Gigantic Army PC

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 80
    Gigantic Army is a great new entry for Astro Port's line of shooters. If there was one complaint to be had, the game does stand on the short side of the spectrum although there is a refreshing lack of filler.
  2. Feb 12, 2014
    80
    Gigantic Army is a breezy retro-style shooter that STG enthusiasts would do well to check out. The tiny doujin team at Astro Port have created something special, hearkening back to the games of yesteryear with a well-crafted dose of nostalgia.
  3. Feb 11, 2014
    80
    If you expect more bang for your buck despite its budget pricing, then you might be left feeling a little underwhelmed by this short-but-sweet adventure.
  4. CD-Action
    Jun 28, 2014
    70
    My first impression of Gigantic Army was not very good. But the longer I played, the more I enjoyed it. I realized how much I missed such games. [05/2014, p.61]
  5. Apr 25, 2014
    70
    While Gigantic Army feels like it's aiming for those who crave nostalgia, it comes with just enough material to make it stand out.
  6. Mar 4, 2014
    70
    The story and design may not be unique enough to allow the game to stand out and be a hugely memorable experience, but the gameplay itself is very satisfying and not purely a nostalgia trip.
  7. Feb 18, 2014
    50
    I understand the desire to create games which hark back to the days of arcades. However there are games out there that just do it better than Gigantic Army.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jan 1, 2015
    7
    First Impression:
    It's difficult not to compare this to Metal Warriors for SNES, but that was the experience that I was looking for when
    First Impression:
    It's difficult not to compare this to Metal Warriors for SNES, but that was the experience that I was looking for when buying this game. I feel it was a step back mechanically from SNES. Mainly the button mapping. It's great that you want a retro feel and you allow button mapping, but we've had 6 button controllers since the 90's.....you don't need to bind melee with shoot. I would also like to have a seperate hold button for my fire arc rather than holding down my shoot button to do that, forcing me to time my jumps and movements with my gun's rate of fire. This makes me feel like I have less control of my mech.
    Movement of this game is very slow. You are walking everywhere. Yes, Mechs are slow, but every game usually adds something to help out. I am not always boosting up, can't I boost forward in the air (like the SNES)? Or something like the 'skates' from Heavy gear? I have 8 more buttons on the 360 pad. That won't happen, though, because the levels are very small and faster movement would reveal that.
    These problems could actually be ignored if the story were less boring. But it's a Japanese game, and that's clear with the timer.....It's all about the score.

    Overall, it's good. $6 is a fair price. It was worth skipping a Starbucks coffee.

    + It hits the retro feel without being cheesy about it.
    + Good character design.
    + decent weapon variety (6)

    - Sloooooow movement (not sluggish)
    - Music is alright, but nothing that I will be whistling on my way to work.
    - 6 actions tied to 4 buttons.
    - One mech, no customizing
    - Single Player

    If you are looking at this game and haven't played Metal Warriors, I also suggest finding a copy of that.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2016
    8
    It's simple arcade action game. If you're a kid who grew up with modern games or a hipster gaming journalist, you won't like this game.It's simple arcade action game. If you're a kid who grew up with modern games or a hipster gaming journalist, you won't like this game.

    However, if you grew up playing games from 16 bit era, you'll enjoy Gigantic Army. This is pretty much a modern version of the old classics from the SNES, Genesis and Neo Geo. The controls are very good, the game is full of awesome bosses and the level of difficulty is decent. The doesn't have a save feature, so you're gonna have to beat in one go, just like the old days.

    And that means you're gonna die until you memorize the game and figure out the best strategies to beat. However, the game is not that hard. It took me about 2 hours to beat it on normal.

    Pretty good game.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 27, 2015
    6
    There's talent behind the graphics, but I didn't feel compelled to replay the short campaign, even though I only made it ~30% through. I feelThere's talent behind the graphics, but I didn't feel compelled to replay the short campaign, even though I only made it ~30% through. I feel like the game could be completed in an hour or even less. The gameplay is slow moving spectacle action, with a few platforms thrown in. Full Review »