Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In GUN_MONKEYS, players take charge of a modern-day power company. In the distant future, a catastrophic experiment into Perpetual Energy obliterates all human life, leaving the world choc-full of free-for-the-taking energy. Your job is to send a legion of pleasingly-expendable monkeys forwards in time to collect Power Cubes and return them to present-day, all from the comfort of your PC. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jul 8, 2013
    75
    As long as you don't come in with any expectations above a simple arena combat game, Gun Monkeys is a great way to spend a weekend. It takes the basic idea of competitive 2D platforming and runs with it, which can result in some pretty high-octane skill-heavy matches, which, in short spurts, I had a blast with. Just keep in mind that you may need to fall back to local play when the server population slows to a crawl.
  2. Jul 19, 2013
    70
    Matches are brisk, varied and tense, but you might face a long wait to get one. An idle mode allows you to browse the internet or check emails until a challenge arrives, but alerts are sadly infrequent. Local play is a fine substitute if you have a willing partner, but Gun Monkeys is a two-player game too often lacking a player two.
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    70
    If you can find a steady stream of people to play against, you'll discover Gun Monkeys to be tremendous, if rather basic, fun. [Issue#138, p.116]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Gun Monkeys was a very pleasant surprise for me as i wasn't sure if i would like it or not having watched several videos on it on youtube, and all of the videos said that the game was great and that the one problem with it is that it's online was very buggy, so i posted a discussion on steam asking about the game and for pretty much all of the responses were positive and saying that the online was fixed then i got a coupon and bought it, honestly, i wish i had spent full price on this game as it fully deserves it!

    And the gameplay? well, it's fast, intense and incredibly fun with different stages every time and the tide of the battle can turn very easily as different weapon drops and power ups appear randomly around the map and you also have an extremely powerful bomb at your disposal which is extremely satisfying to blow up your enemy with but is equally lethal to you!

    The goal is to try and defeat your opponent by collecting energy cubes and bringing them back to your base and you win if the other players energy cube counter ticks down to zero and to the victor go the spoils as you get rewarded with tons of money that you can spend on cool perks such as upgrades to weapons or getting faster, more health etc.

    Now for the problems I've had and well, they're few and far between, i have had one bug were my character vanished and the dev was incredibly helpful on that one but even then it only happened once the other 2 problems are no fault of the game, which are there are an awful lot of people idling in the lobby and a lot of people who think the goal is to try and blow each others brains out and are no fun to fight at all.

    My Verdict: 10/10
    + fast, tense and overall very fun
    + some pretty cool power up and weapon drops
    + unique gameplay not done before (to my knowledge)
    + never really gets repetitive with the randomly generated maps.
    + cool perks to buy
    + not to mention the devs are awesome and always willing to help
    - some bugs
    - at times the community is a bit frustrating
    Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    I am really enjoying this game.. I love online platformers, and this game is just the definition of fun. 1 v 1 intense deathmatch, quick games that are both very strategic, and very fun. The game is simple to learn, yet will take months to master. There is a lot of strategy involved with this game in order to out-play your opponent. I would highly reccommend that everyone try this game, especially if you like online platformers! Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    This game is a fun, fast, and frantic multiplayer game. It also isn't simply a "deathmatch" style game either. It also involves strategy as you try to collect power orbs and bring them back to your base. The mix of attacking your enemy and gathering resources creates a wonderful game experience. I recommend it! Collapse
  4. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    When i picked up this game during a weekend deal on steam for 3 dollars, little did i know what a treat i was in for. Gun Monkeys, isn't your usual combat arena" kill em' all! type of game. It's that, and much more. Although you, do initially try to kill your fellow opponents, there is also a keen sense of strategy involved. With each shot, bomb, or new life you take, energy from your supply starts running out, forcing you to have to be careful about your sots while gathering energy, while at the same time keeping your opponent from getting theirs. Don't run to buy this game expecting a typical, arena experience. If you're looking for a zany, strategic twist on the genre, or even curious about the game, i would highly recommend Gun Monkeys. Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    Gun Monkeys is frantic, comical, and very, very fun. It might be dressed up all fresh and modern with a stylish, charming coat on, but it’s definitely rooted in retro sensibilities. The gleeful cartoon violence and wanton bloodshed combined with an almost perfect distillation of old-school multiplayer gaming make it an absolute joy to play, providing you can find someone to play against. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    An delightful, absurdly frantic game I already spent more then 70 hours on these last couple of days!!
    It is THAT good! Once you find an
    evenly skilled player to fight again you just keep playing it.

    Don't be fooled though by all the action and think this is a simple 'luck' game, there are a lot of tactics involved and despite it's random nature, the best player will win 9 out of 10 games.

    Do BUY this, make your friends buy this and you won't be disappointed!
    Expand