Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    60
    At the end of the day, though, there are simply better games to spend one's time with than God Mode. Sure it's ten bucks, but for the same amount one could just wait for something like Left 4 Dead or Killing Floor to go on sale, and have a much more enjoyable experience.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    65
    God Mode is a likable run-of-the-mill effort that can offer a couple of enjoyable hours, but nothing more. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.64]
  3. Apr 24, 2013
    44
    The aesthetics of the game create an illusion of quality. God Mode, at its core, feels as cheap as the price tag might suggest. The one-note shooting can’t sustain the game through all five maps.
  4. May 8, 2013
    60
    God Mode is a game that’s fun for about an afternoon, if that. Because of how dull the game is, there’s no real incentive to play for long stretches of time.
  5. Apr 22, 2013
    70
    God Mode is the type of game that grows on you. The biggest complaint I have is a lack of variety, which is to be expected of a budget title. What Old School Games did include in this straightforward, arcade-centric shooter shows promise of a more fleshed-out project. There's also a hint of personality with a goofy narrator, but the execution isn't quite there.
  6. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    If you’re looking for a fun way to spend a few hours on the cheap, then God Mode is a decent investment. The gameplay is solid, and there are plenty of little extras to keep things fun and interesting—though the meager selection of maps means there’s a good chance the game will become stale after a few hours.
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    50
    God Mode tries to find some kind of Painkiller gameplay, but it can't really make it. It is to much repetitive and limited. The whole experience would deserve some refinements... like changing this damn "standing still" sensation.
  8. May 13, 2013
    45
    God Mode tries to vary, but fails to do so completely. It comes down to being a game in which you'll shoot a lot of enemies, mindlessly running towards you. Which is as exciting and original as it sounds: not at all.
  9. May 7, 2013
    71
    God Mode is great mindless entertainment, until you start paying attention and are left wanting more...
  10. Apr 26, 2013
    60
    God Mode may not be divine, but it delivers buckets of flawed fun for a few hours.
  11. Apr 26, 2013
    56
    Quotation forthcoming.
  12. 60
    God Mode may be a shallow action romp that’s got the longevity of a fruit fly, but with a decent group of allies and some proper teamwork, there’s a good bit of run & gun gaming in there while it lasts.
  13. Apr 23, 2013
    67
    If you keep in mind that this is a budget release when setting expectations of how many maps, guns, and customization options it should contain, there’s plenty of fast-paced action to be had gunning all the way through Hades – one weeping classicist at a time.
  14. Apr 26, 2013
    70
    God Mode is a simple, fun third person shooter for up to four players via co-op. Shooting zombies, skeletons and ghosts is nice as it should be, but after a few hours the game becomes a little boring.
  15. Jun 10, 2013
    46
    God Mode feels like a free-to-play game that somehow got released without a trace of microtransactions. If you want to kill tons of monsters in co-op, better get Serious Sam 3: BFE.
  16. Apr 26, 2013
    65
    If you can convince your buddies to join in, there is a lot of fun to be had. If solo is the name of your game, you might want to wait for a sub $5 sale.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 48
  2. Negative: 8 out of 48
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    For the price there really is no complaining. It plays a bit like a 3rd person serious sam in that there's a lot of backpedaling if you want to survive.
    I recommend you play it for at very least an hour on the lowest difficulty with not modifiers, as it's extremely tricky to beat any level without any kind of upgrades. After you've settled in a bit it really starts to shine, and I'm hooked.
    The Tests of Faith (randomly selected game modifier: think Unreal Tournament mutators) keep the gameplay very interesting, and since they're random, it makes each playthrough of the same map quite different. As your character levels up, you can venture into the silver and gold difficulties, which provide you with even more tests of faith.
    Being such a low priced game, you'd expect a few issues. Among them are slightly intrusive animations (ie melee attacks stop your character dead and take just a little bit too long. Same goes for Getting up), and the occasional bug with weapons (reloaded a 6 round revolver once to hear the sound for a shotgun reload and 8 bullets in the cylinder).

    So bottom line: this game is everything the devs describe it as. It's slightly polished, but if you expect a technical AAA masterpiece for £7 then you're just being ridiculous. This game mainly shines not because of its polish, but because of its creative mechanics, gameplay, and surprisingly effective progression system.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 19, 2013
    1
    For $8.99 you get what you pay for. Game feels clunky and cheap. This might be because i've been playing Warframe which is super smooth and pretty in comparison. Enemy tactics also feel cheap and leave you with a feeling that no matter what you did, you would not have passed the level. This may be due to a lack of an effective dodge or the painfully slow recovery time after getting knocked down which allows for perma-stuns by the enemy. This leaves you with a feeling of grinding to get better guns and weapons as i don't think i'll be able to complete a whole level with the starting guns.

    Weapon upgrades feel completely ineffective with no noticable difference in accuracy or damage to guns. Clip size upgrade does give you more bullets per clip though. It's quite buggy too. I've crashed a few times at random and there is no option to reconnect to a party that you were in. This leaves you without rewards or experience from the level. Very frustrating.

    Always on mics and reverb are an issue as there is not an option to mute people. Gold, pickups and kills (experience?) are not shared which for a co-op game does not encourage team play. A number of times i desperately needed a health or armour pickup to have a team-mate snatch it first. Deaths are also shared.

    Overall this game has potential but in it's current state it frustrates me far too much for me to continue playing.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    This game is a whole lot of fun if you got a few pals to gang up with. I was skeptical when I bought it, but after the first round, I was hooked... And that's saying a lot since I'm not usually the shooter kind of gal. I don't think you could spend your $10 better anywhere else! Full Review »