Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
Buy On
  1. Aug 13, 2011
    74
    FEAR 3 spends too much time being a mediocre horror game and not enough innovating, but it's still a wild shooter.
  2. Jun 30, 2011
    70
    Aside from these few relatively minor negatives, F.E.A.R. 3 is a very solid shooter that covers a lot of the right bases -- I just wish the developers had put as much imagination and creativity into the single-player campaign as they did into coming up with new multiplayer modes. And, you know, actually made it a bit more scary.
  3. Jul 26, 2011
    55
    Long before the events of the original F.E.A.R., scientists of Armacham Corporation put Alma Wade into medically-induced coma and enclosed her in a sarcophagus to suppress her psionic abilities. While trying to create an army of clones with superhuman abilities, they twice artificially inseminated her body, but in the end paid the ultimate price for cruelty and greed. Replace Armacham with Warner Bros., Alma – with F.E.A.R., and this make-believe story will become real.
  4. Jul 4, 2011
    60
    While neither innovative in its gameplay mechanics or its fright-fests, F.E.A.R. 3's solo outing is still a better-than-average experience that is made all the more entertaining with another player. Its multiplayer offerings are on the opposite side of the spectrum, featuring interesting and fun new gameplay modes that deserve to be imitated by future FPS titles. Unfortunately, the current netcode issues keeps gamers from discovering this for themselves, as if Alma's vengeful spirit lingers as a ghost in the machine.
  5. Sep 16, 2011
    50
    This game would have been a lot more exciting if it either way genuinely scary or embraces its action parts a lot more. Instead it's stuck in purgatory, as a generic shooter with superficial horror elements.
  6. Jun 21, 2011
    70
    The game still kind of works because of the KI and the good controls, but that doesn't make up for bad level design and presentation. Alma doesn't cause fear anymore, she's just annoying.
  7. Aug 17, 2011
    72
    So nobody on Fear 3 has reinvented the wheel, but they've sure gussied it up.
  8. Jul 12, 2011
    60
    This probably won't be the end of the Fear franchise, but if the developer does decide to keep it with a trilogy, they drove it home on a strong, if belabored, horrifying note.
  9. 60
    There's no doubt that F.E.A.R. 3 should have been a better game, as it fails to live up to both its predecessors and much of what else is on offer in the genre these days. The overall experience is still worthy of approval, and there are some fun co-op modes. Whether you're into horror, action or a combination of the two you might want to take a look at F.E.A.R. 3. Just don´t expect a scary wonder-ride like the first installment.
  10. Jun 29, 2011
    70
    The game makes no major missteps, but neither does it surprise, innovate or evolve the genre in any significant way.
  11. Jun 29, 2011
    70
    Maybe if it inspired loss of bladder control in the same way the original did - or, better still, how Monolith's Condemned did - it might have been slightly more memorable. FEAR 3 is sadly lacking in the fear department, and has subsequently lost its defining characteristic.
  12. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Aug 29, 2011
    70
    Fear 3 is just good shooter – more thriller than horror game. Duels are almost perfect so you'll be satisfied with them even when they are the only contents this game offers. [Issue#207]
  13. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 8, 2011
    70
    Less tactical, less scary, all nonsense. Yet it's still great fun with your mates. [Sept 2011, p.]
  14. CD-Action
    Aug 2, 2011
    60
    The first F.E.A.R. was scary and good. The second one was scary-ish and good-ish. The third one is... well, indistinct. F.E.A.R. 3 is a generic shooter devoid of atmosphere, built correctly step by step but lacking any quality that could prevent you from forgetting this game. [August 2011, p.52]
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 439 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Jun 22, 2011
    4
    I love the FEAR franchise. I loved the action horror, and I especially loved FEAR 2. It is a sad time for the FEAR franchise as this is justI love the FEAR franchise. I loved the action horror, and I especially loved FEAR 2. It is a sad time for the FEAR franchise as this is just another poorly ported console game. Graphics are not up to par with FEAR 2, why are we regressing? FEAR 2 flowed so organically, and I could not stop playing until I beat it. In this installment, we the PC gamers are left with an overly difficult jerky controlled game which design seems to be based around a buggy, unwanted and unnecessary cover system which leaves you looking at the poor wall texture as you wait for your health to regenerate (which is all the damn time). FEAR 2 had health packs, and it was brilliant... you the player were in control of your fate. Why, Monolith, have you forsaken your true core audience? A truly sad ending to a great series. I wont get to know what happens in the story, because this game is too frustrating to look at, and ultimately play. Full Review »
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    I have played FEAR 3 on the PC and Xbox and this game is the best game so far this summer!... Co-op Campaign, Playing as Fettel is unique andI have played FEAR 3 on the PC and Xbox and this game is the best game so far this summer!... Co-op Campaign, Playing as Fettel is unique and pretty sweet (you can possess enemies!), one of the best FPS cover systems period, extremely cool scoring system, and some really unique & fun Co-op Multiplayer Modes... AND because of the Scoring System and Co-op/Multiplayer the replay-ability of FEAR 3 is through the roof!!!... NOTE:This is NOT Call Of Duty nor is it trying to be COD (which I think is refreshing)... Full Review »
  3. Jul 13, 2011
    6
    Unlike FEAR 1 and 2 there is no Medpacks or Armor in this one, so now we get the baby's first blinking red screen version of FPS health. ItUnlike FEAR 1 and 2 there is no Medpacks or Armor in this one, so now we get the baby's first blinking red screen version of FPS health. It really ruined the gameplay and the fear aspect of the game knowing that you could just regen your health by cowering in a corner for a bit. Never felt "scared" in this game once because of it. If you enjoyed the story of the first 2 and want to see how it "ends", then play this one. If not, honestly just play FEAR 1 and 2 again they were much better. Full Review »