User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 74
  2. Negative: 16 out of 74

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RC
    May 1, 2010
    5
    The game seems to have been sold on the strength of its huge world. The world and the graphics are impressive (lots to explore and nice lighting effects), but the game is dull. It feels like a demo for a forthcoming game, where they have finished the landscape and want to show it off, but haven't really thought about what you might do in it. Also, the objects to be found in the The game seems to have been sold on the strength of its huge world. The world and the graphics are impressive (lots to explore and nice lighting effects), but the game is dull. It feels like a demo for a forthcoming game, where they have finished the landscape and want to show it off, but haven't really thought about what you might do in it. Also, the objects to be found in the landscape are very repetitive - the same few farmhouses keep turning up again and again. Codemasters need to realize that it's not size that's important, it's what you do with it. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2011
    6
    You've heard others say it... I'll be saying the same. The game is just like an open world... that's it. I just felt so... lonely. Plus the world wasn't really that exciting to explore because it was all the same almost everywhere. I got it on Steam for 5 dollars... now I wish I could trade it for GRID. That was a much better game. It was all on confined race tracks, but each track lookedYou've heard others say it... I'll be saying the same. The game is just like an open world... that's it. I just felt so... lonely. Plus the world wasn't really that exciting to explore because it was all the same almost everywhere. I got it on Steam for 5 dollars... now I wish I could trade it for GRID. That was a much better game. It was all on confined race tracks, but each track looked different enough so that it wasn't getting barring. When a game talks about how large it's play area is and all the screen shots look nearly the same, there's something wrong. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    7
    Kudos to Codemasters for making a game map that is 5,560 square miles filled with many western natural exhibits, but with size comes lack of attention to detail. It's quite obvious that only the race tracks were tended to with love and care, but the other 99.5% of the map seems randomly generated with some minor fine tunings. Collisions are terrible, I will crash into a tree even thoughKudos to Codemasters for making a game map that is 5,560 square miles filled with many western natural exhibits, but with size comes lack of attention to detail. It's quite obvious that only the race tracks were tended to with love and care, but the other 99.5% of the map seems randomly generated with some minor fine tunings. Collisions are terrible, I will crash into a tree even though I'm 5 feet away from it. The redeeming factor is the graphics, they are rather beautiful, but in many areas if you've seen it once, you've seen it all (particularly the rolling plains). Now that the price has gone down, I recommend this as a "free ride" game, but don't expect it to hold your attention for more than an hour or 2 per sitting. Expand
  4. VeronM
    Jul 25, 2009
    4
    Fuel is a grandiose idea that is ultimately hollow and full of the kinds of things that don't matter. Sort of like Al Gore's version of Global Warming upon which the backdrop for this game is derived. Ok you have the latest in gorgeous backgrounds and all manner of technical effect afforded to you in video gaming today. However with all the advancement in graphics there have Fuel is a grandiose idea that is ultimately hollow and full of the kinds of things that don't matter. Sort of like Al Gore's version of Global Warming upon which the backdrop for this game is derived. Ok you have the latest in gorgeous backgrounds and all manner of technical effect afforded to you in video gaming today. However with all the advancement in graphics there have been those same advances in physics modeling and artificial intelligence; the deficiency of this game being in the latter two. Ok is the game fun? Yes, it can be. Nearly all games are fun in some way. But with video gaming there's a bit more involved with the need of a console or a PC, the costs involved there and then the cost of the game itself. For all that cost, and the hype with it, a game like this should deliver. I'd rent this, try it out then forget about it. Oh wait I did, except for writing this short review. So with throwing at you graphics and variety Codemasters and Asobo Studio are giving you just the same kind of useless and costly package that Al Gore and Congress are giving you with Cap and Trade. Better to save your Federal Reserve notes to buy a few ounces of real money like silver bullion than spend them on the retail asking price of this game. Expand
  5. GunnarZ
    Oct 1, 2009
    8
    Considering that in every racing game I ever played I strayed off the course and just enjoyed driving around in the scenery, this game seems to be taylor made for me. Like other people I was not too sure about it because of all the reviews, but I sure am glad I got it. I do see the shortcomings, especially the engine sounds are disappointing, 3 out of 4 vehicles sound like scooters. The Considering that in every racing game I ever played I strayed off the course and just enjoyed driving around in the scenery, this game seems to be taylor made for me. Like other people I was not too sure about it because of all the reviews, but I sure am glad I got it. I do see the shortcomings, especially the engine sounds are disappointing, 3 out of 4 vehicles sound like scooters. The racing is satisfactory anough, even spectacular at times (weather effects!). But what I really enjoy is the "pointless" driving around, hunting for everything that's out there, trying to reach this roof or the top of that cliff... admittedly, I'm probably weird. But I suggest you give this game a try before you give it up. (Plus, I expect there will be a patch to address at least some of the shoftcomings). Expand
  6. CarlosL
    Sep 6, 2009
    4
    Rather frustrating. I played FUEL just after I finished playing GRID, also from codemasters, but seems this time their four-letter game wasn't anylike like the older one. Yeah, the racing world is huge and that's a thumbs up -- if properly colored... Sometimes I found myself looking at any other thing on my room than the game screen, as the landscape NEVER EVER changes... They Rather frustrating. I played FUEL just after I finished playing GRID, also from codemasters, but seems this time their four-letter game wasn't anylike like the older one. Yeah, the racing world is huge and that's a thumbs up -- if properly colored... Sometimes I found myself looking at any other thing on my room than the game screen, as the landscape NEVER EVER changes... They should have thought about flavoring some more of the places, a huge torn-out metropolis would fit, who knows? In summary, I came to play FUEL with lots of expectations a good game would cause - none of them fulfilled. Expand
  7. FletcherO
    Jul 22, 2009
    4
    This game could have been much better but as others have said, it lacks a sense of speed and has very odd physics for a racing game. I'm not too far into it, but from what I've played makes me not want to go any farther in it. Sliding out of control (when staying in control leads to getting passed by everyone) leads to frustrating racing. It does provide a massive area to This game could have been much better but as others have said, it lacks a sense of speed and has very odd physics for a racing game. I'm not too far into it, but from what I've played makes me not want to go any farther in it. Sliding out of control (when staying in control leads to getting passed by everyone) leads to frustrating racing. It does provide a massive area to explore but why would I want to? If they had answered that question, then the game would have been much better. Expand
  8. JohnR
    Jul 26, 2009
    8
    This game has been given a bad review by so many people. I almost did not buy it. I am glad that I did. It is an imaginative racing game that reminds me of my youth when I would ride motorbikes through the Australian bush. My children spend hours exploring in search of all the hidden surprises thoughout the landscape.
  9. VinceD
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    This game is probably being rated by people not involving enough time in the game to enjoy it. Just an observation from a few posts. I love this open world, it only seems like theres not much in there because of the amount of area there is to drive! I for one cant stand the games that can be beat in a day or a week then they never get played again, this game is sure to give you months or This game is probably being rated by people not involving enough time in the game to enjoy it. Just an observation from a few posts. I love this open world, it only seems like theres not much in there because of the amount of area there is to drive! I for one cant stand the games that can be beat in a day or a week then they never get played again, this game is sure to give you months or years of gaming. Now for the not so good, the physics is garbage, shame on you for borrowing that physics engine from an outdated game and put it in this beautiful setup. I would have to say to keep this big of a map a constant thrill would have taken an army of programmers. Cut these guys some slack for a good effort and lets support them so they may release something a bit more tuned next time instead of bashing them and causing their sales to go to hell. Cant we all just get along? lol Expand
  10. NicolasG.
    Jul 3, 2009
    10
    This was probably the best game i have ever played. Really easy to handle. Wonderful graphics and good racing! You have to love it!
  11. guyo
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    Cant believe all the bad reviews for this game? Not everybody is interested in a Complete sim game. Fuel is simple, and perfect for the casual gamer. Tons of land, tons of vehicle, cool weather, beautiful landscape and fine gameplay.
  12. DavidD
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    Its just the prfect game. he graphics, how to handle it... Its just perfect. I love it!!!
  13. Buddhamind
    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    FUEL is so badly rated, and maybe objectively there are a lot of points which could be better. Yet I am quite a fan of race games - like more than a decade - and intuitively this game feels just right. Personally I like to drive the huge open ended world even though it is a bit 'empty'. But the races make everything more than good. Unlike Burnout Paradise which goes way to soon FUEL is so badly rated, and maybe objectively there are a lot of points which could be better. Yet I am quite a fan of race games - like more than a decade - and intuitively this game feels just right. Personally I like to drive the huge open ended world even though it is a bit 'empty'. But the races make everything more than good. Unlike Burnout Paradise which goes way to soon way too fast, FUEL has just exactly the right speed. Maybe in the beginning the cars and bikes are a bit slowy, but I think the programmers want players to focus on steering/ drifting which is exactly what the challenge is in races. Also unlike ANY game I've played before the races have a certain bigness. You're not cramped up in a city, but you're driving these big plains, rolling down mountains is just superbly done. I have not seen anything like this before. So even though there are some theoretical flaws (they're not really obvious or an annoyance while playing like in most games), I find myself just being extremely excited everytime I play, not knowing exactly why. Expand
  14. Stuipidgame
    Jul 27, 2009
    1
    What a terrible game. I played the demo and it was so boring and simple ( I took first place at all skill levels on my first try) Great graphics if you like to see the same trees over and over again with a hill thrown in for fun.
  15. May 5, 2011
    2
    Big area, most of the time is spend driving to pick up all the stuff. Vehicles don't handle very well, quite sluggish and slow. It's a big open area, with nothing really worth seeing. All of the few buildings are copied and pasted in other locations, and everything is really quite bland. As mentioned, it feels like a tech demo to see how such a world would work. Well, point proven, itBig area, most of the time is spend driving to pick up all the stuff. Vehicles don't handle very well, quite sluggish and slow. It's a big open area, with nothing really worth seeing. All of the few buildings are copied and pasted in other locations, and everything is really quite bland. As mentioned, it feels like a tech demo to see how such a world would work. Well, point proven, it runs. As for things to do, there's not much. The open-world aspects are really more limited than you'd think, as driving off steep cliffs can get you reset so easily. Just very boring, and often it asks you to drive these long bland trails to get points access new bland trails to drive. Rinse and repeat. Snooze in between. Glad it was only in a big pack of other real racing games including Grid, which made it worthwhile. If you want open-world racing, get Burnout Paradise and have some fun. Expand
  16. JetS.
    Jul 3, 2009
    3
    A good idea allowed t go to waste. Dull unreal looking vehicles meander at what feels like a snails pace around dull uninteresting tracks, there may be 14000k of map but it all feels as though it is the same few kilometers over and over again, think a chase scene in the flintsones and your close. The weather effects are nice and at first the maps seem interestingly strewn with trucks and A good idea allowed t go to waste. Dull unreal looking vehicles meander at what feels like a snails pace around dull uninteresting tracks, there may be 14000k of map but it all feels as though it is the same few kilometers over and over again, think a chase scene in the flintsones and your close. The weather effects are nice and at first the maps seem interestingly strewn with trucks and cars until the aforementioned 'rubber stamp' effect kicks in. All in all it plays like a cross between pure and Farcry 2 without any of the good bits. Expand
  17. DylanT
    Jul 3, 2009
    8
    FUEL delivers on almost all its promises. Having said that, from what I've played the actual racing lacks a sense of speed and the sound effects become annoying after a short time.
  18. BArcand
    Jan 10, 2010
    7
    What appears to have started off as another Codemasters work of genious, has the feel of being rushed to market in the end. The cars haveno interiors for those of us that likeground level 1st person racing. Handling is Arcade only. If they were to take the best elements of Dirt 2, If Codemasters took the cars and other best elements from Dirt 2 and combined them, they'ed have a blockbuster.
  19. WayneO
    Feb 7, 2010
    8
    I love this game even with its few problems.. yes, its hard to find online players... but you will eventually build up enough friends to have an epic experience online. I mean free-riding with friends over endless terrain never gets old. I have to say that some cars/vehicles handle better than others and there are some ai issues...but if you love racing you will love this.. simple. Get I love this game even with its few problems.. yes, its hard to find online players... but you will eventually build up enough friends to have an epic experience online. I mean free-riding with friends over endless terrain never gets old. I have to say that some cars/vehicles handle better than others and there are some ai issues...but if you love racing you will love this.. simple. Get the demo is you are unsure... I have spent many hours just in awe of this game. The races with typhoons r epic. Expand
  20. mitch
    May 18, 2010
    8
    What can I say? This is a game that can really test your nerves, but then when you take a look at the beautiful scenery rushing past as you hurtle across a landscape at full throttle, you can become instantly relaxed. There are many, many different vehicles to choose from, each with the varying statistics and strengths. The huge area makes exploring one of the major things to do in this What can I say? This is a game that can really test your nerves, but then when you take a look at the beautiful scenery rushing past as you hurtle across a landscape at full throttle, you can become instantly relaxed. There are many, many different vehicles to choose from, each with the varying statistics and strengths. The huge area makes exploring one of the major things to do in this game, with hours and hours of enjoyment simply by trying to collect all of the game's pieces. Mountains, rivers, hills, sand dunes, forests, tornadoes - these are the sorts of things that really separates this game from the rest of the pack. However, what draws me back from giving this game a better score is the way that it can be quite repetitive in the tasks you are required to do, and the fact that one needs to be quite the racing expert to be able to complete the game up to the final area. But if it had touched up the graphics just a smidge, and set up a broader range of things to do, I might've been persuaded to give it a nine or a ten. Expand
  21. Mar 2, 2011
    7
    The vast plains and fantastic scenery is what made this game for me. There is nothing like sitting atop a huge mountain that took you 5mins to drive up to experience the view. The sunrises and sunsets are fantastic. Racing is pretty standard and provides no real stand out moments. Some of the races are quite long and you may find yourself falling asleep at the wheel. I would say this gameThe vast plains and fantastic scenery is what made this game for me. There is nothing like sitting atop a huge mountain that took you 5mins to drive up to experience the view. The sunrises and sunsets are fantastic. Racing is pretty standard and provides no real stand out moments. Some of the races are quite long and you may find yourself falling asleep at the wheel. I would say this game will only appeal to a certain group of gamers who like exploring and experiencing such a huge driving area. Most will dismiss this game as another off-road racing game with no real appeal. But for some it's an experience that is definitely worth the look. Expand
  22. Aug 23, 2012
    3
    Incredibly dull and repetitive racing experience. Driving physics are terrible, too easy, no damage, sounds are weak and AI opponents even weaker. Only positive thing about this game is the huge world.
  23. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    update edit: Have about 80 hours in Fuel. Enjoyed it very much. Lots of different vehicles that all handle differently, and races across lots of different terrains offroad/onroad.

    original review 12-20-2011: I am so glad I downloaded this game from Steam and played it. I was interested in some things I read about the huge world, free rides in an open world, and it just sounded cool
    update edit: Have about 80 hours in Fuel. Enjoyed it very much. Lots of different vehicles that all handle differently, and races across lots of different terrains offroad/onroad.

    original review 12-20-2011: I am so glad I downloaded this game from Steam and played it. I was interested in some things I read about the huge world, free rides in an open world, and it just sounded cool to me. This has become my favorite game on steam for a while now. I can't explain why, but it keeps pulling me back. I like the races and challenges it's particularly good to help the learning curve for someone like myself who's not a hardcore gamer or hardcore racing fan, but the pacing is great and the free ride aspect in a big open world makes it fun for me just to go ride around and get better driving my different vehicles.

    I remember riding around in a thunderstorm last night and pulling up under an abandoned barn on a faraway hillside and just watching it rain and watching the thunder and lightning light up the landscape. It really is a beautiful game that gives a lot back if you like to explore.

    I've only played about 8-10 hours on steam so far, but something about the game makes me want to get better, and driving around the countryside, be it on-road, off-road, make-your-own-road approach is rewarding in-and-of itself. BTW- there a tons of races and challenges for those who are goal oriented, but if you're free-riding it's also fun to try to figure out how to jump that old building on the side of the road also.
    Expand
  24. Jun 8, 2012
    6
    Positive:
    Very huge area to explore. Graphics are impressive. Lot of cars.

    Negative:
    After while its just very boring. Multiplayer isn't available in every country. Sound effects are terrible. Area needs more details. Music is very repetitive and there are only few tracks.
  25. Jul 25, 2013
    8
    Fuel, with all its faults is an extraordinary game. Many have said it all looks the same I disagree, you need to drive and the scenery changes. The demo should have been red rocks zone, they would have sold a lot more games. Yes the AI is hokey and there is no hood or view. Sill many of the races are quite epic. The racing is very arcade, while the world is Sim. Some races are tough andFuel, with all its faults is an extraordinary game. Many have said it all looks the same I disagree, you need to drive and the scenery changes. The demo should have been red rocks zone, they would have sold a lot more games. Yes the AI is hokey and there is no hood or view. Sill many of the races are quite epic. The racing is very arcade, while the world is Sim. Some races are tough and almost have a puzzle quality to them. Some races require the right car and take the right short cuts to win. Some races are easy. There are over 70 different tracks, one review said there were few tracks, what game is he playing? The graphics on PC with a good card are very good, setup in card configuration overriding the games settings. Immediately download the mods from the internet, which corrects many car handling and AI issues, as well as gives you accesses to all cars (when you can afford them) and free fast movement to all tracks, helipads, etc. Its not completely cheating, you still have to win the races, but you see what this game has to offer quickly. I first played the xbox version and put in about 120 hrs. I opened all areas and did 90% of the races. Then I got the PC version with my new gaming pc and it is fantastic, especially with the MODs even more so. I just love driving around and have spent most my time doing that. Although racing can be quite challenging and fun. Its cheap, give it a shot I love it, and I have nearly all the other racing games too, like dirt, grid, forza, etc, etc. Oh yeah, I use a playseat and a cheap wheel. It really is different then any game out there. Expand
  26. Aug 7, 2013
    4
    As far as open world racers go, the available terrain is huge. And that's about it. The landscape may be huge, but it's insanely boring. Fortunately, you can fast-travel to different regions (and I'll leave it up to debate whether that defeats the purpose of being open world). The physics is lacking, but seeing as it's an arcade racer, that's not exactly all that damning. However, there isAs far as open world racers go, the available terrain is huge. And that's about it. The landscape may be huge, but it's insanely boring. Fortunately, you can fast-travel to different regions (and I'll leave it up to debate whether that defeats the purpose of being open world). The physics is lacking, but seeing as it's an arcade racer, that's not exactly all that damning. However, there is a complete lack of any sense of speed; you rarely have any idea how fast you're going unless it's obviously under 20 mph.
    Really, though, the biggest problem with this game is the number of races required to unlock new areas, and the computer AI. You need to perfect (three-star difficulty) about 55 races to unlock the whole world, which may not seem bad at first, but the races are repetitive and the AI seems to be more interested in wrecking you than it does winning the race. Oh, and I should also mention that the AI racers explode off the start line at speeds you literally cannot match, and then you play catch-up for the rest of the race.
    As a slight addition to my earlier review, I've been playing this game a bit more in my free time, and I have to say that the AI has really driven me to loath this game. Allow me to present a specific case: I've been working on one of the races you need to beat on the highest difficulty for an achievement, and the gimmick to this one is there is a tornado in front of you that obscures your view and occasionally drops some obstacles onto the road ahead. Now this may sound cool, but let me assure you, it is not. Imagine if you will, leading for the entire seven minute race--but suddenly, 20 feet from the finish line, the tornado drops a car literally right on top of you (you have no chance to dodge it), causing you to crash and lose the race (since this game considers anything other than first place a loss). Sound bad? Well imagine that happening four consecutive times at varying points within the race. There's something to be said for having a challenge, and then there's the game giving you the finger and wasting your time.
    Expand
  27. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Just another game that's proof of a lot of winey game now.. graphics are awesome the whole idea kicks ass and it a huge massive very big open world where you can go anywhere.. enter races of challenges and unlock sweet stuff.. boring? maybe the reviewer should actually race against other people instead free ride and then write a review
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. We had high hopes for FUEL, which promised to offer an expansive game world teaming with insane weather and even crazier racing. Ultimately, however, Asobo Studio has served up a barren wasteland filled with nothing to do, bland race events, and weather effects that are far less dynamic than Codemasters might have you believe.
  2. Even if some of the fundamental stuff has been sacrificed to the creation of this huge world, Fuel still makes it across the finish line on a far-from-empty tank. [July 2009, p.97]
  3. FUEL is a huge project but never quite fulfills its potential. The game lacks polish and style, and the overwhelmingly enormous world is too lifeless to keep you entertained. Thus, FUEL never manages to impress, making it nothing more than an average off road-racer inferior to competitors like Pure and Motorstorm.