Game Dev Tycoon Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 779 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Game Dev Tycoon is a business simulation game in which you replay the history of the gaming industry by starting your own video game development company in the 80s. Create best selling games. Research new technologies and invent new game types. Become the leader of the market and gainGame Dev Tycoon is a business simulation game in which you replay the history of the gaming industry by starting your own video game development company in the 80s. Create best selling games. Research new technologies and invent new game types. Become the leader of the market and gain worldwide fans. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    85
    This little game of making games is sure to leave it's mark in history with it's witty marketing campaign, which seriously kicked pirate booty. The game itself is really funny little game for a couple of nights, although after the campaign there's only little to keep you entertained. [June 2013]
  2. 80
    What is it like to start with a few thousand dollars and end up in an office full of people producing multi-million gaming hits? This game lets you find out and makes it worth your while. [Nov 2013]
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    75
    If you liked Game Dev Story, you're probably going to like this one. It's not a huge evolution from that game, but still adds it's own vision and depth to the concept.
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    70
    Far from a perfect sim, but as a commentary on the industry we follow and love, it's enough to give you pause for thought. [July 2013, p.90]
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    68
    It's hard to get attached to your creations when they're represented by numbers alone. [Dec 2013, p.73]
  6. Sep 16, 2014
    65
    Taking into account the quite low price and the almost non-existent technical requirements, Game Dev Tycoon is a good and above all original game, albeit without great pretensions.
  7. May 12, 2014
    30
    However, I don't really think Tycoon really wants to be more than ‘a glimpse' at video game production, and any attempt to comment on the industry from this dull, monotonous experience fails to hit its mark.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 289
  1. May 3, 2013
    10
    I could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on aI could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on a number of different variety of mixing. The only problem is... the algorithm can be touchy and picky once you starts combining genres and other 'devices' to a certain topic. So it makes it a bit difficult to get around, but once you get the hang of it, you might be playing it more and more. Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    It is really the best game that i have ever played!
    I bought it on Steam Autumn Sale, so, you must to buy it too, because there are no games
    It is really the best game that i have ever played!
    I bought it on Steam Autumn Sale, so, you must to buy it too, because there are no games that like this one.
    Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    I've been addicted to this game for days on end now. The formula is simple, yet the game executes it well and provides a lot of joy for theI've been addicted to this game for days on end now. The formula is simple, yet the game executes it well and provides a lot of joy for the game. You really can't go wrong with spend a few pounds this way. Recommended! Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    8
    I found this game fun and addicting. It entangles you in the creative options you get. I really felt like i was leading a team to create aI found this game fun and addicting. It entangles you in the creative options you get. I really felt like i was leading a team to create a game. Now it is some what like Game Dev Story, but i think of game creation like art. My reason to use game development and art together i ,yes, they are hard. What i am saying is you can use a saying they use for art to co-inside with Game development. Which is, The greatest complement to an artist, in this case a game developer/company, is to copy their work. It means that the artwork, or video game, is popular enough to attract people to want to copy them. Expand
  5. May 7, 2013
    8
    A very fun and challenging game, especially during the first phase when your essentially an indie game studio trying to manage both aA very fun and challenging game, especially during the first phase when your essentially an indie game studio trying to manage both a financial budget as well as a time one. Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2013
    7
    Fun little game, for the first couple playthroughs. Once you figure things out and know how to do well each time there isn't much replayFun little game, for the first couple playthroughs. Once you figure things out and know how to do well each time there isn't much replay value. It's a fun diversion, but not something you will get 30+ hours out of. Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2014
    0
    I thought this was a remake of a Game Dev Story by Kiarosoft, it's actually a completely mindless unoriginal copycat POS I have ever seen.I thought this was a remake of a Game Dev Story by Kiarosoft, it's actually a completely mindless unoriginal copycat POS I have ever seen. It's one thing to go for the same genre and subject, but another to also steal every single idea. I sincerely hope you guys paid some licensing fee otherwise I hope you get sued and go bankrupt. 0/10, uninspired, unoriginal, disappointing, meh, borderline thieving. Expand

See all 289 User Reviews