User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 321 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 321

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 24, 2018
    9
    Overall, amazing game. I want this game to come to life. I remember thousands of players swarming the lobbies and 4v4 matches happening everywhere. It's truly a fun game and I highly, highly recommend.
  2. Jan 20, 2018
    0
    If I got the game for free I wouldn't care. I payed money for this a few years ago and still hate it. I regret putting the little time and money I did in to this game. It was free because it was dead. It died because it's bad. Simply put, atl+f4 made for the best Guns of Icarus experience I've ever had. Uninstalling the game was more gratifying than the game-play.
  3. Jan 19, 2018
    0
    The Metacritic rating for these games tend to be dead right except this one. This game is way too high when it comes to user score. I have to agree with many of the recent critics that this is really a Stress Management tool disguised as a game. The players while playing the game can curse, and make racial slurs. They say anything they like to each other with no one monitors on theThe Metacritic rating for these games tend to be dead right except this one. This game is way too high when it comes to user score. I have to agree with many of the recent critics that this is really a Stress Management tool disguised as a game. The players while playing the game can curse, and make racial slurs. They say anything they like to each other with no one monitors on the voice chat. The game has large advertisement to up sell the customers when they log in. The tutorial is lacking and matchmaking is a joke. You will get pitted against a Diehard Veteran player while your side has only new players. The old players fix that matches so all of the experienced players are on one side. No amount of teamwork will get you to win. The game takes many many hours to learn. Not worth the money, time and energy. Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2018
    0
    I have to agree with famous vetted critics like XGN that the game was a decent idea executed very very poorly. Bug, lag, and balance issue plague the game and troll and cancerous players are what kill the game. If express any dissatisfaction with the game, the player base will send you and your friends hate mail. Check out the GOI forums to see how baddy things can get. These will beI have to agree with famous vetted critics like XGN that the game was a decent idea executed very very poorly. Bug, lag, and balance issue plague the game and troll and cancerous players are what kill the game. If express any dissatisfaction with the game, the player base will send you and your friends hate mail. Check out the GOI forums to see how baddy things can get. These will be the player that you will be playing with. Not very fun getting told off while learning this complicated game. Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2018
    0
    This game is has hardly anyone playing it. Muse has a horrible track record of producing inferior games. The gameplay is loaded with advertisement to buy their other alliance game. This game feels cheaply made. You fly around shoot or ram or die game over. As for the social atmosphere of the game there are no forms of protection from predatory players. The players are troll tastic! TheyThis game is has hardly anyone playing it. Muse has a horrible track record of producing inferior games. The gameplay is loaded with advertisement to buy their other alliance game. This game feels cheaply made. You fly around shoot or ram or die game over. As for the social atmosphere of the game there are no forms of protection from predatory players. The players are troll tastic! They judge quickly and are very tribal minded. Maybe that is why they have problems with player retention. http://steamcharts.com/app/209080 So even if you do purchase the game, you will feel angry when you find out you have hardly anyone to play against. Expand
  6. Jan 19, 2018
    1
    30 Mins of waiting for a game. Played maybe a few times but the game is complicated and the player that have been playing for years are very rude. Very unbalanced game and Rude players in the game. Muse does nothing about the rude behavior so it grows. Not worth spending money on a game that will go free to play for survival. Only 20 players online! If you buy this game you will feel30 Mins of waiting for a game. Played maybe a few times but the game is complicated and the player that have been playing for years are very rude. Very unbalanced game and Rude players in the game. Muse does nothing about the rude behavior so it grows. Not worth spending money on a game that will go free to play for survival. Only 20 players online! If you buy this game you will feel cheated when you can not get a game. Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2018
    1
    Yo here is the real lo down about this game. It is whack! I played for a few mins and I hear sum guy hollering at another player and then a shouting match starts. I was like are you for real ? Wow drama level 10! Peace out not worth the money or time. Dont think they can even pay people to play this game. Maybe for a good laugh at hearing people holler at each other like like try hardYo here is the real lo down about this game. It is whack! I played for a few mins and I hear sum guy hollering at another player and then a shouting match starts. I was like are you for real ? Wow drama level 10! Peace out not worth the money or time. Dont think they can even pay people to play this game. Maybe for a good laugh at hearing people holler at each other like like try hard gangsters . I was like where is the regulators at? Nobody stepped in! It was cray cray. Expand
  8. Jan 18, 2018
    1
    This game is not fun to play at all. No players, No cooperation just yelling, Super long waiting times. Its a small miracle that this corporation is still alive. Also I did not like the fact that they decided to place advertisement in a paid game. Not cool.
  9. Jan 17, 2018
    0
    I bought this game for my young daughter and thought nothing of this game until one night I came home to see my daughter crying on her bed. I thought it was typical teenage drama and that she had broken up with her boyfriend , But discovered later that it was because of a player pilot yelling at her through the mic that caused her to cry. I found out the story from my daughter thatI bought this game for my young daughter and thought nothing of this game until one night I came home to see my daughter crying on her bed. I thought it was typical teenage drama and that she had broken up with her boyfriend , But discovered later that it was because of a player pilot yelling at her through the mic that caused her to cry. I found out the story from my daughter that everything was okay with the game until one day she reject another player and that pilot player got mad and screamed at her through the microphone as other players did nothing! I reported this game but I later found out in the hidden in the negative reviews that this is normal and nothing is done about this. When i report they say they will look into the player, but I still see him play even today! I learned my lesson the hard way ! A game like this can cause emotional trauma that can stay with a person for a long time. Maybe Muse are understaffed or maybe they just don't care but the emotional damage is the same. As a parent I beg you to protect your children and do not buy or support any games from this company. Expand
  10. Jan 16, 2018
    1
    If you are a girl playing this game is Okay until you reject the advances of other players. They get mad at you and yell at you for doing everything wrong. I rate this 4 star cause my brother play with me as well and they treat him poorly. They yell at him say he no good. Laugh at him. He is only 10 years old and is lvl 1. Some American players need to grow up and act more mature.If you are a girl playing this game is Okay until you reject the advances of other players. They get mad at you and yell at you for doing everything wrong. I rate this 4 star cause my brother play with me as well and they treat him poorly. They yell at him say he no good. Laugh at him. He is only 10 years old and is lvl 1. Some American players need to grow up and act more mature. Developers seem to do nothing about this. So sad. This game is only as good as the game play. For my brother I can not give higher score. Expand
  11. Jan 16, 2018
    0
    Limited game play and general bugginess, lack of updates and nasty player base hold everything back.
  12. Jan 16, 2018
    0
    This game plays like a demo. Horrible training and people can be nasty. Just wait for it to go free to play again. Do not buy this game you will waste money due to lack of players, bugs lags and very little updates.
  13. Jan 16, 2018
    0
    This game is the same trashy game re-branded or reworked 3 times. First in 2009, then in 2012, now they just recycled content from GOI to create a up sell expansion. All of them scored low to very low on metacritic.

    https://secure.metacritic.com/company/muse-games Point of this review is that the game is just recycled garbage. I was curious to read some of the high 10 and 9 comments
    This game is the same trashy game re-branded or reworked 3 times. First in 2009, then in 2012, now they just recycled content from GOI to create a up sell expansion. All of them scored low to very low on metacritic.

    https://secure.metacritic.com/company/muse-games

    Point of this review is that the game is just recycled garbage. I was curious to read some of the high 10 and 9 comments like the game is perfect, and there are no bugs, Everyone is friendly etc. After reading the reviews I had to wonder if these people ever played this game to give it 9 or 10 points. Then when I looked at many of the 9 and 10 point review I noticed something strange. Many of them only reviewed this game in 2012-14 then diapered. Seems very odd. Anyway the game sucks in short do not every invest any money into muse or their games. Knowledge is power check out the 9 and 10 reviews. Muse how about you actually spend time on making the game better instead of doing things half way for a once.
    Expand
  14. Jan 15, 2018
    0
    Trash in = Trash out.
    The moment you log on to your GOI account you can instantly tell that the developers made a cash grab. You can always tell that a game is dying when you have huge advertisements in game. That is never a good sign. Forget about the unforgiving player-base, or the Maximum of 25 players when you log in. (Keep in mind that it takes 5 people just to fly one ship) What
    Trash in = Trash out.
    The moment you log on to your GOI account you can instantly tell that the developers made a cash grab. You can always tell that a game is dying when you have huge advertisements in game. That is never a good sign. Forget about the unforgiving player-base, or the Maximum of 25 players when you log in. (Keep in mind that it takes 5 people just to fly one ship) What bothers me the most is that I paid good money for a freemium game with advertisements. It really shows through the game that the developer do not care at all about their players. I would rather have a giant middle finger displayed on my Guns of Icarus login screen, at least that is a more honest and straightforward message from the developers. This is just my opinion of this game G'day.
    Expand
  15. Jan 15, 2018
    0
    Why do you have advertisement on a paid game? I buy this game and it have advertisement on the game to buy other another game. Why you do this? This game not good. You not have many players! Why me want to buy other alliance game for? I feel cheated! You sell half game with 20 players online! I thought USA honest, but me wrong. Muse just do anything to make money. Like big advertisementWhy do you have advertisement on a paid game? I buy this game and it have advertisement on the game to buy other another game. Why you do this? This game not good. You not have many players! Why me want to buy other alliance game for? I feel cheated! You sell half game with 20 players online! I thought USA honest, but me wrong. Muse just do anything to make money. Like big advertisement on a PAID Game. No morals! Expand
  16. Jan 15, 2018
    3
    As A Free Game 5 - But As A Paid Game 1
    This game is wonderful for stress management. After a hard day's work and nagging wife, their is nothing like yelling, screaming and training newbie players in the game to take out all of my stress. If I did this on any other online game I would get banned almost instantly and have to buy the game again or open another account. This game is better
    As A Free Game 5 - But As A Paid Game 1
    This game is wonderful for stress management. After a hard day's work and nagging wife, their is nothing like yelling, screaming and training newbie players in the game to take out all of my stress. If I did this on any other online game I would get banned almost instantly and have to buy the game again or open another account. This game is better than any other game for that one reason. The players in this game makes the players in LOL look like boy scouts. So I give it 3 stars for stress management tool. The game play downright sucks. It is BORING and is probably why most people that buy this game most likely use it as an ANGER MANAGEMENT tool just like me. That is why I am subtracting 2 stars from a free 5 star game. The trick to never getting banned is to always have an excuse like training new players. They will never ban you if you use that excuse. Also join a Clan. because even if you are unlucky enough to get caught by a newb for harassment, your friends can gang up and yell at your accusers and the great thing is moderators will keep silent just make sure you look like you are "defending the game" or training new players lol. Good Times.
    Expand
  17. Jan 15, 2018
    0
    Used to be a fantastic game, not sure what happened...Sort of.

    The gameplay is pretty solid, the mechanics are pretty solid. The community and developers...eh, not so much. People ask why there is no community or how they wish there was, well I'll tell you. I bought this game during its kickstarter (yes, it was on kickstarter!) and thoroughly enjoyed it for a good couple of years. But
    Used to be a fantastic game, not sure what happened...Sort of.

    The gameplay is pretty solid, the mechanics are pretty solid. The community and developers...eh, not so much. People ask why there is no community or how they wish there was, well I'll tell you. I bought this game during its kickstarter (yes, it was on kickstarter!) and thoroughly enjoyed it for a good couple of years. But everything changed when the dev's attacked. Once they changed matchmaking and the entire overhaul of the UI, all the veterans (most of the community at the time) left.

    The reason being the matchmaking became poor (still is) and the communication dropped by about 150% down to -50% where you're communicating with yourself more than anything. Trust me when I say this game REQUIRES communication and is WAY more fun with a jokey, banterous team who also know what they're doing and can talk to each other. Sadly, you don't have that anymore, the community who supported them got betrayed and left and now it's empty and full of kids or 3/8 player lobbies with just bad game play...
    Expand
  18. Jan 15, 2018
    4
    The GREAT BASTION of A Game !
    There is some fun in the actual game-play, but the real fun is in the lobby and during the matches! You will hear all sorts of colorful language especially from the crew to the pilot and pilot to the crew uncensored and RAW! I have heard of pilots causing nubs to almost cry cause they yelled at them constantly for not fixing the hull or the balloon properly.
    The GREAT BASTION of A Game !
    There is some fun in the actual game-play, but the real fun is in the lobby and during the matches! You will hear all sorts of colorful language especially from the crew to the pilot and pilot to the crew uncensored and RAW! I have heard of pilots causing nubs to almost cry cause they yelled at them constantly for not fixing the hull or the balloon properly. But this is what makes the game so great. You can be your true self. I want to give it more stars but the game play is dead and boring. I got this on special since they released a new DLC that seems to have caused the already small player base to become smaller. What is the point of having a multiplayer game if very few people are online? This game requires thick skin so be prepared, and have fun.
    Expand
  19. Jan 15, 2018
    5
    Guns of Icarus Online has not improved much from the same title as the 2009 version that got 4.7 on metacritic found here http://www.metacritic.com/game/pc/guns-of-icarus. This game can be fun -ish to play but not in the way you are thinking. To make the game fun you will need to join a group or else all of the higher level players including a few community helpers will verbally harassGuns of Icarus Online has not improved much from the same title as the 2009 version that got 4.7 on metacritic found here http://www.metacritic.com/game/pc/guns-of-icarus. This game can be fun -ish to play but not in the way you are thinking. To make the game fun you will need to join a group or else all of the higher level players including a few community helpers will verbally harass you this part is not fun as I found out the hard-way as a beginner. But then you join a group and they will protect you from abuse and this will make you less of an easy target. So the veteran players will move on to another new player that hasn't joined a group yet. This will all make sense when you join the game and see what goes on in a match. But by all means do not make buy this game at full price. Wait for it to go free to play again since the game desperately need new players and muse appears to be turning a blind eye to the negative aspects of the game in order to increase membership. So remember join a group to protect yourself and make the game fun-ish. As for getting a match that will be hard since at the time of this writing only 25 members are online. Expand
  20. Jan 15, 2018
    5
    Once you become a veteran it become too easy to kill nubs. This game is great for trolling but get boring very quickly and not many players are online anymore.

    -Great Graphics -Was Free to Play at one point. I would never pay money for this game. -Once you become a Veteran It is Fun To "Teach" New Players This is the few game that the moderators don't care about cursing or toxic
    Once you become a veteran it become too easy to kill nubs. This game is great for trolling but get boring very quickly and not many players are online anymore.

    -Great Graphics
    -Was Free to Play at one point. I would never pay money for this game.
    -Once you become a Veteran It is Fun To "Teach" New Players This is the few game that the moderators don't care about cursing or toxic behavior because they understand that you have to break new players in. True American Freedom to say whatever you want to whoever you want and not get censored or punished. Trump Country for Trump Gamer.

    - Cons
    Very Low player base in the past there were many players at one point but after free to play
    Kick-starter backers got the short end of the stick since they paid full price for a game that became free.
    -Once in a very long while they may temp ban you if what you say is recorded and displayed to the public. They do care about PR but they know that sometime you have to get hard with the new players. But even "teaching new players gets boring cause many of them don't show up online anymore.

    Bottom line: If you want to play a rare gem of a game with true Uncensored freedom to say whatever you want and act tough to teach the new recruits how to play and not get a lifetime ban this game is for you.
    Expand
  21. Jan 14, 2018
    2
    Fun game but the community is lame. They hate you and scream at you if you're new. No wonder there's only about 200 active players. Did the tutorials, tried to play, got screamed at for having the audacity to be new.
  22. Jan 14, 2018
    0
    Most of the player base has been driven away by veteran players stacking lobbies, developers that dont play understand their own game and bias moderation. I wish a real game developer was responsible for this game.
  23. Jan 14, 2018
    0
    Got it free through humble bundle. Lacking in players.
    I think part of the problem is the high level players can be quite nasty. Saltier than DOTA2 player.
    No wonder new players don't want to stick around to play. Types of users - just plain rude (swearing on mic) or unfriendly. - unforgiving to lower level player (raging because players "can't" do things as well as them) - just
    Got it free through humble bundle. Lacking in players.
    I think part of the problem is the high level players can be quite nasty. Saltier than DOTA2 player.
    No wonder new players don't want to stick around to play.

    Types of users
    - just plain rude (swearing on mic) or unfriendly.
    - unforgiving to lower level player (raging because players "can't" do things as well as them)
    - just can't chill, and enjoy the game. No GLHF

    Having said that, there are some good player. But quite often it'll be quite nasty.
    If you're a high level GOI player, be nice to others.
    Expand
  24. Jan 14, 2018
    1
    The game has a great concept, BUT DO NOT BUY IT.
    The game is DEAD. Nobody plays it, therefore you will not find a game. I tried searching for a game with 3 other friends, and after 15 minutes had no luck. Even if you get a game by looking through custom matches, there's a high chance you won't be on the same team as your friends.
    ALSO, if you have no friends this game is not for you.
    The game has a great concept, BUT DO NOT BUY IT.
    The game is DEAD. Nobody plays it, therefore you will not find a game. I tried searching for a game with 3 other friends, and after 15 minutes had no luck. Even if you get a game by looking through custom matches, there's a high chance you won't be on the same team as your friends.

    ALSO, if you have no friends this game is not for you.

    I really liked the idea, i was so ready to play, but i guess a lot of games match their price.
    Expand
  25. Jan 14, 2018
    0
    Not worth investing in, neither in time or money. The game itself is mediocre, which wouldn't be too bad were it not for the playerbase. First off, there aren't many players - now, that's to be expected of a game like this, but the attitude of most of those remaining probably contributes to the decline. Out of the players that I met, only a couple of them were decent enough to play with.Not worth investing in, neither in time or money. The game itself is mediocre, which wouldn't be too bad were it not for the playerbase. First off, there aren't many players - now, that's to be expected of a game like this, but the attitude of most of those remaining probably contributes to the decline. Out of the players that I met, only a couple of them were decent enough to play with. The others were entitled and controlling, they even went so far as to encourage everyone in the match to report me for 'trolling' because I was bad. Expand
  26. Dec 20, 2017
    10
    The Guns of Icarus Online is simply wonderful Because despite being a game made in 2012 it still looks great! And most of all the devs still updating it! Also It's almost bug free! The game is very fun! The game-play is very good! And last but not lest! The controls are brilliant!
  27. Dec 27, 2016
    7
    Nagyon megtetszett az az ötlet, hogy egy steampunk világban egy gőzhajón egy csapat tagjaként szántsak a réten és valami eszméletlen élmény volt ezt átélni.
  28. Oct 17, 2016
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. No exception. It is not everyone's cup of tea, and most people do not enjoy Guns of Icarus to various reasons, but if you are a competitive person but also like cooperative gaming, than this is the game for you.
  29. Jun 22, 2016
    7
    I've barely gotten to play it for lack of buddies who own it, but Guns of Icarus struck me as an interesting game. The lovely steampunk asthetic combined with a reliance on a unique team synergy for success sets it apart from almost any other First Person game out there. I'd love to dig into it more.
  30. May 28, 2016
    7
    Pros:
    -Some of the best multiplayer gameplay mechanics ever, its even better than Left4Dead.
    -No pay-to-win, and no level bonuses, so newcomers have same capabilities as veterans. -A friendly mature community, mostly (at least better than CoD etc.) -easy to learn, difficult to master. -epic battles with up to 32 players divided across 8 airships (4v4). Cons: -Indie game (low
    Pros:
    -Some of the best multiplayer gameplay mechanics ever, its even better than Left4Dead.
    -No pay-to-win, and no level bonuses, so newcomers have same capabilities as veterans.
    -A friendly mature community, mostly (at least better than CoD etc.)
    -easy to learn, difficult to master.
    -epic battles with up to 32 players divided across 8 airships (4v4).

    Cons:
    -Indie game (low budget feel), with some rough edges.
    -How much fun you have depends very much on who you play with - you will meet some totally incompetent players on the same ship as you, who can ruin the fun. Example: 12 year olds who take captain role and don't know how to fly and disconnect the first moment the ship inevitably starts to lose.
    -If you like to be able to "go it alone" without relying on others, this game is not for you. Teamwork or die.
    -The tutorials for beginners could be better. You will have to learn a lot of things the hard way.
    -Dated graphics (but it still "looks and feels good").
    -Small player base - only about 200 concurrent gamers in the evening.
    -Games often take a long time to start (waiting in lobby for other players to ready up).

    A friend recommended this. I had modest expectations and the game has exceeded them.
    I used to only play RedOrchestra2 online, but I liked this game enough that I have added it to my regular online gaming diet.

    This is a severely underrated game that deserves a much bigger player base. Its great to play with your friends, otherwise its still decent, but not as good.
    Expand
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 19, 2013
    65
    There is some fun to be had with this game, and there is definitely a lot of potential given how the game is still evolving even though you can play it now.
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    60
    It's good to see there are still developers who dare to try something different. Because let's be honest..how many zeppelin sims are out there now? Exactly. Guns of Icarus Online offers a fun concept, working together with some random players on a flying fortress, trying to defend it from other, similar foes. Bugs and lag cause major disappointment however. That's a shame, because the idea is great. Let's hope a great amount of patches will deal with these problems.
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    73
    Despite its visual beauty and impressive execution, limited gameplay and general bugginess hold everything back. This beast has room to grow. When it does, expect great things. For now, a little turbulence makes for a bumpy ride.