes in all directions, and at great length, to charm all over-the top, punchline riddled, references fans. A smart and refreshing stand-alone take.
  7. 50
    Even though Blood Dragon is packed with the relaxed charm of the 80ies, it just doesn't is enough to entertain in the end. It lacks content and variation and it doesn't even look good. This is nowhere near the awesomeness that is Far Cry 3.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 140
  1. May 11, 2013
    10
    It feels like the old duke nuke. Gameplay takes the best of fc3 and adds laser dragons and goofy one liners while adding (cyber) to the beginning of everything. Downsides are minimal. Not enough dialogue for the frequency of it. Too easy on hard. Expand
  2. May 27, 2013
    10
    Probably my all-time favorite FPS on PC. If you grew up at all in the 80s or just have an appreciation for the action movies from that era, you'll find it extremely entertaining. Silly but clever, and somehow with a ton of nostalgia. Oh, and the gameplay is a blast. Just an incredibly fun experience to play. Expand
  3. May 4, 2013
    10
    Definitely worth the money, compared to the highly forgettable realistic-wannabe shooter games out there Blood Dragon stands out as a kind of its own, giving you a break from being "some serious business special force guy" saving the world from nuclear war.

    A game made without push financial constraints and possibly involve someone going on a holiday and getting a bit too high.

    There's a lot of cheesy combat dialog involved, so if you like being a serious tightass, or just don't like having fun, this game is not for you.
    Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    blood dragon takes the great game play of Far Cry 3 and adds to it a really funny humorous dialogue there is not much story in it but the fun and humor will make you laugh so hard and it isn't short it will take 7 hours to complete so it's definitely worth playing Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    Overall a very satisfying "pointless FPS" type experience.

    The game doesn't take itself seriously, and needs to be approached with that in
    mind.

    Also, keep in mind i did not ever play far cry 3, so I am approaching this as a totally independent game

    Pros:

    Graphically quite nice (if you appreciate the overall style), and easily playable on highest settings with no frame rate drops on a 2 year old card.

    Weapons are fun, with a good upgrade system, doing the missions to unlock the upgrades actually doesn't get boring or tedious as there are only a few and they interspersed with capturing bases.

    The leveling up system and bonus effects you gain is a nice feature. The money is likewise enough to keep you doing stuff without being punishing by ever really running out.

    Vehicles are fun.

    The multiple melee takedown options are pretty fun and make playing stealth viable in a lot of areas.

    Strategically planning to stealth capture bases can be quite fun... although sometimes it is just as easy to sit a good distance away and snipe everyone.

    It is fun to just go out and cause destruction. The environment is quite nice (if a bit always dark) and it is fun to just go exploring and killing patrols

    For the price I got it for 4.99 on sale, it provided about 12 hours of entertainment, not a bad ratio.

    Meh:

    The collectibles I'm pretty split on, on the one hand it's an excuse to go out and explore the island, but having a few more missions or something and fewer collectibles would probably be a little preferable.

    AI is somewhat bad at times although i didn't really mind. On one base i parked on the road outside and just fired a car mounted laser straight at a doorway for about 2 minutes, and eventually captured the base, as every enemy inside just walked right into the field of fire.

    Cons:

    The main plot missions are pretty bland, sometimes annoying, really the weakest point of the game honestly. The last one is ok just because of the sheer epicness of destroying everything in sight. Very anti climactic though. Luckily, there are only a few actual required missions that progress the story and you can just do them all in an hour at the end of the game after you are leveled up.

    The weird way saving works, and the fact that you can't save your exact location any time is just bizarre. Not being able to save on missions is fine if they want to prevent quick save abuse (although i personally don't see the problem if someone wants to do that) but the overall way the system works is just weird and took some getting used to. It's like your state (xp, ammo, etc.) is saved, but your position is always the last checkpoint you were at.

    The way killing animals with the knife (like the certain alligator in the sewer mission) works is awkward and annoying. Luckily it doesn't come up much

    Bottom Line: It's a fun FPS to build yourself up into a killing machine and just go around killing bad guys. Simple, pointless fun. Some of the jokes are a bit much in terms of how corny or cliche they are, but overall the humor has its moments. Definitely worth a play through if you can get it for $10 or less.
    Expand
  6. May 24, 2013
    8
    If you were an 80s kid, then you'll be giggling and smiling like it's 1986 all over again. Brilliant use of analogue and digital synths, the VCR overlay, cheesy dialogue and neon splatter, help to turn Far Cry 3 on its head. I got about 8 hours of solid gameplay. There are 13 outposts to take over, and side-missions. The weapons are very powerful and feel awesome. Still, I would say that the AI is terrible. Even on hard the enemies are so dumb, that it's so easy to breeze through. Cheers Ubisoft Montreal! Expand
  7. May 1, 2013
    0
    As per usual, U-Play has kept me from playing. Purchased game on steam, when trying to activate, was told my CD key was invalid. I tried pasting from steams "copy to clipboard function", making sure no extra spaces got copied, etc, still no love. I attempted it three more times (EXACTLY) as it was in steam, caps/dashes, etc), and was told my account was banned, and had to call U-play support. 20 minutes on hold, then was told "oh, that happens sometimes. I cant unlock your account, so try again in a few hours". When I asked what if the same thing happens, the support guy said "i dont know what you want me to do, you messed up your cd key. You'll get to play when you get to play, the game just came out".
    Unacceptable. They were happy to take my money without delay... Guess who doesnt have to deal with these issues? Pirates.
    The game may or may not be good, clearly I was willing to bet 15 bucks it was good. However customer support is as much a part of a piece of software's attributes as its graphics/level design/etc, and if I created a piece of software with graphics/level design/etc that were as bad as the customer service I recieved, then I would expect a 0/10 rating from reviewers. So here you go Ubisoft: you earned it!
    Expand

See all 140 User Reviews