Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
Buy On
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    100
    Square Enix has pulled off the seemingly impossible: rescuing a disastrous flop of an online game without going free-to-play, and creating an incredibly addictive, satisfying experience for both MMO and Final Fantasy veterans in the process. A Realm Reborn is a triumph for Naoki Yoshida and his team.
  2. Sep 11, 2013
    95
    This time it makes it right, and shows love to the franchise, even though some players might not like the online experience. So far, they've done a great job bringing back Eorzea, and we really hope they continue to fight to keep it alive.
  3. Sep 9, 2013
    92
    FFXIV : ARR isn’t new, it is polished. It is the same dish we’ve been served countless times, but perfected. Think, if you will, of the finest steak dinner, cooked to perfection, served with a baked potato.
  4. CD-Action
    Oct 16, 2013
    90
    I am not a hard core MMORPG fan, but this is exactly how I envisioned an online Final Fantasy game and I am delighted with it. [CD-Action 11/2013, p.62]
  5. It’s one of the best MMOs on the PC and basically the only game of its type on the console. The company has made the game it promised when it when back and rebuilt FFXIV 1.0.
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    90
    Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn is an excellent Final Fantasy and a quite good MMORPG. With its epic plot and a lot of fan service, it's the true Final Fantasy fans were waiting for.
  7. Sep 25, 2013
    90
    What you will find is the most mechanically broad, content dense, and goddamned gorgeous MMO ever made. If you’ve enjoyed any MMO of the past decade, there’s something in Realm Reborn for you. And if you’ve enjoyed them all? Well… just remember to take a shower once in a while.
  8. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    Square Enix doesn’t offer much innovation with Final Fantasy XIV: this is a realm reborn, not the MMORPG genre. But the game is expertly prepared, and even if the systems are all familiar, they take place in one of the most enchanting MMORPG settings ever. So eat up. Get your fill. This one’s an enjoyable feast.
  9. Sep 22, 2013
    90
    Final Fantasy 14 is a great MMO; perhaps more meaningfully, it's the first Final Fantasy game in years to capture the energy and joy that made me fall in love with the series.
  10. Sep 6, 2013
    90
    I never thought I would be this enthusiastic about an MMO again, but I’m in love with A Realm Reborn. Its beautiful world always offers something fun and interesting to do.
  11. Sep 11, 2013
    86
    Grounded in tradition and learning from the lessons of the games that preceded it, it thrives on the strength of its excitingly varied and flexible class system and highly mobile combat.
  12. Sep 5, 2013
    86
    Final Fantasy XIV has really been reborn. A Realm Reborn is an amazing MMORPG, very enjoyable and addictive. It's not very original, but who cares when the game is so fun?
  13. Aug 29, 2013
    86
    This is everything players wanted the original game to be--it might avoid pushing the boundaries, but it provides hours upon hours of well-designed quest sequences, breathtaking graphics, and a gripping plot. At last, we have a modern MMO worthy of the Final Fantasy name.
  14. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    A Realm Reborn is such a substantial change from the original game that it merits a second look if you hated the first release. So much has changed for the better, and it has resulted in one of the most polished MMORPGs out there today.
  15. Sep 15, 2013
    85
    It's nothing sort of a miracle that Square Enix has managed to transform the original Final Fantasy XIV in this beautiful, packed full of content and enjoyable MMO. Sometimes it´s a bit too classic and safe in its design, but the result is excellent. Naoki Yoshida and his team have reasons to be proud.
  16. Sep 10, 2013
    85
    You've got to hand it to Square Enmix. Most developers would've tried to forget a failed MMO as quickly as possible. Not at this Japanese company. They relaunch their title as a completely new game to save the Final Fantasy name. And they succeeded. A Realm Reborn is very traditional, but it's also one of the best traditional MMORPG's to have come out recently.
  17. Sep 9, 2013
    85
    Square Enix did it. They took a mediocre game called Final Fantasy XIV and turned in a fun MMO with a stunning character's progression system that cuddle the player far beyond the level cap. Eorzea is a vibrant and vivid world in which is way too easy get lost, and for this we have to thanks Yoshida and his team, that gave to use a game that is both modern and linked to a glorious past.
  18. Sep 27, 2013
    84
    While I wish the world was more open and geared for exploration I am happy with what Square has given us. I can see myself eclipsing the amount of time I spent in Telara jaunting around Eorzea on my trek to level every job, catch every fish, and become a master at every craft. Square has proudly shaken off the ragged cloak of embarrassment that Final Fantasy XIV 1.0 draped over this storied franchise, and with A Realm Reborn has revealed the finest MMO to be released this year and has truly crafted a game worthy of the title Final Fantasy.
  19. Sep 23, 2013
    83
    Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn shows that FFXIV can be saved. The game was declared dead, but with the perseverance of Square Enix a strong game rises from the ashes. There'll be a few lingering annoyances for players here and there, but the beautiful world and typical Final Fantasy elements will keep you hooked for long.
  20. Sep 12, 2013
    83
    Finally there is a varied, fascinating game world, a terrific story and tons of content for solo players and groups.
  21. Games Master UK
    Oct 20, 2013
    81
    A quality MMO, whichever machine you're using and filled with gorgeous scenes to drink in. [Dec 2013, p.70]
  22. Hyper Magazine
    Dec 28, 2013
    80
    Full of enough adventure, daring-do and chocobos to make any MMO fan happy. [Jan 2014, p.72]
  23. Nov 6, 2013
    80
    The completionist in me is nearly overwhelmed with the sheer amount of things to do in A Realm Reborn. Square Enix really do deserve praise for not only fixing the issues of the original game, but far exceeding their goal.
  24. Oct 21, 2013
    80
    Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn is a great MMORPG that has an enjoyable story, mechanically solid gameplay, lots of content for Final Fantasy fans to love, but also offers rewarding and challenging dungeons for people who adore playing online RPGs.
  25. 80
    The main conquer of A Realm Reborn is the fact that it feels like a Final Fantasy Game so it´s possible to enjoy it without remembering that we are playing a MMO. I don’t know if this alone justifies a monthly fee, what I know is that it will require a lot of quality updates to keep both publics interested.
  26. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    That's FFXIV in a nutshell: a technically very stable, functionally well thought-out and at times even brave MMO. It's just a shame that so much of your time is wasted on bread-and-butter adventuring. Still, this world is not only new, but also enticing enough that you don't always have to follow a higher calling to enjoy yourself.
  27. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    The best from Final Fantasy in an open fantasy world? Sign me up (but please retire the dreadful fetch quests once and for all)!
  28. Aug 30, 2013
    80
    With Final Fantasy XIV : A Realm Reborn, Yoshida and his team have won their bet, and offer a radically different game than Final Fantasy XIV Online. The game has some very interesting systems, starting with the evolution of your characters and Jobs. Moreover, it is a very accessible game that you can enjoy easily and quickly. A great alternative to games like World of Warcraft, with a Japanese feel that should delight the fans of the series. This time Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn deserves to be successful.
  29. Nov 6, 2013
    79
    Structural innovations and strong presentation, held back by grind and an old-fashioned business model.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1277 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game andThis game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game and optimizing everything that failed in the first. And aside from the server issues during Early Access and the 1017 errors as of launch this game couldn't be any better.

    You can call me a fanboy or just not agree with what I'm saying, that's fine. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and this happens to be mine. I've been playing since 1.0 but didn't play it for long because it did suck big time. When I heard about FFXIV:ARR I was excited and hoped they would do a better job this time around. They have.

    The game is better in almost every way. The graphics are almost as good and don't kill your system like 1.0 did. Most people couldn't run the old game. The optimizations have worked out wonderfully. I can safely say that it's one of the besting looking MMORPG's out. People seem to mistake that for best looking game but that's not the case. This is right up there with TERA in terms of beautiful MMO graphics. By the way, I am running on maximum settings with 60+ fps. Perks of building your own extreme gaming PC.

    The quest system is much improved and everything just feels more fluid. There is a lot of text to read but that's pretty standard. They do a pretty good job of defining what you need to do and it all isn't just fetch or kill quests. I think the most a quest has ever had me kill is 5 of a particular monster. I'm currently a 26 Marauder. My only gripe is I wish all the dialogue was all voice acted but as it stands only select in game cutscenes are voice acted. The ones that are are pretty well done too, some of the voices fit the characters while there are others that don't.

    Things to do are plentiful in this game. Want to quest, sure, go ahead. Want to craft? You can do it all on one character. FATE's are frequent and award nice experience and GC seals when you get that far. Leves are a fun diversion though I wish you weren't restricted to the allowance you're given. And you only gain 3 every 12 hours real life time. The story missions have been great too. Lot's of lore and character development to discover. Another great diversion are the Logs you have access to. Hunting Logs have you kill monsters for super bonus experience. It's all a nice way to help you level up.

    The only real issue I've had with the game so far is just the server issues which are doing much better than they were at the start of Early Access. Despite those issues I have given this game a 10/10 because it is everything I wanted and more. And the beauty is that it can only get better from here! They have so many wonderful plans for the future and even near future! So stick with it guys, I will, and I guarantee it will be a blast!
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    3
    I rarely base part of my opinion of a game on the customer service of the company if I can help it. But in this case, the customer service hasI rarely base part of my opinion of a game on the customer service of the company if I can help it. But in this case, the customer service has been SO bad that it makes me drop my rating of the actual game. The game itself (what amount I got to play of course...so take it with a grain of salt)? 8-9. Customer service? 0. After over 1000 minutes on hold total and being hung up on multiple times by their machines as well as by their chat, I am still even now wondering why they never contact me about ANYTHING to tell me what's going on.

    A week in I got hacked. My fault. I didn't have an authenticator. I realized the only other thing I'd use the same password was my LoL that I hadn't played in a few months. Went checking and discovered about their being hacked and passwords lost. My account was "terminated" by Square-Enix with admittedly a VERY rude accusatory e-mail that ACTUALLY says, "Unfortunately, you have shown yourself to be unwilling to follow the rules of the FINAL FANTASY XIV community. If we find that you have created another FINAL FANTASY XIV service account, we reserve the right to terminate that account as well".

    But that's not the bad part. It's the fact that I spent a couple weeks TRYING to get in touch with them. 3 hours waiting on hold then...suddenly it hangs up on me. This happened more than once! What? I even got a message from their chat after I waited in the que that their were no representatives available which instead gave me a form to fill out. All of these events early in the day well within their hours. Oh and that form? Waited over a week and NEVER got a response. So I started trying to contact again and after a couple attempts FINALLY got through.

    I found out from him my account spammed chat with gold-seller site information. But that was my only transgression. Okay, sounds like what they'd do with a hacked account. But it turns out he can't do anything. He told me he'd "escalate" my problem for the investigation group to look at and that they'd get back to me. Well that was weeks ago. I haven't heard a SINGLE thing from them in that time. After a month and a half from when this started, I STILL haven't gotten my account back. I may have to write this off as money I wasted purchasing a game in the first place that I'll never really get to play. Glad I bought the collector's edition for the extra goodies! TOTALLY WORTH IT! Ha ha.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    0
    bad storytelling, boring fighting Routine ,quest hub based ,boring mmo Standard classes .Server maintenance everyday, Log in Queuebad storytelling, boring fighting Routine ,quest hub based ,boring mmo Standard classes .Server maintenance everyday, Log in Queue ,disconnects after instances. game state is awful. Full Review »