Fuel PC

Fuel Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get fuelled up and prepare to race and explore the world's largest ever racing environment - over 5,000 square miles of spectacular wilderness. Set to revolutionise multi-terrain, multi-vehicle racing, FUEL is a fiercely competitive game without boundaries. On and off-road, two andGet fuelled up and prepare to race and explore the world's largest ever racing environment - over 5,000 square miles of spectacular wilderness. Set to revolutionise multi-terrain, multi-vehicle racing, FUEL is a fiercely competitive game without boundaries. On and off-road, two and four-wheeled vehicles race a massively diverse environment, from scaling the highest snow-capped mountain to racing the deepest arid canyon. In a fictional present, vast swathes of the United States have been ravaged by the extreme effects of accelerated global warming: tornados, brush fires, hurricanes and tsunamis have driven people from their homes leaving huge areas of America abandoned. Now these dangerous areas have created the perfect playground for a new breed of adrenaline junkies who set out to conquer each other, and Mother Nature, in closely fought races. There are over 70 different vehicles with which to take on any challenge that FUEL’s stunning environment throws at you. On-road and off-road bikes, cars, quads, trucks, buggies and dragsters take dangerous short-cuts, perform death-defying jumps and tear through spectacular cross-over points. FUEL's landscape is powered by cutting-edge technology and, using satellite data, features some of the most exciting and inspiring areas of America - including the Grand Canyon, Yosemite National Park, Mount Rainier and much more. In FUEL, if you can see it, you can drive to it, taking any route - on or off-road - that you want. With a draw distance of 40KM, 100,000 miles of roads, tracks and trails and hundreds of race events FUEL’s epic world demands to be explored. [Codmasters] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. You want Bikes, ATVs, Muscle Cars, SUVs, Buggies, Trucks…they’re all in here, along with every conceivable type of race set across thousands of miles of populated ultra-realistic topography, complete with dynamic weather. And it all looks and plays spectacularly. Unless you’re looking for an authentic hard core sim, there’s no reason you shouldn’t leave right now, and even if you are, a little FUEL might just change your mind.
  2. Edge Magazine
    80
    Even if some of the fundamental stuff has been sacrificed to the creation of this huge world, Fuel still makes it across the finish line on a far-from-empty tank. [July 2009, p.97]
  3. PC Format
    71
    Impressive as the scale and visuals are as a technical achievement, the game itself is little more than a hollow shell. [Aug 2009, p.90]
  4. 14000 square kilometers are not enough to make a good game. Fuel tries to overlap its competitors by taking a sand box approach to the genre, but it fails by offering races that are neither challenging nor thrilling set in enormous and boring open spaces.
  5. This expansive arcade racer may be ambitious, but it doesn't nail all of the basics.
  6. Ten thousand square kilometers of crushing solitude. You drive on a track poorly lit by a full moon, and you desperately long for something interesting to happen. But no, there are no surprises at all.
  7. Total PC Gaming
    40
    FUEL is a big world of promise, but sadly it can't deliver most of them. [Issue#23, p.54]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 29
  2. Negative: 9 out of 29
  1. DavidD
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    Its just the prfect game. he graphics, how to handle it... Its just perfect. I love it!!!
  2. NicolasG.
    Jul 3, 2009
    10
    This was probably the best game i have ever played. Really easy to handle. Wonderful graphics and good racing! You have to love it!
  3. GunnarZ
    Oct 1, 2009
    8
    Considering that in every racing game I ever played I strayed off the course and just enjoyed driving around in the scenery, this game seems Considering that in every racing game I ever played I strayed off the course and just enjoyed driving around in the scenery, this game seems to be taylor made for me. Like other people I was not too sure about it because of all the reviews, but I sure am glad I got it. I do see the shortcomings, especially the engine sounds are disappointing, 3 out of 4 vehicles sound like scooters. The racing is satisfactory anough, even spectacular at times (weather effects!). But what I really enjoy is the "pointless" driving around, hunting for everything that's out there, trying to reach this roof or the top of that cliff... admittedly, I'm probably weird. But I suggest you give this game a try before you give it up. (Plus, I expect there will be a patch to address at least some of the shoftcomings). Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2011
    7
    The vast plains and fantastic scenery is what made this game for me. There is nothing like sitting atop a huge mountain that took you 5mins toThe vast plains and fantastic scenery is what made this game for me. There is nothing like sitting atop a huge mountain that took you 5mins to drive up to experience the view. The sunrises and sunsets are fantastic. Racing is pretty standard and provides no real stand out moments. Some of the races are quite long and you may find yourself falling asleep at the wheel. I would say this game will only appeal to a certain group of gamers who like exploring and experiencing such a huge driving area. Most will dismiss this game as another off-road racing game with no real appeal. But for some it's an experience that is definitely worth the look. Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2012
    6
    Positive:
    Very huge area to explore. Graphics are impressive. Lot of cars.
    Negative: After while its just very boring. Multiplayer isn't
    Positive:
    Very huge area to explore. Graphics are impressive. Lot of cars.

    Negative:
    After while its just very boring. Multiplayer isn't available in every country. Sound effects are terrible. Area needs more details. Music is very repetitive and there are only few tracks.
    Expand
  6. CarlosL
    Sep 6, 2009
    4
    Rather frustrating. I played FUEL just after I finished playing GRID, also from codemasters, but seems this time their four-letter game Rather frustrating. I played FUEL just after I finished playing GRID, also from codemasters, but seems this time their four-letter game wasn't anylike like the older one. Yeah, the racing world is huge and that's a thumbs up -- if properly colored... Sometimes I found myself looking at any other thing on my room than the game screen, as the landscape NEVER EVER changes... They should have thought about flavoring some more of the places, a huge torn-out metropolis would fit, who knows? In summary, I came to play FUEL with lots of expectations a good game would cause - none of them fulfilled. Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2017
    1
    Une zone de jeu inutilement grande, des graphismes moyens, des temps de chargement innommables, une conduite qui hésite entre le réalisme etUne zone de jeu inutilement grande, des graphismes moyens, des temps de chargement innommables, une conduite qui hésite entre le réalisme et l'arcade, une interface vilaine, des musiques atroces... et ces développeurs qui se foutent de vous lorsque vous terminez 2nd : "rentre chez toi" ! (déjà que je n'aime pas être tutoyé dans un jeu...). Bref Fuel est un désastre et on lui préfèrera sans problème les Motorstorm, des jeux dignes de ce nom, pas des farces vidéoludiques ! Fuel, rentre chez toi donc. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews