Fez PC

Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 989 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Fez, you play as Gomez, a 2D creature living in what he believes is a 2D world. Until a strange and powerful artifact reveals to him the existence of a mysterious third dimension!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 23, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece by any measure. [July 2013, p.89]
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    100
    It’s a charming, charismatic adventure that will leave you with a smile across your face for the duration of your play.
  3. May 10, 2013
    95
    There’s a touch of brilliance to this game. You feel the incentive to play on, because solving a puzzle unlocks a new door and you enter into another uncharted and mysterious world. We love the music and the retro-style, pixelized art. Fez harks back to 2D classics, so if you’re anything like me, nostalgia should kick in almost instantly.
  4. May 27, 2013
    90
    Fez is a marvel of a game. Rotating its 2D world on the third axis transforms what would otherwise be a forgettable platformer into an instant classic. Paired with smart and satisfying puzzles, Fez provides hours of entertainment at a budget price. It is disappointing that PC controls and additional content come up short but the quality is unquestionable. Fez is a must buy.
  5. May 9, 2013
    88
    FEZ is one of the most accessible and best experiences you can find in the indie game scene.
  6. 85
    The variation of the broken-down elements of the game is such that, if you miss two or three of the dozens of screens of the game, you will have missed on something special and unique. [June 2013]
  7. May 3, 2013
    80
    Fez may not be as polished as its pairs, the Limbos and the Braids, but it's the indie gem we were expecting it to be. It's an ode to 8bit clichés for sure, but also a puzzler that will appeal to all the thinkers and explorers alike, filled with cuteness, an awesome soundtrack and atmosphere, and quite a load of secrets to uncover.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 175
  2. Negative: 46 out of 175
  1. Jun 28, 2015
    10
    I recommend this game.
    Why?
    Because everything is great in this game! The universe, the music (well, I must admit that by dint of hearing
    I recommend this game.
    Why?

    Because everything is great in this game! The universe, the music (well, I must admit that by dint of hearing the same music loop ... It's quite embarrassing), the game-play, story and puzzles of course!
    We must leave nothing to chance in this game, everything can be used later and again ... Everything must translate between the hieroglyphs or the kinds of pieces came from Tetris.

    Anyway, it is an excellent game without much fuss (I recommend the solution anyway, let's not crazy) and very enjoyable to play and learn!
    Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    This game is a masterpiece, im not usually into these kinda 8 bit looking games but this one made me feel like a kid again was some trippyThis game is a masterpiece, im not usually into these kinda 8 bit looking games but this one made me feel like a kid again was some trippy effects almost old school Atari like, really enjoyed this game. Expand
  3. May 2, 2013
    10
    FEZ brings pixels to life. The vivid colors and music that gives every scene its own style and atmosphere makes every discovery andFEZ brings pixels to life. The vivid colors and music that gives every scene its own style and atmosphere makes every discovery and exploration worthwhile. I could not stop smiling at it and at times I would just pause to appreciate the artistry and the environment. It gives a refreshing taste of platformer and puzzle games. Collapse
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    I would first like to say that this is a review of the game, not the developer.

    In a nutshell, FEZ is an interesting puzzle/platformer with
    I would first like to say that this is a review of the game, not the developer.

    In a nutshell, FEZ is an interesting puzzle/platformer with a twist, but there's more to it than that. FEZ paints a pixelated picture of an innocent gaming land, a place where no harm can come. The only threat is that of falling; there are no aliens to shoot, bad guys to kill, no enemies of any kind.

    The art in this game definitely gets a 10/10 from me, as well as the soundtrack. The only reason I don't give this game a perfect score is because of the slightly boring gameplay. Yes I said it. As I described above, it's beautiful. Amazing. With so many secrets, easter-eggs, and places to go this game should offer many hours of exploring. I guess I just haven't found the interest in doing so.
    Expand
  5. May 4, 2013
    7
    The initial PC release had a tendency to crash, but that seems to be resolved by now. Besides that, Fez is about as good as you could expect:The initial PC release had a tendency to crash, but that seems to be resolved by now. Besides that, Fez is about as good as you could expect: nice pixealart graphics, interesting and unique game mechanics and levels/puzzles that make it shine. And unless you plan on getting all the secrets, Fez is also rather short and easy, and I didn't really mind that, because...

    ...while the game is fine as it is, I did not feel like playing something memorable and there are acpects of the design that are simply bothersome. First there are those black hole things that block your movements. They are just annoying and in most cases reentering the level makes them dissapear. And this does not seem to be a bug. I am not really sure what is the point of having those obstacles, if I can just get rid of them and even if I don't, there does not seem to be any kind of reward for navigating around them.

    Then there is the matter of traveling across larger distances in the world. The world itself is a bunch of interconnected levels with a few (like 5) hubs that allow instant travel between them. Also at the end of some of the levels there are small teleports that will get you to closest hub. So, travel between the hubs is fast and easy, but getting to the actual puzzle further away from the hub requires you to jump again through all the levels on the way. Which is as annoying as it sounds, if not more. I really wish that I could just get instantly to any level I have already been to.

    Furthermore the retro 3-colored levels are pain to navigate and the world feels just incredibly empty. The village at the beginning is just filled with interesting NPCs, and there is a similiar one near the end of the game, but inbetween, all those locations feel just like puzzles with fancy props, devoid of any actual life. A bunch of reappearing NPCs throughout the world would help the immersion so much, but no luck thre either.

    So, yeah, Fez does what was expected of it and does it well, but there is not much more beyond that, which is kinda shame. And yeah, there seem to be loads of secrets that might ramp up the playtime and difficulty considerably, but the game wasn't really that fun for me to bother with those.
    Expand
  6. Jun 10, 2014
    6
    Uno de los juegos mejor valorados de la historia, pero a parte de contenido visual sinceramente no me dijo nada. Tal vez demasiado hypeUno de los juegos mejor valorados de la historia, pero a parte de contenido visual sinceramente no me dijo nada. Tal vez demasiado hype alrededor que luego no se ve cumplido. Si te interesa lo indie es una buena compra, aunque mejor para rebajas. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2014
    0
    Very bad performance issues, bland gameplay and overly repetitive. Developer is one of the biggest cry babies to ever set foot in the gamingVery bad performance issues, bland gameplay and overly repetitive. Developer is one of the biggest cry babies to ever set foot in the gaming industry. Keep your Fez 2, nobody wants it. Expand

See all 175 User Reviews