Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 105 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hi Octane motorized anarchy – Maximum fun, maximum chaos, and all in eyeball searing high definition, FlatOut Ultimate Carnage promises to be the PC’s most extreme destruction racer, with three distinct carnage-filled game styles, an integrated championship racing career mode and intense in-your-face destructive action. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. The upgrades to this game aren't enough to make me recommend it if you own FlatOut 2, but, for everyone else, it's a green light.
  2. It's quite confusing: Flatout: Ultimate Carnage is the third game of the series, but at the same time it's the PC conversion of the Xbox 360 game, which was a new version of the PC game Flatout 2. Basically Flatout: Ultimate Carnage is a remake with better graphics and more cars. If you already own Flatout 2, there aren't many new things in the game to justify buying Flatout: Ultimate Carnage, but if you don't, go ahead and get it.
  3. The newest instalment in the series has the same simple goal as its predecessors: Entertain the player. And it totally delivers!
  4. More explosions, faster cars, new event types, marginally better handling and... no new tracks. I'd call foul, but this game knows no rules. [Oct 2008]
  5. Not a new game, but certainly looks like one. It's a great ride, but if you've seen it before, you've seen it all before. [Aug 2008, p.104]
  6. Overall, it's a very entertaining low-tech drive and demolish racer, but with one caveat for veterans of the series - they'll have seen much of the game already in FlatOut 2.
  7. FlatOut 2 has been given a light dusting over by Bugbear and released in a pretty new frock. It's hard to decide between rage and disappointment.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. AkiR.
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    Burnout games are nothing compared to original! This just the best, craziest and funniest racing game ever. Physics modelling is fantastic -beats gran turismo arcade-feel anyday. Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    I recently purchased GRID from Steam and I got frustrated primarily from the car handling after 15 minutes. FlatOut is a new game for me as I'm not typically into car games as much as FPS. I haven't played earlier titles so I can't say if it's improved over them, but what I CAN say is that this game totally rocks if you're a casual gamer like me who just wants to race around various courses (cities, forests, canals, etc.) without having to learn all about car setups and stuff. It has capabilities of improving your rides, but the game is fun even with the base car. For other reviewers out there, please rank this game where it belongs .. not simply because it doesn't offer as many changes as you expected from a previous version. The only potential negative I can say about this game is that it requires Windows Live which I have never liked. But the game itself is really fun and it'll be the game I turn to when I want to race around and let off steam. Expand
  3. TonyM.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    FlatOut 2 on the PC is my favorite racing game because it looks hot and is loads of fun. So naturally, Ultimate Carnage looks to be a great extension of 2 (however minor in gameplay, but better in technology). Plus 12 players over 8 should be a welcome addition to the fun. I just hope the price is right. Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    Amazing graphics, the best and most fun 'trash rally' game there still is. Highly recommended.
  5. Jan 19, 2012
    8
    Tastes great! Less filling! FlatOut:UC put the fun back into racing games. I don't dislike games like NFS or Grid, but sometimes the excessive attempts at realism get in the way of just enjoying the race. Ironically, the reduced realism in FO:UC actually makes the game FEEL more realistic. When you drive a real car, you feel the G-forces with your entire body and you feel the resistance on the tires right through the gas pedal and the steering wheel. You adjust before the car starts drifting. Even with force feedback devices, you just don't get this kind of feedback in a racing game, so those other "realistic" games that make your car drift because you sneezed simulate the physics of the car, but they fail to simulate the reality of driving. FlatOut:UC doesn't have wild, uncontrollable drift unless you do something truly stupid, so the car reacts as it would if you were driving and not sitting behind an oversensitive plastic controller. It's very satisfying. By the way, the official line is "Steering Wheels are not supported with Flatout Ultimate Carnage. Keyboard and controller support only." Well, I play it with a Logitech Driving Force steering wheel, and it works better than with any other game I have! The game plays very nicely with a game pad, but it's just amazing with the steering wheel. The tension is just right and it really feels like driving at high speeds. Also, you may read in the specs that "XBOX 360 Controller is preset and cannot be re-configured regarding the control options." That's true, but if you have another type of controller that emulates the XBox 360 controller, like the Logitech Rumble Gamepad, you have complete control over what every button does. In fact, it's the game that I've found the easiest to set up with various controller devices. I've tried it also with a Thrustmaster HOTAS, but aside from the stick and throttle being more comfortable, I didn't have better control over the car than with the gamepad. Neither compares to how perfectly the game runs with the steering wheel it isn't supposed to support. The game itself probably deserves a full 9, but it loses a point for shoving Games for Windows Live down our throats. Expand
  6. Section8
    Aug 27, 2008
    8
    If you like Flatout - you'll want this. Improved Multiplayer action, more opponents, even better physics and improved graphics, great music... Wow! Yes, there isn't much 'new' to it, and Bugbear better have a 'new' Flatout coming soon or add-on plugin for this or I'll certainly feel like it's just re-gurgatated material. But wow, puke this game-play on me any day.. Expand
  7. AntonEf
    Aug 4, 2008
    0
    Nothing new except graphics and the remote camera's closer to ground (almost behind the car) than in Flatout 2.

See all 18 User Reviews