• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Oct 20, 2011
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 156

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    9
    Football. The sport of the world. Football Manager is back again. This time a lot of the focus has been on making the game more user-friendly. A better User-Interface throughout coupled with more information output overall makes this exactly what everyone expects it to be: An improvement on last year's edition of the game.

    Though most changes this year has that incremental feel, they do
    add up and they do factor in. One of the many new features you'll come to enjoy is the ability to adjust your tone of voice when speaking to your players prior, during and after a game; and you'll be able to note their body language as a result of what you just said. Your talk with the squad factors into their overall morale and can help you squeeze a better performance out of them. It is nice to see that what you say actually matters and that this isn't just something players disregard completely, as were the case in the previous FM.

    The whole setup around contracts/negotiations has been thoroughly improved and you'll even get to set loyalty bonuses to the players who stick around. What's more is that when you've put one of your players up for sale and you receive a large amount of bids, these aren't spammed into your Inbox, but they're nicely and neatly organized in a separate tab for you to view. You can select multiple bids and turn them down without having to actually look at the bids more closely. The game is filled with these nice new features making the game easier to play, allowing you the player to focus on the job instead of the repetitive "paper-work".

    Beneath the new, there's a core of the same tried and true foundation making Football Manager the most popular Sports Management Sim out there. This is a safe buy for everyone interested in football.
    Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    6
    It was a very good game back in, let's say, 2007. The problem is that there are a number of persistent issues, that the developers decided to ignore and instead keep adding "eye-candy" (you can't really call it that in this game). The AI managers are poor, the game doesn't utilize well modern hardware, some parts of the UI make simple tasks tedious, there are inadequate situations with transfers and contracts. This title gets released every year, but the changes are not good enough to justify a new game. Nowadays it is only an okay game. Collapse
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    0
    Paid £29.99 for a game I am locked out of and cannot play. Do not buy if you have previously purchased football manager games as you can easily get locked out. I have brought every installment of Championship manager then Football manager since its first edition. The problem is with the 2012 version is that is only playable through steam. On the previous edition you could either chose to use steam or not. If you used steam to initially play on the 2011 version then changed to non steam you have activated a steam account. When you go to load the new game it finds this old account but you cannot get into this account unless you can remeber 3 separte pieces of information you would have entered a year ago in trying to load football manager 2011. So basically the new 2012 football manager has been loaded to this old account I cannot get into and so cannot verify to a new account and so am locked out and unable to play. Really a frustrating erxperience from something whixh is surposed to be relaxing down time.. Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    Another year goes by and another fm reaches the market... I think the negotiation aspect of the game like negotiating players, buying and selling players is a lot more realistic. The negative aspects of this game is that there isn´t any major change from the fm 2011.
  5. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    The greatest football management sim ever returns bigger and better than ever.
    A lot of the improvements over 2011 are not immediately obvious but the longer you play the game, the more you will notice.
    The game can be daunting to new players due to the incredible amount of little details you get to tweak with but this year an excellent tutorial has been added to help.
    I have been
    playing this series since the very first Championship Manager (its original name) and can't praise it high enough. The game is a time-sink but a fun one. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    As excellent as ever. Not much needs saying, its Football Manager!! The new match engine is MUCH better. Accurate and update players. Perfect! Will pass those winter nights quickley!
  7. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    Ciao a tutti, non riesco uno Giocare con Football Manager 2012 perchè quando devo iniziare la partita Il Gioco SI chiude, ho un MacBook mi aiutate per favore grazie
  8. Nov 3, 2011
    9
    You cannot deny it's ability to simulate real life management. Great new features added, including activating and deactivating leagues at your discretion. The user interface has been improved. And the addition of team meetings and using "tones" when addressing players, the captain, or during team talks. The 3D match engine been greatly improved to include new animations and also two new camera angles. It's one of the most addictive games on the market where I clock over 1000 hours playing time every year. Expand
  9. Jan 12, 2012
    2
    I've logged 200 hours playing this game and I can now say that I believe it to be an elaborate practical joke designed to waste peoples time while frustrating them as much as possible. The game seems to be based simply on luck. Tactical changes seem to be ineffectual, tell your team to play to feet and you will observe them lumping it long. Player morale declines and stays that way. Sometimes my team goes on a winning run, then an inevitable decline. The difference between the two states: nothing as far as I can tell. Also, be warned this game uses the dreadful steam game system. Which means no access to the net then no play. Ok, it says start in offline mode if you have no net access but that seems to only work sporadically before locking you out all the time. I have no problem with steam saying I can only play the game on one pc at a time, but the problem is steam goes further than that, you can only play one of all your games at a time, for example we have two machines and I have football manager and skyrim on steam. If one family member wants to play skyrim and another football manager YOU CANNOT DO THAT. This is a giant rip off. I will never buy another game that uses steam again. Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    In simple words, it's Football Manager. The match engine has really improved and buying and signing players is much more realistic. The user interface is better and gives you a better look of everything you need to know about your team and players. The improvement of the team talk has brought a more detailed way of telling your team what you want from them on the pitch and criticizing their bad performances. If you enjoyed any of the previous games you are definitely enjoy this one even more. Expand
  11. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Having not played the game for last few iteration this is definitely the best edition to date particularly to newcomers with the introduction of tutorials.
  12. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    I played EA's football manager like 5 years ago, then quit playing after some seasons, because it was kinda boring. Well, I read many good reviews about Sega's one and finally bought the 2012 version. And what should I say, I'm in season 7 now and no end in sight. This game is so much better than EA's, like the simple design and the immense number of available teams, players and even original staff members of all teams. To be honest there are some minor bugs, but nothing appreciable. The biggest difference between the two games is that you actually can see your tactic changes on the pitch! Playing EA's manager I got more the feeling that the results are random, but not in Sega's one. Expand
  13. Sep 23, 2012
    6
    Not much was changed from the 2011 version, believe me. It feels like, some of the features added are very unnecessary. They talk about how they're making the game "more realistic". But I don't get why they put so much work on how the game should be "outside the field"? The game is called Football Manager, so the area I expect them to work most at is the way you build tactics, the way transfers works (policies) and the actual match footage in (3D). Trying to add the feature where players can get upset about certain things just makes it look so silly. The conversations are of course the same all the time, so why try to recreate the relationship a real coach has with a real player? That's really something you have to experience in real life. So to sum up, I think they put way to much work on unnecessary things, and didn't work enough on 3d engine etc. Expand
  14. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    i will just say one thing.
    best game ever, the most amazing game that exist and i recommend it to everybody.
    when you start playing you just cant stop you wont even sleep.
  15. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Finally the game is playable without disturbing bugs! Well, the older versions were playable, but this was the first release which felt like the real deal from the very beginning of my first save game.
  16. Nov 27, 2011
    7
    Quality game if you want to get into the nuances of managing a football team, but this will pretty much always have a very niche appeal by its inherent nature. If what you see interests you, I would try the demo before you buy, just to make sure it's something that you'd like.
  17. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    Still the best game of the sports management genre. I tink thats why sigames doesn't risk or work on significant improvements. AI managers, club boards should be better. Especially when the leagues are "view-only" it means that league will not live more than 5 years.
    Tactic creation of AI managers are not the best. The only con that i see is the AI management potential of the game.
  18. Dec 13, 2011
    4
    repetitive.boring. football manager 2011 all over again with a red theme. this is what i feel of fm 2012 till now. i had a lot of expectations with fm 12 after playing fm 11 for almost a year, but was hugely disappointed with the minimal changes they made with this new edition. If you are a die hard fan of football manager games and have played fm 2011 extensively, then i say stick with it as you won't find anything substantially good in this new edition. Expand
  19. Dec 14, 2011
    5
    Every year I get my hopes up, but each year it's kind of the same. As long as I can make a worldclass team of Torquay United, Oxford, etc within 10 seasons, something is very wrong! Too simple, repetitive, unrealistic transfers and illogical or insufficient communication with players, staff and media.
  20. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    A 9 out of 10 for the best version of the brilliant Football Manager series to date? The game features an improved match engine, leading to more realistic and pleasing in-game actions. The new tone system is inspired, and to see the effects of your rousing half-time team talk as and when you give it (instant feedback) gives you so much more control over your own destiny. Momentum is heavy in the game, more noticeable in this version than any other; teams on top can often take something special to beat, but find yourself on the end of a few bad results and you may just find yourself having to adjust to life in a lower division. Transfers are much more satisfying, and the lockdown feature on certain aspects of a contract mean (as predominantly the lower league manager I tend to be) you can keep a firm check on your finances. The game looks as beautiful as ever, the menus are perhaps more polished; the feature allowing multiple screens of information when you have a higher resolution is incredibly helpful, as is the mouse-over Information button, which shows a player's attributes without having to leave the squad screen. To be perfectly honest, I haven't found anything wrong with the game at all; it's the best one yet, and I'm more than happy with my purchase. So why has it only received 9/10 from me? One word: Steam. The fact you MUST use Steam, whether you have the disk in or not is quite frankly disgusting; a kick in the face for anyone who doesn't have an internet connection. Admittedly, that is not the case for many people, but when Steam essentially refuses to let you play the game, as it is prone to do (I am no longer able to play Magika AT ALL, Steam will not load it, nor will it allow me to play Team Fortress 2 without horrible errors nigh impossible to stop). I'm writing this review simply because of Steam's refusal to let me play a game I bought for £30, assuming that upon the purchase of a physical disk, I would be able to play anywhere, anytime. This is not the case. Why sell a disk at all Sports Interactive? Extremely annoyed at the moment. My love of FM will not stop me attempting to play this game, or buying future versions, but until something is done about Steam, I will never truly be happy. Expand
  21. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Verry good game, åååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååååå Expand
  22. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    Learning for the mistakes of the previous versions. FM12 has developed into undoubtedly the most realistic football manager game ever. The sheer depth of the game is astounding and the players now feel like they have their own thoughts and needs. The agents area has been improved upon and it now feels like a fair balance between dealing with the player and dealing with the agent. The manager interaction has improved and the new director camera adds a bit of creativity to watching the match. The only downsides would be the press conferences which still feel monotonous and irrelevant and on occasions the need to be so in depth with the tactical area can take away from the fun gameplay of earlier versions. This is minor criticism though as this game is without doubt the best version yet. Expand
  23. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    I am playing Football Manager series since 2006 (FM 2007), and every year i'm afraid that it will bore me. But every year i don't have a thing to worry about This game is amazing! What is the best in that game? That is VERY HARD!
  24. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    An extremely addictive game if you are a fan of football. This game has a virtual infinite replay value. However, there are some issues, particularly in match engine, that have been present for more than 4 versions of the game, and still were not fixed. Sports Interactive should really try to fix the issues and improve their match engine.
  25. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    96% FM2012 has great presentation which is nice and clear. I like the new menu layout. The most important information is available on the one homepage from fixtures, players contracts, top average players, budget, league position and more. The match graphics are extremely sharp and the stadium's look really good. It's clear from the first match that major work has gone into improving the 3D match engine. Hostile grounds such as those found in Italy and Turkey now show flares in the crowd igniting and glistening red with smoke belowing from them. For the full review please visit www.insidepcgaming.com Expand
  26. Apr 5, 2012
    8
    The latest in this long running series is the best yet. All the things that previously put me off playing previous titles for any significant time, have now been rectified and this is the most complete experience of the series so far. The detail in this game is mind boggling and will be too much for some. However, this can be alleviated to a degree with the ability to offset aspects of the game you don't like to the control of the assistant manager, who will also give you advice throughout the game. Online help is extensive and context sensitive, making the game's complexity much easier to get to grips with. Pretty much everything in the game has been improved in the latest version and it's last major update. The array of different tactics plus the ability to design your own gives you almost infinite possibilities to get your team playing exactly how you want. The setpiece designer is also well thought out and easy to use. You also get chance to praise or criticise your team at half time with the ability to single out individuals and give them the famous Alex Ferguson style 'hair dryer' treatment so that they know in no uncertain terms that you are far from happy with their performance! You can even yell instructions from the sidelines during the game as well as change tactics on the fly. You can give your opinions to the press after the game as they grill you on the performance levels of your team and things you say to the press can be picked up on by your players with the possibility of upsetting some of them with your comments. Negotiating contracts and transfers brings you into contact with player's agents as they try and demand as much as they can for their clients and themselves and you can bring players into your office for a private word or two. Pretty much everything a real football manager does can be done in the game. The only disappointment is the sound - there isn't any! Apart from a few rudimentary sound effects during the match sequences, the game is played in total silence. Maybe a little music would be nice. The Match Of The Day theme or the ITV Champions League music would have added extra atmosphere and would be far preferable to silence. Individual teams 'theme songs' such as 'Marching On Together for Leeds, 'Blue Is The Colour' for Chelsea, etc would also have been a nice touch and could be an idea for future versions? The graphics during the match sequences are pretty basic and not up to the level of the arcade football titles like FIFA and Pro Evolution. Otherwise this game comes highly recommended, A football fan's wet dream! Expand
  27. Mar 15, 2012
    7
    It's fun on the first play through and than the faults come glaringly to the forefront. If you like sports/business related sims you'll enjoy it. Leading a team from the depths of the standings to the pinnacle of success can be rewarding. Unfortunately it's the little things that take away from this game. The frequency rate of injuries is too high and can destroy your season in short order. Too many yellow cards, first and last minute goals etc. They purposely try to script dramatic ups and downs for the team's consistency in order to add drama. One wrong sentence can demoralize an entire team resulting in a lost match. Continuous/repetitive press conferences take a lot away from the game. I could go on... Expand
  28. Apr 22, 2012
    2
    The humanity! I tried to get into this game, and have some fun with it, but I just couldn't. As a management simulation, this game just didn't work for me. From the menus, to the player skill sets, to the actual game simulations....nothing here was really fun or appealing to me at all. I should mention that I love the Baseball Mogul series, so it's not like I have a general dislike for sports manager games. Expand
  29. Sep 4, 2012
    9
    Yet again a brilliant game produced by the Football Manager team, I have had the previous 4 and I would say although improvements are slow they are worthwhile, the game as a whole is much better than Fifa Manager 2012 (I have also had Fifa Manager 10, 11 and 12) and has the upper hand on it most certainly so! The database is brilliant, if you have a high performance computer. The game graphics although not as good as Fifa Manager are certainly more realistic (on Fifa Manager players seem to be incapable of defending when 3D is on and also you hit the post way too often). I'm looking forward to Football Manager 2013 and I don't care whether people say they don't make enough changes it is still a league above Fifa Manager and probably always will be.
    MattyM
    Expand
  30. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    After taking a few years to establish itself the Football Manager (previously Championship Manager) series has continued its gradual evolution into what is now the most detailed and realistic soccer management game by far. Anyone that has played any of the previous entries in the series over the last decade will know what to expect whilst less experienced players will find FM2012 the most accessible yet with better tutorials than ever before.

    All the usual features are still present and correct and as ever a few new ones have been added. Firstly it is now possible to switch leagues on and off once you have started the game. As a result anyone that fancies managing in more than one country during their career can do so without having to run too many leagues simultaneously thus slowing their game to a crawl on an average PC.

    Team meetings are also now more useful with staff members now explaining why particular players are unhappy with training etc rather than, as was the case with FM2011, leaving you to guess what the problem might be. Their scouting recommendations are however still usually awful with coaches often suggesting you look at players that are never going to make the grade at your club.
    During matches themselves the player is now given the option of choosing the tone (aggressive, passionate, calm etc) of how they deliver half-time team talks and other instructions reducing the occasions when players would mis-read what you were trying to tell them and get upset. The 3D highlights have also had a slight overhaul and the option to watch via a more dynamic 'TV style' camera is now available for those that want it.

    In the end, despite the improved tutorial, Football Manager 2012 is unlikely to win the series many new fans but anyone that has enjoyed previous entries in the series will find this to be the most realistic (gone are the days of inexplicable runs of results) and detailed yet and will be sure to get many hours of enjoyment from it.
    Expand
  31. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Awesome game. I spent hours and hours in this videogame.
    One of the best of all FMs.
    PS: We can't say the same of FM13 or FM14.
    (Sorry for my bad english)
  32. Oct 25, 2011
    0
    It was a very good game back in, let's say, 2007. The problem is that there are a number of persistent issues, that the developers decided to ignore and instead keep adding "eye-candy" (you can't really call it that in this game). The AI managers are poor, the game doesn't utilize well modern hardware, some parts of the UI make simple tasks tedious, there are inadequate situations with transfers and contracts. This title gets released every year, but the changes are not good enough to justify a new game. Nowadays it is only an okay game. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    81
    The season upgrade has a lot of minor tweaks but lacks important major changes. For example near post corner goal trick is still there and press meetings are still as boring as in real life. I would rather buy a DLC than a new game every year. [Jan 2012]
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    91
    A great 2011 edition needed only small improvements to become the best football manager game in 2012. A combination of great emotion and an incredible in depth management experience makes the Football Manager 2012 a must have for all soccer fans.
  3. Dec 9, 2011
    80
    Continuing improvements to the 3D match engine also help drag it kicking and screaming into the present, although it's still a long way short of FIFA Manager in that regard. But, frankly, sod that. The dogged purist in me prefers to see the match unfold via elaborate text commentary, rather than see the painful truth of my tactical inadequacies laid bare.