User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 7782 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ErikG
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    I just finished the game (like, not even five minutes ago)... and I have to say... I'm exhausted. I always put off playing this game until now, because the original Half-Life scared me, since I was a little kid at the time. Lately, it's been because I wasn't sure if the combat would be as good as more recent FPSes. While I have to say; the combat isn't necessarily I just finished the game (like, not even five minutes ago)... and I have to say... I'm exhausted. I always put off playing this game until now, because the original Half-Life scared me, since I was a little kid at the time. Lately, it's been because I wasn't sure if the combat would be as good as more recent FPSes. While I have to say; the combat isn't necessarily anything new, but it was still completely intense, very rewarding, and great fun. The storyline in this game is... wow. I've been a dedicated LoZ: OoT fanboy since the day I played it, and the first thing that came out of my mouth right after I beat the game was, "Is this better than Ocarina of Time?" Admittedly, I still prefer LoZ: OoT, but this game is definitely the best thing I've played in years. I found myself going through and playing the game, all the while saying to myself, "NOW I understand why this is supposed to be the best PC game ever!" and every time I meant it more, and more. This game managed to tear me from my shell, pit me in a new environment, and take every ounce of my attention until the very second it was over. It is as good a game as it was back when it was released, and, just like LoZ: OoT, every one should give it a try. Expand
  2. VikR
    Feb 10, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing, I love the fact that you can mod the brains out of it... and the storyline was intense. Unfortunatly the story line was short (took me about three days, i was hoping for something that would atleast last me a week) and for some reason the game isnt one which you can play more than once without it being terribly boring. I give it a 9.
  3. NateB.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    What a great game! This game truly changed me. It is the most fun thing ever to have a combine throw a grenade at you, and then you switch to the gravity gun and catch it and shoot it back. I loved it. - [Pr0]bobcrampet
  4. KakHome
    Feb 11, 2008
    9
    This is an awesome game, but I think it's just a notch over-rated. The graphics are awesome from start to finish. There are many cool sequences as well. The game is generally very good in the gameplay department, and loads of fun overall, but I've found a couple of weak points in the game. For one, the first 2 chapters are all introduction chapters with no monsters, which I This is an awesome game, but I think it's just a notch over-rated. The graphics are awesome from start to finish. There are many cool sequences as well. The game is generally very good in the gameplay department, and loads of fun overall, but I've found a couple of weak points in the game. For one, the first 2 chapters are all introduction chapters with no monsters, which I thought was a bit too much introduction. Most of the Ravenholm chapter seemed to be rather short on ammo, which often frustrated me, though this may have been intentional. The first half of Anticitezen One seemed to be rather empty in terms of bad guys and offered little challenge, which made me a bit bored until the escitement returned later on in that chapter. Finally, the ending is a bit weak, with not much of a truely climatic fight, and what seemed to be somewhat of an incomplete closing scene. However, the rest of the game is virtually perfect. I thought the car and boat chapters stood out even more - I had about as much fun in these chapters as I've ever had in a game, period. Definantly a classic, despite a few drawbacks which I mentioned above, and a game no FPS fan should be without. Expand
  5. Bobbobbo
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    The best game I have ever played.
  6. EmanuelKumlien
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    Best game ever. period.
  7. MicahB.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    This game was a riveting expansion of its predecessor. It brought all the engaging elements of the original and multiplied there enjoyment exponentially.
  8. AidanM
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    This is by far one of the best games I've played (I'm including HL2 and episodes 1 and 2). The action is priceless, the story in magnificent, the characters are engaging and interesting and the graphics are a work of art. What I love most about this game is it's increadable story and characters. I love how the story is extremely interesting and suspensful at all the right This is by far one of the best games I've played (I'm including HL2 and episodes 1 and 2). The action is priceless, the story in magnificent, the characters are engaging and interesting and the graphics are a work of art. What I love most about this game is it's increadable story and characters. I love how the story is extremely interesting and suspensful at all the right times and how the characters develop beautifully over the corse of the game. Valve, you have truly made Video games an accpetably art that SHOULD stand along the likes of other media such as movies and literature. Thank you very much and looking forward to episode 3. Expand
  9. FreemanG.
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    Boa jogabilidade,bons graficos, o motor source ta exelente, preocuparam-se não so com os graficos mas tambem com a jogabilidade.
  10. bionicmexican5.0
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    the best game i have ever played the physics are way better than anyother game (throwing TV's at the combine) and the story is so intriguiging i still play this game even after a year......the first level point insertion was what hooked me......when i was runnin from the combine after i threw a TV out of a window it was just so intense and the people that help you along the way the best game i have ever played the physics are way better than anyother game (throwing TV's at the combine) and the story is so intriguiging i still play this game even after a year......the first level point insertion was what hooked me......when i was runnin from the combine after i threw a TV out of a window it was just so intense and the people that help you along the way seemed so real i wanted to help them barricade the door but my adrenaline was pumping big time and i just kept running............i love when u drive to black mesa east that is the best part of the game.......driving long distances fighting battles here and there just gave a sense of realism that i was THE LAST HOPE....before i picked up HL2 i was desperate for a single player FPS i got tired of playing CS CSS CSCZ HL2DM and just MP games in general...i wanted an FPS with a gripping storyline, and i wanted to feel like i was the player i controlled not just another player........when i picked up HL2 it satisfied my FPS craving and exceeded my expectations of a Single Player FPS by such a high degree i was like.....this is The Best Single Player game of all time.......and still today i play the game.......i love the puzzles and how they use the physics to solve them...they are so well put together i had a small degree of trouble but im pretty good at solving puzzles and when i figured out i had to take advantage of the physics ( like putting barrels under a cage so i would float up and cause the cage to lift above the water so the ramp would be at an angle so i could drive my airboat up and over a wall on the water hazard level) this added a new dimension to puzzle solving never before seen in anyother game i have ever played...............all in all I LOVE THIS GAME Expand
  11. DavidJ.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    A very nice game. It's abit scary so its fun to play whit friends and laugh. =)
  12. MichaelU.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    One of the best shooters of all time. I'm not normally a huge geek when it comes to graphics, but the graphics in HL2 are simply amazing. Everything, from the facial animations to the the guns, look amazing. One of the best things about it is the level design. You almost never see the same thing twice, with mind bending puzzles, well placed objects, and times where you only have time One of the best shooters of all time. I'm not normally a huge geek when it comes to graphics, but the graphics in HL2 are simply amazing. Everything, from the facial animations to the the guns, look amazing. One of the best things about it is the level design. You almost never see the same thing twice, with mind bending puzzles, well placed objects, and times where you only have time to think about escaping. Just when your getting bored of something, it moves right on to another great part. The story is also very well done. Everything about Half-life 2 seems lovingly crafted, and altogether it feels like your in a movie. Its basically a game and a movie all in one. Valve managed to rekindle the orginal half-life while still adding something new. This will remain one of the greatest shooters ever for a long time. And for all of you who say its too easy, turn up the difficulty. Its harder to aim, enemies are smarter, and health packs are less powerful and frequent. This is one of the best games ever. Expand
  13. KevinY.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    This is by far the most amazing game I have ever experienced.
  14. HijallfS.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing, really scary to when played on a laptop
  15. Wildsnail
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played in over a quarter century of gaming! Graphically beautiful (in my eyes), well-acted, well-scripted and, mostly, finely balanced with decent enemy AI. BUT it's not quite perfect - some of the driving sections are over long and there are a couple of nasty difficulty spikes (THAT sentry gun defence part!). Overall, though, the game as a whole is One of the best games I have ever played in over a quarter century of gaming! Graphically beautiful (in my eyes), well-acted, well-scripted and, mostly, finely balanced with decent enemy AI. BUT it's not quite perfect - some of the driving sections are over long and there are a couple of nasty difficulty spikes (THAT sentry gun defence part!). Overall, though, the game as a whole is a tremendous piece of entertainment and a benchmark with which to test the whole genre. I was tempted to drop a point for it's couple of flaws but that would be too harsh for such a seminal title. Expand
  16. wacko992
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    How in gods name can someone give this game a zero? this game was one of the best experinces i've had with a video game in a long time. you have to play the original to understan the storyline fully.
  17. TimT.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Even better than the original. Half-Life 2 is a stunning pice of work. It's been one of the only FPS's to hold my attention all the way through, and continues to be the only non-multiplayer FPS single player mode that I continue to play all the way through again and again. Valve software deserves every bit of praise they get. Thank you Valve.
  18. Bobbobbo
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    The best game I have ever played.
  19. FerryvanZeelst
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Best game every created. Has lots of nice features.
  20. Thatonekidthatlikestoplayviedogamesalot
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    I abousuletly love this game. Along with steam, this game and any other like it is the most exicting blowing up things I've ever done. You can get from blowing up the whole entire army of face hugged zombies to getting your brains eating out by these flying things I have no idea what are called.... I usuaully have my head cut of in the process but it's a 10 out of 10 for me. Get I abousuletly love this game. Along with steam, this game and any other like it is the most exicting blowing up things I've ever done. You can get from blowing up the whole entire army of face hugged zombies to getting your brains eating out by these flying things I have no idea what are called.... I usuaully have my head cut of in the process but it's a 10 out of 10 for me. Get this game if you really like to go zombie bashing, monster exploding, or even modding it to make it kill your enemies on the server (ok that requires ten dollars but it's worth it!) Expand
  21. adams.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    Best game ever....no other game even comes close...amazing action and brilliant story.
  22. AJL.
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    Absolutely superb game. Excellent pacing, enemy AI, graphics, gameplay. Only the vehicle portions can be a bit annoying.
  23. TimDale
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    Brilliant...Astonishing...no words can desribe this game.
  24. NeilF
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    It's hard to explain what makes this game so great, you play it and you just can't stop!! The greatest FPS of all time, people get pissed that the game leads you around, and I don't know why they are pissed, it's called a linear game, and just because it's linear doesn't make it bad. This game is 100% gold in every aspect. So much stuff you can do with the It's hard to explain what makes this game so great, you play it and you just can't stop!! The greatest FPS of all time, people get pissed that the game leads you around, and I don't know why they are pissed, it's called a linear game, and just because it's linear doesn't make it bad. This game is 100% gold in every aspect. So much stuff you can do with the gravity gun, mods, and so forth. If you think this is just another overrated FPS, just give it a try, and make sure to strap yourself to your chair, cause it's gonna blow you away!! Expand
  25. GabeM.
    Mar 15, 2008
    9
    Pure, beautiful graphics backed with an epic storyline, awesome gameplay, and the greatest weapon ever (Gravity Gun) make this game awesome! The greatest thing is the super gravity gun. I won't reveal anything about how you get it or anything, but it was fun picking up Combine to throw at their comrades.
  26. NathanS.
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    One of the best games Ive ever played
  27. AllanC.
    Mar 19, 2008
    9
    Crashed a few times, but other then that? SOLID.
  28. AlessandroS.
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    As like Half-Life I played this one first a couple of years after the initial release and also like Half-Life its successor flashed me with the whole game design, the genious level architecture, its innovation, emotions, characters and the whole look and feel. Thanks Valve for this jewel and now I'm gonna play Episode 1 & 2.
  29. BlaineH
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    I think it was the best, most intertaining fps i have ever played on any platform. I highly recomend for the hardcore gamer but not so much the casual. Also if your computer cant handle the high futuristic graphics, amaizing sorround sound and intense gameplay... you need to blame yourself not the game.
  30. LindinoG.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    This game brought new meaning into my life.
  31. JimM.
    Mar 24, 2008
    9
    I find it to be a very good game. Needs a half life 3 next sequel. Look forward to playing one when it comes out.
  32. WolfWolf
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    Good history, good game, good grafics.
  33. JonSLASH!
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    I think this game is probably the best game I ever played! The Graphics are Great and the story is good and long, so you can't Complete it at once. I would give this 1000000 but I could only give it 10.
  34. DitmerV.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    Its such a nice game I really love it.
  35. Mr.T.
    Mar 29, 2008
    9
    @Mr.A: How about... revolutionay Graphics, Physics + PHYSICAL MIRACLES. Even games after HL2 used Physics just to show its possibilitiy, not to use it as a gaming element.
  36. MichaelC.
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    By far, the best game ever! An epic adventure. Unmatched game play and graphics. You really feel like you're part of the story. The game physics blow me away. You can play this game over and over. I've played it 4 times and will definitely play it again. Yes, it's that cool.
  37. JohnC.
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    Very good game, worth every penny to be bought.
  38. BenE.
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    This is one game series which i play over and over again, Defo must have.
  39. ErvinK
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    Great game, takes the story telling of all games to a new level.
  40. CollinM.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    Everything is amazing, the graphics for the game coming out in 04 are really nice. The game play seems really original, and the controls are decent.
  41. KevinT.-
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    Great game with a very realistic physics engine and crazy graphics.
  42. ThomasH.
    Apr 12, 2008
    9
    Ok, I'm tired of people posting comments saying thins like "steam sucks, physics engine makes things killz u when you touch them WTF" or "engine is good but game to liniar n' boring not enough boomz" In response to the first quote which actually is a lot like the actual review its based on, throw out your 10 year old computer running on windows 98 if you want to continue to play Ok, I'm tired of people posting comments saying thins like "steam sucks, physics engine makes things killz u when you touch them WTF" or "engine is good but game to liniar n' boring not enough boomz" In response to the first quote which actually is a lot like the actual review its based on, throw out your 10 year old computer running on windows 98 if you want to continue to play games. The engine hasn't been as buggy as you stated since the beta, and if objects hit you at 50 km per hour, your gonna get damaged in some way. Its probably your old computer thats making the engine so bad, so for your deity's sake, (and if your an atheist I can see why your so critical) get a computer that can run windows xp (stay away from vista) in response to the later quote, also creepily close to the original review, go play halo. Oh wait is that to liniar for you too? How bout you go play Oblivion, an rpg with no liniar game play, oh wait no explosions... well how bout you go play DOOM 3, I'm sure you will be happy with blowing zombies and demons to bits, and the campy acting as well. Anyways the reason I rate this a 9 is because its a great game overall but the reason I don't rate this a 10 is they could have made it slightly more challenging, and because they took out so much from the original game idea (like awesome weapons) that would have made the game so much better. If they had started out with this and not taken anything away I would have given it a 10, but because it was great but could have been so much better I rate it a 9. Expand
  43. vainvain
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    I'm absolutely impressed by this game and i think it's a fabulous fantastic and wonderful game!! I'm playing to half life 1 and 2 on multiplayer game every day and i enjoy it!!!
  44. RetR.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    Amazing.
  45. JoshY.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    Its good overall just had to upgrade my comp to play.
  46. JoachimE
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made.
  47. Kent
    Apr 25, 2008
    9
    I was seriously amped for Half Life 2 when it first came out, I thought Half Life 1 was one of the best games ever and I was really excited about the sequel. I wasn't disappointed, it's a great game, with a good physics engine and nice graphics (that are even acceptable today) Interesting storyline and good gameplay made this a really fun experience. If you look at Half Life 2 I was seriously amped for Half Life 2 when it first came out, I thought Half Life 1 was one of the best games ever and I was really excited about the sequel. I wasn't disappointed, it's a great game, with a good physics engine and nice graphics (that are even acceptable today) Interesting storyline and good gameplay made this a really fun experience. If you look at Half Life 2 for what it is, its an excellent game. I did not however prefer it to Half Life 1. Firstly it was drastically different from HL1 (which is understandable due to the new circumstances) it just didn't hate that same note that HL1 did. It is still a great game and one of the best FPS experiences out there, not to be missed. Expand
  48. GordanK.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    After HL2 all games are just empty.
  49. JanneJ.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    It`s great fun! And it even works with older computers but still looks amazing. When you have bought the game you will just enjoy looking the skyline of city 17 - It`s safer there.
  50. TimS.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    it is the best single shooter I've ever played!!!
  51. SamuliK.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    it could do you happy...it could do you sad...it could do you frightened...it lives ever and it is probably one of best games ever.
  52. Cr0ssCr0ss
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This is the best game of the world!
  53. Jag
    May 2, 2008
    7
    Half Life 2 is an FPS that is announced by many magazines as ''Greatest game ever made''. Personally I think that is had well balanced gameplay. You can run and gun but its not recommended. Its always good to take cover but not all the time. I've heard some talk about the A.I being so good but it really didn't seem like anything real special. The combat zones Half Life 2 is an FPS that is announced by many magazines as ''Greatest game ever made''. Personally I think that is had well balanced gameplay. You can run and gun but its not recommended. Its always good to take cover but not all the time. I've heard some talk about the A.I being so good but it really didn't seem like anything real special. The combat zones were kind of limited so enemies would come out and shoot and maybe grab some cover in the process. Normally you will kill them before you see them doing something truly eye catching. The A.I isn't bad its just not amazingly impressive. The graphics are great. Reflections on the floor move as you do and texters are high rez. Character modles may not be impressive at first but if you take the time to see the lip synchronization and facial expressions. Characters are great and well developed. One of the icons of Half-Life 2 is the gravity gun. This unique weapon lets you pick up any object man sized and under and fling it at enemies. A but what would this weapon be without wicked good physics? These physics are very good. every thing not bolted down can move with the proper amount of force applied to it. However the only thing bad that came out of these physics is the puzzles you will encounter throughout the game. There are just a little to many. I personally didn't like it because this lead to an annoying lack of combat and the ability to move on. I had no problem solving most of them and it is satisfying when you do but when you look back on it it seems like a waste of time. One every now and then is fine but they went a little overboard here. sometimes you'll end up stopping you vehicle every five minutes because of there. Speaking of the vehicles the sequences were pretty cool apart from what was mentioned in the previous sentence. Even though you will end up having to stop look around and find a path. this can be really annoying after a while especially when you are being chased by a chopper. The story was a bit disappointing at the end and was slow moving through out the game. But now for some good things. The game does a real good job of immersing you. You really feel like you want to help the people and have a pretty good idea of whats going on. The arsenal was a decent size and had some unique stuff in it. overall this game is worth picking up. Expand
  54. Bobbobbo
    May 3, 2008
    10
    The best game I have ever played.
  55. PaulFountain
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Best game I've ever played. Still go back and play it after new games dissapoint.
  56. DanielP.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Forget the imitations; it is the Half-Life series that gives serious credibility to the first person shooter genre.
  57. BadenM.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    This game, plus it's subsequent episodes are brilliant. I pretty much bought the Orange Box just for HL2 (seeing as the only other place you can get it now is steam). Also, the steam platform - while I have had some issues with it, it is actually quite brilliant as well. I wish the people who gave poor reviews didn't have such poor research skills. Steam CAN be used offline! HL2 This game, plus it's subsequent episodes are brilliant. I pretty much bought the Orange Box just for HL2 (seeing as the only other place you can get it now is steam). Also, the steam platform - while I have had some issues with it, it is actually quite brilliant as well. I wish the people who gave poor reviews didn't have such poor research skills. Steam CAN be used offline! HL2 is by far my favourite (post-Playstation1-era) game and always will be. Expand
  58. LukeM.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  59. TeodorIkonomov
    May 12, 2008
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  60. Bobbobbo
    May 16, 2008
    10
    The best game I have ever played.
  61. RobertS.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    This game rocks. Just finished and I have to admit it hooked me from the begining.
  62. Maslab
    May 19, 2008
    9
    No game is perfect, but Half Life 2 probably hits the mark closer than most. But poor AI most all around just makes enemies too easy. Its understandable if the enemies are zombies or Antlions, but armored, trained soldiers should be able to figure out what a grenade is, and to properly use cover. Awesome graphics, no fault there, and controls are easy, and what can I say about the grav No game is perfect, but Half Life 2 probably hits the mark closer than most. But poor AI most all around just makes enemies too easy. Its understandable if the enemies are zombies or Antlions, but armored, trained soldiers should be able to figure out what a grenade is, and to properly use cover. Awesome graphics, no fault there, and controls are easy, and what can I say about the grav gun that hasn't been said before? Its just amazing. Expand
  63. DylanF.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    This game is a perfect example of what Valve software can do. 10. 18 if it was possible
  64. JCortez
    May 31, 2008
    10
    Years of work by valve, anticipation, and it all paid off!! A Classic for YEARS to come!!
  65. p00berpoob
    May 31, 2008
    9
    Great play, great mods great story!
  66. DevinFore
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    This game has the best graphics, a huge improvment from the 1st half life, i hope they make a 3rd half life, for pc =)
  67. PutinVladimir
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    COOL!!!
  68. Menschke
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Nice singleplayer game. So nice.
  69. DavidS.
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Love the game only key board game I play.
  70. EugeneZ.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    Just one word for this game... AWESOME!
  71. Nick
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    My pc was struggling to run this game and I still played through it. This game was great almost a movie.
  72. ChrisP.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    This game is very good. If there wasn't puzzles the game could be completed in any time. This game does not just require a monkey to play. It requires a human with a brain to play. The graphics are nice, especially when it was released in 2004. It beated every other game. When Half Life 3 arrives, the world of gaming will get a new action king.
  73. Markus
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    This was the most entertaining games i've ever played, i give this 10 without a doubt.
  74. MattiL.
    Jun 12, 2008
    9
    Almost as good as the one and only.
  75. TeodorIkonomov
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  76. TeodorIkonomov
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  77. AlexG.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    This is on of my favorites.. Everything about it makes me want to cry because nothing like it has been done ever in the gaming world.
  78. CraigF.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    One of the genre defining games, that fans must play!
  79. AshleyM.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    Best ever game made besides Half-Life 1.
  80. AnthonyR.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Excellent game all around. Great graphics, very good as one of the first "next gen" games. Incredible story and game play. Perfect for Oldschool half-life fans like myself and also for newcomers who have never played. Great sound quality. Insanely fun to play on and offline.
  81. FreeScience
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    Best Story, best Gameplay, best Graphics, best Physics ever !!!
  82. LukeM.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  83. JoaoT.
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    Well, this is the videogame of videogames, this is revolution, i've never seen one pc game so close to perfection . This game is enough for me to cry, it's really good . Amazing shooter, grafics, everything .
  84. PedroS.
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    Perfect, only the original is equal.
  85. ElangelM.
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    Wow best game i have seen, ever.
  86. IvanM.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    This game good.No its not good..its amazing.For 2004 year its looking very good,good physics and revolution engine with good graph.What else need to enjoy best game of 2004?
  87. ChadD.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    Nick C., I take it, has never played DooM or FEAR. This game's gore is mild at best, and has just enough to keep the average gamer satisfied. Yet, I do remember sawing a zombie in half and pausing for a moment in disgust, but after the third or fourth time it becomes more entertaining than sickening. Half-Life 2 is a must buy for anybody who calls themselves a gamer. If you think Nick C., I take it, has never played DooM or FEAR. This game's gore is mild at best, and has just enough to keep the average gamer satisfied. Yet, I do remember sawing a zombie in half and pausing for a moment in disgust, but after the third or fourth time it becomes more entertaining than sickening. Half-Life 2 is a must buy for anybody who calls themselves a gamer. If you think Halo is the best game ever, I feel sorry for you, because you are out of the loop of games and are only seeing what the media blows out of proportion. Half-Life may be unrealistic unrealistic in parts, but what the hell, it's a game. Even the new xbox 360 version has already set the graphical, gameplay, and story telling standard for all games, and it was just released last year. Half-Life will live on in the same way that movies like Rockey have. Gamers will forever cherish their copy of Half-Life, and the expansions that came with it. I highly recommend this to anybody and everybody, even those who have never played a game. Expand
  88. PCGamer
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    Best Singleplayer Game ever for its time. The Graphics were stunning and the storyline was amazing. I have replayed it countless times and still enjoy it.
  89. TelmoC.
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    The best game in the world.
  90. CameronT.
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    Half Life 2 is a long awaited sequel to a classic. It delivers continuous and unmatched action throughout its storyline, and succeeds in facing the user with small packs of puzzle solving and dialogue to keep you having fun, and being immersed!
  91. NicholasG.
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    Of all of the games I have ever played, Half-Life 2 stands out as the best first-person shooter. The technical prowess Valve showcased with this 2004 release certainly did raise the bar on visuals in a game . No PC game has ever quite influenced the game industry quite as much as Half-Life 2, with legendary physics-based gameplay and the ultimate sci-fi story. Half-Life 2 will be Of all of the games I have ever played, Half-Life 2 stands out as the best first-person shooter. The technical prowess Valve showcased with this 2004 release certainly did raise the bar on visuals in a game . No PC game has ever quite influenced the game industry quite as much as Half-Life 2, with legendary physics-based gameplay and the ultimate sci-fi story. Half-Life 2 will be remembered forever as one of the greatest games ever made. I can't recommend this game enthusiastically enough to convey my feelings towards it, so I'm just going to blandly say, if you are a mature gamer with a working computer, you NEED this game. Expand
  92. jeremyf.
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    The best game ever. Amazing story and general game play. The multi player is great. The best graphics yet! Oh did i say amazing story, cuz it really is great. This game also has some of the coolist mods ever such as Dystopia. Just plain amazing. 10 is not high enuff.
  93. QuasimU.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Easily the best FPS I have ever played! Graphics are great, physics are amazing, enemy AI is insane, and gameplay is top of the notch. Well worth the entry price, as you will likely replay this.Gravity Gun is the single coolest thing ever envisioned. If you don't have this, go out and buy it now!
  94. EatPeople
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    awesome game =D anyone who rates it less than a 7 either doesn't know how to have fun, rates the game based on steam which is something else entirely, or is really really easily grossed out, Nick C.... >.>
  95. DillonS.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    I felt every emotion. Nuff said.
  96. TimW.
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    Fun,nice to look at!
  97. ChrisJ
    Jul 12, 2008
    8
    Above average FPS. Great value with the orange box. Oh and "Nick C" The game is not designed for you. You see 13 != 15. Go back to pokemon.
  98. JayC
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    Good to know that Nick C bases one of the greatest games in history on how big of a little pussy bitch he is. The game is rated Mature for the older people that have grown out of diapers. Don't review games based on how big of a bitch you are.
  99. TylerC.
    Jul 14, 2008
    10
    This is undoubtedly one of the greatest games in existence from the beginning of time. Only the first Half-Life can compare to its glory. With such an immersive storyline, compelling life-like characters, real-life physics, and exceptional gameplay, Half-Life 2 has raised the bar for what FPS games should be and uses that bar to smack every other game into submission, relentlessly.
  100. BjörnK.
    Jul 15, 2008
    9
    Great gameplay; astonishing, authentic environment and atmosphere. Compellingly one of the best FPS ever.
  101. Jan 12, 2011
    0
    Best FPS game I've ever played. Great character development, deep story, great combat sequences and amazingly immersive environment. Game still looks and performs fantastic today, years after its release. Great replay value, you can play through the game several times and catch bits of story you didn't get the previous time. Great attention to detail, polished setting and original design.Best FPS game I've ever played. Great character development, deep story, great combat sequences and amazingly immersive environment. Game still looks and performs fantastic today, years after its release. Great replay value, you can play through the game several times and catch bits of story you didn't get the previous time. Great attention to detail, polished setting and original design. A great breath of fresh air from copycat games and run and gun mindless shooters like COD(1-6). Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Nothing less than a revolution in the gaming industry that will keep gamers busy for years to come, just as the original did.
  2. 95
    An ephemeral and controversial ending, along with the few issues described above, means that for me, Half-Life 2, while a compelling and highly enjoyable game, falls short of the size of impact that the first title had on the gaming world.
  3. 100
    A graphics overhaul delivers detailed facial animations and sophisticated physics that leave battle zones strewn with debris after intense shootouts with shuffling corpses, overfed curstaceans and other assorted foes. [October, p.37]