Gary Grigsby's World at War Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gary Grigsby's World At War gives you the chance to really run a world war. History is yours to write and things may turn out differently. The Western Allies may be conquered by Germany, or Japan may defeat China. With you at the controls, leading the fates of nations and alliances. Take command in this dynamic turn-based game and test strategies that long-past generals and world leaders could only dream of. Now anything is possible in this new strategic offering from Matrix Games and 2 by 3 Games. [Matrix Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 85
    The actual movement of troops is the most accessible and obviously enjoyable part of the game but the rewards of managing your supply chains and setting production priorities are absolutely undeniable.
  2. Provides a very rewarding way to relive WWII from the perspective of its top leaders.
  3. Much deeper than "Axis & Allies," but just as accessible. A new strategy addiction. [June 2005, p.70]
  4. The most comprehensive and detailed replication of the Second World War to date and we can't see anyone topping this in the foreseeable future.
  5. World at War is at once easy to play and challenging, making it a perfect game for those looking to refight World War II without getting bogged down in the details.
  6. Tragically, we lost a man. Attempting to play World at War, very sadly, he died of the most painful kind of boredom. [Nov 2005, p.100]
  7. 50
    Perhaps if Grigsby makes a sequel, it'll be smarter and more manageable. As it is now, World at War is the work of an ambitious developer whose ideas are bigger than the capabilities of his game.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. JohnP.
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    Great grand-strategic game. I read another vote on here that said there was no way to undo unit moves, ambphib assault - that is flat out wrong. Both of these are quite easy to do. In fact after about 3 hours w/ the game the GUI now seems very good to me, very quick without too much unecessary clicking. Gameplay is fast and fun - and ADDICTIVE. All countries playable across the entire world. Supply system is optional but once you are using it brings an entirely new and interesting dynamic to the game. Great great fun game!!!! --John Expand
  2. JasonB.
    Apr 28, 2005
    9
    Very good game, with alot of hidden strategic depth. Pretty easy learning curve with managable game lengths (3-5 hours for a full single player game). The AI is very good, particularly for a grand strategy game, and can play as axis or allies with equal skill. And yes, the manual explains how to do amphibious assaults and undo moves... Expand
  3. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    This is really an outstanding game for those who enjoy a turn based strategy game that is primarily military but also has economic and technological decisions that greatly impact the game. The historical accuracy achieved through random events and timing of nations into the game is also very pleasing. The game accomodates for varying levels of AI competitiveness although it is definitely below human level and needs additional resources to complete for more advanced players. I'm yet to try the multi-player which is facilitated via the matrix website. Graphics reflect the age of the game but are servicable.
    Really outstanding game overall that has the best balance of strategic, tactical and economic/technological aspects for WW2 without extreme complexity.
    Expand
  4. DanE.
    Apr 13, 2005
    8
    Great game for old school wargaming strategy buffs. Not for the clickfest crowd. Amphib assaults and undoing Moves ARE there. Not a simple game, and maybe too much detail for most. Graphics merely OK, user interface not intuative but learnable. Good strategic decision model, robust logistics, tactics abstracted as they must be at this level. Rewarding but demands some time to learn. Not perfect, but certainly deserves praise for capturing the global conflict that was WWII in a long evening. More "chrome" would have been welcome, but the basics of WWII grand strategy are here in a playable package. Expand
  5. Chimp
    May 30, 2005
    5
    If you like the board game axis and allies, get this, its pretty much the same. if you want a deep global WWII experience where almost anything is possible, get hearts of iron 1 or 2. Collapse
  6. TrentT.
    Apr 6, 2005
    2
    I picked this game up on sale and I'm glad I did. I'm a big Axis and Allies boardgame fan so this looked great on the box. However, there are many things wrong with the GUI (no way to undo a unit move, no way to conduct an amphibious assault - despite reading the instructions over and over) The units are flat and all the same across the world and the production is non-intuitive. The production tutorial doesnt even work. Unfortunately, this game is almost as bad as the recent release of Axis and Allies by Atari a couple months ago! Expand
  7. MikeN.
    Apr 9, 2005
    1
    I was expecting so much more. The game play is unintuitive and unrealistic while the graphics are amatuerish & years out of date. I was hoping this would be a simplified Hearts of Iron, but its a total waste of money. Don't buy this unless you play a demo first. I bought it because of the Gary G. legacy, but don't be fooled like I was! Expand

See all 8 User Reviews