Grim Dawn Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 570 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players are thrust into the dark, war-torn world of Cairn where a once proud empire has been brought to ruin and the human race driven to the edge of extinction. Cairn has become ground zero of an eternal war between two otherworldly powers, one seeking to use human bodies as a resource, thePlayers are thrust into the dark, war-torn world of Cairn where a once proud empire has been brought to ruin and the human race driven to the edge of extinction. Cairn has become ground zero of an eternal war between two otherworldly powers, one seeking to use human bodies as a resource, the other intent upon destroying the human race before that can happen. This cataclysmic war has not only decimated human civilization but is warping the very fabric of reality and, in its wake, giving life to new horrors. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 2, 2016
    92
    There is no question that Grim Dawn moves along familiar lines: Base classes, a tragic world inhabited by monsters in a wide variety of flavors, nearly constant loot drops, action-oriented combat, somewhat "lite" yet interesting story, etc. Somehow, though, Grim Dawn just does it better than any other ARPG in recent memory.
  2. Mar 2, 2016
    90
    Grim Dawn is one of the easiest ARPGs to recommend in recent years.
  3. Mar 1, 2016
    86
    Grim Dawn takes the best of a lot of other action RPS and creates well thought out and yet original hack & slay fun.
  4. Mar 7, 2016
    80
    Despite the technical shortcomings, Crate Entertainment managed to develop a worthy spiritual successor for the Titan Quest series. Grim Dawn is extremely rich in content, providing hundreds of hours of hack'n'slash fun.
  5. Apr 7, 2016
    80
    Grim Dawn can be like pulling the lever on a slot machine, the only difference being that the reward here isn’t cash but the gory explosion of beasts and the clink of loot-drops. I know from personal experience that this game has that certain something, and even if you think that you've grown tired of games of its ilk, Grim Dawn has enough tricks up its sleeve to charm even the most grizzled veteran.
  6. Apr 2, 2016
    80
    Grim Dawn is a familiar, yet satisfying romp through a role-playing genre that's seen its fair share of innovations and dynamic methods to shoot and loot. Its setting is a nice change from the usual fantasy titles and its features and content are more than enough to keep you entertained for quite some time.
  7. Mar 20, 2016
    75
    All in all, despite quite a lot of bugs and flaws, Grim Dawn is definitely a must-play if you are into Diablo or other similar action role-playing games like Divinity: Original Sin. The game is still pretty recent, and I have faith that the developers are working hard to fix the flaws and make this title even better.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 126
  2. Negative: 8 out of 126
  1. Feb 25, 2016
    10
    The game is a remarkable example of what can be accomplished by a small, dedicated team of developers. I was (still am) a long-time TitanThe game is a remarkable example of what can be accomplished by a small, dedicated team of developers. I was (still am) a long-time Titan Quest: Immortal Throne fiend. So when I heard some of the developers from that game were developing a new aRPG I was immediately on-board.

    I was an early backer (2010), then Kickstarter backer, and have purchased the game for a few friends. It has more than lived up to the hype and exceeded all expectations. I played nearly 400 hours while it was in beta alone, and can't wait to actually, really start playing the game now that it is in full release.

    It has all the best elements of an old-school aRPG game, with some new mechanics to keep it fresh. The environment/climate is interesting, the classes are fairly archetypal but with a fresh spin, and the hunt for loot keeps you hungry for progression.

    The story is interesting and there is enough to keep those interested immersed. The graphics are very good - not amazing, but authentic for the type of game. Not cartoonish at all. The pace is great and there's enough play diversity to offer plenty of replayability. It's a great mix of challenge and depth.

    I recommend this game highly. I've only played as single player, but the game does offer co-op mulitplayer via local server connections (like Titan Quest - no online servers, yay)!

    PS - really looking forward to expansion AND the modding community once the game settles in.
    Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2016
    10
    This is the best single player Arpg since Diablo 2, simple as that. The mecanics, many systems of the game that slowly grow on you, you haveThis is the best single player Arpg since Diablo 2, simple as that. The mecanics, many systems of the game that slowly grow on you, you have just to play it and dont judge from the first hours, but after normal difficult (the first playthorugh) you begin to understand what the game offers.

    Its different from PoE ( Path of Exile,other exeptional arpg) enough to convive with it, they offer different thing. PoE is more for closed server features (ladders, leguague, economy/trading and so on). This one is more single player approach with modding capability, big open world, many dungeons and mobs, and so on.
    Different mecanics also but both very depth (maybe grim dawn in the mecanicas departament is a little better but its subjective, dont know).

    There 'is also Diablo 3, nice game, but dont have the depth of these two others arpg, just fluid combat and a short burst of fun, thats it. I dont consider it at the same level of GD and PoE. Too much arcade style.

    and..24 euros fot this? just 24 euros? joking? Its a robbery that we make to these developer i think, rise the price please (ehehe:D)

    Buy it, now, if you like real arpgs, nothing to add, really nothing to add:)
    Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2016
    10
    Great game! :) If You really like old school H&S You must play Grim Dawn !!! Big gratz for CRATE!
    Game have all You want from H&S. Great
    Great game! :) If You really like old school H&S You must play Grim Dawn !!! Big gratz for CRATE!
    Game have all You want from H&S. Great character control, ( stats, skills ) , dark/apocalyptic climat, very nice crafting and very good itemization.
    Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2017
    9
    Such a solid ARPG. Makes excellent use of the PathEngine and improves greatly on its predecessor Titan Quest AE. If you enjoyed the mechanicsSuch a solid ARPG. Makes excellent use of the PathEngine and improves greatly on its predecessor Titan Quest AE. If you enjoyed the mechanics and UI of TQAE, then you will enjoy this incarnation. Please note that since I haven't tried multiplayer, I won't be commenting on that aspect.

    Pros:
    1. A decent skill tree system, something sorely lacking in Diablo 3. Also reasonably cheap to buy back used skill points and change your build.

    2. Masteries make for a huge variety of classes unlike the wooden ones in other ARPGs. Equipment isn't limited to particular classes, so long as you have the attributes and level.

    3. Factions are a fun dimension and there are quite a few of them.

    4. Typical ARPG gold (iron bits that is) expenditures aren't outrageous, minimizing the need for excessive gold farming.

    5. Reasonably simple game design from the get go and no major, jarring changes at the whining behest of hardcore players, much like what happened to Diablo 3, which turned into a huge convoluted mess centered on insanely complex crafting. GD is a good pick-up-and-play kind of game and not daunting for new or casual players.

    6. Very good graphics considering the age of the game engine.

    7. Interesting world setting, partly early industrial technology mixed with typical sword and sorcery
    fantasy elements.

    8. Very good music, unobtrusive ambient music like you'd expect.

    Cons:

    1. Boss fights are very cheap if you're playing a mobility/ranged character. Every major boss is fought in a tiny arena, which is great if your a tank/melee, but irritating if you play a character who depends on mobility.

    2. Overall story arch seems interesting in concept, but is poorly portrayed in the game. I never care about the story at all while playing, but this an ARPG so it's typical. Most boring and anticlimactic end boss and ending ever.

    3. Crafting relics is impossible unless you put thousands of hours in this game.
    Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2016
    9
    Where to begin? I kickstarted this game nearly from the moment I was able to afford it. The game is really good. It's quite a bit more indepthWhere to begin? I kickstarted this game nearly from the moment I was able to afford it. The game is really good. It's quite a bit more indepth than D3 and PoE. Better crafting (though heavily dependent on RNG to a fault), better build options and more fun gameplay, though Diablo 3 has far better character animations than both PoE and GD. The performance is solid and the game runs well on even lower end machines with some quality downward adjustments. My biggest complaint about the game is how the difficulty ramps up far too quickly on Ultimate difficulty. The amount of farming for gear can lower morale for many who want to continue, and if your build isn't at the peak top of the hill list of best builds, you won't progress on Ultimate. Some balancing issues need to be taken care of, but the community is extremely friendly and helpful, and for the most part, so are the Devs. They are EXTREMELY responsive and attentive to the needs of the community, with the exception of a few acerbic and crass attitudes displayed towards paying customers. The community has a tight clique of players who tend to circle the wagons against what would be good feedback from players on occasion. If you like an excellent ARPG that harkens back to the old days of Diablo 2's playstyle and mehcanics, this is the game for you. I have logged over 1000 hours playing the game and for the most part, it has been rewarding. Now if only all the skill trees and stats could be balanced... Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2017
    8
    If you like Diablo II more than Diablo III and Path of Exile, Grim Dawn is just the right thing for you.

    For me, the most important
    If you like Diablo II more than Diablo III and Path of Exile, Grim Dawn is just the right thing for you.

    For me, the most important indicator is always whether I can not stop playing the game. And Grim Dawn makes me an addict! Damn it...

    Pros:
    + There are many similarities to Diablo2 (especially the music !!) as well as Titan Quest (which is made by the same team)
    + Very well implemented spiral of leveling and grinding, you never get too many items (and especially no dull "daily legendaries" like D3)
    + A variety of items to craft, a nice selection of talents and specializations
    + Devotion (something like a "religion") is a very cool skill element, especially since you can bound it to abilities (which you can then also level, similar to gemstones in PoE)
    + The dual class system produces very interesting char builds
    + The story is even more than just "click-away textlines"!

    Cons:
    - It sometimes has its longueurs and partially empty areas (maybe only on "normal game mode")
    - Damage values ​​are not fully optimized: Often you run through monster hordes without taking any damage, only to get a one-hit from the boss (IMO those "final hits" are not clearly predictable)
    - Hits, magic and other abilities are not quite as impressive as in Diablo3 (Blizzard still is leading in this category)

    Conclusion: Grim Dawn is a very good Hack-n-Slay game - one of the old school. I even liked it more than Age of Conan and Torchlight. For me, it is on a par with Path of Exile and Titan Quest.
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2017
    0
    Grim Dawn. Extremely boring!!!!! It's a low-budget, indie Titan Quest rip off, without plot, cutscenes, or voiced dialogues. I could takeGrim Dawn. Extremely boring!!!!! It's a low-budget, indie Titan Quest rip off, without plot, cutscenes, or voiced dialogues. I could take about 45 minutes before I uninstalled it Expand

See all 126 User Reviews