Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1017 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Previously referenced as "version 2.0," this title has been rebuilt from the ground up, and centers on the core concept of rebirth, featuring a new world to explore and storyline to experience.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    100
    Square Enix has pulled off the seemingly impossible: rescuing a disastrous flop of an online game without going free-to-play, and creating an incredibly addictive, satisfying experience for both MMO and Final Fantasy veterans in the process. A Realm Reborn is a triumph for Naoki Yoshida and his team.
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    90
    Final Fantasy 14 is a great MMO; perhaps more meaningfully, it's the first Final Fantasy game in years to capture the energy and joy that made me fall in love with the series.
  3. It’s one of the best MMOs on the PC and basically the only game of its type on the console. The company has made the game it promised when it when back and rebuilt FFXIV 1.0.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    85
    Square Enix did it. They took a mediocre game called Final Fantasy XIV and turned in a fun MMO with a stunning character's progression system that cuddle the player far beyond the level cap. Eorzea is a vibrant and vivid world in which is way too easy get lost, and for this we have to thanks Yoshida and his team, that gave to use a game that is both modern and linked to a glorious past.
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    81
    A quality MMO, whichever machine you're using and filled with gorgeous scenes to drink in. [Dec 2013, p.70]
  6. 80
    The main conquer of A Realm Reborn is the fact that it feels like a Final Fantasy Game so it´s possible to enjoy it without remembering that we are playing a MMO. I don’t know if this alone justifies a monthly fee, what I know is that it will require a lot of quality updates to keep both publics interested.
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    60
    Final Fantasy XIV’s shine wears off as your level increases.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Even though the launch had some issues the game has come a long way since 1.0
    The Final Fantasy feeling is definitely there and the game look
    amazing! Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterstroke in experience exactly the way Final Fantasy titles should be.

    The game feels extremely traditional in terms of
    Final Fantasy the story and game lean heavily towards the Fantasy end of the Fantasy/Sci-Fi spectrum. The combat is slower than other MMOs where trying to watch your character fight is an exercise in the suspension of disbelief. Here, Monks roll through complex series of tackles, punches and spinning kicks in a believable sequence while Paladins actually appear to be blocking with their shields.

    The biggest shock here is the total lack of Talent trees. I admit I made it all the way to 50 and didn't even notice until somebody mentioned it in passing in our Free Company's chat. I don't miss it at all.

    The story is unbelievably interwoven into the leveling experience in a way no other MMO has ever achieved. My character was an active participant in gorgeous cutscenes, and she really seemed like a bona-fide hero. The lip service other games pay to the concept of the player as the central hero of the story pales in comparison to FFXIV, where rather than 'oh, and a band of adventurers managed to defeat the firelord,' by the end of the story it's more along the lines of 'oh, holy hell, it's that Hero who is central to the story now.'

    The boss fights are appropriately amazing, with the primal fights rivaling some of the greatest moments from Ulduar and Firelands in WoW. These boss fights are gorgeous, as is the entire game no MMO on the market looks like this.

    Crafting is a huge delight. It starts off nearly as simple as in other MMOs, but by the level cap the sheer number of abilities and choices will lead to desperate struggles to correctly create a +1 piece of max-level gear. These items are easily boss fights for crafters in their own rights, and the complexity of this system is entirely unrivaled in the MMO market.

    This is an experience no gamer should miss. The entire creation is a love letter to Final Fantasy fans and gamers in general. It may not objectively be to some as good an MMO as GWII or WoW, but it has the secret sauce that makes people fall in love with a game.
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game and optimizing everything that failed in the first. And aside from the server issues during Early Access and the 1017 errors as of launch this game couldn't be any better.

    You can call me a fanboy or just not agree with what I'm saying, that's fine. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and this happens to be mine. I've been playing since 1.0 but didn't play it for long because it did suck big time. When I heard about FFXIV:ARR I was excited and hoped they would do a better job this time around. They have.

    The game is better in almost every way. The graphics are almost as good and don't kill your system like 1.0 did. Most people couldn't run the old game. The optimizations have worked out wonderfully. I can safely say that it's one of the besting looking MMORPG's out. People seem to mistake that for best looking game but that's not the case. This is right up there with TERA in terms of beautiful MMO graphics. By the way, I am running on maximum settings with 60+ fps. Perks of building your own extreme gaming PC.

    The quest system is much improved and everything just feels more fluid. There is a lot of text to read but that's pretty standard. They do a pretty good job of defining what you need to do and it all isn't just fetch or kill quests. I think the most a quest has ever had me kill is 5 of a particular monster. I'm currently a 26 Marauder. My only gripe is I wish all the dialogue was all voice acted but as it stands only select in game cutscenes are voice acted. The ones that are are pretty well done too, some of the voices fit the characters while there are others that don't.

    Things to do are plentiful in this game. Want to quest, sure, go ahead. Want to craft? You can do it all on one character. FATE's are frequent and award nice experience and GC seals when you get that far. Leves are a fun diversion though I wish you weren't restricted to the allowance you're given. And you only gain 3 every 12 hours real life time. The story missions have been great too. Lot's of lore and character development to discover. Another great diversion are the Logs you have access to. Hunting Logs have you kill monsters for super bonus experience. It's all a nice way to help you level up.

    The only real issue I've had with the game so far is just the server issues which are doing much better than they were at the start of Early Access. Despite those issues I have given this game a 10/10 because it is everything I wanted and more. And the beauty is that it can only get better from here! They have so many wonderful plans for the future and even near future! So stick with it guys, I will, and I guarantee it will be a blast!
    Expand
  4. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    Like many others, I came to FFXIV 1.0 after enjoying the old-school FFXI game that preceded it. I wasn't expecting it to be as "hard-core", since the trend has been making games more solo-friendly and "easy", but I *was* expecting something along the same lines.

    What we got in 1.0 was something between an alpha and beta test of a new combat system, a different class/job system, and a graphics engine that felt both too advanced and too limited, at the same time. I can only assume the previous development team was working on both the PC and PS3 versions at the same time, and failures on one held up the other, in both directions.

    After Yoshi took over, he made a concentrated effort to fix and salvage what was good from the PC version of the game, and shifted focus to developing a brand new engine from scratch, which would eventually become A Realm Reborn. It was the best decision he could have made.

    The re-launch of FFXIV is a success, and the first time in history an MMO has ever found success with a second chance. The game is just fun to play, and amazing to look at. On top of that, it's very smooth and responsive, even on middle-of-the-road hardware.

    The only issues have been the crazy popularity that was MUCH higher than they expected, causing a lot of server issues on the North American cluster during launch week, and some minor irritations with the UI that almost every game has until they have time to refine things a bit more.

    Unlike some other MMO's (which I won't name), FFXIV feels like the devs really love the product, and the franchise in general. There are all kinds of little polish details you don't really expect from an MMO, and especially one still in launch phase. There are lots of them, but the most recent one I noticed was that when riding a mount, you get unique background music that fits the mount you've chosen to ride... and that the volume of the music ramps up while you're racing along, and falls back into the background as you stop. Wonderful immersion detail that is purely there for flavor.

    I totally recommend it to my friends. And if you got burned on 1.0, you now own the new version, and have a few days to check it out without paying... now that most of the launch issues are either fixed or have a fix in sight, it might be worth the time to download it and see.
    Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    Great game once you can actually logged into it (I can't give it a bad review just based on servers issues). The team did an awesome job revamping the entire game. Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2014
    5
    Square Enix, you've ruined this game once more.

    After 2.1, which was a really required patch that introduced a lot of new things, such as
    pvp and a buff for the warrior class, the game went downhill pretty quickly and with each patch there were several questionable choices within them that made me cringe.

    Now, I want to be fair: the game is still good for itself, but with each patch they always seem to try to ruin the game with as much crap as they can possible add (pointless crafting recipes; desynthesis; new emotes and animations, etc), but NEVER fixing the true problems and imbalances (error 90000s, slow downs, phasing problems with enemies disappearing, menus being extremely clunky and not very fluid and a total lack of information). As such, this game loses one more vote from me...and that's only the tip of the iceberg

    As I'm writing, patch 2.35 just came in and lots of things have changed for the worse: instead of fixing hunts, they worsened by rendering the lowest rank monsters worthless (they are only needed for weekly quests), but still making the hunt basically the main focus of the game since it's the only way to upgrade your armor to the highest level.

    Good thing that Yoshida said " it's not ideal to have players soley focusing on the Hunt (taken its in his XIV live letter: check yourself if you don't believe me)

    Infact, by doing all of these things, not only you make them focus on hunts even more, but now they can't even hunt B ranks due to their uselessness!!!

    More problems are here however: the private chambers are such a badly designed choice, since with this patch you can now lose the room whenever the leader wants: while before you were forced to vacate the room yourself, now if a leader is a d......ead and wants you gone, they can kick you anytime, which results in 300k wasted and some of your furnishing, especially rare ones, are completely lost, as well as specific furnishing such as lamps, floors and walls, since there's no refund whatsoever! Thank you Square Enix, you'd never thought that someone might want to leave a company for whatever reason: we just need to stay together and build our friendship :).
    And what's funny is that this issue could be easily solved, by simply making it a one time purchase. BUT NOPE: you leave the company, you lose the money. This is probably one of the most flawed decisions ever put in the latest patch, together with the hunts.

    Oh, what about the Atma relics? With the zenith (or the old "+1" relics) being a very good and challenging quest, Square Enix decided that the best idea for its next process would be "EVEN MORE MINDLESS GRINDING"...too bad that they broke the game by letting us have the "weathered weapons" from the new raid, which can be done easily and takes only 30 minutes, and unlike the Novus relic, which takes an insanely amount of time, you can also upgrade them by doing the hunts.

    Afterall, the producer said " it's not ideal to have players soley focusing on the Hunt"!

    What I'm trying to saying with this rant is, that the game keeps geting bad bad bad choices patch after patch: classes had barely any rebalancing aside for the warrior in 2.1 and literally minor ones in 2.3: there are so many things that they could fix, such as letting warrior use more skills from other classes, letting the summoner use Cleric stance so that their point distribution doesn't get messed up and/or giving us proper improvements over the game layout, menus and AN ACTUAL skipping feature.

    Square Enix, skipping a cutscenes means that you -skip- it: turning it black does not count as skipping: we're still stuck watching the Cutscene, which is now black!!!!!!

    My honest opinion on this game is to "be careful": the game has so many flaws that I really have hard times enjoying now, since it's still crashing everyday and instead of making improvements on what there is already, they add up stuff without even thinking about it: some classes are still very flawed, such as the warrior and the scholar, but they never seem to care, resulting on making the warrior a very least required class, as well as for scholars.

    In addition, the game has still its bad community of elitistic people who won't even try to help new people, and with the hunts out there's basically a full scale war for those who early pulls and those who don't wait more than 10 seconds. As much as I blame the players in here, the devs should've thought this out MUCH better. Alas, they didn't.

    Play this game with caution: as much as I like it, the game didn't improve at all after 2.1, and the excuse that "FF is always been grindy" is unacceptable: there can be grind, but it must show progress and mean something. But this game, is a constant mindless grind that is not fun at all.

    PS: Square Enix, what were you thinking when you thought to make us spend nearly millions of gil just for coloring our Artifact armor
    Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Combat is slow and dull and only gets mildly better as you level up. Story is bland and unremarkable in any way as the time in between any parts that are ok is broken up by tons of typical bland fetch/ups quests. Quests often have you go from point A to point B back to point A then on to point C etc etc... The FATE events almost all fall into one of two categories, either kill a small zerg of normal mobs or kill one mini boss type monster. This is mostly the same as other games that feature this style of event, how ever it feels worse here.

    Endgame fights rely mostly on extreme gimmick mechanics combined with the long global cool down to force difficulty into the fights. In most cases just reacting to a fight mechanic will not be enough you have to memorize the pattern of the boss so that you can move pre emptively, part of this is due to the horrid net coding used and the awful latency/updating the server does. Itemization on gear is horrible. Secondary stats provide so little benefit that they shouldn't even be on gear, spell/skill speed being the biggest culprit. It provides so little benefit so as not to break the long GCD system they designed that it should have never been created.

    This comes from a pre 2.2 player that cleared turn 4 and just stopped caring about the game due to all the above issues.

    P.S. Crystal tower loot system is the worst thing ever.
    Expand

See all 406 User Reviews