Grand Theft Auto IV PC

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2258 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2013
    0
    Is Grand Theft Auto IV a good game? Yes, absolutely, I have not one bad thing to say about it. Is it a good PC port? Absolutely not, in fact I would call it number one for worst PC port of all time. Rockstar clearly spent most of their time jerking off instead of creating a perfect port of one of the best games of its time. Everything is buggy, and I am running a VERY high-end system, andIs Grand Theft Auto IV a good game? Yes, absolutely, I have not one bad thing to say about it. Is it a good PC port? Absolutely not, in fact I would call it number one for worst PC port of all time. Rockstar clearly spent most of their time jerking off instead of creating a perfect port of one of the best games of its time. Everything is buggy, and I am running a VERY high-end system, and can just barely max the game on highest resolution. There should be NO reason that a guy running a GTX 760 with 2GB of GDDR5 shouldn't be able to handle this game no sweat. I cannot believe Rockstar would screw its fans and players over like this, and the fact that the game has such high praise from critics, they should all be ashamed for letting this slip through the cracks. As a second complaint, being a guy who has Windows 8, the DRM best known as Suckurom crashes when I even attempt to start the game, a bigger kick in the head when I can completely circumvent it after pirating the game so I could actually play it (thanks a ton, you pricks.) If GTA V ever gets ported to PC I hope Rockstar at least learns from a few of their mistakes. Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2012
    1
    decent console game but what the **** its kind of insulting that they would release a game that performs this poorly, i have a very capable system i7, AMD HD 7770 graphics card, 12 gb's of ram, i can get it to run somewhat smoothly but using only 700 Mb of Vram, i feel completely cheated.
  3. MagnusJ
    Jan 14, 2009
    1
    horrible horrible horrible (x20) port. My computer meets the recommended requirements, yet when i finally got to play the game (used 2 days to get around different crashbugs) the fps were so low even though i had set the graphics to the lowest (it was first at my 5th try to change them that the game didn't crash here). Seriously i feel cheated like whore who never get paid, for payinghorrible horrible horrible (x20) port. My computer meets the recommended requirements, yet when i finally got to play the game (used 2 days to get around different crashbugs) the fps were so low even though i had set the graphics to the lowest (it was first at my 5th try to change them that the game didn't crash here). Seriously i feel cheated like whore who never get paid, for paying for this garbage game. tottally useless Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2011
    3
    It beats me how this game received a metascore of 90. It seems to have potential, I'll give it that, but the abysmal controls, bad dialog, and boring starter missions made me drop it after 2 hours. I might have been a bit annoyed with it to start with, because their lame attempt to market that windows gaming platform with the saving mechanism and random crashes.
    Sad thing is, they emulate
    It beats me how this game received a metascore of 90. It seems to have potential, I'll give it that, but the abysmal controls, bad dialog, and boring starter missions made me drop it after 2 hours. I might have been a bit annoyed with it to start with, because their lame attempt to market that windows gaming platform with the saving mechanism and random crashes.
    Sad thing is, they emulate the cars physics pretty well, which unfortunately is completely pointless with digital 0/1 controls. Again, there seems to be potential, but for me it had way too many flaws to get that far.
    P.S.: Hardware requirements are a bit ridiculous considering the release date and the eye candy you get for it, but for a modern (2011) gaming rig it's very playable.
    Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2012
    2
    Nicely done but becomes a little repetitive after a while. There should be more around the story, or more interesting missions than just go and shoot a bunch of people to steal something. Yet, it's addictive and characters are quite developed with clear cut personalities (Little Jacob is AWESOME!).
    However, after playing for 60 hours, I'm struggling real bad with some missions, after
    Nicely done but becomes a little repetitive after a while. There should be more around the story, or more interesting missions than just go and shoot a bunch of people to steal something. Yet, it's addictive and characters are quite developed with clear cut personalities (Little Jacob is AWESOME!).
    However, after playing for 60 hours, I'm struggling real bad with some missions, after retrying them for like 20 times. No way to skip them, no help, it SUCKS! I'm so fed up to redo the same things again and again and have Nicko not respond to what I ask him to do, ending up dying in the most retarded ways ever. I give up. It ruined my game experience so bad that I now hate the game. Well done Rockstar for not putting any save-points for the long missions and force the player to do the same things during 30 minutes every time, again and again, for nothing.
    Expand
  6. montu89cmontu89c
    Jul 19, 2009
    4
    I have been waiting to install this.Believe me! Its a crap.I dont care what others say.Car Control is awful.I dont know why they dint give an option to turn off steering with mouse.Bloody thing. I wonder why this game uses much resources.I admit the physics is unimaginable and excellent.I experienced this myself.Why do they add much small details?so that it resembles the living?But this I have been waiting to install this.Believe me! Its a crap.I dont care what others say.Car Control is awful.I dont know why they dint give an option to turn off steering with mouse.Bloody thing. I wonder why this game uses much resources.I admit the physics is unimaginable and excellent.I experienced this myself.Why do they add much small details?so that it resembles the living?But this is pain in the butt.It has an excellent graphics.But at what cost?Completely buying a new PC? Expand
  7. alskib
    Jan 10, 2010
    2
    What a shame! I have a i7 oc to 4.4ghz and a gtx295 oc by 24% and the game graphics glitchy, the only game I have that does this. Even if I reduce the oc's or remove them altogether its still the same but worse. Nice idea, controls are poor and very clunky. Its as if you were a puppet master controlling strings that actually control the controls....if that makes sense, as if you are What a shame! I have a i7 oc to 4.4ghz and a gtx295 oc by 24% and the game graphics glitchy, the only game I have that does this. Even if I reduce the oc's or remove them altogether its still the same but worse. Nice idea, controls are poor and very clunky. Its as if you were a puppet master controlling strings that actually control the controls....if that makes sense, as if you are far removed. Not so bad when you're walking but fighting is a joke and driving is unrealistic. Completed 4 missions then deleted it, waste of £5. Expand
  8. Nov 13, 2011
    4
    Gameplay, storyline, and multiplay is incredible. Graphics...well I suppose they COULD be good, but this game was coded SO poorly, it's impossible to tell. With a computer that surpasses the minimum requirements 10-fold, I was still forced to put all of the graphics settings on LOW in order to play with minimal lag. Keep in mind, there was STILL lag, and the low settings made graphics lookGameplay, storyline, and multiplay is incredible. Graphics...well I suppose they COULD be good, but this game was coded SO poorly, it's impossible to tell. With a computer that surpasses the minimum requirements 10-fold, I was still forced to put all of the graphics settings on LOW in order to play with minimal lag. Keep in mind, there was STILL lag, and the low settings made graphics look like utter sh*t. Had Rockstar put more effort in perfecting the coding, this game would have been amazing. Looks to me like another rushed out pile of ... Expand
  9. Nov 7, 2012
    4
    My initial opinion of the game was high but I soon began to see it's flaws. First the campaign is pretty good but drags on too long, and go here and kill this type missions get repetitive. The game also holds your hand for too long, with tedious tutorial missions. The main character Niko Bellic is a really cool character, almost too cool to the point where he feels manufactured and not aMy initial opinion of the game was high but I soon began to see it's flaws. First the campaign is pretty good but drags on too long, and go here and kill this type missions get repetitive. The game also holds your hand for too long, with tedious tutorial missions. The main character Niko Bellic is a really cool character, almost too cool to the point where he feels manufactured and not a believable character. The buddy system where friends call you up wanting to do activities is incredibly annoying and unnecessary also they punish you for not doing stupid things with your "friends." Onto technical issues, oh where to begin, the frame rate dips often, texture pop-in and blurry textures are everywhere. The controls are pitiful they are so unresponsive and unnecessary, it's incredibly frustrating. So in my opinion buy the game just not for PC. Expand
  10. ThomasJ
    Mar 10, 2009
    4
    Why a 4? I tell you they said in most reveiw That you need a good computer to run well. I dont agree. Since a pc 2.40mhz 4GB ram and 1GB grafic does not help the issues the game has. Small graphic glicthes. They said. Major Graphic problem I say. I say I have seldom got so annoyed when I playd a game. In apartment after save I always have to tab out and in the game again since the screen Why a 4? I tell you they said in most reveiw That you need a good computer to run well. I dont agree. Since a pc 2.40mhz 4GB ram and 1GB grafic does not help the issues the game has. Small graphic glicthes. They said. Major Graphic problem I say. I say I have seldom got so annoyed when I playd a game. In apartment after save I always have to tab out and in the game again since the screen goes all blur. Same in Internet cafe, some times under the bridges and I think it is the wheater motor in the game, its when its raining and sunset time. And the game lag if I have more then 1600-1200 and max out on the rest. And the fact no patch for dual graphic cards its s big time. And the game play. Sorry I'm not in to have to play some one that cant even speak proper English I'm a Swede but playing a Bos-Serb does not make me goo Who! And have to look like potato nose guy. Give me a plastic surgen in the game, and not have the good stuff to look forward in the old games like buying property. What is this? Its not GTA. Expand
  11. Feb 15, 2011
    1
    I held off for a long time before buying this game. I must say that after 2 years of waiting. I wish I would not have bothered buying GTA 4. First off It took 2 days just to get Microshaft live to work properly just so I could save. I cant even use my Philips gamepad, because MS basically paid R* to monopolize on full support for xbox controller for pc ONLY. I am almost done with the gameI held off for a long time before buying this game. I must say that after 2 years of waiting. I wish I would not have bothered buying GTA 4. First off It took 2 days just to get Microshaft live to work properly just so I could save. I cant even use my Philips gamepad, because MS basically paid R* to monopolize on full support for xbox controller for pc ONLY. I am almost done with the game (mission 85), and I am flat out bored of the same thing over and over again. All missions are the same. If this is the direction R* is taking GTA then count me out for future releases. On a score of 1 - 10 I give it a 1.5, and that is being fair. It seems R* now has a trademark. Every GTA game I have played I would find this http://www.drxdesigns.com/screenshots/rstrademark.jpg I am a freelance 3d graphic artist, so it is easy for me to find these faults. VC, SA both had texture stretching. Of course all this is just my opinion, just the same as everyone else, and I am entitled to that! R* use to be my favorite game company, now very bottom of the list. 2 Thumbs down to GTA 4, and Rockstar. Expand
  12. Em_JW
    Jan 20, 2009
    2
    I was tempted to go on an angry rant, but I want to be objective and fair here. Overall, there will be one thing I will *never* forget and always associate with this game. It has one supercritical flaw: -It runs like sh*t- I'm not exaggerating one bit. Ive been building and repairing pc hardware for over 10 years now, and have always been an avid gamer. I play many brand new titles I was tempted to go on an angry rant, but I want to be objective and fair here. Overall, there will be one thing I will *never* forget and always associate with this game. It has one supercritical flaw: -It runs like sh*t- I'm not exaggerating one bit. Ive been building and repairing pc hardware for over 10 years now, and have always been an avid gamer. I play many brand new titles and have few problems, often able to play 1900x1200 with every option enabled including antialiasing and plenty of texture post-processing on other new titles such as All source games (including L4D, TF2 etc.), Fallout3, Mirror's Edge and the list goes on... Obviously this is not because my hardware is not up to task. This is one of the worst pieces of software I've ever encountered. The game is very, very, VERY poorly programed. To boot, GTA IV doesn't even look good. The graphics look very dated in comparison with titles released recently. It crashes... alot. This program has managed to generate more faults and errors than any other application I have ever installed. I'd even go so far as to say known malware runs more stably. I wish I was exaggerating, but this is the sad, sad truth that is GTA IV for PC. I attempted for days to improve the performance and stability of this program using every workaround and trick I know of including: 1) trying over a dozen different combinations of drivers 2) both versions of the game 3) manually editing nearly every configuration in the program directory 4) multiple OS's (vista and XP pro) 5) multiple bios and firmware combinations 6) alteration of my OS (killing services, disabling/enabling access, security, automatic memory remapping apps, cache utilities) 7) I even cleared out enough room on my scsi 15k rpm HDD... No effect on performance. (Oh let me add that the install directory is rediculous. 15 gigs!? of *what* may I ask?) 8)multiple brand new graphics cards including an ATI 4850 overclock addition (asus) and XFX nvidia geforce 9800. Did any of this work, at all? Actually, somewhat. But the performance is unbelievably bad even when I take the best results from all of the above. Given the Xbox 360's hardware, (http://hardware.teamxbox.com/articles/xbox/1144/The-Xbox-360-System-Specifications/p1 if you're curious) most modern PC gaming rigs shouldn't break a sweat running this software. However, my problems with this awfully coded mess are not isolated, but rather the typical experience. Ludicrous. How did rockstar miss these problems? Greater than 50% of users are having awful issues, how many different pcs did they playtest this on? One? None? Grand Theft is an apt title. I feel no better than grifted, swindled and conned for purchasing this garbage. The programmers should be truly ashamed. Rockstar has also made no attempt to repair their broken software nor have they even *acknowledged* that these severe issues exist to this degree. The finale of this ridiculum is that once I was able to stabilize the software to the point that I could play through an appreciable portion of the game, it was really pretty average. The gameplay is alright... Pretty similar to san-andreas, with the notable exception that the animations are vastly superior. You are able to traverse objects a little better, and the cover system does add some substance to combat. I'd give the gameplay a 7/10, its decent, but still sort of the same old thing. Vehicle mechanics are really very good, with notable attention to realistic traction, but the general physics still have a very toy like, very poor quality. They really didn't think outside the box too much, alot of the mission content is completely rehashed from the original GTA III engine titles. The plot is actually pretty good, and the voice actors seem to be above average. Its pretty entertaining plot wise. Nearly all of the new content additions are terrible though. The cellphone is an abomination. People bother you on your cellphone too much. I hate this in reality, let alone in a leisure activity. I don't want people calling me all the time and being obligated to do what they ask me. I can only play the stupid ingame pool once or twice before it becomes extremely tiresome. To make it worse, you're punished for not doing this by losing reputation. Dating a computer character? Give me a break, this doen't even resemble fun. A virtual internet complete with virtual spam? What the hell did they bother spending time on this for? Does anyone actually appreciate this? Its really *not* clever, I wish they would have spent this time play testing this garbled up mess of code. -Bottom Line- This software is almost completely broken, and riddled with issues. It barely works. To quote the great philosopher James Rolf (AVGN), "What a sh*tload of f*ck" It comes packaged with all this bloatware that makes irritated as well. I don't use 'windows live' for anything, and its nothing but a marketing ploy with no substance. 'Rockstar Social Club' is equally useless or worse, as I suspect these applications present very serious security flaws. They run scripts and leave open ports, and I feel there is a high likelyhood that these applications will be exploited as entry points. Its really just the insult added to injury. Expand
  13. Dec 19, 2010
    6
    Great game but my computer is pretty close to top of the line and has problems with this. I know how to configure it to work optimally but really this game must have some poor programming. Kind of sad as it could have been much better.
  14. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    First, I'd like to point out you need a good PC to run this game well. Please, do not attempt to run this on your GeForce 5200FX and then complain about how the game crashes. Most minor issues with this PC game can be easily fixed; just search on Google and I assure you 95% of the time you'll find a fix. Also, make sure you have the most up-to-date version of the game, as Rockstar hasFirst, I'd like to point out you need a good PC to run this game well. Please, do not attempt to run this on your GeForce 5200FX and then complain about how the game crashes. Most minor issues with this PC game can be easily fixed; just search on Google and I assure you 95% of the time you'll find a fix. Also, make sure you have the most up-to-date version of the game, as Rockstar has fixed plenty of bugs and glitches with their latest 1.0.7.0 patch. It's better to light a candle than to curse the darkness.

    As for the game itself, it's incredible. Best storyline in the GTA series, gorgeous graphics, very likeable and memorable characters, great gameplay, fun multiplayer modes, and an incredibly well-desinged city. Not to mention, the PC version of Grand Theft Auto IV has some exclusive features which the consoles do not have. Such as the in-game video editor, which is amazing. It allows to take clips you've captured during gameplay and edit them. You can create a simple stunt video or an incredible machinima with it. It's a wonderful tool. Overall, I think quite a few people fail to realize just how 'big' Grand Theft Auto IV really is. I mean, there's literally thousands of recorded dialogue clips in this game just for the pedestrians. There's a ton of hilarious and well written radio station, TV, and in-game internet content. Hundreds of unique character models, props, animations, and vehicles. So, if you do have a good PC I think you should definitely give this game a try.
    Expand
  15. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    good game, even on pc i still find it very enjoyable compared to console, the only problem i have is with crossfire support, the game wont allow you to use dual graphics cards and thus making me change it back to use of one graphics card everytime i want to play it.
  16. Nov 20, 2012
    4
    This game was a disappointment to me. I really enjoyed GTA III and GTA:San Andreas, but just couldn't get into this one. The characters weren't as interesting to me, and the missions where just not as fun as some of the earlier GTA games. Hopefully the next installment of GTA improves upon this.
  17. Sep 25, 2010
    3
    Absolutely not worth it. The download took a very long time, and unless your PC is running well above the minimum specs (which are already pretty high, and easily knocks out any non-gaming built PCs), then this game will lag terribly with severe glitching and control issues (and yes, I am talking about rock-bottom bare-minimum visual and audio effects). Sadly, I was unable to get pastAbsolutely not worth it. The download took a very long time, and unless your PC is running well above the minimum specs (which are already pretty high, and easily knocks out any non-gaming built PCs), then this game will lag terribly with severe glitching and control issues (and yes, I am talking about rock-bottom bare-minimum visual and audio effects). Sadly, I was unable to get past the 4th cutscene before my computer gave in on me. Expand
  18. JoseF
    Jan 3, 2009
    0
    I usually find it unfair for a game to receive "0" because it rarely deserves such a rating but for this game, I'll gladly make an exception. Why? Because of the way Rockstar have been treating us PC gamers from day 1. First of all, they kept us hanging, hoping we'd buy the console version first which I did. When they thought most people had already bought it, they announced the I usually find it unfair for a game to receive "0" because it rarely deserves such a rating but for this game, I'll gladly make an exception. Why? Because of the way Rockstar have been treating us PC gamers from day 1. First of all, they kept us hanging, hoping we'd buy the console version first which I did. When they thought most people had already bought it, they announced the PC version, knowing that die hard PC gamers would want the PC version next to the console version. A dirty move if ever I saw one. But now that it's finally here, it's even WORSE than the horrible launch of GTA3 which was bugged and failed to run on many PCs as well. Have they learned NOTHING? No, they have learned something: they have learned that crappy, buggy, crash-prone ports sell regardless of their problems. And GTAIV is the pinacle of crappy ports. Horrible performance on top end systems, instability, many people being unable to load the game, graphical errors, tons and tons of bugs, etc. etc. This is UNACCEPTABLE. I don't give a damn about the game behind this when the attitude of Rockstar is so smug, so arrogant, as to admit spending $200k on copy protection instead of getting the thing beta tested! Not that you'll give a damn after having paid off all those reviewers to give you high scores. Expand
  19. CableGuyS
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    One of the best games of the year, if you can't install it on your computer somthing is seriousy failing on it. I hvae a 3Ghz Duo Core, 8600GT, 3GB of RAM, and it works PERFECTLY fine. So to all the people that give this game a bad score, stop having a winge because you can't even install it on your fail-computer, and stop saying the c ritics were 'paid' to give it aOne of the best games of the year, if you can't install it on your computer somthing is seriousy failing on it. I hvae a 3Ghz Duo Core, 8600GT, 3GB of RAM, and it works PERFECTLY fine. So to all the people that give this game a bad score, stop having a winge because you can't even install it on your fail-computer, and stop saying the c ritics were 'paid' to give it a good review, they obviously know how to build a computer properly. Expand
  20. MarkG
    Jan 1, 2010
    2
    Worst PC port ever made. The game runs horrible on my high end desktop. Its unbelievable that a huge company like rockstar could produce something like this.
  21. May 13, 2012
    10
    Best video game franchise in history. I cannot name any flaw, complaint, and frustration like in some of my other reviews. I just hope GTA V will be out this year.
  22. Mr.Toad
    Jan 13, 2010
    3
    I'm not a very technical person, but my computer IS above average and yet it still ran into many issues. Liberty City is undeniably beautiful, you can't find a more realistic city in any video game. The story is also a good strong point, for while in a lot of the other games I found a few plot holes and other events that don't make sense, I couldn't find any of that in I'm not a very technical person, but my computer IS above average and yet it still ran into many issues. Liberty City is undeniably beautiful, you can't find a more realistic city in any video game. The story is also a good strong point, for while in a lot of the other games I found a few plot holes and other events that don't make sense, I couldn't find any of that in GTA 4. However, Rockstar failed at the very core, the gameplay. This *isn't* a fun game, but more worringly still is that you are denied most of the freedom a sandbox game is supposed to give. For instance, you are denied about 3/4 of the whole map until you completed a certain amount of missions, and that certain amount is a LOT(and even then, you still have a third denied until you do some more). It also seems that no matter how long you wait the weapon stores never sell any new guns. But the greatest flaw is that GTA is *too* realistic. The average gamer doesn't want something completely realistic, he plays games because he wants to escape reality for a while. On one mission for instance, you need to approach a target by a job interview. To do so, you need to send a job application by email, get an answer by phone, receive a time for the interview, and be there on time. It's completely unnecessary and many other aspects of the game (such as the social interactions) are a chore. In the end, after my game crashed oh-so-many times while I was trying to finish a very exciting mission, I said to myself "do I really care about what happens next?" As soon as I thought "No", I disinstalled it immediately and now its new job consists of being a dust accumulator. Expand
  23. MarcSigglekow
    Feb 10, 2009
    9
    I like the game the gameplay is realy nice and it makes lot of fun Its a nice map , nice and dinamic story / world and the multiplayer is fuckng nice too
    I know there are lot ofs proplem with instaling the gam and and and.... but thats has nothing to do with the gameplay so 9 points - and I didnt had any proplems with the installing and I didnt get One error message
  24. IanJ.
    Dec 4, 2008
    3
    What Cool-Aid are all of these reviewers drinking? Did they have to fuddle with the install like everyone else? People who meet the recommended system requirements subjected to watching Niko do the herky-jerk all over Liberty City. The game in this state eats my CPU for breakfast and all it can display is a stuttering slideshow. Do you want to play online? Well then you have to install What Cool-Aid are all of these reviewers drinking? Did they have to fuddle with the install like everyone else? People who meet the recommended system requirements subjected to watching Niko do the herky-jerk all over Liberty City. The game in this state eats my CPU for breakfast and all it can display is a stuttering slideshow. Do you want to play online? Well then you have to install the R* social app and Games for Windows Live if you intend on doing so. More process going on in the background are always a plus! I would rather wait longer to have a playable game over just shipping in out the door and fixing it later because of the holiday season frenzy. The game will be fine, come six months and a couple of patches later. Expand
  25. apox
    Feb 10, 2009
    8
    I feel I have to defend against some of the negative views here - I'll try to present a more balanced review. In short, GTAIV, if you get it running, is a fantastic game, and I would rate it 9/10+ if it were not for the technical issues. The city is amazing, the cars handle brilliantly, the story is interesting, the characters are entertaining and the humorous dialogue regularly has I feel I have to defend against some of the negative views here - I'll try to present a more balanced review. In short, GTAIV, if you get it running, is a fantastic game, and I would rate it 9/10+ if it were not for the technical issues. The city is amazing, the cars handle brilliantly, the story is interesting, the characters are entertaining and the humorous dialogue regularly has me laughing out loud. There are bugs, but nothing close to game breaking for me. The bad: Fortunately I upgraded not long after getting this, but my old PC (1.86GHz Core 2) would not run it in any playable way. My new comp (3GHz core 2, HD 4870) runs it at 1680x1050 without any problems. So basically, unless you are well above the min specs, or are planning to upgrade, it's probably not worth getting just now. To me the worst thing is having to sign in to windows live (horrible system, doesn't always connect - and why should i have to always be onl) and rockstar social club to play. It is a rubbish system and I hope sales are hurt by it and rockstar seriously revamp things for their next release. So there you are, I'm sure it could have been many times better than it is had more time/resources been spent on the port than on the copy protection, but if you can get it running, it's a great game. Expand
  26. JasonL.
    Dec 3, 2009
    4
    GTA IV on the PC could have had the potential to be an amazing game, but there are a slew of problems that prevent it from reaching classic status. I'll only bother to list my biggest gripe about this game: the controls, whether you're playing with a keyboard or gamepad, are easily the most poorly implemented I've ever seen in a computer game. Unresponsive and needlessly GTA IV on the PC could have had the potential to be an amazing game, but there are a slew of problems that prevent it from reaching classic status. I'll only bother to list my biggest gripe about this game: the controls, whether you're playing with a keyboard or gamepad, are easily the most poorly implemented I've ever seen in a computer game. Unresponsive and needlessly complex, they are an invitation to a migraine headache every time I try to play. Want to explore Liberty City? Good luck with that if you're using a gamepad. The camera scheme (auto-follow) prohibits you from viewing the surroundings by instantly snapping back to the default position unless your character or vehicle is standing still. And you can't change any of the camera options or buttons if you're playing on an XBox controller. WTF were RockStar thinking? Follow my advice and purchase Saint's Row 2 instead. Even with its faults, at least that game is playable. Expand
  27. Aug 20, 2010
    3
    this game is simply a piece of **** but it's not just regular **** it's that kind of **** that sticks in your toilet and remains there after flushing it 2000 times! it's by far the worst PC port of a console game i've ever seen.
    after trying the game on 4 different high-end computer, i still haven't been able to finish the first mission, because rockstar's "advanced" (i've put those
    this game is simply a piece of **** but it's not just regular **** it's that kind of **** that sticks in your toilet and remains there after flushing it 2000 times! it's by far the worst PC port of a console game i've ever seen.
    after trying the game on 4 different high-end computer, i still haven't been able to finish the first mission, because rockstar's "advanced" (i've put those quotation marks on purpuse) game engine is simply the worst looking, most buggy next-gen game engine. horrible textures, missing 3d models, object that pop out when you crash on them with your car, massive memory leaks, and so on. after playing it on my friend's xbox 360 i have to say that the story is the only thing that saves this game from being one of the worst games ever. it's actually a good game from that point of view. but please god tell me, why can i run 4 instances of unreal tournament 3 or crysis on ultra-high specs getting really good performance, but when i run gta4, i NEVER get more than 35 fps, with an averege of **** 20! that's UNPLAYABLE! and what i just don't understand, is why the **** do buildings, trees, and even STREETS pop out of nowhere when i move the camera? WHY??? THE GRAPHICS ARE SO ****TY IT SHULD RUN AT 200 FPS!!!
    and what can i say about the sound effects? try shooting a gun in real life, and tell me if the sound it makes is the same as the one you hear in this crap of a game? i doubt. and what about radio stations? these radios take gigabytes of space on my **** hard drive, and most of the songs suck ass! HOLY **** where the **** was the quality control team when they tried the PC version of gta4? where they takin a **** or did the programmers put some drugs in their coffee, so they couldn't see all the **** on the screen?
    what pisses me off even more is that some IDIOTS who reviewed this game gave it a 10/10! DID ROCKSTAR PAY YOU FOR NOT TRYING THE GAME??? OR WERE YOU JUST DRUNK AS **** WHILE REVIEWING IT?
    in conclusion, after wasting 70 euros (that's like 90 mother**** dollars!) for this miserable piece of **** after downloading and installing almost 1 gb of crap that did nothing but slow down my computer, all i have to say is **** YOU ROCKSTAR for wasting my **** money! die!

    In conclusion, ratings:
    -graphics: 4.5 (could've been 6.0 if the game ran at 60 fps minimum)
    -sfx: 4.0
    -ost: 6.0
    -gameplay: n/a
    -story: 8.0

    final score: 3/10 (not a **** average!)
    Expand
  28. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    The GTA 4 is a worthy part of the Grand Theft Auto franchise. It's rather similar to Vice City than San Andreas which can make people disappointed but in my opinion it's a perfect game. Great graphics, enjoyable gameplay and a good multiplayer are contained. The system requirements are not as high as they say, they are acceptable.
  29. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I'm not rating this game down because it's a poorly optimized game for PC, because I have a computer that can run it fine. In GTA IV, graphics are obviously the peak. For me, San Andreas was a better game because of more to do, not because of the graphics. In my opinion, GTA IV: 9/10, GTA SA: 10/10.
  30. Jan 26, 2012
    0
    I bought this game on Steam and it won't run--it crashes on startup on our 64-bit Windows 7 machine with a GeForce GTX 470. Steam doesn't give refunds, so all I can do is offer this negative review.
  31. Feb 21, 2012
    6
    Rockstar should hang their heads in shame: they've released some weak PC ports in the past (all of the GTA games, really), but this one takes the cake for total failure. Only this year have I finally (3+ years after release) been able to get the game to run solidly. When it runs properly, it's a fantastic game, probably my favorite of the series (although San Andreas is close). That hasRockstar should hang their heads in shame: they've released some weak PC ports in the past (all of the GTA games, really), but this one takes the cake for total failure. Only this year have I finally (3+ years after release) been able to get the game to run solidly. When it runs properly, it's a fantastic game, probably my favorite of the series (although San Andreas is close). That has been a HUGE if, though, with 20-30 minute crashes being the norm, and one fix only leading to other, more difficult problems. Finally I figured out that the game was doing something no other "next-gen" game could pull off: it was taxing my graphics card so much that it was overheating and shutting down. No other game has been able to pull that off (including far more recent titles), and that's a testament to how poorly-coded the game was for the PC: my specs beat the **** out of the PS3 and yet I've had to struggle with an assortment of frame rate issues and texture glitches (the later of which I still haven't been able to solve to this day). It's about time that PC gamers stop taking this nonsense: build the game for the PC FIRST, then you can port it to the lesser systems, not the other way around. Expand
  32. Mar 12, 2012
    5
    As with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. However the PC port is a disaster. Random crashes and bugs, many cheaters online, lots of glitches, cant support SSI. I have a VERY highAs with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. However the PC port is a disaster. Random crashes and bugs, many cheaters online, lots of glitches, cant support SSI. I have a VERY high end alienware desktop, and its still bad. Its about as bad as the PC ports of Saints row 2 and Driver 3. As said before, Play it on console. Make sure you get it on PS3, the online play is free unlike crapbox 360. Expand
  33. Sep 30, 2012
    4
    this game is great in some aspects, such as the story (the most mature history in any gta) the characters, the graphics and A.I. but the port of this game for PC is such a bad port, its like rockstar made it in one day... the poor controls, the awful bugs (specially the one on the **** last mission) you have to do wonders to repair a broken port like this and in top of that the musicthis game is great in some aspects, such as the story (the most mature history in any gta) the characters, the graphics and A.I. but the port of this game for PC is such a bad port, its like rockstar made it in one day... the poor controls, the awful bugs (specially the one on the **** last mission) you have to do wonders to repair a broken port like this and in top of that the music isn't as good (good thing for the personal radio) and the game isn't that challenging, so if you are a fan of gta try this, if you are not, go and play San Andreas and avoid this one Expand
  34. SergeyRubin
    Dec 6, 2008
    4
    Game is quite ok...

    If you don't count amount of useless, not needed stuff you have to install (Microsoft Live, Rockstar Social Club <--WTF?, DRM Securom), awefull performance on top end PC, bugs and other signs of awesome console port. Great job Rockstar. Good to see that your earned millions helped to make such a wondefull game. Too bad I can't get my money back and
    Game is quite ok...

    If you don't count amount of useless, not needed stuff you have to install (Microsoft Live, Rockstar Social Club <--WTF?, DRM Securom), awefull performance on top end PC, bugs and other signs of awesome console port. Great job Rockstar.

    Good to see that your earned millions helped to make such a wondefull game.

    Too bad I can't get my money back and wait for proper release.

    And too bad times, when picking folder where to install game was only thing required from user during installation, are gone.
    Expand
  35. Schyz
    Dec 7, 2008
    0
    It's like a bad port from a bad PS2 game. But it's 2008 and they had a good DirectX version. What they did? They destroyed a good game: DRM, RSC, GFWL, bad graphics (worse than San Andreas in my computer), etc. They spent several months to achieve only one thing: Fail.
  36. Alex
    Dec 7, 2008
    3
    It could be a good game, but it's really bad because of terrible porting to PC. For such a high system requirements graphic is poor, and whole game is one big bug. It often crashes or shows errors durnig loading. It took them more than half a year to port to PC, and result is very amateur stuff.
  37. RickJames
    Dec 22, 2008
    1
    Couldn't get more than 20fps... every other new game I can run on the highest settings, and the other games look WAY better also... Rockstar used PC gamers as a footstep to the gaming world, and now they just opened the door and spit right on us... I'm boycotting Rockstar unless they release some serious fixes!
  38. jimjim
    Dec 28, 2008
    4
    What a disappointment. This game is a lazy effort to bring gta 4 on to pc. It fails miserably.( WARNING. If yothink you will be able to run GTA 4 well because you can run crysis you are wrong. Apparently that rule no longer counts!) Unless you have a very new rig i would not advise buying this. The frame rate is ridiculous and it is the most recourse hungry game ever. It is a shameWhat a disappointment. This game is a lazy effort to bring gta 4 on to pc. It fails miserably.( WARNING. If yothink you will be able to run GTA 4 well because you can run crysis you are wrong. Apparently that rule no longer counts!) Unless you have a very new rig i would not advise buying this. The frame rate is ridiculous and it is the most recourse hungry game ever. It is a shame because i know from ps3 and xbox 360 that this game deserves 9 or 10. Expand
  39. AnonymousMC
    Dec 28, 2008
    1
    this version of the game is one of the biggest ripoffs in gaming history. many pc gta gamers waited for the day this game is released for so long and in return for their hard earned 50 dollars they get something that doesn't even start out of the box. even after figuring out how to make this game work most people will be faced with severe performance issues, stuttering, missingthis version of the game is one of the biggest ripoffs in gaming history. many pc gta gamers waited for the day this game is released for so long and in return for their hard earned 50 dollars they get something that doesn't even start out of the box. even after figuring out how to make this game work most people will be faced with severe performance issues, stuttering, missing textures, crashes in the middle of the mission or worse. Expand
  40. MistahMagoo
    Jan 1, 2009
    0
    I can't even offer a gameplay review for this pos game because I can't get past the crashing, stuttering, and missing textures that deplete any potential enjoyment. With a 2.5Ghz cor 2 duo and 9800m GS I would hope to at least be able to execute the game. Not the case :(
  41. EikCorell
    Jan 3, 2009
    2
    I haven't bothered trying to play the game beyond the very start because the performance is just so abhorrently bad. This is as far as I know the only game in existence where lowering resolution and textures does virtually nothing at all for performance.

    In addition to that we have securom and nagging applications needed for the game to even function.
  42. AnonymousMC
    Jan 7, 2009
    5
    Un bon jeu dans l' ensemble mais il y a beaucoup de problèmes. Graphiquement c'est très beau si on a la machine qui va avec mais pas assez personnalisable pour trouver un bon compromis qualité-performances. Au niveau missions il y en un bon paquet, les decisions prises dans ces dernieres affectent plus ou moins la suite des évènements. DommageUn bon jeu dans l' ensemble mais il y a beaucoup de problèmes. Graphiquement c'est très beau si on a la machine qui va avec mais pas assez personnalisable pour trouver un bon compromis qualité-performances. Au niveau missions il y en un bon paquet, les decisions prises dans ces dernieres affectent plus ou moins la suite des évènements. Dommage que l'armée ne soit pas de la partie. Pas grand chose niveau personnalisation du personnage mise a part les vêtements et gros point faible a mon gout le nombre d'armes pour un gta: 14 en tout :( . Je pense que Rokstar va nous rajouter du contenu à grands coups d'addons avec déjà lost angels prévue pour le courant du premier trimestre 2009 ce qui montre que l'éditeur n'en a pas fini avec gta4, bonne chose ou mauvaise chose, wait and see ... Expand
  43. AnonymousMC
    Jan 11, 2009
    0
    The game performs like absolute crap and it's not even a next gen game!

    Graphics are terrible. Shadows are grainy and looks like crap. These critics who gives it a high score must have been payed off since i can't believe someone could actually ignore such a major flaw in this game. Before you even can start the game you need windows live and Gta social club which in my
    The game performs like absolute crap and it's not even a next gen game!

    Graphics are terrible.
    Shadows are grainy and looks like crap.
    These critics who gives it a high score must have been payed off since i can't believe someone could actually ignore such a major flaw in this game.

    Before you even can start the game you need windows live and Gta social club which in my eyes is just a resource hog. The latest patch didn't solve any performance issues. Physics in this game needs some tweaking. Missions feels repetitive. The social relationship you have with other characters in this game is annoying. If you don't go bowling with them then they will hate you. If you get hit by a car then it will take forever for you to get up on your legs and when there's cops after you then they will shoot you before you get up. So if cops are after you and you fall down then "GAME OVER BUDDY!"
    Expand
  44. OabAli
    Jan 11, 2009
    10
    GTA IV is one of the best games of all time! Despite all the technical issues on PC, you cannot help believe the fact that its a great experience. The free-aim with the mouse, ability to play your own music, better graphics and numerous other advantages makes the PC version superior to console. Eat your heart out 360 and PS3!
  45. JonEwing
    Jan 18, 2009
    2
    I've played this for a couple of days but now it's listed on ebay where I will try to recoup as many of my losses as poss. I finally gave up after the 10th crash to desktop. I wasn't even enjoying the bland missions anyway so it wasn't worth the hassle of rebooting the game every time. Avoid- even with a high end PC.
  46. briannielsen
    Jan 18, 2009
    2
    I had fun at first, but before it ended the game became tedious and annoying. This coupled with the amount of glitches and technical flaws that the PC version is littered with makes it almost too frustrating to play. I'm a fan of the series but I'm very disappointed in this instillation.
  47. 3kliksphilip
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    OH NO THIS GAME DOESN'T RUN ON MY 4 YEAR OLD LAPTOP! 0 STARS because micro$ucks is gay and hates us all the the illuminatii will take over the world if you bye this game also I think that the world will end in 2012 and also Deus Ex IW was a good game. So 0 stars for this one.
  48. DaveM
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. Worked well for me with a slightly under par CPU AMD64 4400 which was my 20-25 ish FPS bottleneck (9800 GTX+ graphics). Only had an occassional lock up (always within the scripted sequences and never whilst driving etc). Registering Games for Windows and Rockstar Club - a relatively minor inconvenience. I have since re-installed upon a higher specOne of the best games I have ever played. Worked well for me with a slightly under par CPU AMD64 4400 which was my 20-25 ish FPS bottleneck (9800 GTX+ graphics). Only had an occassional lock up (always within the scripted sequences and never whilst driving etc). Registering Games for Windows and Rockstar Club - a relatively minor inconvenience. I have since re-installed upon a higher spec machine I7 920 CPU with 295GTX card and so far not a single problem and over 60FPS. Expand
  49. ArtemK
    Mar 27, 2009
    7
    Only 7 for PC port. It's not too bad PC port. But the problem is: I reside in Russia and I can't play multiplayer without headache with Hamachi or OpenVPN because... LIVE is not available in many developed countries!
    Another problems conclude in: poor framerate, bad optimization, f***cking DVD protection with activation and many more..
  50. Alex.
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    I don't know why a lot of people had problems with it. It works just fine on my Hp. And on top of that, I love the game. It's one of the more mature GTA games, and I really like how Rockstar played this one out. One of my favorite games.
  51. Russiangangsta
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    I say the game Grand theft auto IV is a great game, based on my theory, and interpretation. The individual, which is playing gets to experience a lot ideas, missions, actual, places on earth. Basically my vote was fair for the game. The game is especially good for multiplayer. The game is hysterically fun.
  52. MT
    Jul 27, 2009
    9
    This game requires a very powerful computer to run it at high graphic settings. If you have the sufficient computing power, then this game is a blast! It has a much more realistic feel to it compared to the previous GTA games. I have experienced no significant bugs or problems with the game. It's been a lot of fun playing from beginning to end. KEEP IN MIND: Most of the people This game requires a very powerful computer to run it at high graphic settings. If you have the sufficient computing power, then this game is a blast! It has a much more realistic feel to it compared to the previous GTA games. I have experienced no significant bugs or problems with the game. It's been a lot of fun playing from beginning to end. KEEP IN MIND: Most of the people complaining and giving low ratings here seem to be suffering performance issues with the game. The gameplay itself is fun if you can get it running the way you want. You need a strong PC. Expand
  53. MartinZ.
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    I like it how the most users here whine about the shitty performance on their pcs. Well yes, the game requires a very powerful pc to run it smooth, yes, the game requires windows live ( which sucks, but you can make a offline profile to save your game), yes the game requires the shitty social club for multiplayer (which i dont play, so i turned it off), yes it comes with the motherfucking I like it how the most users here whine about the shitty performance on their pcs. Well yes, the game requires a very powerful pc to run it smooth, yes, the game requires windows live ( which sucks, but you can make a offline profile to save your game), yes the game requires the shitty social club for multiplayer (which i dont play, so i turned it off), yes it comes with the motherfucking secure rom. BUT the game itself is addictive and beautiful. I can play it on my i7 920@2.67GHz and my gtx260 and 6gig of ram on all very high settings without a single crash and with decent fps. I played the game many days for now and not one bug occured to me. Besides of the damned programs you need to play it its a very very good game. I didnt enjoyed most of the gangster movies that i watched in my entire live that much than this game. And no, I am not a fanboy, I work hard for my money, and no, you dont need 5000 bucks to play this game, i payed 1000;) Surely a lot of the low rating user out there cant afford a new or at least a good pc;) And why i gave 9 instead of 10? Coz of the missing AA in the game which make look the shadows and a lot of the texture a little bit outdated. Expand
  54. TimothyL
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    This is without a doubt one of the best single player games of all time, and it is even more of a certainty that it features one of the ultimate video game story-lines. The plot is so engaging, the characters instantly likeable, and the cutscenes are anything but boring. Controls are not mastered instantly, but are gratifyingly responsive and comfortable from the beginning. Some have This is without a doubt one of the best single player games of all time, and it is even more of a certainty that it features one of the ultimate video game story-lines. The plot is so engaging, the characters instantly likeable, and the cutscenes are anything but boring. Controls are not mastered instantly, but are gratifyingly responsive and comfortable from the beginning. Some have mourned the loss of the arcade feel of previous games in the series, but this is stupid; yes, it was a proven formula, but the jaded realism of Rockstar's youngest child makes for a sensationally fun game. You can't have honestly played this game and not have marvelled and spent hours pushing the limits of the ridiculous physics of the game world. The graphics deserve a whole passage to themselves in my opinion: I have played Crysis, but these graphics are on a totally different scale. The incredible attention to detail, accompanied by an original visual style, especially in the facial rendering, combine to make an experience that is simply irresistible. I have an 8800GT, 4GB RAM and an e6400 o/c to 3.2Ghz, and it runs on medium-high graphical settings with no lag or other problems. If you don't have a powerful enough P.C, as I did for a long time, don't be quick to down this game. Seriously, save for an upgrade as this game is worth it. Rockstar admittedly however made a terrible decision to integrate with Windows Live, and the unavoidable Social Club. Hopefully in time these services will improve or be phased out because at the moment they are a pointless obstacle, detracting from what is otherwise a masterpiece. Expand
  55. Epzo
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    Ok fools check this out...it is cheaper to buy an Xbox 360 elite and this game rather then spend over a thousand dollars on a computer that can keep up with the graphics. having said that this game rocks and pc users should just suck it up and get an xbox to play this game at an optimal level.
  56. AlexK.
    Dec 2, 2008
    0
    This is a huge step back for rockstar's games, they made a huge step forward to a world which you can truly control in San Andreas but when I lost my choices and wasn't even unable to stop my character being a sleazy russian stereotype it destroyed all their attempts at making a solid story by forcing your hand every step of the way, and for everyones sake make the whole world This is a huge step back for rockstar's games, they made a huge step forward to a world which you can truly control in San Andreas but when I lost my choices and wasn't even unable to stop my character being a sleazy russian stereotype it destroyed all their attempts at making a solid story by forcing your hand every step of the way, and for everyones sake make the whole world accessible much faster so you dont need to suffer the same monotonous missions we have been doing since GTA 3. Expand
  57. RobertD.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    This game is incredible and has far surpassed my expectations. The sheer quantity of what's on offer is only surpassed by the quality with which it is pulled off. There have been only improvements made since the console versions so why is it getting such a low average compared to those versions. Reviewers should review the pc version as stand alone and the fact it's already been This game is incredible and has far surpassed my expectations. The sheer quantity of what's on offer is only surpassed by the quality with which it is pulled off. There have been only improvements made since the console versions so why is it getting such a low average compared to those versions. Reviewers should review the pc version as stand alone and the fact it's already been seen on consoles should not have any impact on their rating. Pull your socks up reviewers, it's only gotten better since the April releases and they pulled in averages of 98%! Expand
  58. EZ
    Dec 2, 2008
    1
    Ok first off, the game is a horrible PC port done by Rockstar Toronto (the ones responsible for the "Bully" PC). The graphics are nothing special, yet players with 4870X2 and 260GTX are having trouble getting any decent frame rates REGARDLESS of resolution and quality setting. Obviously, there was minimal testing done by Rock*. Yet the reviews are raving , slapping it with a 9/10 or Ok first off, the game is a horrible PC port done by Rockstar Toronto (the ones responsible for the "Bully" PC). The graphics are nothing special, yet players with 4870X2 and 260GTX are having trouble getting any decent frame rates REGARDLESS of resolution and quality setting. Obviously, there was minimal testing done by Rock*. Yet the reviews are raving , slapping it with a 9/10 or 10/10... did they even play the game? Maybe Rock* just paid them off again like they did back in the X360 and PS3 release when just about every1 gave the game 10/10 that it doesnt deserve. I am really dissapointed since i was waiting to play this on pc for months now. I'm returning my copy tomorrow. Expand
  59. Lucas
    Dec 3, 2008
    0
    This game could be awesome, but sadly it is not. Another game SecuROM enabled game, with numerous bugs and flaws: * First of all, you have to create two accounts in order to play the game (Windows Live & Rockstar Social...) * SecureROM keeps me from playing the game by just not letting it start (emulation software? I've got none...) * After I reinstalled windows (!) and the game This game could be awesome, but sadly it is not. Another game SecuROM enabled game, with numerous bugs and flaws: * First of all, you have to create two accounts in order to play the game (Windows Live & Rockstar Social...) * SecureROM keeps me from playing the game by just not letting it start (emulation software? I've got none...) * After I reinstalled windows (!) and the game (which takes more then 30 minutes) I got to start it after 5 tries (reproducible). * And, last but not least, the framerate is really crappy. Changing the resolution doesn't help, and my systems not that bad (Q6600, 8800GTX, 4GB Ram) So please, do NOT buy this game, hoping that the folks at Rockstar realize what a piece of crap the released. Expand
  60. ColinL
    Dec 3, 2008
    2
    It sort of works in single player, multiplayer doesn't work at all so far. Was finally looking forward to being able to mouse/keyboard this sweet game, but they botched it pretty bad. And since i bought it on steam, I need my steam ID, windows live ID AND rockstar social club ID for multi (which crashes when logged into social club).
  61. AndrewR.
    Dec 3, 2008
    2
    Terrible graphics because of lack of AA. Jagged edges everywhere. Your vid card, no matter how high end, is useless. This game has NO option to enable AA, which it so desperately need.
  62. TimA.
    Dec 3, 2008
    1
    Huge disapppointment - this is a prime example for a sloppy PC port. This is the kind of product that is the reason for a dying PC market. Graphics look rather aged, even on high settings. No antialiasing (thus very jagged edges), paintspray-like shadows, no reflections on cars etc., no blur effects, blurry textures (even on high settings) - and to top this, poor performance even on high Huge disapppointment - this is a prime example for a sloppy PC port. This is the kind of product that is the reason for a dying PC market. Graphics look rather aged, even on high settings. No antialiasing (thus very jagged edges), paintspray-like shadows, no reflections on cars etc., no blur effects, blurry textures (even on high settings) - and to top this, poor performance even on high end systems. Game review sites were supplied with "black boxed" PCs running GTA IV, allegedly running pro-level GFX's - this might explain the huge discrepancies between all the user generated screenshots that do not look even close to the ones on game review sites in terms of visual qualities. Loads of crashes and problems, plus you have to sign into BOTH Games for Windows Live AND Rockstar Social Club to play online and/or even save a game in singleplayer mode. 8 points from me for the gameplay, but -7 points for the inexcusably bad port - what were Rockstar thinking ? Expand
  63. JohnDoe
    Dec 4, 2008
    0
    worst ever seen installation (3h to first "run"), two useless online accounts required, agressive SecuRom protection, anoying online activation (DVD is still required to play), doesn't work with ATI cards, performance with NVIDIA cards also unacceptable, multiplayer doesn't work, etc. ... On Gamestar poll 80% voted that game doesn't work! May be fun to play if it worked, worst ever seen installation (3h to first "run"), two useless online accounts required, agressive SecuRom protection, anoying online activation (DVD is still required to play), doesn't work with ATI cards, performance with NVIDIA cards also unacceptable, multiplayer doesn't work, etc. ... On Gamestar poll 80% voted that game doesn't work! May be fun to play if it worked, but a game that doesn't can only get "0" !!! Expand
  64. HradK.
    Dec 4, 2008
    1
    On top of incredibly buggy game, insanely hardware demanding game, securom drm, it rams another 2 "social" networks down your throat (3 if you use steam) - games for windows live and some rockstar branded social crap. And you do need them if you want to do as basic things as save a game progress in a singleplayer game. This is beyond absurd.
  65. JS
    Dec 4, 2008
    1
    Are none of the reviewers going to mention that this game IS BLOODY BROKEN. Who cares if it COULD be a good game IF the engine was optimised and IF you didn't have to install FOUR bloody applications that you never asked for. And that excludes the notorious SecuROM DRM. As a customer experience, it is at best broken, at worst the most frustrating, anger-inducing insult of a game I Are none of the reviewers going to mention that this game IS BLOODY BROKEN. Who cares if it COULD be a good game IF the engine was optimised and IF you didn't have to install FOUR bloody applications that you never asked for. And that excludes the notorious SecuROM DRM. As a customer experience, it is at best broken, at worst the most frustrating, anger-inducing insult of a game I have EVER had the misfortune to pay money for. Expand
  66. cappie2000
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    One of the most anticipated games of 2008; the controls are perfect, the sound and graphics are stunning!.. the storyline is the best I've ever seen in a game so far, and its my favorite genre: free roaming, mission driven gameplay.. This game has everything I want from a game, therefor, it gets a perfect 10 from me!
  67. RegretfulB.
    Dec 4, 2008
    2
    I have every reason to believe there is a great game in here somewhere. Unfortunately, the ludicrous system requirements that in no way justify ok-but-not-better-than-everything-else-out-there visuals render the game almost completely on playable on all but the lowest settings, which makes the game look even worse. Don't buy this game. It's insulting to think people are changing I have every reason to believe there is a great game in here somewhere. Unfortunately, the ludicrous system requirements that in no way justify ok-but-not-better-than-everything-else-out-there visuals render the game almost completely on playable on all but the lowest settings, which makes the game look even worse. Don't buy this game. It's insulting to think people are changing money for a product that was clearly unfinished by uncaring designers. Expand
  68. JetBoom
    Dec 4, 2008
    0
    Extremely buggy and bad port. I'm surprised at Rockstar's terrible choice with using Games for Windows and SecuRom. They screwed it up so bad that even retail buyers have near-unusable installations and performance issues.
  69. RedAvatar
    Dec 4, 2008
    0
    I usually find it unfair for a game to receive "0" because it rarely deserves such a rating but for this game, I'll gladly make an exception. Why? Because of the way Rockstar have been treating us PC gamers from day 1. First of all, they kept us hanging, hoping we'd buy the console version first which I did. When they thought most people had already bought it, they announced the I usually find it unfair for a game to receive "0" because it rarely deserves such a rating but for this game, I'll gladly make an exception. Why? Because of the way Rockstar have been treating us PC gamers from day 1. First of all, they kept us hanging, hoping we'd buy the console version first which I did. When they thought most people had already bought it, they announced the PC version, knowing that die hard PC gamers would want the PC version next to the console version. A dirty move if ever I saw one. But now that it's finally here, it's even WORSE than the horrible launch of GTA3 which was bugged and failed to run on many PCs as well. Have they learned NOTHING? No, they have learned something: they have learned that crappy, buggy, crash-prone ports sell regardless of their problems. And GTAIV is the pinacle of crappy ports. Horrible performance on top end systems, instability, many people being unable to load the game, graphical errors, tons and tons of bugs, etc. etc. This is UNACCEPTABLE. I don't give a damn about the game behind this when the attitude of Rockstar is so smug, so arrogant, as to admit spending $200k on copy protection instead of getting the thing beta tested! Here's your 0/10 Rockstart. Not that you'll give a damn after having paid off all those reviewers to give you high scores. Expand
  70. GuessAgain
    Dec 4, 2008
    3
    I don't mind that this game came out almost a year later on PC's than it did on consoles. I don't mind that they may have had to make some sacrifices to "port" this back to PC. I don't mind that it may be a lot more fun to play it on a couch with your friends on a big TV, while I sit in front of my measly 22". What I do mind, however is that Rockstar are actually I don't mind that this game came out almost a year later on PC's than it did on consoles. I don't mind that they may have had to make some sacrifices to "port" this back to PC. I don't mind that it may be a lot more fun to play it on a couch with your friends on a big TV, while I sit in front of my measly 22". What I do mind, however is that Rockstar are actually expecting to get any money for this game. They might have as well released this game to the torrents and told us to take it for free, because honestly, the gameplay makes you feel like you should get paid for every minute you waste in this game. I understand the publishers/developers want YOU, the paying consumer to have the complete experience uploading your gameplay movies for other people to watch and share. What better way to do this than install 2 extremely obtrusive pieces of software like games for windows and rockstar social club on your computer and telling you the game will not run without them. At all. It is somewhere at the level of Internet Explorer (the piece of garbage it is) costing 39.99 and then making you install 5 toolbars or it won't connect you to the internet. Under their EULA you never really "own" the game, so I guess they can make you do whatever it is they want. What I didn't understand before was why are they trying to delay you from playing the actual game with their ridiculous activations and obtrusive mandatory soft/spyware. And here's why: the game itself is garbage. It is on many levels a rehash of GTA 3 vice city and san andreas, with some parts taken out and new ones added in. The mechanics are all the same, although vehicle physics are now horrendous albeit slightly more realistic (thanks, I guess you wanted us to have realistic driving in a VERY REALISTIC GAME where the PROTAGONIST can run around shooting civilians and then trying to get away from the cops, but FAILING because of the new driving model). Sure there may be a storyline in there somewhere, like other reviewers say, but I'm not here for the storyline, it is merely a means to unlock parts of the goddamn city for me. Do you honestly care about "criminal A arrives in a big city B and tries to carve out his destiny by killing off gangs X, Y and Z?" they did in the whole GTA 3 series? The graphics. They really deserve rants of epic proportions but I'll try to keep it short. They are horrendous. Around the level of 2004, maybe worse, definitely worse than some games from that period, maybe better than some. But the really astounding thing is that the game manages to run like shit on all but the most ridiculous setups that cost thousands of dollars. CRYSIS, MOVE OVER PLEASE, someone over here wants your title as the most unoptimized game of the DECADE. The game will run like a paraplegic up a mountain even if you have a decent dx10 capable card like 8800gt, although it should really be running fast enough to give you a heart attack just watching. The game won't even allow you to increase your graphical settings in the most retarded attempt to "be helpful in selection of fitting graphical options". Thanks Rockstar. Not only do you fail to make the game run properly, you restrict us from looking at the highest quality visuals possible, even at 5 fps. But I have a feeling why. Because even the higher quality settings look like shite. Rockstar must be the last game producer in the industry that did not realize that PC gamers are quite a bit more discerning than the rest, so you have to release something that's at the very least tolerable. I'm truly happy for Rockstar's sales on PS3 etc. But please, for the love of god, keep this garbage off PC's out of your sense of self-respect. Or at least have the decency to put it into playable shape. Expand
  71. GrenadeMagnet
    Dec 4, 2008
    2
    bugs bugs bugs. thats treyarch for you. connection problems(internet gets disconnected when u start game, if youre using vista you cant join xp games in coop and there arent much vista users compared to xp users, you get disconnected by the server randomly in multiplayer games, unhandled exception caught disconnection problems), sound driver conflict problems, disapearing favorite server bugs bugs bugs. thats treyarch for you. connection problems(internet gets disconnected when u start game, if youre using vista you cant join xp games in coop and there arent much vista users compared to xp users, you get disconnected by the server randomly in multiplayer games, unhandled exception caught disconnection problems), sound driver conflict problems, disapearing favorite server problems, startup problems, internet disconnection problems(COD WAW tweaks the network settingsand you have to wait 5 minutes to reset the modem) installation problems, hardcore mode overpowered dogs, and did i mention bugs? congratulations on your bugfarm treyarch. i wasted $50.00. Expand
  72. JohnM
    Dec 4, 2008
    0
    Let me just start by saying how much I was looking forward to this game being released and how disappointed I am at what seems to be a total failure of a release that I sadly cannot justify purchasing. So, we patiently waited several months for the PC version of this game to come, expecting it would be an improvement across the board. Silly us. Instead of spending the last months Let me just start by saying how much I was looking forward to this game being released and how disappointed I am at what seems to be a total failure of a release that I sadly cannot justify purchasing. So, we patiently waited several months for the PC version of this game to come, expecting it would be an improvement across the board. Silly us. Instead of spending the last months optimizing the game for PCs, scaling it and testing across various hardware configurations they have actually spent the time coming up with and adding lots of unwanted and unneeded crap. First there is 'games for windows' (which you have to have if you want to save the game...????), then 'Rocktstar social club' (another pointless sign-up and invasive start-up program) and to top it all off they included the super invasive and restrictive DRM in the forum of Securom (ironically...this is one of the least complained about aspects of this release, when it is usually the most...This tells you things are BAD). The amount of problems being reported here from almost everyone, across a wide variety of hardware (from the 'minimum' to well beyond the 'recommended') makes this release seem more like a really poorly implemented beta without consent. I am actually wondering if this game was tested at all...And if it was, who gave the go ahead to release the game in light of all of these problems...? I feel bad for the people that bought this game in its current state. Expand
  73. PhangW.
    Dec 5, 2008
    3
    Horrendous port. Rockstar did not even bother to take us PC gamers seriously, by giving us such a HIGH DETAIL of technical and graphical glitches. I have been a long supporter of the GTA franchise and i must say, Rockstar has certainly pissed us PC gamers off.
  74. MarkS.
    Dec 5, 2008
    9
    I've just started playing this game, but I've seen my son play the PS3 version and is the reason I picked this up. In my first hour of play I was sucked into the world that I actually considered taking the day off from work, just so I could play some more. There are some minor quibbles I have mostly due to this being a console port, but the game is fun and the control not too I've just started playing this game, but I've seen my son play the PS3 version and is the reason I picked this up. In my first hour of play I was sucked into the world that I actually considered taking the day off from work, just so I could play some more. There are some minor quibbles I have mostly due to this being a console port, but the game is fun and the control not too bad. I wouldn't have posted this review so soon, but I had to get this out. The user review system on Metacritic is broken! How can a game that came out only 3 days ago, have such a low user rating? It's because some weasel is "stuffing the ballot box" You shouldn't be able to rate a game unless you write a review, with a minimum word count. It might distract the boneheads who either inflate or deflate the user score. Expand
  75. cesarm.
    Dec 5, 2008
    4
    This game is the first I've purchased in many time, and I cant even evaluate it because It dosent start once downloaded by Steam. I pass the recomended config by large and it dosent run. It is very very desapointing. I urge rockstar to prepare a patch to solve this problem.
  76. GeorgeG.
    Dec 5, 2008
    1
    This should have been one of the greatest games of all times but it's actually a test of how much you can screw the PC user before driving him to the console. It installs SecuROM even though I've bought it through Steam. It requires umpteen logins to play online... if you can get it to launch at all. The game was rushed to launch so it can make the most of the holiday season and This should have been one of the greatest games of all times but it's actually a test of how much you can screw the PC user before driving him to the console. It installs SecuROM even though I've bought it through Steam. It requires umpteen logins to play online... if you can get it to launch at all. The game was rushed to launch so it can make the most of the holiday season and rake in the cash, the only problem is that you would have to be stupid to pay money for it right now. Wait for SecuROM to be removed (at least from the Steam version) and for the showstopper bugs to be ironed out. Expand
  77. PiotrN.
    Dec 5, 2008
    1
    I bought this game on Steam. I am unable to run it in a playable fashion on a Pentium D/GF7800GT with 4 GB RAM (a somewhat aging setup, I know, but it runs Fallout 3 comfortably and without any hiccups). The graphics are horrible, and not just due to the abysmal optimization - I'm experiencing plenty of clipping issues and objects suddenly appearing right in front of me, not to I bought this game on Steam. I am unable to run it in a playable fashion on a Pentium D/GF7800GT with 4 GB RAM (a somewhat aging setup, I know, but it runs Fallout 3 comfortably and without any hiccups). The graphics are horrible, and not just due to the abysmal optimization - I'm experiencing plenty of clipping issues and objects suddenly appearing right in front of me, not to mention that with all sliders set to minimum it looks far uglier than GTA:SA while still offering worse framerates (naturally, I've tried a number of GFX drivers, including the very latest ones). The HUD flickers on and off. Frequent crashes to desktop. Unable to redefine controls (the game assumes that I have an XBOX controller, which is beyond ridiculous - this is a PC game, remember?) Moreover, Rockstar blackmail you into installing some sort of community software - otherwise you cannot save the game (their insistence makes me believe that they're desperate to acquire your personal info for commercial purposes). My recommendation avoid like the plague (get a console version instead, if you like GTA). Expand
  78. AJM.
    Dec 5, 2008
    0
    The "minimum spec requirements" seems to be a complete lie. I figured since my computer met those I could play it at the lowest settings comfortably. Instead after upgrading all my drivers/ installing securom and all the other garbage rockstar requires the game still crashes my computer when I tell it to launch. Basically I paid $50 to install useless 3rd party software and a game that The "minimum spec requirements" seems to be a complete lie. I figured since my computer met those I could play it at the lowest settings comfortably. Instead after upgrading all my drivers/ installing securom and all the other garbage rockstar requires the game still crashes my computer when I tell it to launch. Basically I paid $50 to install useless 3rd party software and a game that freezes my computer when I try loading it. Expand
  79. HugoC.
    Dec 5, 2008
    9
    Great game, great graphics, best pc game of the year. For those how rated this game with lower scores, because they can't run this game on highst settings, please read the technical support from rockstar website. This masterpiece was made to be playable with more great graphics in the future. Now with the medium settings you can enjoy a better quality than the consoles version. This Great game, great graphics, best pc game of the year. For those how rated this game with lower scores, because they can't run this game on highst settings, please read the technical support from rockstar website. This masterpiece was made to be playable with more great graphics in the future. Now with the medium settings you can enjoy a better quality than the consoles version. This is a real good game. Expand
  80. PeterH.
    Dec 5, 2008
    0
    This is an abomination in PC world, not a game. On top of DRM, you have to be signed in in two separate online services for multiplayer and game saving. The buginnes of this release is almost epic. And then publishers will blame piracy, instead of looking in the mirror.
  81. FrancescoP
    Dec 5, 2008
    3
    Somebody have already called this the WORST PORT EVER, and I can just, sadly, agree... My pc (athlon X2 2.8Ghz, 2Gb ram, ati HD3850 512Mb, XP sp3) can run fairly well games like crysis, grid, fallout 3 and anything else, even with AA turned on, and believe me, gta 4 graphic is not even close as shiny as that of those games... But somebody must have rushed things a little too much to Somebody have already called this the WORST PORT EVER, and I can just, sadly, agree... My pc (athlon X2 2.8Ghz, 2Gb ram, ati HD3850 512Mb, XP sp3) can run fairly well games like crysis, grid, fallout 3 and anything else, even with AA turned on, and believe me, gta 4 graphic is not even close as shiny as that of those games... But somebody must have rushed things a little too much to deliver this game before xmas, and the result is this embarassing alpha release of a game which will take a long long time to fix and still, I guess, will inexplicably suffer from poor performance... Too bad rockstargames. Tomorrow I'm taking the game back to the store. Expand
  82. WarrenJ
    Dec 6, 2008
    4
    Stop giving this godawful port such lofty praise. Regardless of the quality of gameplay, the optimization and overall porting job is pathetic, and shouldn't be tolerated.
  83. MalcolmF.
    Dec 6, 2008
    1
    GTA IV has some serious performance issues to the extent it is not playable unless you have a high end machine, and a nvidia graphics card. ATI graphics cards have extremely bad issues with performance e.g. the 1 FPS bug where the FPS will lock at 1 FPS. The game is not optimised, and is one of the worst ports I've seen. There is no way this took the time it did to get ported. GTA IV has some serious performance issues to the extent it is not playable unless you have a high end machine, and a nvidia graphics card. ATI graphics cards have extremely bad issues with performance e.g. the 1 FPS bug where the FPS will lock at 1 FPS. The game is not optimised, and is one of the worst ports I've seen. There is no way this took the time it did to get ported. I'd say it took about a week to port, and they spent more time adding ingame protection. It is a shame. This game has the potential in MP to be absolutely brilliant. Expand
  84. Annoymous
    Dec 6, 2008
    0
    Do not buy the PC version! GTA IV on PS3 and Xbox 360 is a must have but the PC version is garbage. If you thought Crysis was demanding, think again. You will need a Quad core Xtreme and an ATi 4870 X2 and 4GB ram just to play medium settings at 25fps (Not very playable). I just hope a patch will fix this game. Do not waste your money on this like I did! Buy Left 4 Dead or Fallout 3 instead!
  85. andersl.
    Dec 6, 2008
    1
    Grand theft DRM 4.,Bloated pos that forces you to use worthless gfwl and idiotic rockstar social club and the dvd in drive. Performance is a joke, one of the worst experiences I have ever had with a pc game and I am sitting on a quad core @3,2ghz 4gb ram 4850 1gb ram Every other game I own runs without trouble (farcry 2 fallout 3 crysis l4d, aoc, warhammer online, wow etc with double fps Grand theft DRM 4.,Bloated pos that forces you to use worthless gfwl and idiotic rockstar social club and the dvd in drive. Performance is a joke, one of the worst experiences I have ever had with a pc game and I am sitting on a quad core @3,2ghz 4gb ram 4850 1gb ram Every other game I own runs without trouble (farcry 2 fallout 3 crysis l4d, aoc, warhammer online, wow etc with double fps and looks 10x better). I WANT MY MONEY BACK. Expand
  86. DarrylC.
    Dec 6, 2008
    0
    Game just simply doesn't run. Crash after crash. They are trying to say that it is because the game was created for next gen hardware. That's absurd. Why would we need next gen hardware to duplicate the substandard textures and shadows of an X-Box Game?The well paid critics give it a 93. How many of them have actually played the game on PC. How could they when it won't run? Game just simply doesn't run. Crash after crash. They are trying to say that it is because the game was created for next gen hardware. That's absurd. Why would we need next gen hardware to duplicate the substandard textures and shadows of an X-Box Game?The well paid critics give it a 93. How many of them have actually played the game on PC. How could they when it won't run? Reviews paid for and promoted by thieves. Metacritic I guess you can no longer be trusted either! Expand
  87. MattR
    Dec 6, 2008
    1
    This game has the potential to be absolutely great, but it falls flat on its face. I've tried to enjoy it, but he blatant memory leak which this engine has has me restarting every half hour to clear out whatever it is that is cluttering up my system resources. After a few missions, be prepared for stutters and frame drops to unacceptable levels - if you could even get them to an This game has the potential to be absolutely great, but it falls flat on its face. I've tried to enjoy it, but he blatant memory leak which this engine has has me restarting every half hour to clear out whatever it is that is cluttering up my system resources. After a few missions, be prepared for stutters and frame drops to unacceptable levels - if you could even get them to an acceptable level to begin with. Top end systems cannot run this thing at medium settings and achieve over 30 fps. The decision, as well by Rockstar to use a lighting system which does not allow for ingame Antialiasing nor does it allow for forcing it in the control panel is, to say the least, astounding in its ineptness. Jagged edges are on everything: cars, buildings, signs, vegetation...the great draw distance is useless as everything in the distance shimmers from lack of AA support. The shadows used are horrendous and there is no scalability options to turn them off, leaving you with blobs of black that look like a bad spray paint job. Rockstar did give us an option to turn on motion blur in game, unfortunately it just superimposes a blurry overlay to the entire world, making it look like your viewing the game with less than 20/20 vision. Long story short, this is the worst console to PC port I have ever seen and Rockstar should be ashamed. It is obvious they are completely out of touch with PC gamers and quite frankly, if this is the outcome, please Rockstar, stick to console games....we dont' want you. Stay away until it is positive that patches fix this error lest you face the utter disappointment so many of us have already. Expand
  88. ChrisV.
    Dec 6, 2008
    0
    You are forced to sign up to games for windows live and rockstar social club to run the game. You are forced to be logged into games for windows live in order to SAVE you game. You have to have the disc in to play. You have to be logged into both accounts to play online. The game runs terribly even on supercomputers.
  89. AMoffatt
    Dec 7, 2008
    3
    It's a shame about the bugs, the crashes, the way it crawls, the way it only gives you the option of loading up the most recent game from start, the 'social club' nag screen, the load speed (gah - the load speed!), the car handling, the poor reward for exploration and doing side-quests. It is a shame, because I'm sure that there's a good game in there somewhere.
  90. ehafh
    Dec 8, 2008
    0
    What a joke, these reviews from major spots are all high? did they get some different version than that of the end user? because i've been gaming since DOS , i have a computer that excedes the requirements, and it runs like absolute garbage. throw in servers for multiplayer that you cant even log onto, 2 extra things to log into, windows live, rockstar socialclub, and steam if you What a joke, these reviews from major spots are all high? did they get some different version than that of the end user? because i've been gaming since DOS , i have a computer that excedes the requirements, and it runs like absolute garbage. throw in servers for multiplayer that you cant even log onto, 2 extra things to log into, windows live, rockstar socialclub, and steam if you bought it through that? this is just very sadly an AWFUL presentation. you guys failed the customer. and these reviews show it. gaming has been in my opinion, in a steady decline for years due to companies putting out crap like this. the game was slowed down on the consoles, and apparently its all due to bad coding. or not even developement time. personally , i'm really losing hope for the gaming industry. too much shlock, not enough quality and originality from the developers. even when i played this on the 360 i was kind of let down. not due to it running a bit slow. but there really felt like nothing was new and revolutionary. yeah, physics and eye candy.. but i've seen that in a 100 games before. when i played san andreas they had the bicycle. i mean that changed everything. oh yeah that game also ran well , and didnt crash. and major gaming news sites were publishing articles about how poorly it played. good luck steam and rockstar. you've lost a customer. Expand
  91. bulsajok.
    Dec 8, 2008
    4
    It does not pay to buy pc games before the first patch is released; I had hoped Rockstar's port would be different, more fool me. After a tricky install (why must I be forced to turn off a standard Vista service [not mentioned in the GTA documentation] and sign up to 2 online services- Rockstar Social Club and Windows Live- in order to get through the damned install without it It does not pay to buy pc games before the first patch is released; I had hoped Rockstar's port would be different, more fool me. After a tricky install (why must I be forced to turn off a standard Vista service [not mentioned in the GTA documentation] and sign up to 2 online services- Rockstar Social Club and Windows Live- in order to get through the damned install without it crashing?). I find I can run the game now, but it won't recognize my gamepad (the same one which worked great in GTA-SA) and the control scheme/camera viewmake near impossible to drive properly using just the keyboard & mouse. I'm hopefully these problems will be resolved in the future, but if you are planning on buying this for PC, DON'T, at least not untill a patch is issued. Constantly paying to be a beta tester is going to finally drive me to consoles, I stare at my new laptop with Nvidea 9800GS M video card, and it mocks me- I could have bought a PS3, an XBox 360, a WII, and a heap of console games for what it cost me. Expand
  92. AliA.
    Dec 8, 2008
    0
    Although the installation was easy thanks to Steam, everything you've heard about the graphics and performance bugs are true. My game runs, but with broken light-effects. I'm truly annoyed at Rockstar for prematurely shooting their wad and creating this retarded bug-ridden port.
  93. MichaelG.
    Dec 8, 2008
    3
    No support for any other controller but microsofts...What BS is that?!?! Required to install C0ckstar social network and winblows live just to play single player?? Not to mention i get a fuzzyness with my ati card, and with my current machine crappy performance with low settings!!!! there isnt anything that looks so system intensive!!! I'm very disappointed with Rockstar on this No support for any other controller but microsofts...What BS is that?!?! Required to install C0ckstar social network and winblows live just to play single player?? Not to mention i get a fuzzyness with my ati card, and with my current machine crappy performance with low settings!!!! there isnt anything that looks so system intensive!!! I'm very disappointed with Rockstar on this one.... The only saving grace is the acting is astounding, AWESOME. Cool story and the characters make it believable. Best I've seen in a game so far. Expand
  94. ShauneE.
    Dec 9, 2008
    0
    Quad 2.4ghz, 4850hd,2gb ram, vista. After the long install, issues start, error after error, wtf is xlive.dll? search up, download patch, error. download some full install. works? no, i have to update it. great, more things i dont want installed on my pc. 30 minutes later i finaly have it working, but no, it runs poor, even with a pc which i consider fairly good specs, [runs COD5 max Quad 2.4ghz, 4850hd,2gb ram, vista. After the long install, issues start, error after error, wtf is xlive.dll? search up, download patch, error. download some full install. works? no, i have to update it. great, more things i dont want installed on my pc. 30 minutes later i finaly have it working, but no, it runs poor, even with a pc which i consider fairly good specs, [runs COD5 max 1080p res] cant run GTA4 on 1440x900, low settings? this is riddicolous, the game looks worse and runs worse then the ps3 version, both of which i will be returning as they are terrible, never been so dissapointed in a game, also cant beleive Reviewers that hyped it up saying "frame rate is flawless", ps3 barely touches 25fps verdict is dont waste your time as you will be driving back to the store to return it. Expand
  95. RyanC.
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    Despite its numerous bugs and the fact MOST STEAM versions are corupted the game is amazing. GET it on DVD and install it that way. Bugs are getting errored out of the game but the detail and interaction with in the city is amazing. I would give it a 9 for all the bugs but The fact it takes AI to such an amazing level its just aw striking. follow a person around the citty listen to them Despite its numerous bugs and the fact MOST STEAM versions are corupted the game is amazing. GET it on DVD and install it that way. Bugs are getting errored out of the game but the detail and interaction with in the city is amazing. I would give it a 9 for all the bugs but The fact it takes AI to such an amazing level its just aw striking. follow a person around the citty listen to them talk to other ppl shoot even follow them into a cab by holding DOWN USE KEY its great fun once u get passed all the bugs and the HORIBLE MEMORY leak. Expand
  96. GooneyBird
    Dec 10, 2008
    4
    If not for bugs this rating would be a 9. Poor performance on PCs, even when the machine outclasses any of the console systems the game was released on by orders of magnitude. Graphics glitches abound, you can drive mere minutes before the whole city disappears and you are floating a meter or two over the bottom landscape. Textures totally disappear frequently, happens both on foot or in If not for bugs this rating would be a 9. Poor performance on PCs, even when the machine outclasses any of the console systems the game was released on by orders of magnitude. Graphics glitches abound, you can drive mere minutes before the whole city disappears and you are floating a meter or two over the bottom landscape. Textures totally disappear frequently, happens both on foot or in a vehicle. This game was NOT READY for PC release. Stupid me for pre-ordering. Other than that I love what I've been able to play of the game so far, but quite frankly the graphics glitches make the game unplayable. -Gooney Expand
  97. SamW.
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    I don't know what the hell is wrong with these people. Are they really so shallow that they let something as minor as having to turn down your graphics settings overshadow the unbelievable game in question? Yes, the graphics were poorly optimized, and no, I don't care. This game is simply too engrossing, too well-written, and too masterful for me to notice.
  98. ColbyA.
    Dec 13, 2008
    4
    I have not played the game myself on PC - though I have on Xbox - but I have done some research on the game, and thought it would be good to explain the likely reason GTAIV has such low scores here. In case you're reading this and haven't done your research, GTAIV for the PC is a poorly executed port and is riddled with glitches and bugs. The game is as good as the 360 version, I have not played the game myself on PC - though I have on Xbox - but I have done some research on the game, and thought it would be good to explain the likely reason GTAIV has such low scores here. In case you're reading this and haven't done your research, GTAIV for the PC is a poorly executed port and is riddled with glitches and bugs. The game is as good as the 360 version, but wait until some patches come out to repair the poor programming! Expand
  99. Joel
    Dec 13, 2008
    9
    this game is awesome, the story is great and your always interested of what is going on and cut scene are not a paint to watch. The computer as a video editor which is awesome 10x better than the halo video play back. the only bad thing i can say is that, some times the AI isn't that good but other then that it is a must buy.
  100. NormT.
    Dec 14, 2008
    0
    Unplayable, a complete waste of my entire day downloading. Forced to install tons of crap and register for yet ANOTHER spamming social network. Forced to go through hell to get Service Pack 3 installed, all for nothing.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. PC Gamer UK
    92
    It's the peripheral distractions of both going out with Roman, and meeting your girlfriends, that really make your virtual life so worth living. Although incredibly simplistic, they're oddly touching...One of the finest videogames ever. [Christmas 2008, p.87]
  2. PC Format
    89
    The most grown-up GTA and the best realised, but it doesn't respect the PC much. Enjoy the multiplayer madness if you can. [Christmas 2008, p.96]
  3. A genuinely ground-breaking blockbuster in videogame history. There were moments playing GTA IV that I thought back to my initial experiences with games, and realised exactly how far we've come. There's never been anything quite like GTA IV in the world. That there makes me genuinely happy to be a gamer.