Grotesque Tactics: Evil Heroes Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The young recruit Drake failed at the military academy exam. He was refused to fight for his proud kingdom Glory. Humiliated and frustrated he wants to end his life by jumping into the throat of brutal mushrooms. But then he learns that he's not the only one disappointed and that there are others who can't go on with their lives. He comes across the last depressed remains of the kingdom's army which return badly injured from an all or nothing battle. The very battle Drake couldn't fight in. One of the survivors is the most popular hero of all mankind: Holy Avatar. The arrogant knight in shiny armor tells you how a suddenly appearing sect crushed the whole kingdoms' army. The land Glory is overrun by creatures of the Dark Church and what's even worse, HE, the mighty Holy Avatar, was beaten the first time in his life.Now it is on YOU, Drake, to recruit a force and fight off the Dark Church before the population learns about the defeat and runs scared. However, all the land's heroic men are deadly injured or already dead. Only the most dubious and criminal creatures are left, deeply hidden in the high security dungeons.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Grotesque Tactics takes the fantasy and role play genre on, it confronts it with lots of sarcasm and irony. The game is a blast in terms of humor with a certain wink. Just do not take the game too seriously and have fun.
  2. A fresh and funny indie game. A real little gem, though not without flaws, but with lots of virtues missing from most blockbuster titles: charm, comedy and imagination- for a low price.
  3. Jan 5, 2011
    65
    There is the seed of an interesting, enjoyable, funny, and simple SRPG in Grotesque Tactics: Evil Heroes, but it's buried in fertilizer.
  4. All in all, Grotesque Tactics is a shoddy low-budget game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 8 out of 18
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Much underrated!
    At first glance the game seems not as polished as other games, but I have to admit that it is very addictive.
    There are very
    few games which I have finished, but this one has a great mix of humour and playability which kept me playing to the end.
    If you do not expect a realtime 1st person RPG you will have a good time for about 10-20 hours.
    Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    One of the most funny indie games I ever played on Steam. Simple Party RPG with nice ideas. A bit like Vandal Hearts, Kings Bounty or Fire Emblem but with focus of humor and story. Glad to see they work on Grotesque Tactics 2 with cool graphics. Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    Great Cheap game i love the art style And have always been a huge fan of tactical games It show's Humor that more RPG need to have. Frankly this is one of the best strategic games i have played. Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2010
    5
    Ehh...it's "OK" if you like those RPG games from 1990, with graphics upgraded to 1995. It makes me nostalgic for the good ole, simple days of turn-based combat. Put your wizard "here", put your warriors "there". For $15 from Steam, it's not the worst deal ever. Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2011
    4
    Middling on all counts. Mediocre graphics, dull gameplay, the text to humor ratio is way long on text for the mild chuckles. In short, jpanic is correct on all counts. I don't blush a bit at RPG ladies, but dude, it isn't the skin, it's the AGE of the "maidens" that makes you feel shame. I ended up getting bored and deleting the game. Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    4
    The game isn't too bad itself, your typical hack and slasher with attempts at humour that mostly fall flat, but it's really the horrendous misogyny I can't cope with. The maidens make me want to set fire to stuff the giggling, scantily clad twarts. If it weren't for the misogyny this might have reached the dizzy heights of 6/10 Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2011
    0
    This game gives me a headache. And figuring out how to not make it give me a headache gave me an even bigger headache. This game sort of looks like you're permanently suffering from the visual effects of a flashbang; everything is overly bright but it's all splotched. The game also seems to suffer from a stuttering camera that moves around far too slowly and gets locked into place at awkward moments. The storyline seemed amusing at first but there's far too much of their own brand of 'humour' thrown in there. The characters are superficial. Wouldn't know about any plot, I just stopped caring and gave up. Combat is uninteresting. Models have boring animations, there's hardly any tactical decisions to be made and if one of your two main characters die, you'll have to reload your last save game. Since it's turn based, you might have 4 or 5 enemies whacking your main character one after another without interruption, leading to a swift death and ultimately, a roll back to an older save game. Thought we got over that sort of gameplay after the 90's. Guess some people just can't let go. As much as this game may seem 'different' from other fantasy games due to the absurdness of the theme, it doesn't even come close to the games it tries to mock. Waste of money and time. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews