User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 177

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2013
    4
    Great idea, I really like both the design and the gameplay. The difficulty level is very high, but that is okay for me. However, Frozen Synapse has two major flaws: It becomes repetitive after a rather short time. And the loading times in between turns are really bad: waiting for 25 seconds for the game to move on to the next turn despite me not having given any orders? I don't have the patience for this, sorry. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    3
    Turn based grid-less version of X-COM but without the resource management and metagame. The most interesting part is planning out both your moves and predicting your enemy's moves, playing it out, and optimizing your turn based on your available information and predictions. LoS and cover can be frustrating with you occasionally you being shot before you can shoot the enemy without explanation from the game. Single player is pretty generic and multiplayer is a bit empty. I assume most people set up their own matches between friends because I get the feeling this is one of those games that a dozen hardcore people play publicly just to stomp people online. This could be a great tactical play-by-email game between friends but I wouldn't recommend it unless your friends get it or you buy multiple copies for some. Be prepared for 30min-1hr long turns and week long games; this is something you really have to dig deep into. Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2012
    3
    This is a game that could work well as a conceptual/research project for something bigger, but as it stands, becomes tiresome too quickly.

    The gameplay is innovative, but there is a steep learning curve to get the hang of it. Once you do master the gameplay, the game is put down by repetitiveness and bland level design. The minimalist glowing neon art style is interesting at first, but
    soon turns to boredom since levels all look pretty much the same. The amateurish looking UI tends to overlap the gameplay area, making it harder to see what's going on. This is made worse by the fact that you need to use the keyboard to scroll the area. The absence of a mini-map doesn't help things either. Overall, a bland, repetive game with a cumbersome interface. Put your money elsewhere. Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2012
    4
    I've played it, passed few maps, did what seemed to be correct and failed. Failing itself isn't that frustrating (it's part of every game) but the loading times between each part of the decision making process... I don't have time for such a thing! Idea seems good and the art direction is recognizable but entry barrier is too high. Sorry.
  5. Dec 25, 2011
    4
    The game is ok, but the AI is what really disappoints me since that is the main ingredient to play this game. It's not about controlling things entirely yourself. I got bored of the tutorial, and decided to move on to the campaign, I know what I'm doing. But when I reached the hostage mission its impossible to complete it. Thanks to the overpowered sniper, that is basically an aimbot because he always detects my soldier when I attempt to kill him. So, this game could had been really good if they improved the AI; I also think they ripped off the theme of DEFCON and Uplink Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2011
    0
    **** don't buy this why have this game 8.0 User Score ?
    Mode 7 have creat a bad Game soory but this is not a good game for me.
    Is to hard to hard !!!
  7. Aug 21, 2011
    3
    has the POTENTIAL to be a good game - it's a good game ENGINE. Just not a good game. No variety, no reason to continue playing. Just the same thing over and over again. Really did not care for it.
    O. And the graphics are TERRIBLE! Like, 1986 terrible.
  8. Jul 6, 2011
    0
    The computer cheats! Played this game for 2 hours and couldn't beat the first map. If you don't move your guys the computer won't go near them. If you do move them the computer will flank them in the same turn. You never stand a chance. Most frustrating game ever! Wish I never bought this game. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!
  9. Jul 4, 2011
    1
    An absolute failure right out of the gate. The flaws in this game were so many and so immediately apparent that after 20 minutes of "play" I needed a break. For starters, the user can't customize the controls. This may not be a huge concession for most players, but in the year 2011 it astonishes me that developers still can't grasp the most basic of needs. It isn't hard to program customizable controls and almost every user will want to change at least one aspect of a control scheme. In a complicated strategy game the last thing a user should have to do is hunt for the proper key. Not to mention the fact that there is no reference for the control scheme, which brings me to my next point. The tutorial system is horrible. Not only does it baby the user with overly simplified instructions, it goes so far as to assume that the user is a moron and needs to be told that "doubling clicking" means "to click the mouse button twice in rapid succession." The worst part? You can't skip ANY parts of the tutorial. It isn't broken down by chapters or subjects and there is no way to skip forward or backward. You have to do everything step-by-step and if you want to review something you just did you have to start the entire tutorial over. This includes trying to figure out the how the computer interprets your commands. Trying to make the AI do one specific thing? Run through the entire tutorial and pay extremely close attention, because if you miss it you'll be doing it all over again. Finally, there's the AI. Absolutely horrible. No matter what you do your team will never spot the enemy first. In fact the enemy AI will often avoid your line of sight as if by some magical psychic power. Set up the perfect trap? The enemy will never go near that section of the map. What's worse, the game starts you out with short range guns. Good luck trying to get within the required twenty feet to actually shoot at an enemy. This game is frustration incarnate. I will admit that the premiss behind the game is fantastic. However the execution is so poor that the most fun you'll have with this game is uninstalling it while you scream at your monitor. Don't waste your time or your money. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    90
    A fast-paced tactical game that is easy to approach but has depth in spades when you dig into it. The mix of randomness and determinism isn't quite optimal, but the end result is mostly excellent. Despite some lacklustre storytelling, even the single player side provides hours and hours of quality gaming. A cult classic. [Aug 2011]
  2. Sep 9, 2011
    80
    Pure strategy, complex but solid controls and an irresistible multiplayer make Frozen Synapse a surprise hit. It's not a beautiful looking game, but ignore the basic presentation, because this is a game everyone should try at least once.
  3. Aug 14, 2011
    70
    Frozen Synapse is no rival to full-fledged tactical strategy games, but it's an ideal time-killer for a lunch break.