User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 174 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 174
  2. Negative: 43 out of 174
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidB.
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    Aside from the rough start this game is fantastic as a multiplayer game. Single player has something to be desired but multiplayer makes up for it. The sheer variety of weapons, vehicles, and tactics make this game infinite in enjoyment.
  2. PaullK.
    Apr 9, 2008
    9
    My god best future game I played single player is awesome but the multiplayer isn't that good as I expected I hope they make a sequel.
  3. TylerA.
    Mar 21, 2008
    9
    This game works great. It had some issues at first, but for now, it is AWESOME. The multyplayer can be laggy however if you don't meet the recommended requirements.
  4. SteveH
    Nov 29, 2009
    9
    Great story line, easy to control, and similiar to the old Black Hawk Down series.
  5. Role
    Mar 7, 2008
    7
    Its hard to know where to start with this game, as it is true there are a LOT of installation isssues with the PC title, however I have been quite lucky and have hit no problems. Gameplay wise, it is BF2 meets ETQW, witha large selection of weapons, classes, roles, and vehicles. My main gripe is the singleplay campaign which is supposed to replace a training mode. Basically you unlock a Its hard to know where to start with this game, as it is true there are a LOT of installation isssues with the PC title, however I have been quite lucky and have hit no problems. Gameplay wise, it is BF2 meets ETQW, witha large selection of weapons, classes, roles, and vehicles. My main gripe is the singleplay campaign which is supposed to replace a training mode. Basically you unlock a mission which will let you use all of the weapons and vehicles over the course of the campaign. However this is incredibly tedious as if you want to spend sometime learning the tanks for examplr you can only reply the same tank mission over and over again, nothing changes - the ememies are in the same place, and always do the same thing. There are also issues with the recoil on some of the weapons, there seems to be no apparent advantage to aiming automatic weapons, as the spread of shots remains the same as unscoped. Also the tank 120mm gun fires parabolic shells, much the same way as the tanks in BF1942 - no flat trajectory - very poor. Sadly there are no permanent class unlocks, and ou can still bunnyhop and fire, both are big steps back from the BF series, although this game does provide a lot more satisfaction than ETQW. However I still think its going to suffer compared to the big 3 in terms of online longevity. Graphically the game looks great and the audios are top notch, but the real problem is that with so many people having problems with the game there are still few people online. And this game is begging for big online scrims. Expand
  6. JamesL.
    Apr 24, 2008
    9
    Pretty immersive impossible though to play at 1280 X 1024 on High settings even with 8800 GT and a Quad Core CPU that sort of disappoints but it gorgeous even at 1024 X 768 at medium settings future cards should make this game even sweeter!
  7. BOseN.
    Mar 12, 2008
    9
    This a very good game, who needs lots of updates and fixes.
  8. RikB.
    Mar 14, 2008
    9
    The game looks brilliant. Gameplay is good, but there are some little points where they have to work on. But I think they'll do that asap. 9/10
  9. KenS.
    Mar 15, 2008
    9
    Very good gameplay needs some minor work with a few glitches to do with movement but I like this game alot great graphics you will need a new pc to run on high. I had beta on old pc it barely ran, on new quad core runs real nice everything on high no problems.
  10. GeneN.
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    Good balance of roles and teams. If you can get the patch to fix the intial crash problem on 8800 platform, the game is very fun!
  11. ThiagoM
    Dec 31, 2009
    9
    Very cool system of "Experience" and cool classes... The vehicles makes the game really fun and teh battle struture its pretty easy and complete. The bad things would be the Server Browzer but you can quickly avoid this using other softwares to connect you to servers.
  12. AndrewD.
    Feb 27, 2008
    9
    Much more accessible than ETQW - Frontlines rocks my socks. Explosive RC cars are flippin' sweet. Beautiful game - so long BF2
  13. AndyS.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Great online Fight with vehicles! Like Battlefield 2, more from this! Greetsz from Germany.
  14. AndreiY
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome, adicting gameplay. very good graphics nearly perfect The best multiplayer game in the history!
  15. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    great game for multiplayer, up to 64 players in server, ability to choose class (ground support, air support, drone tech...) also in game Armoured Fighting Vehicles (tanks, helicopters, aircrafts etc...). fast and realistic action. definitely worth the money
  16. Jul 1, 2011
    8
    Not ground breaking but it does have enough cool elements to make it fun. Sometimes a good fun game doen't have to be awesome. The graphics are decent. Gameplay is decent. I think some people criticize to hard. Kick back and have fun playing a decent shooter.
  17. Nov 13, 2013
    6
    This review is about the sigle player as I don't play much in the way of multiplayer. The game mechanic is certainly good enough but there is precisely zero storyline. The music and sound effects are good but a bit.... well... let's put it this way... if Call of Duty isn't "AMERICA FK YEAH" enough for you then this game is probably for you.
  18. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    The game is great; Bad Company but, in my opinion, better. The underlying story is also pretty good. Plus, it's only about US$15 (if it's not on sale[which it often is] for about 20c), which is great value.
  19. DanielB.
    Mar 10, 2008
    4
    The game is a typical over-hyped but not delivered product heavy on graphic "bells and whistles" and short on gameplay execution. It feels like an unfinsished beta release that was rushed out of the door with promises of fixes yet to come. Joystick support is not even implemented properly, As for game play.... The game is very unbalanced and does not promote team play. It "encourages" The game is a typical over-hyped but not delivered product heavy on graphic "bells and whistles" and short on gameplay execution. It feels like an unfinsished beta release that was rushed out of the door with promises of fixes yet to come. Joystick support is not even implemented properly, As for game play.... The game is very unbalanced and does not promote team play. It "encourages" team play but the reality is that people on the public servers tend not to cooperate. (By the way, the server browser is very poor). People tend to flock to the overpowered sniper rifle or play with the drones. Makes for a very unrealistic battlefield experience. The futuristic setting and pace of play leaves me cold. It is a twitch fest more than a cooperative tactical environment. Outside of the nice graphics, I cannot recommend this game over some of the more polished Battlefield 2 Mods out there. FFOW only rates a 4 out of 10 and that only because of the graphic quality on higher end computers. My advice is to wait until a few patches have been produced and the game gets discounted. If the gaming community becomes interested in FFOW some better mods may develop over time. Save your money for now, this game is not worth buying. Expand
  20. ElBarto
    Dec 25, 2009
    9
    I bought the PC version 2 years after it was released, and still it was able to surprise me. This is one of the better shooters I have played and with some nice gameplay which you do not find arround to much lately these day. Also the sound of the weapons are quiet good. Only play this game AFTER installing the patches (3 with +/- 1.8 gb !!! together) to avoid bugs With Steam you are I bought the PC version 2 years after it was released, and still it was able to surprise me. This is one of the better shooters I have played and with some nice gameplay which you do not find arround to much lately these day. Also the sound of the weapons are quiet good. Only play this game AFTER installing the patches (3 with +/- 1.8 gb !!! together) to avoid bugs With Steam you are running the latest release Single player is nice but somewhat unbalance, it is rather a fight between tanks/airplanes and helicopters and as footsoldier you do not stand any chance unless some support of these Expand
  21. CamilD.
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    It's one of the best FPS ever played, with an excellent graphic and very accessible commends. The only thing I could reproach was that the game in terms of single player levels was a bit too short.
  22. ClausD.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Best Game I Played until Now, Compared to BF2 the textures/Grafics are in my opinion much better. Singleplayer is Awsome, Multiplayer I think one of the Best ever. Anyway still space for Improvement on Handling the Server Browser.
  23. JWun
    Mar 4, 2008
    5
    Perhaps I have been spoiled by the greatness of COD4, but this game sucks. I used to be a big battlefield fan and was hoping for something similar. The single player dynamic feels like Nerf-wars: The enemy AI is borderline retarded, i.e.; I was able to take down an enemy hum-vee by running circles around it while reloading my RPG. The multi-player feels like a Quake Wars knockoff. If you Perhaps I have been spoiled by the greatness of COD4, but this game sucks. I used to be a big battlefield fan and was hoping for something similar. The single player dynamic feels like Nerf-wars: The enemy AI is borderline retarded, i.e.; I was able to take down an enemy hum-vee by running circles around it while reloading my RPG. The multi-player feels like a Quake Wars knockoff. If you liked that game, you may like MP on this one. I expected more. Expand
  24. DelT.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Awesome Graphics and Game Play. Very Fun and addictive Multiplayer. Awesome story line and Single Player offering as well.
  25. toddnance
    Mar 10, 2008
    4
    gameplay and graphics are nice but not quite the quality of its peer games (i.e. call of duty 4).
    playing frontlines: fuel of war is the first time in along time that i have seen the infamous "blue screen of death." yes, i have the latest nvidia drivers and am running dual evga 8800gt 512Mb cards, but when i crank up the graphics options to high i experience lockups and eventually
    gameplay and graphics are nice but not quite the quality of its peer games (i.e. call of duty 4).
    playing frontlines: fuel of war is the first time in along time that i have seen the infamous "blue screen of death." yes, i have the latest nvidia drivers and am running dual evga 8800gt 512Mb cards, but when i crank up the graphics options to high i experience lockups and eventually the troubling "blue screen of death."

    the games AI engine is buggy. playing the single player version, i have seen objects materialize out of thin air (team members, opposing enemy, missles, and other objects just appear as if spawned into the game). the occaisional opponent, running around like a chicken with its head cutoff and not seeming to know what it's function is...

    overall, for $50, this game was a big disappointment. if it was priced at $10, i could overlook the flaws that i encountered.
    Expand
  26. Oct 31, 2010
    4
    I got this game off steam for 1.5â
  27. ShaneSuckMe
    Jul 4, 2008
    0
    O MY GOD!!! The shitiest game i have ever played a wast of 50 bucks... DO NOT BUY... There are very very few servers only about 6 servers have players on Cant use a joystick WTF is with that... All the servers lag even tho i have the best internet i can get... Sad sad shity game... im never ever buying a XBOX converted game ever agen... They have fucked uss all over selling use shit like O MY GOD!!! The shitiest game i have ever played a wast of 50 bucks... DO NOT BUY... There are very very few servers only about 6 servers have players on Cant use a joystick WTF is with that... All the servers lag even tho i have the best internet i can get... Sad sad shity game... im never ever buying a XBOX converted game ever agen... They have fucked uss all over selling use shit like this how dare they selll a game they are still making... DO NOT BUY... COD 4 is better BF2 is better BF1942 is better CCS is better. Expand
  28. EvanM.
    Mar 5, 2008
    1
    When I saw this game, I should have waited until it was going to be released as a demo. Considering that this title has been proceeded by some very clever titles. I'm amazed it doesn't seem to have even tried to apply some of those to it's own package. By no means has this title acheived anything new. Sorry but this is a waste of time. Well done with the marketing campaign, When I saw this game, I should have waited until it was going to be released as a demo. Considering that this title has been proceeded by some very clever titles. I'm amazed it doesn't seem to have even tried to apply some of those to it's own package. By no means has this title acheived anything new. Sorry but this is a waste of time. Well done with the marketing campaign, and 1 point for widescreen compatability. Expand
  29. SP
    Jun 8, 2008
    1
    If a game is said to be "Games for Windows" it should at least work on VISTA... But I have two PCs... one is a HIGH END (and anyone telling the opposite can check amongst the 100 best benchmark over 3D Mark) while the other is a "pretty good laptop" with a XP (Gforce 8600 512 [true mem not shared] - 4Gb Ram - 2xHD 160 Sata 7200rpm) ... And the game won't work on any of those two If a game is said to be "Games for Windows" it should at least work on VISTA... But I have two PCs... one is a HIGH END (and anyone telling the opposite can check amongst the 100 best benchmark over 3D Mark) while the other is a "pretty good laptop" with a XP (Gforce 8600 512 [true mem not shared] - 4Gb Ram - 2xHD 160 Sata 7200rpm) ... And the game won't work on any of those two PCs... The Support isn't able to help, and I still can't play after 3 month... (The beta was working only on the XP machine... and now that the "final" release is there, it won't work anymore???) Well, the game was fun in beta, except a bit laggy and low Frame rate at 1024x768 on the laptop (only 17f/s) I just wonder why they did (and how could they???) release a game that is not finished and so bugged!!! (That's because the beta wasn't working that bad that I put a 1... otherwise I'll give this game a complete 0 (ZERO). Expand
  30. Blacksheep1
    Mar 1, 2008
    5
    Fuel of war: Again I feel as though I was duped into buying the "wow" factor. I wonder when game developers will pull their butts out from behind the monitor long enough to talk to gamers in order to really see what were looking for in a game. Huge disappointment.
  31. DustinS.
    Mar 6, 2008
    3
    Good idea but kinda a crappy game way too many glitches like sometimes shooting a rocket it just floats in the air by you and blows up or shooting a guy right in the head like 20 times and cant even get a hit on him or using the grenade launcher and shoot it like 6 inches away from the guy and he dosnt even get hurt they need to fix alot of the issues in this game and also make it so the Good idea but kinda a crappy game way too many glitches like sometimes shooting a rocket it just floats in the air by you and blows up or shooting a guy right in the head like 20 times and cant even get a hit on him or using the grenade launcher and shoot it like 6 inches away from the guy and he dosnt even get hurt they need to fix alot of the issues in this game and also make it so the patches dont mess up the game like when I first downloaded it from steam Expand
  32. DominikS.
    Mar 8, 2008
    3
    It's a not so good game, because of the story. I'm of the opinion, that is the same game like Call of Duty 4 only with other weapons!
  33. eitdrnkngdz
    Mar 11, 2008
    4
    i cant believe i actually bought this game, and yes i was d***k at the time. i finished downloading it, and decided to give it a try. after landing in the chopper, i immediately had the urge to shut the game down. i have all the recommended system specifications, and after turning all the graphics down, i still got load spikes as new models entered the playing field, keep in mind this isi cant believe i actually bought this game, and yes i was d***k at the time. i finished downloading it, and decided to give it a try. after landing in the chopper, i immediately had the urge to shut the game down. i have all the recommended system specifications, and after turning all the graphics down, i still got load spikes as new models entered the playing field, keep in mind this is first player mode. i gave this game a 4 since it definitely falls below average in my opinion, but i don't want to be too harsh considering they did take the time to make a s***y game and rip me off. its not worth more then 10 bucks, and i would probably have more fun playing with fisher price rescue heroes. p.s. the splash screen makes me want to barf. Expand
  34. BlackM.
    Mar 10, 2008
    2
    Only giving a 2 because the game is based on the UT3 engine and has so much potential. Other than that, the game has serious issues and resembles something in a Beta stage. Game stopping loss of sound and crashes prevent many from playing. Support is non existent. Heck, even acknowledgment of the problems is non existent. Avoid this game, its nothing more then a $50 bag of headaches.
  35. PetrasP.
    Mar 12, 2008
    0
    I bout this game from steam and even cant run so this game on performance sux already.
  36. SgtRock
    Mar 23, 2008
    4
    A surprisingly poor execution of some good ideas, from a team that should know better. Very disappointing.
  37. KenM.
    Mar 24, 2008
    0
    Either I got a horribly malfunctioning disk or it is a disgrace to video gaming across the world, it has about 1 frame a second and the graphics are terrible and don't get me started on the main menus mouse sensitivity issue, to those thinking to buy this, please, don't be stupid, make the right choice. Don't
  38. DanyT.
    Apr 11, 2008
    2
    I regret to have bought this game. I thought that the game would be at least close to Battlefield 1942, boy, was I disillusioned. The interface to search for online servers is so stupid.... After playing Call of duty 4, Frontlines seems so dull and not realistic. Dont make the same mistake I did, dont buy this game, go get cod 4 if you want a good online game ;o)
  39. TylerC
    May 17, 2008
    1
    Game is filled with bugs. Would look great but is glitchy and laggy online and its not my side. I believe they released this game before it was even done because some managment department was hurring to makers up. They thought they could release a half built game and fix it with patches.... I uninstalled and want my money back. Oh yea, cant use joystick or keyboard to fly, all in mouse. I Game is filled with bugs. Would look great but is glitchy and laggy online and its not my side. I believe they released this game before it was even done because some managment department was hurring to makers up. They thought they could release a half built game and fix it with patches.... I uninstalled and want my money back. Oh yea, cant use joystick or keyboard to fly, all in mouse. I got use it but it was a horrible idea. Expand
  40. RickK.
    Apr 29, 2008
    1
    This game is very buggy and was only about 3/4 finished when it was released and Kaos is taking their sweet time releasing patches. This game will not stand the test of time, I give it six months and I think I am being optimistic.
  41. BradB
    Nov 22, 2009
    4
    While it has a good story, the game has only mediocre graphics, and MASSIVE lag issues, even in single player, every time you turn it lags, and my hardware runs crysis on med-high, so its not a problem there.
  42. ErwinR
    Nov 25, 2009
    7
    I bought the game as a steam discount and i played it. First off the single is ok as for my opinion. It's not for people who want single play game but will not satisfy hardcore single player fans. Yet it has a simple storyline. Also missions seems the same such as capture this point or hold this ect. But i think the Single player is average to me. Multiplayer is ok i guess. I I bought the game as a steam discount and i played it. First off the single is ok as for my opinion. It's not for people who want single play game but will not satisfy hardcore single player fans. Yet it has a simple storyline. Also missions seems the same such as capture this point or hold this ect. But i think the Single player is average to me. Multiplayer is ok i guess. I personally had a hardtime finding a server but yet when you find one it seems fun. Yet it's either everyone going drones of goes to a map that allows jets. Also a small selection of maps. Theirs a desent size of guns but could have had way more. This game could have had way more but the deves didn't take it. All in all get this if it's hal foff otherwise do not spend 30 bucks. More like 7 to me. Expand
  43. dond
    Nov 22, 2009
    0
    realy bad game...!! bougth this piece of trash for just 2,50eur but that is even too much...!! bad bad bad...i played better mods on any wacky fps-game... please dont support this steamtrash...every cent for this wasted!
  44. Oct 3, 2010
    5
    A solid game in which your only friend is the empty echo of what else, but lag.The weapons and vehicles feels a little old through.Pity.The story is ...MIA(missing in action).
  45. Nov 4, 2010
    4
    The singleplayer is extremely dull. Multiplayer is unbalanced, drones everywhere. I don't know if I just fail at adapting to the system in this game or what, but it feels like the weapons behave very weirdly, so I found it hard to aim. Maps seem very random, like they were put together in a rush. The concept is nice, and the intro video really had me excited, if only there were a openThe singleplayer is extremely dull. Multiplayer is unbalanced, drones everywhere. I don't know if I just fail at adapting to the system in this game or what, but it feels like the weapons behave very weirdly, so I found it hard to aim. Maps seem very random, like they were put together in a rush. The concept is nice, and the intro video really had me excited, if only there were a open world game like that, with proper gameplay. Expand
  46. Dec 19, 2010
    3
    The gameplay is decent at times. AI both friendly and enemy is ridiculously poor and the game is full of glitches. But really the worst thing about this game is the storyline. I don't think I've ever played a game with a storyline that was so bad and yet it's being serious. Basically, you play as US soldiers fighting against the 'Red Star' (Communist) army in an imagined future. It's aThe gameplay is decent at times. AI both friendly and enemy is ridiculously poor and the game is full of glitches. But really the worst thing about this game is the storyline. I don't think I've ever played a game with a storyline that was so bad and yet it's being serious. Basically, you play as US soldiers fighting against the 'Red Star' (Communist) army in an imagined future. It's a stupid concept and and even more horribly implemented. Expand
  47. May 18, 2011
    7
    Albeit short, this game turned out to be action-packed fun. It's no Battlefield 1942 or Desert Combat, but it definitely tries to be. Good stocking stuffer.
  48. Apr 8, 2011
    1
    Jeu au graphisme, et un game-player super-be, les armes on une très bonne prise en main, aussi les véhicules, di-gne d'un counters strike, je seul chose je vous conseillez, "achetez le".
  49. Jun 12, 2012
    4
    This game looks like than Battlefield 2142. What you need is only capture or destroy points and devices. Short singleplayer, 3-4 hours long. The AI and enemy spawning are bad. Storyline is sucks. The graphisc in 2012 looks ugly.
  50. Dec 22, 2011
    4
    This game is of a very low quality every area. I would rate it lower but I did actually finish it a couple of times. The multiplayer is a battlefield ripoff fail. I would NOT buy this game, not from a store, not off Steam. It's not worth your internet connection and most certainly not your money or time. Take it from a "veteran" of the game I guess.
  51. Jan 4, 2012
    0
    Fuel of War was absolutely horrible the worst game i have ever played. Lets start with the graphics, because geez they are complete **** the gameplay was spawn and die by a camper 300 meters away and overall a **** game i didnt want to bother long with before uninstalling.
  52. Apr 22, 2012
    3
    Not a bad game, sadly on new Hardware/Software system it act weirds, still if you have some money to spend and want to give it a try go on, story ain't that great, and your companion AI is a bit retarded, i wasn't surprised the first time i played it.
  53. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    I love this game despite the fact that it looks like a futuristic battlefield game that was never made. Worth your cash and the fun factor is huge here.
  54. Jul 7, 2013
    0
    no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no nono no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no Expand
  55. Nov 13, 2013
    1
    The graphics are pretty nice... but that's the only thing good about this game. It said it's open world on the Steam store page; it isn't. Multiplayer is no longer supported, and the single-player campaign is not worth playing: the story is quite boring, the AI is horrible, and physics boxes are poorly drawn. This game features many, many bugs, and very poor optimization.

    Good:
    The graphics are pretty nice... but that's the only thing good about this game. It said it's open world on the Steam store page; it isn't. Multiplayer is no longer supported, and the single-player campaign is not worth playing: the story is quite boring, the AI is horrible, and physics boxes are poorly drawn. This game features many, many bugs, and very poor optimization.

    Good:
    Graphics.

    Bad:
    It's not "open world" as the devs said it was, and the maps are quite small.
    Recoil and accuracy system. My shots always seemed land at the max radius of the cone of fire.
    AI is horrible: teammates will follow you without seeking cover, and enemies will prioritize you over your teammates whenever you're in their view.
    A story that seemed to be written by a third-grader
    Hitboxes. You will encounter invisible walls when you climb rocks to get to an objective. You will try to hit a guy hiding behind a tree, only to discover that the tree's hitbox was poorly done. The turret also shields parts of an enemy that appear unprotected from bullets. Many other incidences occur.

    I regret buying this game, even though I bought it at 75% off.
    Expand
  56. Apr 12, 2016
    9
    GOOD: Excellent game play, excellent variety of situations that keep you entertaining, love the variety of vehicles, very funy to play
    BAD: Artificial intelligence not very intelligent, enemies sometime just re-spawn from nowhere, not very polished gameplay
  57. EdwardG.
    Jan 30, 2010
    7
    Its a decent game if you get to play it. This game requires a very powerful CPU to play. I had to Overclock mine to 3.4ghz just to get decent Frame fates. This game is plagued with glitches and problems, but if you get past all of them it is a very fun and interesting game. The Vehicles as others have mention makes it really worth all the problems. The Weapons are somewhat a pain to use Its a decent game if you get to play it. This game requires a very powerful CPU to play. I had to Overclock mine to 3.4ghz just to get decent Frame fates. This game is plagued with glitches and problems, but if you get past all of them it is a very fun and interesting game. The Vehicles as others have mention makes it really worth all the problems. The Weapons are somewhat a pain to use and you mostly get unlimited ammo since theirs ammo stations around every corner. Just do your research to help you fix all the problems with it and it you'll see what I mean. Expand
  58. MatthewW.
    Mar 23, 2008
    8
    Fun online only, the large battles are very fun.
  59. JackM.
    Mar 11, 2008
    8
    This game works great on my computer. I don't know what you guys are talking about.
  60. JamesB
    Dec 7, 2009
    7
    not much replay value and online is pretty basic with nothing to work towards all in all is a good experience while it lasts
  61. JSeif
    Nov 23, 2009
    7
    It's alright for a while. The single player can get a bit tedious but overall it's a fun game.
  62. Nov 3, 2010
    8
    Getting past the first mission, the lag stopped. From there on the game was a blast. I enjoyed the story, gameplay mechanics, gunplay and action pacing. The Multiplayer is great. Some people expect too much from smaller games like this.
  63. Dec 10, 2010
    7
    I got Frontline FOW for $2.50 on Steam, and I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoy the single player although MP may be a bit frantic. People are right about the lag, but I have other complaints. The first is the load time, which is so long it should be illegal. Some levels aren't bad, but on others I'll get up to do something else for a while. And that's wrong. The other complaint is theI got Frontline FOW for $2.50 on Steam, and I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoy the single player although MP may be a bit frantic. People are right about the lag, but I have other complaints. The first is the load time, which is so long it should be illegal. Some levels aren't bad, but on others I'll get up to do something else for a while. And that's wrong. The other complaint is the system of "redeploys", which I actually like. The problem is, once you run out of them, you've died - likely in a place where you're tapping the mouse button frantically squeezing off shots in battle - the game over screen appears with your mouse hovering over "restart mission" rather than "restart objective." This takes you back to the beginning of the level, which has incredibly bad load time due to the cinematic. You then have to exit, re-load the menu *long* and then reload the objective. That's just poor placement. These things combined make for a pretty poor release at full price. But if you catch it on sale, I'd recommend it. Expand
  64. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    Essentially it's BBC2 without all the hype fancy graphics and without the destruction.. ok its not by any means BBC2 but i did find it reminicent. Anyway i'm giving it a 8 because it's fun and the gameplay is smooth
  65. Mar 29, 2017
    6
    A pretty decent military shooter with single player campaign thats pretty short and plays similarly to Battlefield's rush mode from attackers POV. Story is basic genre stuff with russians and chinese as main enemies and youre playing the role of american hero. Some might see rusofobia in this. It feels like any other Unreal based FPS, controls, movement and shooting feel very light withoutA pretty decent military shooter with single player campaign thats pretty short and plays similarly to Battlefield's rush mode from attackers POV. Story is basic genre stuff with russians and chinese as main enemies and youre playing the role of american hero. Some might see rusofobia in this. It feels like any other Unreal based FPS, controls, movement and shooting feel very light without much tactile feedback which im not fan of. The in game assault rifle was pretty inaccurate too and enemies can feel bullet spongy unless you hit them in head. Using the drones and vehicles was pretty fun, theyre a good addition to the game, without whom i feel the game wouldnt be as enjoyable. Sound design for the most part was suprisingly decent atleast. Graphics wise game is nothing special but atleast it runs very well. Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Frontlines does enough to entertain on the multiplayer end to make up for the woeful single-player experience. It’s a shame Kaos didn’t scrap the single-player altogether to focus completely on honing the online experience.
  2. 78
    If you can forget about the fact that you’ve been playing this style game for years with the Battlefield franchise then Frontlines will hook you for some time with its gargantuan battles, but for most Fuel of War will likely be too generic to truly sink their teeth into.
  3. Frontlines is basically an easy-to-learn shooter with lots of action. But your AI-controlled comrades-in-arms are close to useless because of their stupid behavior. This is the reason why Kaos Studios didn't achive the goal to create a solo campaign that feels like a multiplayer game. In the end, it's a team shooter that plays like an ego shooter - at least as long as you play offline.