Grim Dawn PC

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 481 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 481
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 26, 2016
    10
    Grim Dawn is a theorycrafter's paradise, and the first ARPG that has truly allowed me to live, and even surpass the feelings I had playing Diablo 2 as a kid. It is, in my opinion, the best ARPG I have played.

    About me: I have played and beaten every ARPG known to man since Diablo. Diablo 2 was my favorite of the genre, and I spent the next decade+ searching for a game that would evoke
    Grim Dawn is a theorycrafter's paradise, and the first ARPG that has truly allowed me to live, and even surpass the feelings I had playing Diablo 2 as a kid. It is, in my opinion, the best ARPG I have played.

    About me: I have played and beaten every ARPG known to man since Diablo. Diablo 2 was my favorite of the genre, and I spent the next decade+ searching for a game that would evoke even more fun and joy while playing. I played all the mainstream games, all the indie games, and even some foreign titles in languages I could not understand in the hopes of finding a game with satisfying combat, interesting loot, great atmosphere, and amazing build diversity. I even ended up playing a bunch of short Flash based ARPG's in my darkest hours of desperation. I've beta-tested plenty of games, and even impacted a few. I haven't reviewed a game since Torchlight 2 (I regret giving it a 10, it's more like an 8 in comparison to Grim Dawn, as it's itemization lacked flavor and it's diversity was shallower than I realized) So Grim dawn is the first game I'll be reviewing in 2.5 years, as it has earned it.

    When I stumbled upon Grim Dawn I was intrigued, especially when I saw it's lead designer, Arthur Bruno, was also a leader in the development of Titan Quest (which fell short in a lot of ways but was the closest I had gotten, I loved the variety of items in that game and the dual class system). As I read up on him, and his posts, it occurred to me that he was the most articulate and intelligent mind I've ever come across when it came to designing ARPG's, and what made them so fun, and so difficult to get right. I originally pirated a version of the beta (build 13), then caved and bought early access around build 17. Each build was so significantly better than the last that I was floored by how such a small team could make such efficient progress. Slowly and slowly the feeling got better until around B21 when I realized it happened: I felt the drug-like Diablo 2 cravings become satiated for the first time in over a decade. Needless to say, they've made a fan of me. As for the review:

    Let's go over the basics:
    Music: 9 - Atmospheric, moody, grim. Fits the theme of the game, and at no times is tiresome. I only wish they had more songs in their soundtrack.
    Sound: 8 - Usually satisfying and fitting, but there are some spells and attacks that get annoying to hear. Forgivable as we all have our opinions, and they're a small team.
    General Combat: 10 - Meaty, corpses flying, enemies flinching and wailing as they die. Tons of variety and ways to make your foes cease to exist.
    Gameplay: 10 - Will go into this below
    Fun: 10 - Ditto

    I cannot summarize why I love Grim Dawn, as I love so many parts of it, but before I try to consider that this is a game originally made by like 2 full time employees and a few part-timers (eventually expanded to a full-time team of 10 people). It was kick-started by people who saw the potential of what Titan Quest could have been, and who were tired of Diablo-Clones failing to live up to the originals. Medierra (lead designer) and his team have on all accounts succeeded.

    An hack and slash that actually has a combat system with depth. It is a game with someone to offer every ARPG player. Whether you want to be a summoner, a massive area of effect spell caster, a dual wielder, a tank, a supporter, a ranged dps, or any combo of the above, you can do so in Grim Dawn... with style!

    Every skill in the game feels distinct in it's flavor, and with a devotion tree reminiscent of Path of Exile, yet very different, and items that can enhance an insane variety of your combat abilities, let alone grant you new skills and procs that you could build around. The higher difficulties you unlock are challenging but fair, and instead of just having a damned stat-wall (a numerical value your character must reach in it's stats before being able to reasonably progress) as many ARPG's opt for, Grim Dawn actual has some mechanical difficulty in it's fights, especially bosses. You will do best once you learn their abilities and how to play around them.

    The game is addictive to say the least. If there was anything it had that might put players off, it would be that there is so much going on in the combat formulas and stats available, that it might overwhelm less experience players.

    Do NOT let this stop you from trying this title. The best thing you can do to learn what means what, is jump in and experiment, and the players on the forum are more than happy to explain features and stats to you. Get past level 30 (out of 85) and you will see the game open up unlike any other you've played previously, and truly start to understand the scope of build customization available.

    My name is also adoomgod on steam, please feel free to add me to ask questions about GD, ARPG's in general, or for help building your character(s). GD is a game you will want to beat more than once, see you soon. :)
    Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    I just don't know how to properly describe the awesomeness that Grim dawn is.
    I think I will just cry from pure happiness. Even after I played it 300h
    Ok I'm off to play Grim dawn, bye.
  3. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    Blizzard has a LOT to learn from the developers of Grim Dawn. Massively entertaining with depth that surpasses any ARPG in existence. I have been waiting for this game to be released over the years and I'm so very happy to see that it's released and it's beautiful. A must buy.
  4. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    I've played thousands of hours in d3, plus many more of d2, titan quest, d1, dao, some POE... and many many more back in the old days of crpg games like bg1, bg2, pool of radiance, nwn, nwn2, you name it and I've played it. And Grim Dawn is right up there with the best of them. The action, the combat, the itemization, the replayability...everything about the game is just top notch.I've played thousands of hours in d3, plus many more of d2, titan quest, d1, dao, some POE... and many many more back in the old days of crpg games like bg1, bg2, pool of radiance, nwn, nwn2, you name it and I've played it. And Grim Dawn is right up there with the best of them. The action, the combat, the itemization, the replayability...everything about the game is just top notch.

    If you liked any of the games that I mentioned above, then GD is a must have for your collection.
    Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2016
    10
    Excellent game! This game really satisfy my hunger for ARPG. The last time that I get addicted this much to video games is during the Diablo 2 LOD days followed by Titan Quest Immortal throne. I can definitely say that Grim Dawn really fills the void left by Diablo 2 and Titan Quest.. Kudos to Crate Entertainment. Please keep it up!

    If your are contemplating about buying this game,
    Excellent game! This game really satisfy my hunger for ARPG. The last time that I get addicted this much to video games is during the Diablo 2 LOD days followed by Titan Quest Immortal throne. I can definitely say that Grim Dawn really fills the void left by Diablo 2 and Titan Quest.. Kudos to Crate Entertainment. Please keep it up!

    If your are contemplating about buying this game, please buy this game. It is well worth your money.
    Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2016
    9
    TQ on steroids and... pure single-player arpg awesomeness.

    We haven't had that feeling here since... 2001.

    You love the "old-school" aprgs? Buy yourself the GD... you won't regret it :)

    -1 point for a bit clunky multiplayer experience.
  7. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    The game is a remarkable example of what can be accomplished by a small, dedicated team of developers. I was (still am) a long-time Titan Quest: Immortal Throne fiend. So when I heard some of the developers from that game were developing a new aRPG I was immediately on-board.

    I was an early backer (2010), then Kickstarter backer, and have purchased the game for a few friends. It has
    The game is a remarkable example of what can be accomplished by a small, dedicated team of developers. I was (still am) a long-time Titan Quest: Immortal Throne fiend. So when I heard some of the developers from that game were developing a new aRPG I was immediately on-board.

    I was an early backer (2010), then Kickstarter backer, and have purchased the game for a few friends. It has more than lived up to the hype and exceeded all expectations. I played nearly 400 hours while it was in beta alone, and can't wait to actually, really start playing the game now that it is in full release.

    It has all the best elements of an old-school aRPG game, with some new mechanics to keep it fresh. The environment/climate is interesting, the classes are fairly archetypal but with a fresh spin, and the hunt for loot keeps you hungry for progression.

    The story is interesting and there is enough to keep those interested immersed. The graphics are very good - not amazing, but authentic for the type of game. Not cartoonish at all. The pace is great and there's enough play diversity to offer plenty of replayability. It's a great mix of challenge and depth.

    I recommend this game highly. I've only played as single player, but the game does offer co-op mulitplayer via local server connections (like Titan Quest - no online servers, yay)!

    PS - really looking forward to expansion AND the modding community once the game settles in.
    Expand
  8. Mar 2, 2016
    10
    Played the Alpha for the last year - and watching how the devs constantly updated the game, engaged with the community makes this game all the more sweeter; It has that classic ARPG style that gives your nostalgia a nice nod and really has that grittiness that we loved in the D1/D2 games.
    The perfect indie game in my opinion
  9. Mar 3, 2016
    10
    Grim Dawn

    This Game is what people were wishing for when Diablo 3 came out, this game is a instant classic in the area where aRPG's have kind of suffered in an era of half finished games pushing the remaining portion as DLC. The environment is dark and twisted starting from the beginning area where the roads are littered with bodies and blood to later on when much of the effects are
    Grim Dawn

    This Game is what people were wishing for when Diablo 3 came out, this game is a instant classic in the area where aRPG's have kind of suffered in an era of half finished games pushing the remaining portion as DLC.

    The environment is dark and twisted starting from the beginning area where the roads are littered with bodies and blood to later on when much of the effects are similar in the dark category, the enemies are not original but they are not over done at the same time ie zombies of different types, different types of hounds and things of that nature but as I said before it is not over done.

    Similar to Diablo this game is a quest for gear as you roam and kill everything in sight your constantly waiting for that better weapon to drop, its also (similar to diablo) a dungeon crawler which isn't a bad thing after Diablo 3 aRPG fans needed something that wasn't diablo but played similar but managed to still be new and fun and Grim Dawn is just that.

    Grim Dawn also has full controller support and its actually not horrible however it is a little different than what may be expected and have the need for a quick Google and familiarization with, if you want to know how to fully operate every aspect of the game from the controller support. however none the less the controller support is nice.

    Summary; Grim Dawn is an aRPG that classic and new fans of the genre will love all the same. the environment is awesome and the enemies while recycled still feel new or just don't feel old, make that decision for yourself, the controller support while it can be kinda strange for the first 5 minutes is really nice I give Grim Dawn a 10/10 when it comes to an aRPG.
    Expand
  10. Mar 4, 2016
    10
    This is THE ARPG to play. Challenging Fast paced and combat, skills loot are all simply superb. Been watching and playing it as it was developed, it is everything i wanted Diablo 3 to be and more. Played every ARPG since the original Diablo and only Grin Dawn gets it right. RIP Diablo 3 long live grim Dawn!
  11. Mar 7, 2016
    10
    I have been playing Grim Dawn for quite a while now and even well before it was released it offered a smooth experience. I think the team took the best parts of Titan Quest and Diablo 2 and created a game Diablo 3 should have been. So if you were left somewhat disappointed by D3 and are yearning for a Diablo experience, look no further. Grim Dawn is the bee's knees. Immersive campaign,I have been playing Grim Dawn for quite a while now and even well before it was released it offered a smooth experience. I think the team took the best parts of Titan Quest and Diablo 2 and created a game Diablo 3 should have been. So if you were left somewhat disappointed by D3 and are yearning for a Diablo experience, look no further. Grim Dawn is the bee's knees. Immersive campaign, demonic atmosphere, great looking graphics and audio, a proper skill tree with two specializations provide a seemingly endless number of combinations, especially with the Devotion system and unique Legendary items. Expand
  12. Mar 12, 2016
    10
    This is what Diablo 3 should have been. It does everything right. Way more depth than Diablo 3 but not quite as complicated as PoE. Perfect aRPG. 11/10
  13. Mar 5, 2016
    10
    Grim Dawn has joined my Trinity of favorite ARPG's alongside Diablo II and Path Of Exile. The game is fast paced and action packed. There is never a slow, dull, or boring moment with plenty of content from the the Main Quest Line to numerous side quests. The Main Story line will immediately immerse you into the Grim Dawn world, the quests are well developed and fun. In addition to theGrim Dawn has joined my Trinity of favorite ARPG's alongside Diablo II and Path Of Exile. The game is fast paced and action packed. There is never a slow, dull, or boring moment with plenty of content from the the Main Quest Line to numerous side quests. The Main Story line will immediately immerse you into the Grim Dawn world, the quests are well developed and fun. In addition to the main and side questing there is a wonderful faction system. There are several factions with their own interests in the Grim Dawn world as you develop reputation with them they will offer special faction related bounty quests. The character class customization is one of the best, the system allows for dual classing which creates a hybrid class, this allows for a multitude of build designs, and the recently introduced devotion system adds yet another level of customization by way of 82 constellations each with 3 to 8 stars (a total of 434) which you can devote and attune to. Each star has its own attributes, benefits and some have special skills that are granted. The game has a robust crafting system and it is always a rush when you discover a rare blueprint for an item. The lore in this game is deep and immersive, if you like discovering notes in remote places that explain the history of the world and the events that led up to the Grim Dawn you will love this game. Crate has already announced they will continue to support the game and are already working on a future expansion. It also appears there will be Mod'ing options available in the future. Overall great game designed by a great indie developer that listens and cares about their community. Oh, and there are a lot of intelligent human Mobs to kill in Grim Dawn (wink wink Crate). Expand
  14. Mar 11, 2016
    9
    Very addicting. Combat is rewarding and satisfying, items are very good and varied, and build are lots and mixed. Great value. Favorite action rpg since Diablo 2.
  15. ave
    May 16, 2016
    8
    One thing I really like in ARPGs is when you could play a "Pet Master" - simply summoning and directing your own wild bunch to take care of business while enjoying the scenery and hunting treasures. Grim Dawn is no stranger to that and it's a blast.

    I got the game in early access, so I had plenty of time to try out the classes, their flavor and several mix of them (a nice reminder of
    One thing I really like in ARPGs is when you could play a "Pet Master" - simply summoning and directing your own wild bunch to take care of business while enjoying the scenery and hunting treasures. Grim Dawn is no stranger to that and it's a blast.

    I got the game in early access, so I had plenty of time to try out the classes, their flavor and several mix of them (a nice reminder of Titan Quest, that is still one of my favorite game).

    And once the game was finally released, it came with a new class, the Shaman, that just perfectly complement the Occultist to suit my shameless laid-back * style of play.

    So, if you want to give it a try, here are the foundations : start with the Occultist and develop the Familiar and Hellhound branches ; when you reach level 10, jump to the Shaman and go for the Briarthorn branch. You can complement these three with one or two other skills you might find useful or enjoyable. For the devotions, start with Shepherd's Crook.

    The balance between "class" and "skill" levels is up to you. On my own, I usually spend 2 points in the Class (for character stats) and 1 point a Skill ; and sometimes saving points for later. But with the Spirit Guide that can help you re-spec your skills, you can do as you please.

    What you will do most of the time is send your creatures to scout places and eventually attract or attack foes. So bind a key with Pet Attack and be sure that at least Hellhound then Briarthorn are set to Aggressive. What you choose to do with you character (close combat, ranged combat...) is up to you since it matters only 5 to 10% of the time ; you really can experiment here with any combination of weapons, armors and components.

    Nevertheless, since no "build" is made perfect, you might encounter some resistance with "infuriated" enemies than can steal a percentage of your pets' health (thus creating a stasis in combat) ; and of course, champions and bosses - not mentioning, champions that can summon infuriated creatures.

    * Some might say that this style of play is not very ARPG-y since you don't have to frantically click your mouse to hit enemies like in the good old days, but merely give orders to your faithful minions to carry on the good word. Well, since I've been playing ARPGs since Diablo, I consider this style of play a well deserved treat.
    Expand
  16. May 25, 2016
    10
    After playing 300+ hours I finally feel ready to write short review. First, I think those who say that GD is just another Titan's Quest are totally wrong. Those people didn't play the game or played it not enough to see the difference. GD has much much more options to develop your character, you just don't see it at first glance. There are no OP skills, every skill is good when rightlyAfter playing 300+ hours I finally feel ready to write short review. First, I think those who say that GD is just another Titan's Quest are totally wrong. Those people didn't play the game or played it not enough to see the difference. GD has much much more options to develop your character, you just don't see it at first glance. There are no OP skills, every skill is good when rightly supported and implemented. Add in devotion tree and you have almost unlimited number of creativity choices. Along with huge variety of equipment/potions/relics improvements this what makes this game great. Expand
  17. Aug 2, 2016
    8
    Very addictive and what Diablo 3 should have been. This does everything right and has more depth than Diablo 3. Very good value and the best RPG around.
  18. Mar 7, 2016
    9
    This game is FANTASTIC-
    I havent had as much enjoyment in this genre since Path of Exile. (1000+hrs) One thing that I really appreciate is the feeling of weight to the characters attacks. Graphics are great sound is superb, music is eriely haunting...
    I think the dual class thing is a cool idea but I would have appreciated a little more info going in etc and I wound up a "trickster"
    This game is FANTASTIC-
    I havent had as much enjoyment in this genre since Path of Exile. (1000+hrs) One thing that I really appreciate is the feeling of weight to the characters attacks. Graphics are great sound is superb, music is eriely haunting...
    I think the dual class thing is a cool idea but I would have appreciated a little more info going in etc and I wound up a "trickster" however I find myself almost completelty spending points in shaman currently. If theres a way to change my second class that would be great- I do like that you buy back your skillpoints at least.
    I am current playing on a 4k DCI display and my only gripe there is that I wish I could scale the UI just about 50% more. Still kinda hard to see-

    I am really digging the moody grim look and the way you can reclaim your death for an exp refund... nice way to not feel as crummy when you die.
    I HIGHLY recommened playing on Veteran etc... on NOrm I was just way too overpowered and wasnt really feeling challenged, that being said I feel veteran is much more appropraite challenge wise.
    The Devs CLEARLY tried to make us an excellent game and the hard work in that regard is evident here.

    You cant go wrong with Grim Dawn, dont wait for a steam sale- buy it now if your looking for some satisfying Diablo-esque loot collecting fun.

    9/10 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    *I avoided playing this game til its offical release so my opinion is based solely on the available game. I had some issues installing and graphic glitches but I was helped very swiftly by the steam community and dev responses.
    Expand
  19. Aug 6, 2016
    9
    Even that i am not diablo 3 hater, i must say this game is what diablo 3 shoud have been. A game from makers of titan quest and i must say Titan quest was great ARPG, grim dawn is better in every way. Not sure if this is best ARPG ever made (Diablo 2 is wery hard candidate even to day), but it is really close for sure if not even better.
  20. Apr 27, 2016
    10
    One of the best if not the best RPG game since Diablo 2. I think many were waiting for game like this which brings back that feeling which real RPG games used to have.
  21. May 2, 2016
    8
    This game is pretty darn good. The only thing that really held it back from being a Diablo killer was not having procedural dungeons and creatures. Too bad, but maybe next time. Still, a great game though.
  22. Mar 29, 2016
    10
    Best RPG hack and slash game since Diablo II in my opinion.....

    Grim Dawn is a great game that makes time fly by as you go from a quest to the next in a beautifully designed semi-Victorian environment. Everything about this game is well thought out and designed. Especially considering that it's the product of a small team of developers. I especially like the character builds and
    Best RPG hack and slash game since Diablo II in my opinion.....

    Grim Dawn is a great game that makes time fly by as you go from a quest to the next in a beautifully designed semi-Victorian environment. Everything about this game is well thought out and designed. Especially considering that it's the product of a small team of developers.

    I especially like the character builds and customization. Not too complicated like Path of Exile, so you don't have to spend hours planning your build in front of a huge skill tree, and not too simplified like Diablo 3.

    I haven't tried multi player yet, but I love everything about this game so far 10/10
    Expand
  23. May 3, 2016
    10
    This game is good, nice concept of post war apocalypse against another race, an okay combat system, great class system. But this game has flaws, stories are not engaging enough, the world seems small and thus needs to be greatly expanded, difficulty scaling needs consistency(the final boss spams doom bolt several times in ultimate difficulty), more character customization, etc. OverallThis game is good, nice concept of post war apocalypse against another race, an okay combat system, great class system. But this game has flaws, stories are not engaging enough, the world seems small and thus needs to be greatly expanded, difficulty scaling needs consistency(the final boss spams doom bolt several times in ultimate difficulty), more character customization, etc. Overall this is a good work on a game sized only 2.8 GB. Expand
  24. May 4, 2016
    9
    Grim Dawn is a real alternative to D3, if you don´t like the latter, or didn´t cope with the skil system of PoE.
    Don´t expect Cinematics, for those go to Marvel Heroes :-)
    As a single player ARPG I would recommend it for peole,who liked "Diablo 2", "Sacred" and "Titan Quest". Multiplayer is a bit tricky, if you´re not playing via Steam, and even then you only see "Steamfriends" .
    Grim Dawn is a real alternative to D3, if you don´t like the latter, or didn´t cope with the skil system of PoE.
    Don´t expect Cinematics, for those go to Marvel Heroes :-)
    As a single player ARPG I would recommend it for peole,who liked "Diablo 2", "Sacred" and "Titan Quest".
    Multiplayer is a bit tricky, if you´re not playing via Steam, and even then you only see "Steamfriends" .

    Flaws and bugs are minimal.

    rate A from me

    A+ missed for missing easy Multiplayer player finding process

    WARNING: ADDICTIVE ;-)
    Expand
  25. Aug 14, 2016
    8
    I'll make this short and sweet. If you're a diablo fan you will like this game, you may not love it, but in my opinion it is better than diablo 3 AND for a fraction of the price (25 dollars currently). If you're not a diablo fan, great, you have no expectations and will likely enjoy this game. For the price, the game play and the replay ability it is a solid game that deserves your timeI'll make this short and sweet. If you're a diablo fan you will like this game, you may not love it, but in my opinion it is better than diablo 3 AND for a fraction of the price (25 dollars currently). If you're not a diablo fan, great, you have no expectations and will likely enjoy this game. For the price, the game play and the replay ability it is a solid game that deserves your time and your money. Expand
  26. Aug 16, 2016
    10
    A vast handmade world where each inch feels unique with its own environment, sometimes I stop on an abandoned farm only to see the beautiful sunset... I remember that was easy to start but hard to leave once I was progressing, discovering, crafting, building, is similar to Path of Exile but also is a full game that can be played offline and with mod support could be endless.
  27. Aug 21, 2016
    9
    This modern Action RPG is quite something. It aims for longevity both in terms of content updates and build and skill system depth, not the least from the innovative dual-mastery system reminding me of D&D of years past, giving rise to no less than 15 (!) different classes. For example, a Nightblade/Soldier becomes a Blademaster. This doesn't overwhelm though. The developer has managed toThis modern Action RPG is quite something. It aims for longevity both in terms of content updates and build and skill system depth, not the least from the innovative dual-mastery system reminding me of D&D of years past, giving rise to no less than 15 (!) different classes. For example, a Nightblade/Soldier becomes a Blademaster. This doesn't overwhelm though. The developer has managed to create something deep and complex, yet with a welcoming surface to lure you into the wonders of theorycrafting.

    The style is a steampunk, gritty atmosphere that feels adult. Comparing this to the obvious game Diablo 3, Diablo 3 feels a bit like an action movie with huge explosions where this plays more like The Walking Dead as you step out to roam the abandoned towns in the post-apocalyptic surroundings, with rarely seen graphical detail. I read diaries to try to understand, I wade through zombies and worse, and I try to make the best out of of a grim situation indeed.

    There is also an air of roguelike gaming surrounding this game, made even more evident from developer posts directly referring roguelikes, and certain end-game content. I have never heard of such references from an Action RPG developer since Diablo 1! It's great to see the developer recognize the genre's roots and bring out the fun of those games in this grim packaging of metal, wood, occultism, sweat, and blood.

    Further making this game unique among its peers is that the single player mode can be paused! Unbeatable support for quick, urgent breaks if someone is calling for your attention in real life. It also comes with mod support to expand its longevity. Both features rarely seen today because they are incompatible with heavy online dependency, something this game supports but does not require. These special features completes this game's certain spirit. A spirit I have not felt since a long time indeed.
    Expand
  28. Feb 26, 2016
    10
    By far my favorite ARPG I've played since Diablo 2. I've had a craving for years for something fresh that borrowed as much as possible from Diablo 2 and implemented it well and Grim Dawn hits an absolute home run in that department. I enjoyed Diablo 3 and sunk a ton of hours into it, but man does Grim Dawn feel like what Diablo 3 should have been. It's that good. It's like everything TitanBy far my favorite ARPG I've played since Diablo 2. I've had a craving for years for something fresh that borrowed as much as possible from Diablo 2 and implemented it well and Grim Dawn hits an absolute home run in that department. I enjoyed Diablo 3 and sunk a ton of hours into it, but man does Grim Dawn feel like what Diablo 3 should have been. It's that good. It's like everything Titan Quest and Diablo 2 did well had a baby and this is our result.

    I've been a supporter since 2012 and playing on and off since well before the game ever hit Steam Early Access and man... it's incredible how far this game has come.

    If you're a Diablo fan of any sort and wasted away who knows how many hours of your youth on Diablo 1 and 2, do yourself a favor and pick this game up. Even at the full price of $25 it's an absolute steal.

    10/10
    Expand
  29. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    Okay, of course it's not a 10/10, no game is this perfect.
    But it is the best in genre currently, for me.
    Main entertaining point is HUGE variety of skills, gear, stat tweaks and various game-changing mechanics, resulting in very long playtime (300 hours in, will play for much more). There is possibly little "endgame", but I never was a fan of that. As soon as I feel that I have no
    Okay, of course it's not a 10/10, no game is this perfect.
    But it is the best in genre currently, for me.

    Main entertaining point is HUGE variety of skills, gear, stat tweaks and various game-changing mechanics, resulting in very long playtime (300 hours in, will play for much more).

    There is possibly little "endgame", but I never was a fan of that. As soon as I feel that I have no real challenge I roll a new char. Problem solved. Plus, there will be survival mode, coming shortly after release, that will give even the most overgeared characters decent challenge.

    My advice — if you love the "diablo-like" arpg genre, nay, if you even remotely like it — try GD out. You will very likely not be disappointed. Especially considering quite low asking price.

    Also, to be fair, I never tried multiplayer, so I can say nothing on that.
    Expand
  30. Feb 26, 2016
    10
    Great game! :) If You really like old school H&S You must play Grim Dawn !!! Big gratz for CRATE!
    Game have all You want from H&S. Great character control, ( stats, skills ) , dark/apocalyptic climat, very nice crafting and very good itemization.
  31. Feb 28, 2016
    10
    Probably the best aRPG since Diablo 2. Some the negative reviews seem to be focused on miner things such as poor animations or insulting devs or poor optimization. What apparently these people don't realize is how small the team is and how far the game really has come and will continue to improve.

    Theory crafting different builds in Grim Dawn is probably where the true allure lies, as
    Probably the best aRPG since Diablo 2. Some the negative reviews seem to be focused on miner things such as poor animations or insulting devs or poor optimization. What apparently these people don't realize is how small the team is and how far the game really has come and will continue to improve.

    Theory crafting different builds in Grim Dawn is probably where the true allure lies, as the loot is some of the most diverse and interesting loot in aRPG's. On top of combining two classes and complimenting your build with loot. You have the entire devotion system that gives you even further customization. What the game may lack in flashy skills (diablo 3) it makes up for with heart, soul, and a dedicated development team that regularly interacts with the community.

    This game is worth well more than the $25.00 price tag they are asking, I mean compare that to what you got on Diablo 3's release at $60.00. Do yourself a favor and support this small indie team! you won't regret it!
    Expand
  32. Mar 1, 2016
    10
    This is the best single player Arpg since Diablo 2, simple as that. The mecanics, many systems of the game that slowly grow on you, you have just to play it and dont judge from the first hours, but after normal difficult (the first playthorugh) you begin to understand what the game offers.

    Its different from PoE ( Path of Exile,other exeptional arpg) enough to convive with it, they
    This is the best single player Arpg since Diablo 2, simple as that. The mecanics, many systems of the game that slowly grow on you, you have just to play it and dont judge from the first hours, but after normal difficult (the first playthorugh) you begin to understand what the game offers.

    Its different from PoE ( Path of Exile,other exeptional arpg) enough to convive with it, they offer different thing. PoE is more for closed server features (ladders, leguague, economy/trading and so on). This one is more single player approach with modding capability, big open world, many dungeons and mobs, and so on.
    Different mecanics also but both very depth (maybe grim dawn in the mecanicas departament is a little better but its subjective, dont know).

    There 'is also Diablo 3, nice game, but dont have the depth of these two others arpg, just fluid combat and a short burst of fun, thats it. I dont consider it at the same level of GD and PoE. Too much arcade style.

    and..24 euros fot this? just 24 euros? joking? Its a robbery that we make to these developer i think, rise the price please (ehehe:D)

    Buy it, now, if you like real arpgs, nothing to add, really nothing to add:)
    Expand
  33. Mar 1, 2016
    10
    300hrs into it, old school arpg, plenty of content, quite difficult in ultimate, perfect for any kind of sessions (be that short/long). You can play offline, tons of replayability, decent class progression, i can see myself playing this for a very long time
    (of note that i also played: Diablo, Diablo 2, Diablo 3, Torchlight, Torchlight 2, Path of Exile, Titan Quest, Titan Quest Immortal
    300hrs into it, old school arpg, plenty of content, quite difficult in ultimate, perfect for any kind of sessions (be that short/long). You can play offline, tons of replayability, decent class progression, i can see myself playing this for a very long time
    (of note that i also played: Diablo, Diablo 2, Diablo 3, Torchlight, Torchlight 2, Path of Exile, Titan Quest, Titan Quest Immortal Throne)

    It is the successor of titan quest, but it does everything better :). I can say that i enjoy it more than Poe and at same level as I enjoyed Diablo 2. It surpasses all others listed above.
    Expand
  34. Mar 4, 2016
    10
    I normally dont write review for games because nowadays most of games dont even deserve the time expend writing one.

    But this game is different, its a true hardcore ARPG, has tons of features and complexity. So lets talk about the most important aspects of the game. Class System: Six classes in total and every character can pick two at the same time giving you a variety of gameplay,
    I normally dont write review for games because nowadays most of games dont even deserve the time expend writing one.

    But this game is different, its a true hardcore ARPG, has tons of features and complexity. So lets talk about the most important aspects of the game.

    Class System:
    Six classes in total and every character can pick two at the same time giving you a variety of gameplay, but it doesnt stop there, even though the game does not explain it to you every class can be sub-divided into specific roles.
    I consider every single one of the 6 total classes to have 3 sub-divisions, that gives us a total of 18 classes and an absurd number of possible combinations.
    Lets talk a bit about the Shaman class. Shaman, at its core, is a two-hand lightning damage melee character, calm down, it gets even more complex. The top of the Shaman skill tree is all about supporting his melee abilities, special moves while using two-hand weapons and a way to heal yourself in battle. The middle of the skill tree is where his mage-style abilities are, call for lightning strikes, a wind devil (hurricane), a totem that casts chain lightning, swarm of insects that eat your foes alive and vines to difficult their movement. The bottom of the tree are abilities that help you and your coops partners as well as a summon pet skill.
    You can clearly see the complexity of this system, and every class is like that, even the ones you could think are more straight foward, like the Soldier, with the Soldier class you also have the same type of: attacks, defenses, utility and magic. I cant even begin to describe the possible number of combinations. Even if 4 different people pick the same 2 classes they can end up being complete opposites not only on skills but also on play style.

    Devotions:
    If you thought the class system was complex enough you should think again. The Devotion system is a constellation/star maze attached to the skill system, every constellation has a set number of stars that gives you a variety of bonuses going from passive damage or defense to completely unique skills. You have a total of 50 points, thats no where near the total amount of places that you can invest in. Those devotions have a requirement and completion status that gives you points toward a certain affinity (Order, Chaos, etc) and more that you invest into a single affinity more powerful constellations you can unlock, but worry not, a well planned star path makes possible to pick a fair number of very interesting extras.
    The skills from this Devotions can be attached to any class skill, so imagine that you as a Shaman can call upon the lightning God and there is a chance that when the lightning hits the ground it will summon stone spikes imbue with poison. Yes, that is possible.
    The Devotions are a way to make you even more powerful and unique, covering the weaknesses of your character or enhancing your strong points even furthur, turning you into the ultimate tank or a true glass cannon.

    Factions:
    The game has 11 factions related to the lore of the world, 4 of those are enemies and 7 allies.
    As you kill monsters around the world your standing with enemy factions will become worst and worst, to the point they will start sending Nemesis to kill you. Nemesis are random bosses that can be encountered as you explore the world, they are very powerful but have a high Legendary or Epic loot drop chance. Also the enemy factions will increase the number of monster on the region, you will end up fighting armies of fiends.
    On the other hand the allied factions can be pleased by helping them dealing with situations, quest, doing bounty hunter and killing Hero enemies. As you favor with them increase you will gain access to exclusive loot, blueprints, and augments as well as discount on the shops of the place that the respective faction controls.

    Thats only a bit of what the game offers, I won't stretch myself too long talking about the multiplayer, blueprints, crafting, components, roguelike dungeons, world secrets, hidden locations and character attribute points. Everything that I tried to explain should give you a fairly good idea of what this game is about. Grim Dawn brings back the old ARPG style of gameplay where planning is necessary and the most powerful weapons are rare and exciting.

    I have absolute certainty that this game is worth the full price for bringing back the essence of a genre that was one day for the most strategic and smart players.
    Expand
  35. Feb 27, 2016
    10
    Worth full AAA price, not 20 only. Already 100+ hours in. Who loves Diablo 1, 2, titan quest... buy it immediately, you will love it. Fully recommended.
  36. Feb 25, 2016
    9
    It's like the creators went to the salvage yard, found the old and rusted remains of Diablo II, Titan Quest, and Fallout and thought "Hey, I remember these. You know what, I bet we could make something out of them." So they hauled them back to work shed, where they were carefully looked over and disassembled, then they began to draft new designs and tinker with the parts. As time passed,It's like the creators went to the salvage yard, found the old and rusted remains of Diablo II, Titan Quest, and Fallout and thought "Hey, I remember these. You know what, I bet we could make something out of them." So they hauled them back to work shed, where they were carefully looked over and disassembled, then they began to draft new designs and tinker with the parts. As time passed, what began as sort of a hobby turned into a real undertaking. And then a work of passion. Now, 6 years later, we are looking at the end result of that work, all new paint, polished up and ready to drive.

    So was the wait worth it? Hell yes it was. This game is a masterpiece. If you're a fan of ARPG's and don't have this yet. Buy it.

    Thank you Crate Entertainment. You have given us something truly special.
    Owlofsecrets
    Expand
  37. Feb 25, 2016
    9
    Where to begin? I kickstarted this game nearly from the moment I was able to afford it. The game is really good. It's quite a bit more indepth than D3 and PoE. Better crafting (though heavily dependent on RNG to a fault), better build options and more fun gameplay, though Diablo 3 has far better character animations than both PoE and GD. The performance is solid and the game runs well onWhere to begin? I kickstarted this game nearly from the moment I was able to afford it. The game is really good. It's quite a bit more indepth than D3 and PoE. Better crafting (though heavily dependent on RNG to a fault), better build options and more fun gameplay, though Diablo 3 has far better character animations than both PoE and GD. The performance is solid and the game runs well on even lower end machines with some quality downward adjustments. My biggest complaint about the game is how the difficulty ramps up far too quickly on Ultimate difficulty. The amount of farming for gear can lower morale for many who want to continue, and if your build isn't at the peak top of the hill list of best builds, you won't progress on Ultimate. Some balancing issues need to be taken care of, but the community is extremely friendly and helpful, and for the most part, so are the Devs. They are EXTREMELY responsive and attentive to the needs of the community, with the exception of a few acerbic and crass attitudes displayed towards paying customers. The community has a tight clique of players who tend to circle the wagons against what would be good feedback from players on occasion. If you like an excellent ARPG that harkens back to the old days of Diablo 2's playstyle and mehcanics, this is the game for you. I have logged over 1000 hours playing the game and for the most part, it has been rewarding. Now if only all the skill trees and stats could be balanced... Expand
  38. Feb 26, 2016
    10
    Well what can I say that hasn't already been said. I've played since build 13 years ago. I've got around 1.5K hours in it and I'm far from done. The build possibilities are just endless. The item hunt is top class.

    There is just so much to fall in love with. And to boot, there is so much more in the final release than what I thought possible during the development time. This is a
    Well what can I say that hasn't already been said. I've played since build 13 years ago. I've got around 1.5K hours in it and I'm far from done. The build possibilities are just endless. The item hunt is top class.

    There is just so much to fall in love with.

    And to boot, there is so much more in the final release than what I thought possible during the development time.

    This is a must get for any ARPG fan. Don't miss out on this one!
    Expand
  39. Feb 26, 2016
    10
    A really good ARPG. It reminds me a lot of D2 and I love the fact that it does not require an internet connection. I have spend already 173 hours on early access and now finally I can play it in full. A lot have change in the course of development and it really is one of the few EA games that really managed to pull it off. Congratulations Crate Entertainment ! Don't tun up into an evil corp. :D
  40. Feb 25, 2016
    9
    What's really admirable about GD is that it knows exactly what it is, and doesn't make a fool of itself pretending to be anything it knows it isn't.

    What is GD, that it knows it is? -GD is the rightful inheritor of the throne of loot-, stat-, and skill-rich grindy ARPGs previously tenanted by heavyweights like DII, Dungeon Siege and Titan Quest. What is GD NOT, that it knows it
    What's really admirable about GD is that it knows exactly what it is, and doesn't make a fool of itself pretending to be anything it knows it isn't.

    What is GD, that it knows it is?

    -GD is the rightful inheritor of the throne of loot-, stat-, and skill-rich grindy ARPGs previously tenanted by heavyweights like DII, Dungeon Siege and Titan Quest.

    What is GD NOT, that it knows it isn't?

    -GD is not your bestest friend, delivering buckets of loot tailored to your character's needs at the press of a button.
    -GD isn't a telescoping clowngasm arms race where your damage goes up a magnitude every 3 levels and the endboss has fleventy hundred billion HP.
    -GD is not a masterpiece of narrative and characterization.
    -GD is not the next generation of HD graphical brilliance.
    -GD is not a social phenomenon. GD does not come with the built-in ability to tweet your loot.
    -GD doesn't need your love. It doesn't care if you play 10 hours or 1000 hours. It doesn't desperately coerce you with dailies and promotional hats.
    -GD is not a moral agent. Cheat if you want. It might enhance your fun, it might ruin your fun. It's your risk to take.

    You might notice that the first list is a lot shorter than the second. That's because GD toes the line. It's got the formula down, it's got the chops. It's a terrific formula. This is the same formula that had me go sleepless for 3 night in a row at age 14 just giddily grinding to max level in DII so I could finally equip my Buriza and go nuts on the cow level. It's the same formula that compelled me to put in over 300 hours in Dungeon Siege and its sequel, hunting obscure loot just for sake of hunting it. This formula is solid. It's timeless.

    Either the formula speaks to you, or it doesn't. If it does, this is the game. It takes the torch last held by Titan Quest, polishes the everliving buttery daylights out of it, and takes off sprinting with it. You won't be disappointed.

    If the formula doesn't speak to you, that's fine. There are other games out there eager to hold your hand, give you presents, and sing and dance for you. You can even live tweet about it. Go crazy.
    Expand
  41. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    I literally made a metacritic account for this review...I just feel I owe it to give my say about this game.

    This is probably in my top 3 games of all time. It's hard to describe without actually playing it. The two class system is amazing. Combat is fluid, and really rewarding. Can't wait for the expansion
  42. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    I have been following Grim Dawn since before the Kickstarter, which launched on the 17th of April 2012. The game has seen many changes since then. We got the features they said we would plus more. There is real depth in the character customization with plenty of build options for all different play styles.

    Combine two of the currently available six classes to craft the character you
    I have been following Grim Dawn since before the Kickstarter, which launched on the 17th of April 2012. The game has seen many changes since then. We got the features they said we would plus more. There is real depth in the character customization with plenty of build options for all different play styles.

    Combine two of the currently available six classes to craft the character you want to play. Combine skills to create many synergies between any of the six.

    The Devotion system which was not something originally planned adds a really cool aspect of customization. Finding shrines in the world and restoring them grants points to devote to constellations with a huge variety of features; not just passive bonuses.

    Huge variety of gear in the way you would expect. In the true fashion of an ARPG you will find lots of bad gear. You will, however, find some gear you never want to get rid of, even though you eventually will. Some Rare, some Epic, and most Legendary gear will grant you new abilities to use; components, which you insert into gear, will allow you to double down on something or even out your weaknesses and some will grant you new abilities.

    The world has expanded immensely from what was originally planned. With additional acts and factions there is plenty more to do in the world of Cairn. Zones expanded and dungeons were added and every time it was very exciting. As more people joined Crate we got more art assets and the world really came to life.

    I can't say it all here but Crate Entertainment has created a masterpiece. I think will endure the same way the previous great ARPGs have. From a cult following to a game with many fans Grim Dawn has come a long way.

    Get out there and save humanity!
    Expand
  43. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    Single handedly the best ARPG i have played sense Diablo 2. Amazing atmosphere, great skill tree/devotion system, awesome lore and story, the list goes on. The best thing more me is the variety of builds you can use, rather than just the new meta. You will feel accomplished just beating normal difficulty, rather than having to push to end-game (which is still great BTW). ultimateSingle handedly the best ARPG i have played sense Diablo 2. Amazing atmosphere, great skill tree/devotion system, awesome lore and story, the list goes on. The best thing more me is the variety of builds you can use, rather than just the new meta. You will feel accomplished just beating normal difficulty, rather than having to push to end-game (which is still great BTW). ultimate difficulty provides a great difficulty where every encounter has meaning.

    Take note that if you are looking for an MMO ARPG this might not be for you. It is mainly a single player game with MP on the side. However 25$ is nothing compared to the amount of fun and enjoyment you will get from this game.

    The best has yet to come as well. At least one expansion, and with modding the game has limitless possibilities
    Expand
  44. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    If you loved the older generation of ARPGs such as Diablo 2: LoD or Titan Quest then Grim Dawn is likely the game for you. Grim Dawn brings together a well thought out dual-mastery skill system, a loot system that won't leave you out in the cold, a good mix of enemies/settings, and a very responsive dev team for what I feel is the best ARPG I've ever played.

    *I have not however tried
    If you loved the older generation of ARPGs such as Diablo 2: LoD or Titan Quest then Grim Dawn is likely the game for you. Grim Dawn brings together a well thought out dual-mastery skill system, a loot system that won't leave you out in the cold, a good mix of enemies/settings, and a very responsive dev team for what I feel is the best ARPG I've ever played.

    *I have not however tried the multi-player experience and this isn't a dedicated servers type game so keep that in mind when deciding if this is the right game for you*
    Expand
  45. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    There is nothing I can say different to other reviews... If you liked Diablo 2, and played a couple of hours, then be prepared to LOVE Grim Dawn and play hundreds of hours immersed in the gameplay, scenery, and story. Thank you everyone at Crate!!
  46. Feb 26, 2016
    10
    After buying this game in Early access and spending a good couple of thousands of hours in it (almost 5000 hours) I can safely say that this game is a must buy if you are a RPG fan and love the farm and hunt for loot. This game has so much dept with all the features they have added to the game: Combine 2 classes, Devotion, multiple difficulties and very very nice development team thatAfter buying this game in Early access and spending a good couple of thousands of hours in it (almost 5000 hours) I can safely say that this game is a must buy if you are a RPG fan and love the farm and hunt for loot. This game has so much dept with all the features they have added to the game: Combine 2 classes, Devotion, multiple difficulties and very very nice development team that supports and listens to their audience!

    I truly have enjoyed all the updates for the game in Early access and can safely say that I love the final result. With the amount of hours I spend in this game I can safely say; Buy it! you won't regret it

    Enjoy the game, I am off to get the 6k hour mark :P
    Expand
  47. Mar 1, 2016
    10
    Wow, I have been playing this game since its early release on steam. In an age of perpetually unfinished early release games, this one has really made it to the finial round. After the disappointment of Daiblo III, I really felt that nothing has come close to touching my favorite aRPG diablo II. While the setting inst quite the same, this is surely a modern take the classic game genre. AWow, I have been playing this game since its early release on steam. In an age of perpetually unfinished early release games, this one has really made it to the finial round. After the disappointment of Daiblo III, I really felt that nothing has come close to touching my favorite aRPG diablo II. While the setting inst quite the same, this is surely a modern take the classic game genre. A much needed edition i might add! The devs are truly badasses. No micro transaction. No FTP **** Just the game, go get it! Its soulful and so full of flavor, its like an everlasting stick of juciy fruit. FFS what are you waiting for! Expand
  48. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    Grim Dawn is a lovely APRG set full of customization and adventure. It maintains a healthy amount of difficulty with satisfying combat. It is a value compared to its competitors and offers a fresh take on the genre.
  49. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    Best Action rpg since Titan Quest and Diablo 2! Awesome variety in the enemies, great art design and fun gameplay. If you want a new action rpg, go pick this up ASAP!
  50. Feb 26, 2016
    10
    grim dawn is the best thing happen to loot hunter ARPG gamer. what i love about arpg is the loot (and story) but after diablo 2, titan quest and dungeon siege 2, i'm at loss for a new one. torchlight sure have quite interesting loot but the graphic doesn't captivate me or more accurate, it's turn me off.

    grim dawn is not server based game. it's not online game. the save file is saved
    grim dawn is the best thing happen to loot hunter ARPG gamer. what i love about arpg is the loot (and story) but after diablo 2, titan quest and dungeon siege 2, i'm at loss for a new one. torchlight sure have quite interesting loot but the graphic doesn't captivate me or more accurate, it's turn me off.

    grim dawn is not server based game. it's not online game. the save file is saved locally. mean it's moddable, hackable. so if you the kind who care about other who cheat their game but not your game yet feel disturbed/concerned, then by all mean, spare your worry and look else where.

    you will like grim dawn if you like below item:
    - loot with variety of affixes. and many many things to find with particularly fair drop rate.
    - story driven (but not so much like DS2 or diablo). i particularly love story of d2 and ds2 so GD kinda struck below both but if you takes time to walk thru the world slowly and read thru lore notes, i think its gonna drown you in its forsaken world.
    - many choice of skill for build. i have already tried several including poison bullet occultist, blade throwing rogue, dual wield rogue, 2-handed shockwave spam soldier, storm totem shaman. and i have yet to try some few other build i want to try.
    - love to replay many many times. 2nd difficulty, replay quest. 3rd difficulty, replay quest. replay replay replay.
    - multiplayer with option for individual loot. since it hard for me to set rule with my dope friends.
    - looking at gorgeous world, zooming in to look more.
    - don't mind graphics that is not like latest engine. it's TQ engine after all with improve effects and feature.
    - modding tools which will come later. meaning i will get to play community driven contents and more class to play in future.

    my only wish for drum beat when fight boss monster. it's a bit dull fighting boss without fighting drum and victory drum. some people say it's dumb reason to ponder but why there are people talking about immersion?

    tldr: the dream of mine 6-7 years ago become true and better. the feeling is like, a child getting a room full of candy. it's really exciting.
    Expand
  51. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    I kickstarted this game and as soon as I was granted early access to this game (nearly 3 years ago) I fell in love. The depth of character building in this game is second to none, awesome loot, the dual class system as well as the devotion system means you can build a nearly limitless amount of characters. And you will - because the story, graphics and gameplay keep you coming back forI kickstarted this game and as soon as I was granted early access to this game (nearly 3 years ago) I fell in love. The depth of character building in this game is second to none, awesome loot, the dual class system as well as the devotion system means you can build a nearly limitless amount of characters. And you will - because the story, graphics and gameplay keep you coming back for more.

    I also have to give special mention to the dev team who are incredibly involved with the community and love to play the game they are making which is a rarity nowadays. The forums are incredible as well, with a great sense of community.

    Cthulu + Zombies + Post Apocalyptic World = Epic ARPG. This game is an absolute steal at 24.99 - do yourself a favor and but it now!
    Expand
  52. Feb 25, 2016
    9
    This game is what Diablo 3 should have been, the depth on developing your character, the choices you can make, the style of the art, the darkness in the story, everything is fine.

    I would have wanted a little more flesh on story, but I have so good hopes for a grim dawn 2 to see the light with a larger team, that would break the gaming industry.
  53. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    I have a low attention spawn for games.
    For RPGs it will be hard to keep my attention for more than 40 hours, 60 at best.
    But as right now, I have more than 200 hours played on Grim Dawn and most of them were when the game was incomplete.
    How much more will I play now that it is done?
    They also have the decency to sell it at a very reasonable 25$
    10/10
    Now on to my next buiild.
  54. Mar 6, 2016
    10
    I kickstarted Grim Dawn for 15$, and felt it was a great investment. I did not play much early access as I wanted to wait till full feature release, and began playing a few months before release. This game is honestly what Diablo 3 should have been, and I believe that D3 is a good game in it's own right, much more of an arcadey hack and slash with loot. It feels closer to Diablo 2 inI kickstarted Grim Dawn for 15$, and felt it was a great investment. I did not play much early access as I wanted to wait till full feature release, and began playing a few months before release. This game is honestly what Diablo 3 should have been, and I believe that D3 is a good game in it's own right, much more of an arcadey hack and slash with loot. It feels closer to Diablo 2 in atmosphere but since it is a unique IP, it has an interesting take on the genre. The story is just ok, bu the lore and characters really make the world immersive. Just clicking through dialog you can accidentally kill an NPC who could have helped you, or make a decision that effects the rest of the game, Grim Dawn delivers a true aRPG. The loot is great, and I really feel as though there are a large number of viable builds with the vast itemization. Dual classing at level 10 creates a new level of customization and it really fields like any two of the 8 classes can be combined to make an effective pairing. On release I ended up purchasing a few copies for my friends as I really felt it was worth supporting Crate for the product they have put out. There are some bugs, some potentially network issues in multiplayer, the graphics aren't the exactly the most up to date, but it is some seriously great entertainment and well worth it. I have already played over 100 hours and have just reach ultimate difficulty, I really can't wait for more! Expand
  55. Feb 26, 2016
    9
    Fantastic game, worth much more than the paltry price tag of 25$ or whatever it is.

    700 hours played here since November 15 or so and I would of picked it up earlier if I had of known about it prior. Game is made by a very small team of Devs and the product they have achieved is amazing and deserves to be recognized. Only reason I didnt give a 10/10 as the game needs slightly more
    Fantastic game, worth much more than the paltry price tag of 25$ or whatever it is.

    700 hours played here since November 15 or so and I would of picked it up earlier if I had of known about it prior.

    Game is made by a very small team of Devs and the product they have achieved is amazing and deserves to be recognized.

    Only reason I didnt give a 10/10 as the game needs slightly more content (which is already being worked on and almost done I believe) and lack of genuine multiplayer for legit players

    People always talk 'D2/3 and Path of Exile and Torchlight' when speaking aRPGs but now Grim Dawn is easily to be included in the lists as games you must own or you are just missing out.

    Theres not even a question of whether 'you will regret it buying it' you are simply missing out by not owning the game
    Expand
  56. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    A point-and-click ARPG in a sinister world with its own deep lore about otherworldly powers, who invaded a world, which was about to enter the industrial age. Now the large world is populated with multiple allied and enemy factions, and there is a huge variety of enemy types. A single playthrough takes 24 hours, easily twice as much, if you explore everything. The continuous, lush world isA point-and-click ARPG in a sinister world with its own deep lore about otherworldly powers, who invaded a world, which was about to enter the industrial age. Now the large world is populated with multiple allied and enemy factions, and there is a huge variety of enemy types. A single playthrough takes 24 hours, easily twice as much, if you explore everything. The continuous, lush world is hand-crafted and pleasing to the eye. Often the lore is tied in to the gameplay mechanisms, which makes them much more meaningful.

    The game manages to keep the balance between rewarding you with equipment upgrades and keeping you hungry for further items. The dynamic and threatening combat system forces you to adapt to the ever increasing difficulty. The multilayered character building comprises socket-able equipment (partly with item skills), double-classing and celestial skills, which trigger off your regular skills. Creating exotic hybrid builds is fun, viable and worthwhile. For every character I play, I come up with another two builds, I would like to try. Good times.
    Expand
  57. Mar 3, 2016
    10
    Everything that needs to be said about this game has already been said.. I just hope the devs will be able to keep expanding Gim Dawn for a long time.
  58. Mar 3, 2016
    10
    This is the best ARPG ever

    Quiero decir que estoy enamorado de este gran juego, para mi es ya el mejor ARPG de la historia y con diferencia. todo en el juego rezuma amor y cariño, se nota que los desarrolladores tienen amor por los juegos. para empezar quiero decir que con GD he tenido sensaciones que ya había olvidado, por ejemplo llevarse mas de 25 minutos en tensión luchando
    This is the best ARPG ever

    Quiero decir que estoy enamorado de este gran juego, para mi es ya el mejor ARPG de la historia y con diferencia. todo en el juego rezuma amor y cariño, se nota que los desarrolladores tienen amor por los juegos.

    para empezar quiero decir que con GD he tenido sensaciones que ya había olvidado, por ejemplo llevarse mas de 25 minutos en tensión luchando contra un boss final y acabar eufórico perdido jejejje

    bueno empiezo con el juego, para empezar gráficamente me parece una joya, sarcásticamente es una delicia y se ve muy bien con todo al máximo, la iluminación, las sombras, los cambios de clima, día noche, niebla, etc todo suma y es una belleza.

    jugablemente hablando no tengo quejas es un juego que engancha y de lo lindo, hacia tambien mucho mucho tiempo que no soñaba con un juego o que siempre tenga ganas de volver a jugar un rato más. es un juego en el que te pones a jugar y se te pasan las horas y no te das cuenta, dices un poco mas, hasta el próximo nivel, hasta el próximo portal, lo que sea pero seguro que cuando llegues allí algo te hará continuar. tiene cosas increíbles en cada rincón, secretos, zonas ocultas, en cada rincón puedes encontrar algo.

    el juego coge lo mejor de los antiguos y clasicos ARPGS y añade cosas nuevas que redondean y completan el juego de forma genial, desde el sistema dual de clases heredado de Titan Quest, pasando por el nuevo sistema de Devoción (unas constelaciones que desbloquearan poderes extras para tus personajes y además muy bien implementadas para ir desbloqueandolas durante el juego), siguiendo por los atributos,los contratos,las facciones,que tus decisiones tienen peso importante en el juego(no es gran cosa, pero está bien integrado), penalización de XP por muertes, juego difícil, que supone un reto pero no imposible, un sistema de itemización muy bueno, tantas cosas que seguro me dejo atrás algo.

    sobre la historia, personalmente me ha encantado, esta todo muy bien integrado en el mundo de Cairn, y cada nueva nota o libro que encuentres y leas te mostrara de una forma real y cruda lo que ocurre allí, no quiero spoilear, pero hay algunas, como viaje al sur, que son por decirlo de alguna manera, sublimes.

    en resumen para mi es un juego redondo, si te gustan los ARPGS, no lo dudes, sino, tampoco lo dudes, creo que es un juego que todo el mundo debería probar, y más por el precio al que está disponible sin contar cuando está de oferta. te va a dar más horas que uno de 60 o 90 euros seguro.

    Nota 12/10

    para mi va a ser el GOTY 2016, un juego tan bien hecho, con tanto cariño y dedicación, no merece menos, vale que es mi genero favorito, pero aún así, sacar un parche el 23 de diciembre, y que el 24 te corrijan errores, no lo hace cualquiera. además escuchan a la comunidad en el foro como nunca antes habia ni imaginado que una compañia podria hacerlo.

    Solo repetir que son tantas emociones en éste juego, que no me puedo quedar con una, aparte de las ya dichas, por decir alguna más, por ejemplo, golpear esqueletos y ver como se despedazan y vuelan por los aires huesos, luchar debajo de un arco y ver como se derrumba la estructura al ser goleada, el movimiento de la vegetación a tu paso o por el viento, el movimiento de las aspas de los molinos en el viento, pasar poco a poco de la oscuridad de la noche a la tenue luz del amanecer y con bruma...... son tantas cosas.

    Y recién salió del acceso anticipado y le queda mucha vida.

    ah! también mencionar que tendrá herramientas de mods y que está en perfecto español gracias al gran equipo de personas que build tras build han trabajado y siguen trabajando para ponerlo en nuestro idioma.
    Expand
  59. Mar 4, 2016
    9
    It's not that unreasonable to say it's a Titan Quest reskin, but if you take the time to acquaint yourself with the whole game you should see that there are plenty of improvements. Better loot tooltips, better loot filters, P2P servers instead of Gamespy (you aren't going to be MLGing this game anyway), more build options, less filler, everything is streamlined for player convenienceIt's not that unreasonable to say it's a Titan Quest reskin, but if you take the time to acquaint yourself with the whole game you should see that there are plenty of improvements. Better loot tooltips, better loot filters, P2P servers instead of Gamespy (you aren't going to be MLGing this game anyway), more build options, less filler, everything is streamlined for player convenience compared to TQ. There is absolutely no pay-to-win or paying for anything except the game for that matter, and there will be no "auction house" wherein people get twinked to oblivion with $10,000. The game was made by about 10-15 people and in my opinion it represents the terminal state of the path that Diablo 2 was on in terms of being a straightforward, mouse-based raiding, number-crunching character builder. I suspect this will be the end of this style of game with all future ARPGs taking the route of PoE/Diablo 3 (freemium or pay-to-win) or rollfests like Dark Souls and its clones. If Diablo 2 is one of your favorites, then it doesn't get much better than this except in production values.

    Some valid points of negative reviews I'll acknowledge:
    - Some animations are pretty naff, like the 2H attack animations, which look like you're swinging a cardboard tube
    - Much of this has been done before, but the point of the game is refinement of those mechanics
    - It will seem AWFULLY FAMILIAR if you have played Titan Quest before, but it is leagues ahead of Diablo 2
    - This is a mouse-heavy game, don't expect any fancy pants maneuvers, this is a real throwback to the clicky era

    The essence of Grim Dawn is basically perfecting the core gameplay of Diablo 2, as was attempted in TQ, and in my opinion it's made at least equivalent progress in that regard. I can't value the game for you (it's $25 presently) but I can recommend that you play it.
    Expand
  60. Mar 7, 2016
    9
    I have 24 hours on record for this game.
    I was an early adopter when it was still an early access title (October 2015).
    ARPG are my bread and butter. I love them since the first Diablo. I have spent alot of time trying various other titles but they always end up falling short of what I held as the best ARPG to date, Diablo 2. Grim Dawn is changing my mind on that. The skill system
    I have 24 hours on record for this game.
    I was an early adopter when it was still an early access title (October 2015).

    ARPG are my bread and butter. I love them since the first Diablo. I have spent alot of time trying various other titles but they always end up falling short of what I held as the best ARPG to date, Diablo 2.

    Grim Dawn is changing my mind on that. The skill system is great. It reminds me of Titan Quest. The graphics are nice considering it is a top down game. Grass moves when you go through it is a nice touch. The effects of your spells and abilities are very unique. Gameplay hasn't been repetitive and I have found that this is a title I can pick up and put down very easily.

    I give it a 9, could easily be a 10 but I haven't gotten far enough to warrant that rating. Endgame could be very different.
    Expand
  61. Mar 2, 2016
    10
    I play every Single Action RPG and Grim Dawn is the King of all. This Game has the best Gaming Expirience is a better Version of Titan Quest and eat your free Time like a pro on a Hot dog eating competition. You love Hack & Slay? You have Grim Dawn. You like Hack & Slay? you want Grim Dawn. You know Hack and Slay? Buy Grim Dawn. And any other Person can look into the Game and fell into love :)
  62. Mar 4, 2016
    10
    792 hours in with every intent to push that value over two thousand or more. With 201 Games on Steam, it is my most-played and easily my favorite. Oh, you want a review? OK then...

    Grim Dawn presents a nitty-gritty world ravaged both my man's mistakes as much as otherworldly invasion. The feel of this world is perpetuated in every facet of the design of the game. Skills and attacks -
    792 hours in with every intent to push that value over two thousand or more. With 201 Games on Steam, it is my most-played and easily my favorite. Oh, you want a review? OK then...

    Grim Dawn presents a nitty-gritty world ravaged both my man's mistakes as much as otherworldly invasion. The feel of this world is perpetuated in every facet of the design of the game. Skills and attacks - player and enemy alike - are brutal and satisfying. The UI is precisely what it needs to be to get the points of its contents across to the player; it is no fancier than that. The quests have a purpose to them - 'We feel threatened by X, fix that for us by slaying him/her/it' - but they do not go out of their way in their descriptions to make their completion any easier than a rough idea of where to go. This game is designed to be played solely by you, your inclinations, and you intuition, not to help you play it with omniscient developer input and assistance. But you get what you give, and then a little more. You'll hunt across beautiful hand-crafted landscapes for terrifyingly monstrous entities, read immersive and haunting texts scattered throughout the world, and develop a character of your own design, one of your own play-style and skill choices.

    OK, so that's all the RPG stuff out of the way. So how does Grim Dawn put the Action in Action-RPG? At the beginning of the game, it does not do so wildly. Nor should it; if you started a god then any godly things you did throughout the game would feel all the same. But eventually the combat of Grim Dawn becomes fast paced and as brutal as the world around you. Every enemy in Grim Dawn is designed to kill you with merciless potency, and you'll have in your arsenal an array of spells, skills, and items to decimate you foes with terrific effect. Rarely will you ever feel truly immortal; the world of Grim Dawn has foes tough enough to go toe-to-toe with the most dedicated players.

    Grim Dawn is a hack-and-slash ARPG that does everything it needs to and so much more. I've spent around $150 on the game between gifts and pre-purchasing for myself, and I've gotten more than five hours of enjoyment for every dollar spent. If you've read this far, do yourself the favor and pick it up for $25.
    Expand
  63. Mar 5, 2016
    10
    The best ARPG I have ever played and I have played them all. Totally immersive great gameplay tons of loot many ways to build your character simply top notch.
  64. Feb 25, 2016
    8
    Grim Dawn is a game. And it is very good game. It is an action RPG with dark atmosphere, good itemization and many ways how to build your character.

    Game rewards exploring. There are many places to find and a lot of hidden locations and treasures. It is not time consuming like Path of Exile nor oversimplified like Diablo 3. It is more like old Titan Quest and it runs on its game engine
    Grim Dawn is a game. And it is very good game. It is an action RPG with dark atmosphere, good itemization and many ways how to build your character.

    Game rewards exploring. There are many places to find and a lot of hidden locations and treasures. It is not time consuming like Path of Exile nor oversimplified like Diablo 3. It is more like old Titan Quest and it runs on its game engine (but enhanced) and uses its mechanics (Also enhanced)

    Even if it is very similiar to Titan Quest, there are many enhancements. For example devotion system. WIth it you can specialize your character and improve it even more. There this faction system and crafting system which both add posibilities to make your character stronger.

    PROS
    - Itemization, Equipment,
    - Crafting, Factions
    - Skills, Leveling
    - Devotion + Multiclass system
    - Graphics, Music

    CONS
    - Sometimes you say: Hey that model of monster is like it was in titan quest. Or something like that. But if you didnt played titan quest, then there is no problem.
    - Some things were better in old TItan Quest. For example music, story and overall adventure in Titan Quest were fantastic and epic. Grim dawn is not so good in these parts of game.
    Expand
  65. Mar 13, 2016
    10
    We need more devs like you. Its just CD project and you Crate who is left for PC gaming.

    Gameplay to the max. It nukes Diablo3 i lots of aspects. I dare to say that you have risen above Torchlight 2
  66. Mar 27, 2016
    8
    I got the GOG version. I have always kinda enjoyed Diablo Clones. For whatever reason this one has just grabbed me. Really addictive and solid story/ game play. Easy enough to jump into and strategic enough to keep me engaged. I did not expect to like it this much.
  67. Apr 3, 2016
    10
    Beautiful sceneries, atmospheric music, nice story, lots of loot, many character abilities from different trees, vast exploration areas, varying enemies and a haunted far-west world. Saying no more, I'm calling my crow and hellhound, getting my shotgun and playing my Sunday morning away..
  68. Mar 23, 2016
    10
    From Early Access right through release... always a pleasure to play. It fits somewhere in between Diablo and Path of Exile while finding its own space to exist in a remarkable fashion.

    Full of deep, complex skill trees and mountains of loot spread across a sprawling map with choices which actually impact the map, it has all the elements of a classic ARPG that keep you coming back.
    From Early Access right through release... always a pleasure to play. It fits somewhere in between Diablo and Path of Exile while finding its own space to exist in a remarkable fashion.

    Full of deep, complex skill trees and mountains of loot spread across a sprawling map with choices which actually impact the map, it has all the elements of a classic ARPG that keep you coming back.

    This one's for the ages.
    Expand
  69. Mar 14, 2016
    10
    Okay so here's my story.

    Bought the game, started playing.... many hours later.. euh wait? shouldn"t I go sleep? Work? Yeah man, this game is the ****

    Like aprg, no-brainer to buy. Even if you don't think you will like it, buy it .. you won't regret!
  70. Jul 6, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The amount of fun I had with my brothers on LAN is worth it (That's the short version.).
    Once, I save a family and other time I decided to let them die. Ran into few nemesis, was fun dying over and over till we came up with a good strategy and changing "build" to be able to beat it. Joined a "faction" only to find they are controlled by extremists. Charging into "weaklings" enemies and tear them apart. Charging into tough bosses, only to be tore apart. I

    Now, if they can fix some bugs here and there (especially for multiplayer or LAN).
    Expand
  71. Jun 22, 2016
    9
    Grim Dawn is, appropriately enough, a dark fantasy action-RPG, a Diablo-like from the makers of Titan Quest and its expansion, Immortal Throne. It exchanges the sword-and-sandal world of Greek, Egyptian and Chinese myth of its predecessor for a world of iron, blood and gunpowder where humanity sees itself trapped in a post-apocalypse wrought by two mighty armies as despicable as they areGrim Dawn is, appropriately enough, a dark fantasy action-RPG, a Diablo-like from the makers of Titan Quest and its expansion, Immortal Throne. It exchanges the sword-and-sandal world of Greek, Egyptian and Chinese myth of its predecessor for a world of iron, blood and gunpowder where humanity sees itself trapped in a post-apocalypse wrought by two mighty armies as despicable as they are really damn old: the body-snatching Aetherials and the blood-happy Cthonians.

    Grim Dawn plays much like Titan Quest, but with a wealth of quality-of-life improvements that make it a much more enjoyable experience overall. It notably features a reusable portal spell in the vein of Diablo 3 that allows you to access any unlocked Rift in the world, as well as none of that stupid item durability business, so you never need to repair your gear (read: suffer an arbitrary drain on your wallet). The most you lose on death is a small amount of experience, which can be retrieved from the headstone that marks where you last died. However, I have only played on normal mode so far and this may change later, I do know that you suffer a 25% penalty to your elemental resistances on elite, and a whopping 50% on ultimate. In addition, there is an NPC in the very first town that you can purchase skill point refunds from for a flat price that quickly becomes inconsequential, at least on normal. However, you cannot refund points spent on your mastery level itself (more on that in a moment), which increases your base stats and unlocks new skills at certain thresholds. Grim Dawn also generally feels friendlier to play then Titan Quest or Diablo 2, and at least on normal I felt like I was not punished for experimenting with new skills, and I was consistently dealing very high damage to all enemies as early as a third of the way into the game, to the point of one-shotting most enemies at the endgame. However, the same is also true of normal difficulty in Path of Exile, which quickly kicks you in the balls on higher difficulties if you do not have a "good" build- but I'll enjoy it while it lasts.

    Grim Dawn retains Titan Quest's unique class system. You begin the game with no class at all, but are quickly given a choice of skill trees the first time you level. You are then able to pick a second tree not long thereafter, combining any two skill trees to create the hybrid class you want. I went with Demolitionist first, a primarily ranged tree dealing with explosives, flames, “thorns”-style defenses that burn attackers, and a bit of lightning, with a few points in the Soldier tree for defense, creating what the game calls a Commando. My basic attack was quickly replaced by the ever-useful Flame Strike, which in addition to adding massive fire damage to my attacks, can also be augmented with splash damage, lightning damage and ultimately bursts of magma shards for even more fun. The tree also includes grenades, molotovs, cluster bombs, mortars and mines- a respectable arsenal. Other trees include the spell-blasting Arcanist, demon-summoning Occultist, poisonous, sneaky Nightblade, and lightning-hurling Shaman trees. There is also a special "Devotion" skill web represented by constellations, which you put points into earned from reactivating special shrines found throughout the world. These devotion points earn you minor stat buffs useful to most builds, as well as special skills that can be attached to your normal abilities to enhance their effects. I got a skill called Twin Fang that added a chance for a life-stealing attack to my basic attack, for example. However, I do not currently know a way to respec Devotion points, and you cannot switch your choice of basic skill tree.

    Grim Dawn is respectably long and content-dense, especially for the price. I clocked in over thirty hours, and like most Diablolikes, you spend most of that knee-deep in the bad guys, and it never really gets old- the hallmark of a good game in a genre known for its repetitiveness. Sure, it's a little rough around the edges- the graphics aren't anything special, the voice acting is iffy, and the music, though good, is largely atmospheric, but its mechanically very solid. Crate Entertainment has created an excellent ARPG with much potential replay value that is well worth your time. If you've played any other ARPG before, Grim Dawn will be right up your alley, and even if you haven't, it's a fine place to start.
    Expand
  72. Jul 1, 2016
    9
    grim dawn is a great game, better then diablo 3.. i miss ah.. if it had that i would give it 10/10.. buy it.. try it.. and you have fun for many hours:D
  73. Feb 25, 2016
    8
    Grim Dawn is quite the typical ARPG, but it does something to make it stand out from the others. Usually I become all too aware of the monotony of playing an ARPG after playing for a while, but somehow in Grim Dawn that's okay. I keep going, I keep pressing the few buttons I need to press in order slay yet another massive horde of monsters. I suppose Grim Dawn has the two most vitalGrim Dawn is quite the typical ARPG, but it does something to make it stand out from the others. Usually I become all too aware of the monotony of playing an ARPG after playing for a while, but somehow in Grim Dawn that's okay. I keep going, I keep pressing the few buttons I need to press in order slay yet another massive horde of monsters. I suppose Grim Dawn has the two most vital components of a good ARPG down really well; impactful and satisfying combat and just the right amount of loot to keep you hunting for more.

    As I said, I am aware that I'm pressing the same buttons over and over again... but it's so satisfying and the numbers get progressively bigger! That's what makes a good ARPG.
    Expand
  74. May 15, 2016
    10
    Top game played so far in 2016 for me. Atmosphere and physics are addicting in this game, loved static world, plot is average but it's not really important in this game for me. Only wish that there was much more content than there is now, hope to see expansion soon and maybe new classes to try new builds.
  75. May 6, 2016
    10
    I don't usually write reviews but this game really is a worth it. Favorite ARPG ever, better than diablo 1 (my runner up), 2, torchlight, path of exile.
    I love the ability to customize your character ( but it doesn't go too far like POE).
    The graphics are great, better than any other ARPG imo. The world is exciting though perhaps a bit linear. I take the time to read every document I
    I don't usually write reviews but this game really is a worth it. Favorite ARPG ever, better than diablo 1 (my runner up), 2, torchlight, path of exile.
    I love the ability to customize your character ( but it doesn't go too far like POE).
    The graphics are great, better than any other ARPG imo. The world is exciting though perhaps a bit linear. I take the time to read every document I can find in this game. Some of them are written very well. Gameplay is great... everything is great... BUY THIS GAME. I feel guilty for only paying the $25.

    My biggest complaint: The ending... its a whole lotta nothing but hopefully an expansion will fix that in the future. Not enough to bring this masterpiece down. 10/10
    Expand
  76. Mar 13, 2016
    10
    I don't usually write reviews or give such high scores to any game. However, as an early adopter and supporter of this game, I felt compelled to share my opinion. This is by far one, if not, the current best arpg you will find. So much love has gone into creating this masterpiece.

    The crate team are the same folks who gave us Titans Quest. If you enjoy arpg's you cannot go wrong
    I don't usually write reviews or give such high scores to any game. However, as an early adopter and supporter of this game, I felt compelled to share my opinion. This is by far one, if not, the current best arpg you will find. So much love has gone into creating this masterpiece.

    The crate team are the same folks who gave us Titans Quest. If you enjoy arpg's you cannot go wrong purchasing this game. It is worth far more than Crate sells it as.
    Expand
  77. Apr 14, 2016
    9
    Advice: Don't be a druid the first time around. Some choices you make can be undone, but don't **** up your devotion tree. Don't make a build and then have to rely on pots because you over emphasized offensive powers. 35 hours in so far and my main is a dual-wielding master of the occult. So many choices. That alone is a reason to play this if you love ARPG games.
  78. Mar 26, 2016
    10
    Если после выхода Титан Квеста трон, на котором восседал зверь, пошатнулся, то сейчас можно заявить без сомнений: прощай, Диабло.
  79. Feb 26, 2016
    8
    a good old-fashioned single player arpg. very similar to titan quest with graphic improvement + reputation/factions.
    but nothing really new.
    the genre needs innovation...
  80. Sep 18, 2016
    9
    Great game with hundreds of hours of content. Elite and Ultimate game modes for better loot and more challenge. A high number of masteries that can combined to various classes. Lots of secret areas and a new faction system. The story and lore are good although not the main focus. All in all, a great spiritual successor to Titan Quest. It is a 9 only because the game world feels more orGreat game with hundreds of hours of content. Elite and Ultimate game modes for better loot and more challenge. A high number of masteries that can combined to various classes. Lots of secret areas and a new faction system. The story and lore are good although not the main focus. All in all, a great spiritual successor to Titan Quest. It is a 9 only because the game world feels more or less the same everywhere. I had expected more variations. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. CD-Action
    May 30, 2016
    85
    Dozens of hours of hacking and slashing done so well and so addictive that you could swear it’s Blizzard’s game. [05/2016, p.56]
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    May 9, 2016
    87
    Grim Dawn scratches the right action RPG itch with a plenty of loot to hoard and a decent skill system that offers plenty of options to build the perfect demon-blasting hero. The only problem is the lack of a proper endgame, as the non-randomized maps and locations becoming too familiar too fast. [May 2016]
  3. May 9, 2016
    79
    Truly, Grim Dawn represents the modern gamer's slot machine, where three cherries are a set item drop and three 7's are a jackpot of a story that never comes to fruition.