User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2331 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidG.
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    Absolutely good expansion.. but the shortness was bad.. but still I give it a 10.
  2. JBobinski
    Jun 10, 2006
    6
    More frustrating than fun, especially the really dark parts.
  3. NicolasR.
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    Brilliant game- don't worry about its length. It's definitly short but sweet!
  4. EubieButt
    Jun 30, 2006
    8
    Just funushed Ep 1, so here's my im[pression while it's still fresh: gameplay wise, it's excellent, especially the final sequence in Nova Prospekt. Very tight, very well paced, and the dose of humor was a welcome addition. All that said, I have two major problems, the first being that as tight as the gameplay is, the programming is not; load times were egregious and theJust funushed Ep 1, so here's my im[pression while it's still fresh: gameplay wise, it's excellent, especially the final sequence in Nova Prospekt. Very tight, very well paced, and the dose of humor was a welcome addition. All that said, I have two major problems, the first being that as tight as the gameplay is, the programming is not; load times were egregious and the graphics made my computer chug at levels Half Life 2 never did. Second, obviously, is that it's much too short for a twenty dollar price tag. Ten dollars, fine, fifteen maybe, but at twenty bucks I'm shelling out five dollars an hour for gameplay, a ratio no reasonable gamer should accept.
    I also wasn't crazy about the ending, it works dramatically, but it's not nearly the level of payoff I was expecting. Was The Agent's VA off sick or something?
    Expand
  5. RobertB.
    Jun 7, 2006
    0
    20$ for some maps and cutscenes? this takes halflife2 further and further away from halflife1 style and closer to counterstrike. be prepared for the rat race, cuz thats what you are gonna be doing in your gaming experience. looks like its going to be time to avoid the haflife series.
  6. AnonymousMC
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    Very good expansion.
  7. ArtK.
    Jun 20, 2006
    6
    Disappointing!
    * the game was a 1 day game , too short
    *The game got no shoot action, I know action is not the point of the game but lack of it nakes it nothing * it is not as smooth as I expected it to be, it is not polished enough. By that, I mean the game got quite a lot of flaws in the design * Valve gave up :( , can't u c. Valve is making episodes cause they want money and
    Disappointing!
    * the game was a 1 day game , too short
    *The game got no shoot action, I know action is not the point of the game but lack of it nakes it nothing
    * it is not as smooth as I expected it to be, it is not polished enough. By that, I mean the game got quite a lot of flaws in the design
    * Valve gave up :( , can't u c. Valve is making episodes cause they want money and all they do is say at the end of the game " oh, what happens next...BUY THE NEXT EPISODE AND FIND OUT"
    * 20$ = RIP OFF, C'MON ITS WORTH 8-12 $

    well, Valve forgot about the true meaning of the game. It is GRAPHICS ADVENTURE ACTION
    but replaced it with GRAPHICS ADVENTURE ALYX
    All this is is a rip off, the truth can be sad

    HL1 = 10
    HL2 = 8
    HL2 episode 1= 6

    see where this is going

    the game lost its replayability quality, and shooting action and if its 4 more episodes they are making, get a life cause that is 4 days of gaming for 100$ and probably 2 years of waiting
    People should start making something good and long like HL2 but not rush and make a worse game such as the aftermath
    Expand
  8. ErikA.
    Jun 29, 2006
    9
    Very great gameplay, with the right mixture of scary and exciting gameplay.
  9. AdamS.
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    The essence of all the good things from HL2!
  10. GrantF.
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    More of Half Life 2 (as suggested in the title) it isn't Half Life 3 !!I think sets a higher standard than the 2004 HL2 - simply stunning to look at and intriguing to play.
  11. ???
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    Very good.
  12. SeanB.
    Jun 6, 2006
    9
    I thought it was a great diversion. I'll agree it was a bit short (even for 20 bucks). Maybe they could make the others longer if they require Ep1 to be purchased first.
  13. Joe
    Jun 6, 2006
    0
    Rubbish. A short piece of extremely linear gameplay such that you might think it had been cut from HL:2. No challenges and underwelming set pieces. Didn't feel like an exploration. Alyx is a pointless, characterless companion. Come on, nothing happened, nothing new was revealed
  14. KongFu
    Jun 8, 2006
    3
    Well, what can I say about it? I can not find the feeling from playing Half-Life 2 when 2 years ago... The Episode is a failure, a trap that sucks up your money... Valve, if you like the way of making game like Episode 1... Make some more....and remember, they should be FREE but not $20.00.
  15. ChristopherB.
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    absolutely incredible the hospital and the elevator battle in particularly good... the hospital in particular was reminicent of silent hill the scares were much more artfufully done... bravo!
  16. VitRa
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    My Regardes to HF team. It is the most wanted game. I thought its not worth it cause i played HF2 I was wrong, wery wrong, i can say that EP 1 is even better). But to short), it all ends very fast and i felt really apset. I think we should wait even HF 3 with most live Char we have ever seen)It Can Be Freeman, but i suppose his name will be not Gordon). (You should teach him to talk, and My Regardes to HF team. It is the most wanted game. I thought its not worth it cause i played HF2 I was wrong, wery wrong, i can say that EP 1 is even better). But to short), it all ends very fast and i felt really apset. I think we should wait even HF 3 with most live Char we have ever seen)It Can Be Freeman, but i suppose his name will be not Gordon). (You should teach him to talk, and to be careful with objects i think) Waiting for Ep2 and saing bravo with my cap off. Expand
  17. DylanT.
    Aug 20, 2006
    7
    should be longer even though its an episode and should have more action and stay with its true meaning.
  18. YoannF.
    Sep 5, 2006
    6
    Great and beautifull, but... too short! I achieved it in two afternoons ... i was expecting weeks of gaming :-( That is a great deception to me ..... When i buyed it (19.9
  19. Novi4ekNone
    Feb 17, 2007
    8
    good game
  20. Josh.G
    May 29, 2007
    8
    Would have given it 9 for extra gameplay and 10 for new weapons and environments. Over all though it was fun!
  21. MarkE.
    Jul 7, 2007
    5
    What a shame there was not more substance to this game - it seemed like gameplay for gameplay's sake rather than a comprehensive and well thought out storyline. And as others have said, short... very short. I've gone back to playing the original as it had more meat and more substance... here's hoping episodes 2 and 3 don't make the same mistake as it has the potential What a shame there was not more substance to this game - it seemed like gameplay for gameplay's sake rather than a comprehensive and well thought out storyline. And as others have said, short... very short. I've gone back to playing the original as it had more meat and more substance... here's hoping episodes 2 and 3 don't make the same mistake as it has the potential to be an amazing trilogy (the original plus 2 and 3!) Expand
  22. scottd
    Jan 1, 2010
    6
    dont think im hateing, i think the beggining of half life 2 ep 1 is dazzleing and amazeing (and a great way to experience the organic grave gun if you havnt gotten up to that part in half life two) and i think the ending is brillaintly epic, but everything inbetween is just a bland blur and is mostly just rehash of the latter parts of half-life 2 (follow freeman), that and i personaly did dont think im hateing, i think the beggining of half life 2 ep 1 is dazzleing and amazeing (and a great way to experience the organic grave gun if you havnt gotten up to that part in half life two) and i think the ending is brillaintly epic, but everything inbetween is just a bland blur and is mostly just rehash of the latter parts of half-life 2 (follow freeman), that and i personaly did not enjoy bogging through the darkened underground before getting to city 17 topside, good start, epic finish, bland middle! Expand
  23. DaveT.
    Oct 13, 2006
    9
    If you love Half Life 2, you'll love the sequel(s). Can't wait for the XBOX 360 version in HIGH DEFINITION!
  24. TJH
    Oct 19, 2006
    6
    I was expecting more-
    There was no
  25. YermakirumY.
    Oct 29, 2006
    8
    Very good game.
  26. Greg
    Oct 4, 2006
    7
    The game seemed, in terms of quality, to fall short in comparison to the original HL2 release. There were a few areas in the game where it felt things were just thrown together; or just fell short to the level of experience we've come to know and love. Still a cool game.
  27. A
    Oct 6, 2006
    9
    Great game! But its so short...
  28. MichaelD.
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    It's very good.
  29. KennyJ.
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    Perfect game in all aspects. It is basically a continuation of HL2, with some graphical and AI improvements. Taking into consideration that HL2 was astounding, and that EP1 just gives us an improved version of what we already liked, this game is easily a 10/10.
  30. Gerard
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    It's an extension of Half-Life2 with only one mod that I could think of ( Combine rifle seems more efficient ) Very well made episodic content. Although smaller than I'd like, I have to force myself to remember its not a full game. Although it kind of sucks that this episode raises more questions than it answers, when everything is said and done, im sure we'll all wish it It's an extension of Half-Life2 with only one mod that I could think of ( Combine rifle seems more efficient ) Very well made episodic content. Although smaller than I'd like, I have to force myself to remember its not a full game. Although it kind of sucks that this episode raises more questions than it answers, when everything is said and done, im sure we'll all wish it would have stretched out for another episode or 2. The AI is very well developed, especially Alex. She's not just some tag-along, she does her fair share of work. My only 2 gripes are that they haven't introduced a new gun along the lines of an m4a1-type, but they did partly make up for it with a more 'solid' feeling Combine Assult Rifle. The recoil doesn't kick in as fast, making the gun a lot more functional. Also, I wish Valve would make 'nade-cooking' possible on the Single player HL2 like it does in HL2:DM. Some things I'd like to see from the new episode ( since I know Valve reads these metascores since they direct people to this site directly from steam ): 1)a combine m4a1 2)nade cooking in single player Expand
  31. RonyeG.
    Jun 10, 2006
    6
    The game is very easy and too short! The graphs are fine and yuo can play it with any average video adapter. $20 is too expensive for a 3 days game. HL2 was much better!!
  32. Luke
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    The game was great it was cool to hear those poison head crabs they always freak me out. Great game and i hope they make another instalment soon.
  33. Pase
    Jun 12, 2006
    9
    Too short!
  34. MartinI.
    Jun 13, 2006
    5
    Im afraid I can only give this game 5 out of ten. Not because I didnt enjoy it, but because it was very short; way to short in fact. I enjoyed the new sections, the brevity of the episode left me feeling ripped off. Be aware I finished this in an evening and I am not even a full time gamer anymore! wait until it comes down in price, Valve has become what all successful corporations are, GREEDY!!
  35. TerenceC.
    Jun 10, 2006
    1
    all the same weapons from Half-Life 2, no new ones, only one new enemy creature, and well zombines are a disappointment, there's only 2-4 hours of gameplay, so it's not worth $20 very disappointed with you valve.
  36. AndrewSutherland
    Jun 14, 2006
    9
    This is a truly brilliant game which takes the Half Life 2 formula and refines it with varied and constantly enjoyable gameplay. The characters are brilliantly portrayed (Alyx especially) and i really started to feel attached to them by the end of the game. It is short but i feel its to be expected considering its named EPISODE 1. There is very little to critisise about this game... itsThis is a truly brilliant game which takes the Half Life 2 formula and refines it with varied and constantly enjoyable gameplay. The characters are brilliantly portrayed (Alyx especially) and i really started to feel attached to them by the end of the game. It is short but i feel its to be expected considering its named EPISODE 1. There is very little to critisise about this game... its totally bug free, runs well on most hardware and has HDR which looks very nice indeed if you have the hardware to enable it... I could only wish for a few more weapons, enemies and perhaps a vehicle scene. Buy this game!!! Expand
  37. DenisG.
    Jun 19, 2006
    10
    Well, I think Episode One is a game of "must have" type. Very good grafics (even now) , wonderful sound and brilliand work of voice-actors. Gameplay and AI - 10/10.
  38. KyleP.
    Jun 20, 2006
    9
    This was an excellent continuation to Half-Life 2, albeit a tad too short. I still enjoyed playing it, especially with HDR in the whole game.
  39. Michael
    Jun 2, 2006
    6
    Hi. Not as good as HL2 :( Some really nice scences but too short and sometimes a bit boring. cya
  40. MikeL.
    Jun 2, 2006
    9
    Great game good pace didn
  41. PatB.
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    A perfect example of what episodic gaming should be. After the release of the first episode of SIN on steam, I was slightly concerned that Half Life 2: Episode 1 would not be able to showcase all the new visual upgrades, incredible storytelling, and panic-inducing gameplay I expected from the Half-Life universe. I am more than excited to say, this game has surpassed all of my hopes and A perfect example of what episodic gaming should be. After the release of the first episode of SIN on steam, I was slightly concerned that Half Life 2: Episode 1 would not be able to showcase all the new visual upgrades, incredible storytelling, and panic-inducing gameplay I expected from the Half-Life universe. I am more than excited to say, this game has surpassed all of my hopes and dreams. The Storyline is a perfect continuation from the rather enigmatic ending of Half-Life 2, and character development in games has been redefined once again. Sadly, due to its short length, not much of an appearance is made by the all-powerful G-Man, an element I was much anticipating after reading the pre-release hype. The graphic enhancements to the source engine are visually breath-taking. After playing through the game once more with the commentary enabled, I am much more impressed with the skill and art of Episode 1's creation. though I must say, the audio commentary enjoys placing heavy reliance on the term "vista." Not that I can complain, for these vistas are truly stunning. Gameplay is on-par with what should be expected from the Half-Life 2 universe. New tweaks, and npc animations, provide visual flair and definite moments of pure player shock. The first time I saw, in-game, Alyx deftly crack a zombie in the side wih her knee, pull back, and place a three-round burst into it's head-crabbed melon, I was amazed. Half-Life 2: episode 1 is well worth a buy at twenty dollars, and as far as I am concerned,it is the future of gaming. Expand
  42. VárnaiD.
    Jun 2, 2006
    9
    I think this game is very good. Small and good but I find some bug (I'm stucked in some place). The maps are very nice. Good job VALVe!
  43. BobS.
    Jun 2, 2006
    9
    Short? Fairly. Clever? Especially. Fun? Undoubtably. Good value? Yes. Although this, the first in a trilogy of episodes tagged on to the end of the superb Half-Life 2, lasts only 4-6 hours (although very very fast players have allegedly managed it in uder three), the game is ceratinly worth it's $20 price tag. It can be played stand alone but there's no question that the main Short? Fairly. Clever? Especially. Fun? Undoubtably. Good value? Yes. Although this, the first in a trilogy of episodes tagged on to the end of the superb Half-Life 2, lasts only 4-6 hours (although very very fast players have allegedly managed it in uder three), the game is ceratinly worth it's $20 price tag. It can be played stand alone but there's no question that the main game should be played first. The excellent action from HL2 is upped even further in EP1 with many tense moments. The consensus is that the gameplay in general is an improvement over what was already a formidable experience. The puzzles are more fun and certainly more intelligent and, although there are few new enemies or weapons, there is certainly variety of experience and a satisfying challenge. You will spend most of the with Alyx alongside you which turns out to be a great help and not a hinderance as is so often found when an FPS gives you an AI companion. Futhermore, the script is still excellent and the improved facial expressions system brings a new level of immersion to the dialogue. Some players have even caught themselves talking back! Add to this HDR lighting, a few plot revelations (just a few though :P) and an optional audio commentary, the likelyhood is that you will play this through numerous times and feel completely satisfied. Expand
  44. David
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    HL2 was GREAT, i think all players who played the game and are a fan wanted to spend more time with Alyx, and now you can! The graphics, storyline and AI in EP2 are FANTASTIC! I'ts certainly worth the 20$. EP1 leaves you aching for EP2 and HL3 and that's why it doesn't matter if the game only takes 4-6 h to finish it, you had so much fun playing it and wanting to know what HL2 was GREAT, i think all players who played the game and are a fan wanted to spend more time with Alyx, and now you can! The graphics, storyline and AI in EP2 are FANTASTIC! I'ts certainly worth the 20$. EP1 leaves you aching for EP2 and HL3 and that's why it doesn't matter if the game only takes 4-6 h to finish it, you had so much fun playing it and wanting to know what happens next that you can't wait for EP2 to be realeased . Ignore the people who rate this game below 7 or 8. I pitty them because obviously they have no taste and are just trying to make this game look bad. HL2:Episode One is a perfect example of how pc games should be like. It always keeps you in suspense and u never get tired of it. Great job Valve!!!! Expand
  45. AlfonsoP.
    Jun 3, 2006
    9
    I am a Valve fanboy since the first Half-Life came out and I sincerly was satisfied with Half-Life 2. The expansion pack (although fairly short) lives up to Half-Life 2 incredible gameplay and intense atmosphere. The only fault I would point out would be that the AI is still faulty. I would love to get jumped from all sides at the same time by a squad of combine troopers. Make them act as I am a Valve fanboy since the first Half-Life came out and I sincerly was satisfied with Half-Life 2. The expansion pack (although fairly short) lives up to Half-Life 2 incredible gameplay and intense atmosphere. The only fault I would point out would be that the AI is still faulty. I would love to get jumped from all sides at the same time by a squad of combine troopers. Make them act as a team, employing tactics to overcome Gordon. With the currently used AI combine troopers are not scared of granades, simply a "Watch out!" they still get blown up though. Some of them will also run the same path a dead combine trooper did, making them fall in the same fate. I need to be challanged a more chalanged than making my weapons incredibly weak, I need to be forced to think alternative ways of anihalating a squad of the combine because going at them head on would be suicide. It would be also nice if there where more enemy classes, although i am still satisfied with the current charachters. Other than this, the new entry is all I could wish for and in future entries you should make gameplay with Alyx and Barney even more extencibe to find out more about them. "Half-Life 2: Episode One" is the way an expansion should be made. Expand
  46. JoelS.
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    I'd have paid $100 dollars for this even if it had been half as long and had done nothing to advance the overall Half-Life storyline.
  47. OwenP.
    Jun 3, 2006
    9
    Excellent game. The detail improvement in the characters in HL2: EP1 compared to HL2 is amazing. You can actually see the worry in their faces when you're about to do something dangerous. Very nice ending and preview for EP2 - it really gives you the feeling that you're fighting for their survival.
  48. JanF.(CZE)
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    This game is NICE! And when you get all episodes and Half Life 2 so its over 26 hours of play time. I think all Half life is genial idea,and whos saing NO,isnt right player! I think a name-Gordon Freeman and Alyx will be never forgot,dont you think too? :)
  49. JMan_1_2
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    Damn, this was a good game. A bit short though. Lots of trial & error.
  50. PYROFLAME
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Valve did it again! A expantion pack to HL2 was released and it IS GOOD!!! The graphix use the most out of your video card. You will enjoy the gameplay from the beginning to end. If you truly like gaming, this is the perfact game. The only problem is that the game is too short, but what else do u expect from a game thats $20.
    P.S. YES the AI of the enemies are good, you WILL get a challenge.
  51. GregoryG.
    Jun 3, 2006
    8
    The main reason for the 2 point drop is the game play. The levels are a bit too long and often I find myself running out of flashlight batteries and being in total darkness, which is extremely annoying. Also, the creators still keep bragging about the physics. I am also constantly finding myself pulling wood planks out of doorways and shooting cars into antlion pits every level! It's The main reason for the 2 point drop is the game play. The levels are a bit too long and often I find myself running out of flashlight batteries and being in total darkness, which is extremely annoying. Also, the creators still keep bragging about the physics. I am also constantly finding myself pulling wood planks out of doorways and shooting cars into antlion pits every level! It's so annoying. There's just something different about this game from the original Half-Life 2. I am only on the fifth level, but I found that the cheesiest part so far was having my gravity gun turn super powerful again. Having my grav gun turn super powerful was somethign that was only good once. Almost like a treat for using the grav gun for the entire game in the originaly hl2. But bringing it back in the expansion, let alone right in the beginning, was cheesy. The grav gun in Doom 3 was cooler, because the space around the gravity beam looked distorted, almost as if it was distorting the fabric of the space is occupied. But this game does have some nice new perks like the ncie ominous sky and the flares (which is also a show-off the the lighting effects). Also, the zombine (mix of combine and zombie) soldiers. All-in-all, it could have been better. Also, I HATE escorting Alyx around. She's dead weight. If the devs had given you a gun earlier on in the game (which is what I would have preferred), Alyx would have been a useless character. Expand
  52. DaveM.
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    Episode One is an amazing game for the time it lasts. It is short, though, so try and find it for $15 or less and you will feel much better about the purchase. Steam delivery is extremely convenient, though, so the extra $5 could be considered same day shipping cost! Regardless, if you enjoyed Half-Life 2, Episode One is a must play.
  53. JohnM.
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    An excellent continuation of the Half Life story. Even Gearbox couldn't have made a better expansion. There is a level that is quite remeniscent to the legendary wharehouse level in Opposing Force. There are a few original gameplay elements. And a little Ravenholm scariness on occasion. No new weapons however. Perhaps in episode two. All in all, a flawless expansion that oozes the An excellent continuation of the Half Life story. Even Gearbox couldn't have made a better expansion. There is a level that is quite remeniscent to the legendary wharehouse level in Opposing Force. There are a few original gameplay elements. And a little Ravenholm scariness on occasion. No new weapons however. Perhaps in episode two. All in all, a flawless expansion that oozes the Valve quality with an obbliterating climax. Expand
  54. AndrewH.
    Jun 5, 2006
    8
    Excellent Half Life gameplay as would be expected but its far too short. Still good game overall.
  55. ArmageddonPotato
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    An increidble game. With more replayability because you can play it again after you beat it with the commentary on, and you'll love it.
  56. AntalB.
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    Valve does not fail to make me remember why I started gaming in the first place. I've been playing shooters since Wolfenstein 3D (actually, since catacombs, if anyone remembers that game) and everytime I think I've seen it all, Valve makes me feel like a kid at christmas all over again.
  57. JohnT.
    Jun 5, 2006
    7
    Absolutly brilliant - just too short.
  58. DavidB.
    Jun 5, 2006
    8
    Great add on to HL2. Superb graphics, gameplay, level design. A few issues though: it's too short (but it's cheap!) and there are no new environments. Alyx is too tough and her bullets don't hurt you, which does reduce the realism significantly.
  59. ToddS.
    Jun 5, 2006
    6
    The game is entertaining but fails to recapture the magic of Half-Life 2. The Source Engine displays several new tricks not seen in Half-Life 2 but the gameplay itself is nowhere near as good. It feels like you play through the same part two or three (or more) times before you're allowed to move onto something new. The fact that you have Alyx running around with you the entire time The game is entertaining but fails to recapture the magic of Half-Life 2. The Source Engine displays several new tricks not seen in Half-Life 2 but the gameplay itself is nowhere near as good. It feels like you play through the same part two or three (or more) times before you're allowed to move onto something new. The fact that you have Alyx running around with you the entire time is being used as a selling point. Let it be known, though, that having an invincible side-kick with unlimited ammo actually detracts from the game's immersion. More than too many times did I step back in the middle of a fight to watch Alyx play the game for me. And if having an NPC steal all my kills wasn't enough, anytime I encountered a puzzle she held my hand and told me exactly what to do. The game definately has its moments but the same level of quality and polish that were found in Half-Life 2 are just not there in Episode One. I'm honestly not sure if I regret paying for it or not. It's right on the line. Buy it if you're a Half-Life fan and have 20 dollars to spare but don't be surprised if you're a bit disappointed. Expand
  60. Snowwhite
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    This game is worth each of the 20 bucks I spent: a lot of supension letting you totally forget your environment ("ok I´m gonna quit the game, just let me take a look behind the next corner... and the next... and the next"), many answers to the questions left open by HL², and some new questions making me count the days to the release of episode 2.
  61. ZagorTenej
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Excellent!!!I I rated it 10 for the gameplay, graphics, story and character development. I couldn't take points off for wanting to play Episode 2 right away. After all the episodes come out, it'll be great to play them all one after the other.
  62. SCOTTZOMBIE
    Jun 6, 2006
    9
    It was a long wait for this follow up but well worth it and the $19.95. I look forward to the next installment and hope there are more to come. Oh and damn that Alyx is a hottie!!
  63. Imi?N.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Fenomanal grafix, story and Alyx :*
  64. BenHehir
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Corker! ...all the aspects that made HL and HL2 exceptional games plus some extra eye candy thrown in. I do agree that the episode concept is kinda new and weird but hey, it's better than waiting 6 years for the next release. Play this game, you won't regret it.
  65. SeanS
    Jun 6, 2006
    9
    Awesome. Continued the story that ended so abruptly in 2. The first hour is a bit slow, but after that there really isn't a break in the action until the end. I definitely suggest playing the game on Hard. Well balanced, and never punishing.
  66. MarekB.
    Jun 7, 2006
    8
    This is a great game not as good as original hl2 or counterstriek:source or halflife 2:lost coast but still a worthy addition to a gamers collection.
  67. Tomasz
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    Owned ^^
  68. SteveoThePro
    Jun 7, 2006
    9
    Yo! This game is just as good, if not better than Half Life 2. Number 1, the game is *way* harder. Getting the gravity gun so soon was a terrific hook for me; the early, scarier portions of the game are not nearly as overdone as Doom 3 and the overall game was far more fun. It's not as short as everyone says it is, but it's definitely not a full game. I'd rather play 1/3 of Yo! This game is just as good, if not better than Half Life 2. Number 1, the game is *way* harder. Getting the gravity gun so soon was a terrific hook for me; the early, scarier portions of the game are not nearly as overdone as Doom 3 and the overall game was far more fun. It's not as short as everyone says it is, but it's definitely not a full game. I'd rather play 1/3 of a fun game now than wait forever for 1 great game. In other words, I'm getting my twenty bucks worth! Expand
  69. GilbertoM.
    Jun 7, 2006
    8
    Great game, made by genius, but too short!!! Really too short for almost 20
  70. Martin
    Jun 7, 2006
    0
    i liked it but i said to my self after halflife 2 that i wouldn't buy any more valve stuff because of the online activation and the fact that you dont realy own the game they do , and if valve software was to go bust next week you would not have that halflife 2 to ever playagain. but i made the mistake of spending £15.99 on mine and its just not worth 15quid for 2 hours i liked it but i said to my self after halflife 2 that i wouldn't buy any more valve stuff because of the online activation and the fact that you dont realy own the game they do , and if valve software was to go bust next week you would not have that halflife 2 to ever playagain. but i made the mistake of spending £15.99 on mine and its just not worth 15quid for 2 hours gameplay. this is the last time valve get anything more from me. Goodbuy Valve software and good luck in ripping off all those people out there with your episodic gaming. Expand
  71. TimR.
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    A stunningly produced and graphically brilliant extension to Half Life 2. The episodic roll out is a frustrating as game play is a little too short, but this is a wonderful game to play and only I only wish the nest episode was here tomorrow.
  72. Andy
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    Great! Not too short if you pay attention to detail and dont rush through every map.
  73. JonC.
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    I love Half-Life 2: Episode One so much! its the best game out there in my book!
  74. TheG-Man
    Jun 8, 2006
    9
    A fantastic episode with an excellent storyline from start to finish. The graphics and the gameplay are just terrific. The new gameplay (having Alyx come along for the ride) was a real nice touch. The game itself had a real good feeling of anticipation alongside the famous HL puzzles. A mixture of close quarter and more open combat gives the game a better feel of realism, as well as A fantastic episode with an excellent storyline from start to finish. The graphics and the gameplay are just terrific. The new gameplay (having Alyx come along for the ride) was a real nice touch. The game itself had a real good feeling of anticipation alongside the famous HL puzzles. A mixture of close quarter and more open combat gives the game a better feel of realism, as well as solving problems at the same time. The only downside I can think of is the time factor. I felt the storyline could of been pushed a little further and perhaps another chapter or 2 at the most would of been sufficiently welcomed. Other than that, great story, great gameplay and an overall great feel to the game. I look forward to Episode 2. Expand
  75. ViktorioElHakim
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    As i started the game,i expected to be the same in animations,terrain and characteristics.But when i saw Alyx,Dog,The Combine soldiers and everything else i was astounded,altho it took me 2h30min+ to play the whole episode wich proves that it's not that big.Everything is much more realistic,wich proves that as half life progresses it starts to imitate
    more and more the attributes of
    As i started the game,i expected to be the same in animations,terrain and characteristics.But when i saw Alyx,Dog,The Combine soldiers and everything else i was astounded,altho it took me 2h30min+ to play the whole episode wich proves that it's not that big.Everything is much more realistic,wich proves that as half life progresses it starts to imitate
    more and more the attributes of the real world.One of best effects i ever seen are looked here like the Citadel Core or the Citadel explosion.
    Expand
  76. MarkM.
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Absolutely worth the wait...it would be nice to have it last a little longer, but if Valve keeps it's word and puts out another episode every 5 or 6 months, I'll live with a shorter game. Don't let us down Valve!
  77. MikE
    Jun 9, 2006
    8
    a very good game. I expected it to be alittle longer. The graphics are excellent!! so is the sound. The gameplay great as well. For $20 its worth it. Can't wait for episode 2
  78. BillN.
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Alot of people complain about the price point of this game, but the way I look at it is this. Normal games offer about 20 hrs of play for $80.00. Eposide 1 offers 5 hrs for $20.00. The way i figure it on par with other games for pricing, plus this is just a plain great game.
  79. M.M.
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    Best game ever!
  80. CaseyG.
    Jul 7, 2006
    6
    Good Game, Good story, good graphics, Very Short!
  81. TSeckerson
    Jul 7, 2006
    3
    I'm sure it would be a very good game if you could get it to load. I have had it for 3 days know, spending hours on it tring to get it to load. All I keep getting is an error saying, "hl2.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience." I'm ready to try and return it today!
  82. XCoder
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    The only game makes me non-sleeping before job.
  83. JimS.
    Aug 20, 2006
    9
    Over quickly but a great ride. I'll take 8-10 hrs of fun for $16 (B.J. 's Wholesale Club) anyday. Hope Episode 2 comes soon.
  84. DevinH.
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Amazing expansion for an amazing game.
  85. JonH.
    Aug 9, 2006
    3
    Half - Life 2: Episode One is ok but paying the cost of a full price game is a rip off! It's is very small and takes next to no time to finish it, fun as it maybe i think the makers are being gready cutting a game into epiodes. Just bring out the full game and i we be glad to pay full price! if you put all the little episodes together to make it the same size as Half Life 2 it will Half - Life 2: Episode One is ok but paying the cost of a full price game is a rip off! It's is very small and takes next to no time to finish it, fun as it maybe i think the makers are being gready cutting a game into epiodes. Just bring out the full game and i we be glad to pay full price! if you put all the little episodes together to make it the same size as Half Life 2 it will end up costing about $100.00, sort it out valve its not fair! Expand
  86. AdamD.
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    Awesome!
  87. FranciscoMartinez
    Apr 5, 2007
    1
    Beware : crashes your computer every five minutes of play !!!

    How would you rate a Mercedes that goes dead after every 5 miles on the freeway, it takes another 5 minutes to start it again, just to see its engine die after another 5 miles. Think if a computer on an airplane goes off every five minutes on your next flight, will you board such an airplane ever again ? Well, this is just
    Beware : crashes your computer every five minutes of play !!!

    How would you rate a Mercedes that goes dead after every 5 miles on the freeway, it takes another 5 minutes to start it again, just to see its engine die after another 5 miles.
    Think if a computer on an airplane goes off every five minutes on your next flight, will you board such an airplane ever again ?
    Well, this is just what happens with Episode 1 and Valve's much hyped Source engine. No matter how beautiful is that Mercedes, or how touted is that Airbus 340, you don't want to buy such a piece of crap. Whereas this not true for a Mercedes or an Airbus plane, it's exactly what happens with this game.
    See for yourself at :
    http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=500297
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Source_engine#Common_issues
    Expand
  88. LucasA.
    May 30, 2007
    10
    This game is absolute elegance in graphs, sound, musics, gameplay, history of development, etc.. much good!
  89. PutinVladimir
    May 6, 2007
    10
    COOL!!!
  90. B1GB4D
    May 8, 2007
    9
    Great shoot'em up fun, very relaxing.
  91. mike
    Aug 10, 2007
    8
    I want to know why people are giving this game a bad review, the most common reasons I've heard are
    1) no new weapons
    2) short 3)no new monsters 4) you don't get a gun till really late in the game 5) not a good value for money 6) valve is only doing episodes for more money &) I think everyone giving a good review is hired by valve to do so well, to start I was not
    I want to know why people are giving this game a bad review, the most common reasons I've heard are
    1) no new weapons
    2) short
    3)no new monsters
    4) you don't get a gun till really late in the game
    5) not a good value for money
    6) valve is only doing episodes for more money
    &) I think everyone giving a good review is hired by valve to do so

    well, to start I was not hired by valve to give the game a good review, secondly, my theory for the "not much new" thing is that vavle wants these games to be as realistic as possible and as far as I know in episode 1 gordon wakes up like an hour after HL2, do you really think that the combine or the humans could have come up with any new weapons in an hour?!?!? or for that matter do you think the combine could have sent any new monsters within an hour?!?. next is the "the game was way to short, I beat it in two hours, no value to it at all" sure I agree it was short but why would you play a game to beat it as fast as you can, a game is supposed to entertain you and give you something to do other than use the infinite aux power cheat and sprint through the whole thing, and there is also the complaint of no story line, on one hand I agree having no story line was kind of a drag but in some games you really don't need one, in this case, the idea is escape the underground while avoiding zombies and death traps while trying to get a data pack to someone enough said right? and as for the value you ask? well think about it most good games cost like 30-50 dollars and some 50 dollar games are worse than a 20 dollar game. I bought HL2 plus all of the rest of the bundled games for like 20 dollars and the same with episode 1 so about 40 dollars total thats like 5 games for under the price of one 50 dollar game.finally, the only reason I am giving this review an 8 instead of a 9 or 10 is because of the late getting a gun issue and the too short issue.
    Expand
  92. MSG.Johnatone
    Sep 7, 2007
    8
    Valve is doing well as a money hungry monster, as they released this teaser on us which completely forgets what episodic gameplay is all about (I'm from the old-school Doom gen). Still, it gives us a little tease until Episode 2, which, considering the times it has taken to make E2, will hopefully be much longer. Worth twenty bucks? Hell yeah! Sure, it's only two or three hours Valve is doing well as a money hungry monster, as they released this teaser on us which completely forgets what episodic gameplay is all about (I'm from the old-school Doom gen). Still, it gives us a little tease until Episode 2, which, considering the times it has taken to make E2, will hopefully be much longer. Worth twenty bucks? Hell yeah! Sure, it's only two or three hours worth of gameplay, but it's fun the whole way through and the new zombine enemy adds some dangerous fun to the mix. Do not buy this if you [barely] meet the minimum system requirements, as the flashlight won't work on lower end machines and is required for an entire chapter (this little tidbit runied my experience the first time through). If you haven't bought it yet, wait for the orange box with HL2, HL2:E1, HL2:E2, TFC2 and Portal, which will be well worth it for new (and maybe even old, I'm getting it for 360 too) gamers. Expand
  93. Pase
    Sep 7, 2007
    5
    Too short!
  94. Derexnone
    Jan 20, 2008
    9
    This episode of half-life universe is a really great game.
    I understand why Gordon Freeman wont get any new weapon in ep1, becouse i'm sure all weapons available were used by the rebels, that's make it no new weapons in ep1.
    Great game I whould give it 92,5% becouse it feels so real.
  95. Jason
    Jan 24, 2008
    4
    First off, the game is short...Real short...i beat it in 5.7 hrs. To have to play through what seemed a weak expansion of HL2 is a vast disappointment...The enemies are the same, as are the weapons....And having Alyx follow you around with Dog is a constant annoyance, She doesn't shut up and neither does anyone else you run into...It all just feels the same. Its not worth the First off, the game is short...Real short...i beat it in 5.7 hrs. To have to play through what seemed a weak expansion of HL2 is a vast disappointment...The enemies are the same, as are the weapons....And having Alyx follow you around with Dog is a constant annoyance, She doesn't shut up and neither does anyone else you run into...It all just feels the same. Its not worth the money...i will not buy Episode 2...as i understand it to is only about 5hrs long...woo...Please give us something with a decent amount of substance Valve...Not a bunch of episodes that are supposed to resemble a full game. Expand
  96. QuantumM.
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    I'd like to give HL2 Ep1 a "10" but I cannot due to the short length of the game. But other than tat, this game is just about as close to perfect as you will find on the market today.
  97. BigJ.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    Awesome expansion! Even though all the game play elemetns are the same, it was almost like playing another game. The reuse and modification of the train warehouse near the end was fantastic! So many enemies coming from so many different places. Phew! Time for bed.
  98. AlessandroS.
    Mar 20, 2008
    9
    Though there are no new elements such as weapons, environments or enemies the fascinating story and characters get you banned until the spectacular new adventure for traveling outside of city 17 has found his spectacular ending. The source engine has been slightly improved, so there HDR effects available which looks quite neat!
  99. DevonS.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    Unlike a lot of people out there, I thought this game was on par with Half-life 2. It had witty points, it was a shorter game (but it was supposed to be), and it delivered what was expected with much of the same as we've come to expect.
  100. HalfAdicted
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    WOW! Great game, I heard the there is the final episode just about to be released, that is the episode 3 and Valve is also preparing the next game: Half Life 3, this one will include awsome graphics, so you better update your machine for a chance to play this game.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Just like the original Half-Life 2, Episode One keeps the player entertained almost the entire time through perfect pacing and by being inventive, surprising and getting the basics absolutely right. It's a wonderful advert for the excitement that true episodic content can generate when approached the right way.
  2. Episode One is a memorable romp through the Half-Life universe, with gameplay that's even more satisfying than that of "Half-Life 2." The only downside is that, due to its episodic nature, it's over far too soon.
  3. 85
    A brief, stylistically claustrophobic experience whose polish and personality manage to keep things moving.