Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    82
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Feb 10, 2012
    80
    Crazy and wild, Gotham City Impostors is a great multiplayer action game with great personality, a very good sense of humor, endless customization options and a very direct and intense gameplay that has enchanted us.
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    75
    Gotham City Impostors is frantic fun for shooter fans who want something a little different.
  4. May 10, 2012
    70
    A lot of Modern Warfare, a bit of Bioshock 2 and a pinch of Team Fortress 2. It's a pity that Impostors does not share Battlefield Heroes' business model – free download and microtransactions. [June 2012, p.65]
  5. Mar 21, 2012
    70
    Egregious DRM and poor matchmaking mar a surprisingly fun and accessible multiplayer shooter. [May 2012, p.80]
  6. Mar 13, 2012
    70
    Normally Free 2 Play games don't force you to buy the game first. Awful matchmaking, without dedicated servers GCI will sink without a trace. Or players. [March 2012]
  7. Feb 27, 2012
    70
    While Impostors is a blast to play for a good several hours at least, it lacks those few rudimentary building blocks that gives PC games the types of communities that last for years. It's unfortunate, too, because this game deserves better.
  8. Feb 10, 2012
    70
    A functional shooter with a sense of humor and a Batman license. It's got plenty to unlock, but it's not all that deep. Go, shoot, win. Over and over. If you're looking for a first-person shooter that doesn't take itself seriously, have at it, but don't expect a FPS revolution.
  9. Apr 28, 2012
    60
    Gotham City Imposters is nothing more than a simple first person shooter, that mainly has an interesting levelsystem and a large number of weapons, gear and special items to unlock. The absurd style that mocks the Batman-universe is entertaining, but doesn't make the average gameplay more interesting.
  10. Apr 12, 2012
    60
    We found matches to be a little hectic, with very little teamwork going on. [May 2012, p.75]
  11. Feb 9, 2012
    60
    Gotham City Impostors offers a minimum of substantive content - maps, in particular - and a maximum of unlockables that put unrealistic demands for grinding next to a 'buy now' button. It is possible, apparently, to reach character level 1000 in this. I cannot imagine it. The gadget-enabled shooter at the heart of Gotham City Impostors is fun, smart, and hard to dislike. But it's impossible to recommend.
  12. Mar 31, 2012
    51
    Poor selection of gameplay modes is not the worst offense of Gotham City Impostors; its numerous technical flaws are the real culprit.
  13. Feb 9, 2012
    40
    Gotham City Impostors isn't a free-to-play shooter, but it sure feels like one. Even as a $15 purchase, it's a game that's as eager to get you into its cash shop as its paltry five maps, with one of the slowest character customization systems ever to be unlocked by DLC, and matchmaking so poor that getting into a full 6v6 game actually feels like an achievement.
  14. Mar 21, 2012
    30
    When I was able to get connected, I would often stay connected for three or four matches before something would slip and I'd have to restart the matchmaking process.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 61
  2. Negative: 12 out of 61
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    6
    The short version is: "Ask yourself if you like Call of Duty" if so, then you will like this game. The game feels a LOT more like a mod forThe short version is: "Ask yourself if you like Call of Duty" if so, then you will like this game. The game feels a LOT more like a mod for Call of Duty than anything like team fortress. Youtube "Gotham City Impostors Beta - Gameplay 1 - Fumigation on Crime Alley" for a more accurate feel for the gameplay, the promotional vids make it look more crazy than it is. I really wanted to like it and even playing the challenges I can see huge potential, but in multiplayer it just feels like call of duty with a few movement mods. I think the main problem is the machine guns & gunsights, they just dont seem to -fit- with the fun goofy atmosphere and make the game feel serious. ****Some Minor issues relating to it being a console port. Matchmaking & game menus are not good enough for a PC game, but once you have set your keys and get into a game, it's fine. Team balance is a little odd too (one team can outnumber the other 3 to 1 and you can't swap teams to balance it). [Note: It's still very early, maybe things will change] Full Review »
  2. Feb 11, 2012
    5
    Ok. I set up a metacritic account just to share my impressions about this game on Steam, because I read all kinds of reviews, but none ofOk. I set up a metacritic account just to share my impressions about this game on Steam, because I read all kinds of reviews, but none of them mentions the flaws that I ran into. So here we go. I don't think at this point I would recommend someone getting this game on Steam. I am going to start off with the negative, because I wish someone would have told me the negative, and then the positive. First of all the PC matchmaking is BAD! It takes about 10 to 15 minutes to find a match. I found one match within 2 minutes, but then it was back to waiting 10 to 15 minutes between matches. Also it is a Window live Game. So if you don't have a Windows Live Account you will have to sign up... Like I did... Which took some time. My biggest complaint of the game is that there is NO gamepad support. This is a huge let down for me as I don't enjoy keyboard mouse, as much as gamepad. I have also read that they don't plan to support gamepad controls? Thats right... I don't know why, but get used to keyboard... On a positive note, the game itself is good. I enjoyed the matches that I was able to join. I can't say that I was any good...because I am not good with a keyboard mouse combo, but it was still fun. The controls felt very smooth, and the leveling system seems to be very compelling. It was very easy to pick up and play, and enjoy. In short... If they fixed the matchmaking, and added gamepad support, i would give this game a 8.5 compared to a 5. Full Review »
  3. Feb 9, 2012
    0
    The game sucks, I am giving it a 0 since that is what the experience will be like after the new factor of this game wears off. It is aThe game sucks, I am giving it a 0 since that is what the experience will be like after the new factor of this game wears off. It is a shameless attempt to cash in on the recent success of Batman games, and the $200+ worth of day one DLC is proof of the fact that the developers were more concerned with making a quick buck than they were with actually making a good game. The Graphics are extremely poor for todays standards, and the gameplay leaves much to be desired. The fact that the matchmaking is somewhat broken only adds to how terrible and genuinely boring the game is to play. I would avoid this unless you enjoy bad games. There isn't any single player content, so once the online community dies out, you won't even be able to play the thing. Full Review »