User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1460 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 1, 2013
    7
    No other GTA game can beat GTA San Andreas! It has the most replayability, provides the most fun (jet packs!!!) and you can do much more than just drive from mission to mission. There are a bunch of side activities and other fun stuff you can just mess around with. Meanwhile, other (and more recent) GTA games are busy with serious stories and serious characters and realism and BORING!!!No other GTA game can beat GTA San Andreas! It has the most replayability, provides the most fun (jet packs!!!) and you can do much more than just drive from mission to mission. There are a bunch of side activities and other fun stuff you can just mess around with. Meanwhile, other (and more recent) GTA games are busy with serious stories and serious characters and realism and BORING!!! The graphics aren't great and I find the PC controls to be a bit weird but the fun is still there! 7/10. Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    I've played the game since it came out and here I am deciding to finally review it in 2013. Though the PC version gets a 7 from me, the PS2 version gets a 9. What's not to love about San Andreas? You get all types of missions and side-missions, a huge world to explore, a very good story and downright excellent characters. As a bonus, you also get the RPG elements that spice up the gameplayI've played the game since it came out and here I am deciding to finally review it in 2013. Though the PC version gets a 7 from me, the PS2 version gets a 9. What's not to love about San Andreas? You get all types of missions and side-missions, a huge world to explore, a very good story and downright excellent characters. As a bonus, you also get the RPG elements that spice up the gameplay and really help you out in the long run, such as having longer periods of running/swimming, weapon dual-wielding and building up an NPC gang that can follow you wherever. It's a gamer's wet dream. Alright, now onto the downsides. The PC port is pretty bad. I'm not complaining about graphics being improved or anything for the PC, but Rockstar always gets lazy when it comes to PC ports. Look at GTA IV for example. The in-game settings don't stay the same every time you launch the game. You have to disable/enable the "Frame Limiter" option just to get certain game elements to work - and things like that usually make me quit playing a game outright and forever, but this game redeems that with the tons of positives. Apart from the PC issues, you're gonna come across those moments where a mission is insanely too hard or the AI doesn't work the way it should and it screws you in the end somehow. These are the same things you encounter in the previous games like Vice City and GTA III. Do these things break the game entirely? Not really. But can these things frustrate you greatly? Yes, very much so. Overall, if you're an old time gamer or a person just becoming a gamer, play this game. Just do it. Oh, and guess what? This game has two multiplayer mods known as San Andreas Multiplayer and Multi Theft Auto where up to 100 players can play on the same world. Be sure to play that too. Yes, both of those multiplayers are still being played. Expand
  3. May 18, 2013
    5
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, considered to be the best Grand Theft Auto game ever by many people, disappointed me completely. First of all, the first cut scenes were good until the "Drive By" scene came up. It was hilarious, in a bad sort of way. I got on the bike and noticed how bad the controls were for PC. Like seriously, it seems like Rockstar looked at the PC port and said "Let'sGrand Theft Auto: San Andreas, considered to be the best Grand Theft Auto game ever by many people, disappointed me completely. First of all, the first cut scenes were good until the "Drive By" scene came up. It was hilarious, in a bad sort of way. I got on the bike and noticed how bad the controls were for PC. Like seriously, it seems like Rockstar looked at the PC port and said "Let's put Inverted steering with a mouse, and whatever because PC gamers are fancy. The graphics are what you would expect from a 2005 game. "The gameplay is more important than the graphics" is certainly true...... but the graphics are so bad they'll take away from the experience. Overall, if you're looking at reviews and deciding whether to buy the game or not, please don't make the mistake I made. Other games such as Sleeping Dogs are way better. Expand
  4. Kaneelschep
    Apr 24, 2006
    6
    Got the pc version. The controls absolutely suck big time. How could they think of it.. steering with the mouse? yeah sure.. it just makes you hit shit when firing or braking with it. flying a modell airplane is just not done. driving a motorbike is so frustrating with all the shit that you can and will hit. all it gives me is hartproblems. especially missions were you have to shoot guys Got the pc version. The controls absolutely suck big time. How could they think of it.. steering with the mouse? yeah sure.. it just makes you hit shit when firing or braking with it. flying a modell airplane is just not done. driving a motorbike is so frustrating with all the shit that you can and will hit. all it gives me is hartproblems. especially missions were you have to shoot guys off bikes. I empty guns on then and nothing happens. and smash into everything. Every time I want to give it another chance but I end up almost smashing my keyboard shouting I will never play it again. Do love the hugeness of it. and really want to play it. though I will probably not anymore out of frustration. such a let down after vice city wich I loved. Expand
  5. Czar
    Jun 13, 2005
    5
    Camera control is really hard and frustrating. Cannot save where ever. Illogical events. You hit a guy walking with his mate and the mate doesn't even notice. The enemy fires at me and then the cops arrest me rather than the guy doing the shooting. Heaps of work has gone into this game but I really don't like it.
  6. SgtSausage
    Jul 10, 2005
    5
    I've sampled this game on PC. While overall it is indeed fun, it does suffer from the hasty control adaptations that seem to be common in PC games adapted from the game console environment. Those purchasing the PC version should be aware that control adaptions to a keyboard and mouse input environment fall short in this case. Severe shortcomings may greatly hinder progress when I've sampled this game on PC. While overall it is indeed fun, it does suffer from the hasty control adaptations that seem to be common in PC games adapted from the game console environment. Those purchasing the PC version should be aware that control adaptions to a keyboard and mouse input environment fall short in this case. Severe shortcomings may greatly hinder progress when controlling some vehicles in certain missions. Unless money is no object, I suggest purchasing the game at a deep discount if possible, or you may net feel you had gotten your money's worth. Expand
  7. GiancarloB.
    Sep 26, 2005
    7
    OK game. could have been beter and theres nothing really else to say. the story lacked a baic plot but it makes up in the great fun driving around the city blowing things up theme.
  8. CaptainH.
    Aug 14, 2005
    5
    Such a let down!
  9. Pamela&Lynn
    Oct 23, 2006
    5
    I like the GTA series. I've passed the game on PS2 and PC.I've had no problems on PS2 but on computer there has been a slight sound problem. My sound won't play while raining.I've tried everything but nuttin' worked.I bought a new hardware and installed a new windows... I can't seem to fix the problem.
  10. AnonymousMC
    Jul 28, 2007
    6
    Graphics are not the best but with such a large city you just have to cut down on certain things.
    The storyline is pretty cool and fun.
    It starts pretty easy and fun but some missions that comes later was horribly hard.
    So unless you are a hardcore gamer on GTA then you are gonna need a trainer in those upcoming missions.
    Otherwise it has gameplay variety which is great.
  11. Apr 14, 2013
    7
    Este juego capaz no sea mejor que su antecesor Grand Theft Auto Vice City (por lo menos para mi), pero posee mas libertad que los juegos anteriores, una buena historia (aunque tiene bastantes misiones innecesarias) y los personajes tienen un excelente voice acting. Los gráficos para la época no eran tal vez la gran cosa, pero la gran cantidad de contenido que tiene este juego esEste juego capaz no sea mejor que su antecesor Grand Theft Auto Vice City (por lo menos para mi), pero posee mas libertad que los juegos anteriores, una buena historia (aunque tiene bastantes misiones innecesarias) y los personajes tienen un excelente voice acting. Los gráficos para la época no eran tal vez la gran cosa, pero la gran cantidad de contenido que tiene este juego es impresionante, lo que cuesta de tiempo completarlo al 100% es bastante, aunque el sonido no esta tan bien desarrollado que digamos, los disparos parecen pedos por alguna razón, pero no importa, el juego lo recomiendo bastante y se divertirán mucho con esta entrega. Expand
  12. Apr 4, 2014
    6
    yes the graphics need alot of work but i kinda like it . expects no good strippers in the game . play Gta 4 instead peace
    Grade B+
    ......................................................................
  13. May 27, 2014
    7
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is a great game. Even still in 2014 with IV and V out. But the game is filled with game breaking glitches, poor aiming, poor graphics/character models (even though that the game is 10 years old) and lots of features that are unfortunately useless.
  14. Mar 23, 2015
    7
    If you like GTA, it is worth the investment. I use to love GTA games when I was younger. Now though, I am more of a dark souls genre addict. If you are looking for a super easy game that takes little tact do it up. It is classic GTA, not much more to say about it.
  15. ChristianH.
    May 9, 2009
    7
    The good parts of SA are the most of the missions, the excellent world, the great animations (not counting the extremely ugly graphics), the soundtrack and the voice actors which are making this game favourable, if there weren't many aspects that prevent this game to be one of the greatest of all time. These aspects are: The graphics are riddiculously and unbelievably ugly, for 2005, The good parts of SA are the most of the missions, the excellent world, the great animations (not counting the extremely ugly graphics), the soundtrack and the voice actors which are making this game favourable, if there weren't many aspects that prevent this game to be one of the greatest of all time. These aspects are: The graphics are riddiculously and unbelievably ugly, for 2005, and the graphics are soo dorky awkward programmed that it WILL stutter even today on an extremely decent machine where I get on everything turned up max. 50 FPS (without Frame Limiting). This states that it was a very rushed PS2-to-PC conversion. IF done well, this could have been prevented. Next are the vehicles. While I do like the driving behaviour of some vehicles, most vehicles drive so awkward and unresponsive that I would almost threw one keyboard/gamepad after each other against my wall since the controls are so poorly executed that sometimes you get, combined with terrible collision detection, you hit the very very near edge of a stone and will get flipped over, ruining everything. Same goes for the flying controls which I think most people agree, are completely a pain in the ass. At the flying school missions, after days of getting nothing right, I quit the game there and never got any further than that in the game because of the controls. Also the game consists of many components (dining, training, RPG-system) which on the first look looks impressive, but being in the game for some 10,20 hours they appear poorly executed and could aswell be left out without the player missing anything. Someone was not thinking completely to the end here, especially the RPG-system which feels unnecessary as it is in the game, Rockstar didn't even try to implement it well. As for the conclusion this is very close a good game, but many aspects where ruined and all partially ruined aspects add up to the point that prevents the game from being one of the best games of all time. But the extremely great animations combined with the brilliant voice actors and the great soundtrack make me to some point ignore the game's flaws as stated above. Expand
  16. ScottT.
    Jun 7, 2005
    7
    Though the game is great so far. I have already found that the game crashes my system. When it happens the system reboots itself. I bought the game today and it has crashed the pc twice now.
  17. GogiV.
    Jul 31, 2006
    7
    Some guys here are saying that ATMOSPHERE was better in Vice City than in SA. It's because Vice City is placed in the 80s. That's the only reason. 80s music has catchy melodies, which make people relaxed, there is 80s feel everywhere in VC. SA is hybrid. Mixure of new age and transition from the 80s to 90s.
  18. ShaneK.
    Jan 28, 2006
    5
    The game is fun, but its impossible to control the aircraft, so you cant beat the game.
  19. PukenD.
    Jun 21, 2005
    5
    Controls suck bigtime. Graphics not quite PC standards. I give it a 10 in frustration.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Kudos to Rockstar for actually including gamepad support for the PC!!
  2. It will surely take up hundreds of hours to even the most casual of gamers.
  3. It is the perfect crime game.