FRACT OSC PC

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    80
    FRACT OSC is an original musical adventure with clever and challenging puzzles.
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    83
    Fract is an awesome audiovisual experience. If you like electronic music, you can dive into an ocean filled with impressive imagination.
  3. Apr 23, 2014
    90
    An incredibly stylish, wondrously original vision wrapped in a neon-colored synthesizer from the future, FRACT OSC offers a surreal musical landscape that is only best described as interactive art.
  4. Jun 24, 2014
    60
    There’s a lot of cool and interesting things there, but it never moves beyond a tech demo. I can appreciate the work that has gone into it, especially on the audio side, but the experience on the whole felt a bit barren and empty.
  5. CD-Action
    Jul 25, 2014
    80
    A weird game that’s coherent in its weirdness. You won’t find such puzzles anywhere else. [07/2014, p.67]
  6. Apr 28, 2014
    85
    Seeing the world fill up with sound and color is an amazing sight and it's something that should be experienced by all regardless of your level of music skill.
  7. Apr 22, 2014
    80
    It can be too obtuse at times, but the rewards are quite unlike anything else in games: the music peaks, a laser beam rockets off into the sky, and you turn, heading off after that distant synth, in search of your next project deeper in the neon unknown.
  8. Apr 22, 2014
    80
    If you do like games that challenge you to work out the rules for yourself, to find the edges of the world by falling over them, then Fract is a unique and often remarkable experience, best savoured in the dark at full volume. Go on, get lost.
  9. May 14, 2014
    80
    Fract OSC works just as well as a strict puzzle game than it does as an audiovisual experience. And if you're not interested in these aspects, you will appreciate the freedom and clever structure.
  10. Apr 21, 2014
    90
    FRACT OSC is one of the best original games released on Steam in a long time. It is abundantly clear that it has been created by a team that shares an equal passion for both music and games, and its unique concept and gorgeous, vibrant world deserve to be explored by as many people possible. If you’re in ownership of functioning eyes and ears, then you owe it to yourself to play this game.
  11. Games Master UK
    Jun 7, 2014
    82
    A gorgeous game that keeps its secrets close to its chest but is rewarding for those prepared to persist. [July 2014, p.69]
  12. games(TM)
    Jun 28, 2014
    80
    It builds to a highly satisfying and visually stunning conclusion. [Issue#149, p.119]
  13. Jun 25, 2014
    50
    Compose music like a bricklayer builds a house! Fract teaches gamers to feel the sound truly spatially – you will even touch it innumerable times. Nonetheless, the game has very thick scales, and among its complicated puzzles it has lost its power to entertain.
  14. Apr 28, 2014
    60
    Fract is overstuffed with platforms that need raising, sliders that need switching, and tumblers that need rotating. Without any mooring to the game's theme, they're left to sink or swim on the enjoyment they can provide in isolation.
  15. May 1, 2014
    50
    At its best, Fract is a wonderful celebration of a videogame’s capacity to ignite your senses. At its worst, it can be a downright chore.
  16. Apr 23, 2014
    70
    If you can approach the game with a forgiving nature, however, there’s sights to see that will stay with you long after the small piece of willpower necessary to push on has been forgotten.
  17. Apr 28, 2014
    70
    There's a lot of pleasure to be found here, if you can forgive the glowing neon warts.
  18. May 1, 2014
    90
    A deep and fascinating first person puzzle/adventure/exploration/whatever game, with a lot of content by itself, even if you don't care about the nice music editor you can unlock by finishing it.
  19. Apr 29, 2014
    74
    FRACT proves that it’s through your own creative input that you can continue to surprise yourself beyond those initial magical moments. It’s true that FRACT isn’t the most mind-bending puzzle game out there or the most powerful music production software on the market; its triumph is in forging a middle path.
  20. Apr 22, 2014
    85
    FRACT OSC is a magic mix of music, puzzles and exploration.
  21. May 2, 2014
    62
    Fract OSC’s puzzles are often too few and far between the open-world wandering, and the music integration does little to stir the soul.
  22. Pelit (Finland)
    May 9, 2014
    89
    Fract OSC is an oddity. It's a game about electronic music that is first and foremost a glorious organic whole, with all the elements and puzzles of its beautiful world intricately connecting to each other. And it's really good. [May 2014]
  23. Apr 22, 2014
    70
    By the end of Fract, I was like a club's in-house repairman. With a little spit and patience, I could fix the machine. I could fill the world with light and sound. I could start the party. Sure, I was alone, but I also had the best seat in the house: everything tuned by me for me.
  24. Jul 9, 2014
    50
    Despite a slew of comparisons to Myst, TRON 2.0 and Portal, Fract OSC is an incomplete game at best. Right now, it’s nothing more than an interesting way to visualize music.
  25. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    This game merges music, puzzles and exploration in unexpected ways. If these three elements are appealing to you, then you shouldn't miss it.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Nov 22, 2015
    10
    A must have for all tron fans. Fascinating visuals and audio. Unique way of combining environment and puzzles with sound effects. No game IA must have for all tron fans. Fascinating visuals and audio. Unique way of combining environment and puzzles with sound effects. No game I know conveys the tron feeling nearly as convincing. Full Review »
  2. Oct 1, 2015
    7
    Tier 2
    + Visually stunning world that achieves a lot with a little
    + Intellectually challenging puzzles that cover a few interesting
    Tier 2
    + Visually stunning world that achieves a lot with a little
    + Intellectually challenging puzzles that cover a few interesting mechanics
    + For the most part, ties the aural experience well with the gameplay experience, though sometimes the "music" is sparse and not that interesting
    ? Offers no overt guidance to the player as to how to navigate the world or solve puzzles, but an intelligent player can figure out the majority of it
    ? The world outside of the puzzles is filled with oddities that react to the player, but have unclear ramifications
    - Some puzzles are far too oblique in their design and simply are brute-forced through trial and error
    - The layout and pathing of the world can be infuriating in some places, with a ton of unnecessary empty space
    - The lack of a jump button and the slowness of movement can be frustrating
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 19, 2015
    0
    While I admire the style and sounds, I just wandered around and had to resort to a guide. There is no direction in this game, it's easy toWhile I admire the style and sounds, I just wandered around and had to resort to a guide. There is no direction in this game, it's easy to miss what changes. Running is too slow. I wish it had a bit of direction, especially early on. Overall just frustrating, running around being lost... I had no idea I'd have to memorize anything. The puzzles were more annoying than fun. Sorry this game is just totally unintuitive. Full Review »