Guns of Icarus Online PC

Guns of Icarus Online Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 283 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Guns of Icarus Online is a multiplayer airship combat game where you will attempt to survive and thrive in the post apocalyptic wasteland, moving from town to town, trading and collecting resources, outfitting your ship, and battling deadly pirates.Visit the website for a look at ourGuns of Icarus Online is a multiplayer airship combat game where you will attempt to survive and thrive in the post apocalyptic wasteland, moving from town to town, trading and collecting resources, outfitting your ship, and battling deadly pirates.Visit the website for a look at our beautiful teaser and find out more about the game. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    87
    Guns of Icarus is an outstanding example of how a kickstarter project can be the new revolution of PC gaming. The skirmish mode is a brilliant teamplay/deathmatch battle arena and we are waiting for the promising adventure mode.
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    73
    Despite its visual beauty and impressive execution, limited gameplay and general bugginess hold everything back. This beast has room to grow. When it does, expect great things. For now, a little turbulence makes for a bumpy ride.
  3. May 19, 2013
    65
    There is some fun to be had with this game, and there is definitely a lot of potential given how the game is still evolving even though you can play it now.
  4. Nov 10, 2012
    60
    Sadly, the truly unique quality of proper airship-to-airship combat can't justify all blemishes that come with Guns of Icarus Online. It would simply be deceitful for this reviewer to say there aren't better, free, and readily accessible alternatives.
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    60
    It's good to see there are still developers who dare to try something different. Because let's be honest..how many zeppelin sims are out there now? Exactly. Guns of Icarus Online offers a fun concept, working together with some random players on a flying fortress, trying to defend it from other, similar foes. Bugs and lag cause major disappointment however. That's a shame, because the idea is great. Let's hope a great amount of patches will deal with these problems.
  6. Oct 23, 2012
    55
    Guns of Icarus Online is in every way, shape and form better than its predecessor, but doesn't escape the fact that its gameplay concept won't stay interesting for long. The slow airships and open levels make for limited tactics and slow-paced fights. It isn't bad by any means, but just isn't interesting for long enough.
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    51
    After all the Call of Dutys, Medal of Honors and Battlefields this is… different and kind of interesting. But nonetheless I don't see enough reasons to spend more time with this steampunk sleeping pill than necessary.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 100
  2. Negative: 4 out of 100
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Truly immersive graphics and audio grabs the player and thrusts them into the middle of a explosive steam-punk universe that many gamers haveTruly immersive graphics and audio grabs the player and thrusts them into the middle of a explosive steam-punk universe that many gamers have been craving for. This game shines when it is played with friends as crew. Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    Guns of Icarus is very different from any game out there, because of that it goes into the love it or hate it kind of category. It isGuns of Icarus is very different from any game out there, because of that it goes into the love it or hate it kind of category. It is important however to note that unless you are playing with people you know and communicating with, it can be quite frustrating. The dev team stated that they wanted the game to be the most co-op game ever, and they succeeded. If you team isn't working together then you will probably lose, unless the other team is as unorganized. That said, it is an amazing game experience you can't get anywhere else. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love this game and no matter what critics think i will always love it. its got great unique game play. The Co op is brilliantI absolutely love this game and no matter what critics think i will always love it. its got great unique game play. The Co op is brilliant with friends or alone and no matter what position you pick the game you play will be completely different. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    It's very rare to enjoy a match. Lag spikes are very often and ruin the fun and the worst of all is that captains have NO control over theirIt's very rare to enjoy a match. Lag spikes are very often and ruin the fun and the worst of all is that captains have NO control over their crew. If I can't find three friends matches are no fun at all because everyone wants to play as a gunner. I would prefer to have the AI play an engy instead of having two gunners in a ship that doesn't need two gunners.

    Very bad design choices. Give captains a way to pick classes for and kick members of their crew else you are limiting this game to those that are able to form groups of 4 friends.
    Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2013
    9
    As a Steampunk fan, it doesn't get much better than the retro-futurism of Guns of Icarus Online. While not High Victorian gaslight fiction,As a Steampunk fan, it doesn't get much better than the retro-futurism of Guns of Icarus Online. While not High Victorian gaslight fiction, the post-apocalyptic setting has plenty of exploding airships, intricate Gatling guns, and dapper aeronauts clothed in leather and canvas. The pace is hectic, and the amount of coordinated teamwork necessary for victory makes for a satisfying multiplayer experience. Playing with friends, with voice chat enabled, is very enjoyable. The firefights are intense, but its also nice to sit back and watch the scenery go by in the calm before the storm. The artwork that surrounds you is detailed and full of atmosphere. Little touches, like film grain and post processing effects, really add to the experience and make it feel like you are part of an old film. It's a little rough around the edges, but a fun time overall. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    its a good game but doesn't have that much variety. They said that they would be working on an adventure mode so im hopeful. The gameplayits a good game but doesn't have that much variety. They said that they would be working on an adventure mode so im hopeful. The gameplay and look is solid. Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    0
    This game proved to be unplayable. I started it up assuming it was going to work but it kept trying to connect to the server. Then IThis game proved to be unplayable. I started it up assuming it was going to work but it kept trying to connect to the server. Then I troubleshooted. I turned of Windows Firewall, opened the right UDP ports, re-installed the game, and I tried to get in the lobby probably 15 times overall. I looked on the forums. I sent an email to the developers about it (who care about their customers and respond to everyone) but they were unable to help me. They wanted me to do a bunch of stuff in order to see what the problem could be. I have never actually played the game and it has caused me at least an hour of trouble. I don't have ANY time for that, and I never want to set foot on a game made by these people ever again. A game needs to work- and this game won't. Unacceptable. This game deserves my zero star rating. Expand

See all 100 User Reviews