Half-Life 2 PC

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 8848 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonymousMC
    Sep 14, 2007
    0
    Total and utter garbage! Everything we were promised by this game is an absolute lie.
    It is still just an overglorified, badly modified Quake 1 engine with no AI, no plot, the worlds worst control mechanism and no diversity of play.
    An utter shambles that shames the good name Half Life one rightfully made for itself.
    Avoid like th plague!
  2. AuldS.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Half Life 2 serves to remind everyone just how far computer gaming has come. I've been a gamer since the days of the Amiga. Never in all those years did I dream that one day games would be this good. As for the use of steam, Valve have every right to protect themselves from piracy.
  3. armandvonhelden
    Sep 4, 2007
    8
    Macht spass ist so ähnlich wie far cry , aber etwas gruseliger(spannender) Ist richtig Fesselnd :)
  4. RyanL
    Oct 1, 2008
    4
    How this game got a good score? no really how? this is prob one of my least favourate games ever made. the bad guys cant shoot u even if they were standing next 2 u and the weapons in it suck. what were they thinking.
  5. DannyM.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    Incredible. Theres honestly not much more a game should have. Stunning graphics, incredible game play, and amazing events.
  6. markB
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    This is proof that a game with a good story is going to sell well. It has great graphics, but the story was even better. That is why this game will not be touched for a long time.
  7. AnonymousMC
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    The game is just awesome. The Graph, the texture, the effects, the fysics! And all this can be runned with high settings and good resolution with even a crappy computer (compared these days). Other developers of games around the world should make note about this game, -> how to run great graphics, and still not be a power eater. And act acordingly. Even dispite the fact that the game isThe game is just awesome. The Graph, the texture, the effects, the fysics! And all this can be runned with high settings and good resolution with even a crappy computer (compared these days). Other developers of games around the world should make note about this game, -> how to run great graphics, and still not be a power eater. And act acordingly. Even dispite the fact that the game is all about solo action. Just doesent matter. Its just so awesome. Expand
  8. DanH.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    I believe Halflife 2 is possibly the greatest FPS ever created, the havok system and all its litte inner workings have revolutionised the way we play games today. on a scale of one to ten this game deserves way above ten as its immense story and gameplay really keep the player submerged in a completely different world. im quite happy to play this game over and over again until i cause I believe Halflife 2 is possibly the greatest FPS ever created, the havok system and all its litte inner workings have revolutionised the way we play games today. on a scale of one to ten this game deserves way above ten as its immense story and gameplay really keep the player submerged in a completely different world. im quite happy to play this game over and over again until i cause myself major eye damage or RSI! WAY TO GO Valve on your sheer brilliance, i cant wait until the episode 3 you have me hangin on the edge of my seat. Expand
  9. DustinG.
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    Been playing games since I was a little kid on the first Doom. The Half-Life series is the first to introduce such an intriguing story line, and amazing game play. HL2 tops it off with badass physics and awesome AI.
  10. WorldBearer
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Excellent game. Gameplay is fun and interesting, puzzles don't hinder the storyline, which is in itself very absorbing. Textures and Models look nice, and the stages and environments are varied and interesting. Enemy AI is fairly good, though its reactions to different situations become fairly predictable halfway through. Only other problem is the team AI, which becomes fairly Excellent game. Gameplay is fun and interesting, puzzles don't hinder the storyline, which is in itself very absorbing. Textures and Models look nice, and the stages and environments are varied and interesting. Enemy AI is fairly good, though its reactions to different situations become fairly predictable halfway through. Only other problem is the team AI, which becomes fairly annoying when trying to navigate tight passageways or attack a group of enemies. All in all however, brilliant game. Expand
  11. JeffG.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    Half-Life 2 is the reason I play FPS games. It puts Halo and Gears of War to shame. When you finish this game, you'll be crying. That's how good it is. This game has revolutionized not just FPS games, but games in general. Half-life 2 is the standard in which all FPS games are compared against. My only complaint the puzzles in the game are rather lame. But everything else makes Half-Life 2 is the reason I play FPS games. It puts Halo and Gears of War to shame. When you finish this game, you'll be crying. That's how good it is. This game has revolutionized not just FPS games, but games in general. Half-life 2 is the standard in which all FPS games are compared against. My only complaint the puzzles in the game are rather lame. But everything else makes up for it and then some. Valve has outdone themselves again. Expand
  12. DominikK.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    Like always, beauty of game, magnificient style, interesting like hell, addicting to everyone.... i want some more! ;) waiting to continue... like always.
  13. ZacharyM.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Very excellently made game, I haven't even beaten it and I think it deserves perfect. Nice job Valve!
  14. AnonymousMC
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    Believe me, i would rate this 20/10 if i could. Utterly excellent game - i have played the series around 5 times now and i have not stopped. I can hardly find anything bad about it; it was just so immersive, something i have found many, many other games lack. Favourite bit: killing hordes of headcrabs with only a crowbar. I would probably rate this either best or second best game i haveBelieve me, i would rate this 20/10 if i could. Utterly excellent game - i have played the series around 5 times now and i have not stopped. I can hardly find anything bad about it; it was just so immersive, something i have found many, many other games lack. Favourite bit: killing hordes of headcrabs with only a crowbar. I would probably rate this either best or second best game i have ever played. Fantastic! Expand
  15. FrozenSpirit
    Jan 30, 2008
    0
    One of the worst games I have ever played. The only good thing about the game is the Physics Engine, which was taken from a company named Havok, this game was made by a bunch of overweight lazy developers who wouldn't know how to make a real game if it bit them in the arse. Regardless of story line, which deserves some credit, the technology behind the game is not advanced or One of the worst games I have ever played. The only good thing about the game is the Physics Engine, which was taken from a company named Havok, this game was made by a bunch of overweight lazy developers who wouldn't know how to make a real game if it bit them in the arse. Regardless of story line, which deserves some credit, the technology behind the game is not advanced or original, or even comes close to pushing the boundaries of what was out in 2005. Cheaply made game. Expand
  16. AnonymousMC
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    After reading some user comments (usually with a score of 6 and below) I noticed that many people say that this game is highly over-rated...

    This forced me to play Half-Life 2 again and I had a hell of a good time. The game play is not much to complain about, although the game is somewhat very linear, but that doesn't count too much. Enemy AI is somewhat iffy but it is at least
    After reading some user comments (usually with a score of 6 and below) I noticed that many people say that this game is highly over-rated...

    This forced me to play Half-Life 2 again and I had a hell of a good time. The game play is not much to complain about, although the game is somewhat very linear, but that doesn't count too much. Enemy AI is somewhat iffy but it is at least challenging. Also the friendly AI is somewhat annoying for me (they can get in your way a little bit). The story was interesting in my opinion to keep me attached to my computer to play it.
    The graphics for that time were damn good-looking. The sound is impressive (especially in voice acting) and in some occasions it doesn't.

    And back on the topic of over-rated games. Over-rated games are those who get advertised to much and in the end they are nothing more than just normal FPS without nothing new to show, much like the Halo series, I suspect that the people that post their low scores can be Halo fanboys or people who think that this game doesn't suit their taste, which makes me to wonder why the hell did they picked it up in the first place. Buying a game without looking it first is a terrible idea...

    People are perfectly entitled to their opinions, I respect that, like the former people I mentioned (not fanboys). But the only reason I'm posting this is because people say many times that this game is highly over-rated...

    People who are giving this game a low score can be a little annoying (not for me) but be fair, this game is an excellent piece of game design and manufacture.

    And no, it is not perfect. No game is. It IS, however, a milestone in the development of the genre whether you like it or not.

    You people (or Halo fanboys) don't like the game? Wonderful, good for you. You guys have your reasons, which are, as far as I can tell, that you don't care for the setting and production design. This doesn't make it a bad game, nor over-rated. That simply means you guys don't like it.
    Expand
  17. RetR.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    Amazing.
  18. VikR
    Feb 10, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing, I love the fact that you can mod the brains out of it... and the storyline was intense. Unfortunatly the story line was short (took me about three days, i was hoping for something that would atleast last me a week) and for some reason the game isnt one which you can play more than once without it being terribly boring. I give it a 9.
  19. MichaelU.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    One of the best shooters of all time. I'm not normally a huge geek when it comes to graphics, but the graphics in HL2 are simply amazing. Everything, from the facial animations to the the guns, look amazing. One of the best things about it is the level design. You almost never see the same thing twice, with mind bending puzzles, well placed objects, and times where you only have time One of the best shooters of all time. I'm not normally a huge geek when it comes to graphics, but the graphics in HL2 are simply amazing. Everything, from the facial animations to the the guns, look amazing. One of the best things about it is the level design. You almost never see the same thing twice, with mind bending puzzles, well placed objects, and times where you only have time to think about escaping. Just when your getting bored of something, it moves right on to another great part. The story is also very well done. Everything about Half-life 2 seems lovingly crafted, and altogether it feels like your in a movie. Its basically a game and a movie all in one. Valve managed to rekindle the orginal half-life while still adding something new. This will remain one of the greatest shooters ever for a long time. And for all of you who say its too easy, turn up the difficulty. Its harder to aim, enemies are smarter, and health packs are less powerful and frequent. This is one of the best games ever. Expand
  20. KevinY.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    This is by far the most amazing game I have ever experienced.
  21. DavidJ.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    A very nice game. It's abit scary so its fun to play whit friends and laugh. =)
  22. FerryvanZeelst
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Best game every created. Has lots of nice features.
  23. TimT.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Even better than the original. Half-Life 2 is a stunning pice of work. It's been one of the only FPS's to hold my attention all the way through, and continues to be the only non-multiplayer FPS single player mode that I continue to play all the way through again and again. Valve software deserves every bit of praise they get. Thank you Valve.
  24. Thatonekidthatlikestoplayviedogamesalot
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    I abousuletly love this game. Along with steam, this game and any other like it is the most exicting blowing up things I've ever done. You can get from blowing up the whole entire army of face hugged zombies to getting your brains eating out by these flying things I have no idea what are called.... I usuaully have my head cut of in the process but it's a 10 out of 10 for me. Get I abousuletly love this game. Along with steam, this game and any other like it is the most exicting blowing up things I've ever done. You can get from blowing up the whole entire army of face hugged zombies to getting your brains eating out by these flying things I have no idea what are called.... I usuaully have my head cut of in the process but it's a 10 out of 10 for me. Get this game if you really like to go zombie bashing, monster exploding, or even modding it to make it kill your enemies on the server (ok that requires ten dollars but it's worth it!) Expand
  25. LindinoG.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    This game brought new meaning into my life.
  26. JonSLASH!
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    I think this game is probably the best game I ever played! The Graphics are Great and the story is good and long, so you can't Complete it at once. I would give this 1000000 but I could only give it 10.
  27. adams.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    Best game ever....no other game even comes close...amazing action and brilliant story.
  28. JoshY.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    Its good overall just had to upgrade my comp to play.
  29. JayG
    Apr 26, 2008
    4
    I fail to see how this game warrants so many "Perfect" scores. This is not a game, Its a tech Demo for a very beautiful, very versatile engine but entertaining to play... Half life 2 is not, unless you enjoy repeating the same puzzle every 30 seconds and navigating some of the worst level design that I have seen in any game. What could be a very thrilling and engrossing game, is broken up I fail to see how this game warrants so many "Perfect" scores. This is not a game, Its a tech Demo for a very beautiful, very versatile engine but entertaining to play... Half life 2 is not, unless you enjoy repeating the same puzzle every 30 seconds and navigating some of the worst level design that I have seen in any game. What could be a very thrilling and engrossing game, is broken up by a repetitive string of physics puzzles with no purpose other than to show off the physics engine. Which would have its own charm, were the puzzles not repeated every 5 mins with an identically puzzle. This is demonstrated best in any level that contains a vehicle for the player to drive, where you will have to move an obstacle out of your way every 30 seconds with the "Gravity gun." Top that off with 90% of the plot being as in depth as Mario's "The Princess is in the next castle, navigate your way to the next location" and you are left with a game that left me "Blue" for a decent story and some thrilling action. Half life 2 is a monumental technical achievement, and the mods that have come out for this game make it well worth the price of purchase, but I would rather pull out and eat my own intestines like spaghetti than call this a "reviting good time." Expand
  30. SamuliK.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    it could do you happy...it could do you sad...it could do you frightened...it lives ever and it is probably one of best games ever.
  31. RobertS.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    This game rocks. Just finished and I have to admit it hooked me from the begining.
  32. Jag
    May 2, 2008
    7
    Half Life 2 is an FPS that is announced by many magazines as ''Greatest game ever made''. Personally I think that is had well balanced gameplay. You can run and gun but its not recommended. Its always good to take cover but not all the time. I've heard some talk about the A.I being so good but it really didn't seem like anything real special. The combat zones Half Life 2 is an FPS that is announced by many magazines as ''Greatest game ever made''. Personally I think that is had well balanced gameplay. You can run and gun but its not recommended. Its always good to take cover but not all the time. I've heard some talk about the A.I being so good but it really didn't seem like anything real special. The combat zones were kind of limited so enemies would come out and shoot and maybe grab some cover in the process. Normally you will kill them before you see them doing something truly eye catching. The A.I isn't bad its just not amazingly impressive. The graphics are great. Reflections on the floor move as you do and texters are high rez. Character modles may not be impressive at first but if you take the time to see the lip synchronization and facial expressions. Characters are great and well developed. One of the icons of Half-Life 2 is the gravity gun. This unique weapon lets you pick up any object man sized and under and fling it at enemies. A but what would this weapon be without wicked good physics? These physics are very good. every thing not bolted down can move with the proper amount of force applied to it. However the only thing bad that came out of these physics is the puzzles you will encounter throughout the game. There are just a little to many. I personally didn't like it because this lead to an annoying lack of combat and the ability to move on. I had no problem solving most of them and it is satisfying when you do but when you look back on it it seems like a waste of time. One every now and then is fine but they went a little overboard here. sometimes you'll end up stopping you vehicle every five minutes because of there. Speaking of the vehicles the sequences were pretty cool apart from what was mentioned in the previous sentence. Even though you will end up having to stop look around and find a path. this can be really annoying after a while especially when you are being chased by a chopper. The story was a bit disappointing at the end and was slow moving through out the game. But now for some good things. The game does a real good job of immersing you. You really feel like you want to help the people and have a pretty good idea of whats going on. The arsenal was a decent size and had some unique stuff in it. overall this game is worth picking up. Expand
  33. PaulFountain
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Best game I've ever played. Still go back and play it after new games dissapoint.
  34. BadenM.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    This game, plus it's subsequent episodes are brilliant. I pretty much bought the Orange Box just for HL2 (seeing as the only other place you can get it now is steam). Also, the steam platform - while I have had some issues with it, it is actually quite brilliant as well. I wish the people who gave poor reviews didn't have such poor research skills. Steam CAN be used offline! HL2 This game, plus it's subsequent episodes are brilliant. I pretty much bought the Orange Box just for HL2 (seeing as the only other place you can get it now is steam). Also, the steam platform - while I have had some issues with it, it is actually quite brilliant as well. I wish the people who gave poor reviews didn't have such poor research skills. Steam CAN be used offline! HL2 is by far my favourite (post-Playstation1-era) game and always will be. Expand
  35. ChrisP.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    This game is very good. If there wasn't puzzles the game could be completed in any time. This game does not just require a monkey to play. It requires a human with a brain to play. The graphics are nice, especially when it was released in 2004. It beated every other game. When Half Life 3 arrives, the world of gaming will get a new action king.
  36. TeodorIkonomov
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  37. PutinVladimir
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    COOL!!!
  38. AlexeyI.
    Jun 4, 2008
    3
    hi i'm newbie too hard for me, but looks beauty.. sorry.
  39. DavidS.
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Love the game only key board game I play.
  40. BradleyJ.
    Jun 7, 2008
    6
    Game is too overrated, most who played this, didnt play it on hard. I did. 1 reason the game wasn't hard was because the code was leaked over the internet. The game was originally to be released in 2003, but since the game was leaked, it came in 2004. Game set on hard, is practically normal difficulty. Don't expect a whole lot from this game.
  41. DillonS.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    I felt every emotion. Nuff said.
  42. BjörnK.
    Jul 15, 2008
    9
    Great gameplay; astonishing, authentic environment and atmosphere. Compellingly one of the best FPS ever.
  43. TeodorIkonomov
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  44. DamonP.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    To put it simply i love this game. I played it when it came with the orange box 4 years after it debut, its way better than halo 3, call of duty 4 or any of that. This game is the best
  45. WillH.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    This was a great game but i do think that the first Half-Life was a little better but this one was a good one hell ill give it a 10!
  46. ReysanD
    Jul 24, 2008
    4
    Linear play, cliche/unnecessary zombies and physics fetish; this game soils what could have been an interesting setting. Frankly, it's boring.
  47. PCGamer
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    Best Singleplayer Game ever for its time. The Graphics were stunning and the storyline was amazing. I have replayed it countless times and still enjoy it.
  48. CameronT.
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    Half Life 2 is a long awaited sequel to a classic. It delivers continuous and unmatched action throughout its storyline, and succeeds in facing the user with small packs of puzzle solving and dialogue to keep you having fun, and being immersed!
  49. NicholasG.
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    Of all of the games I have ever played, Half-Life 2 stands out as the best first-person shooter. The technical prowess Valve showcased with this 2004 release certainly did raise the bar on visuals in a game . No PC game has ever quite influenced the game industry quite as much as Half-Life 2, with legendary physics-based gameplay and the ultimate sci-fi story. Half-Life 2 will be Of all of the games I have ever played, Half-Life 2 stands out as the best first-person shooter. The technical prowess Valve showcased with this 2004 release certainly did raise the bar on visuals in a game . No PC game has ever quite influenced the game industry quite as much as Half-Life 2, with legendary physics-based gameplay and the ultimate sci-fi story. Half-Life 2 will be remembered forever as one of the greatest games ever made. I can't recommend this game enthusiastically enough to convey my feelings towards it, so I'm just going to blandly say, if you are a mature gamer with a working computer, you NEED this game. Expand
  50. StephanK.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    My most favorite FPS of all time. I have never encountered an FPS experience close to this one besides the origional Half-Life, Bioshock, and STALKER. Fantastic graphics and story compliment the well paced action.
  51. PepeE.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    THE GAME. EVERYTHING is great. The graphics, the gameplay, the MUSIC the score the fx the story... you can replay it a hundred times and find something new... man... it great.
  52. Ollskua.
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    The game is so near the reality because of the source engine, you just cant stop playing!
  53. Jordanfunk
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    SWEET GAME!!!!! I love all the combine ambushes. They rock!!
  54. JordanW.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    Quite simply, the best FPS of all time. Buy it.
  55. JonathanC
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Great story, great graphics, great AI, great characters. How could you not like this game. Sure not as story twisting as the first but it doesn't mean it's not good still amazing.
  56. N0tiC
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    This is the Game that i spend most time with, I like the story, the graffic iant that bad either thought. Sure, sure it might me a little over dramatic but its fun and worth every cent! I have the whole serie, All of the Half-Life "1" (Blue...., Opposing front i think it was....) Anyway im a big fan of the Half life series! Good game!
  57. AdamW
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    This is possibly the most awesome game ever made in the history of PC. and is anyone was put off it by the gore then just get used to it. i think it should be granted the best game ever award.
  58. CallumM.
    Sep 16, 2008
    6
    Quit sucking dick. Looking back on it now, the game is mediocre at best. The only innovative thing about this game is its implementation of physics. The only time I've seen good AI is when characters have retreated to cover. Then again, not a fair example, considering 90% of the enemies are zombies/monsters and behave as they should, even if they are retarded.
  59. LiZard
    Sep 6, 2008
    9
    @ Marsh J. Okay, that was both racist and stupid. @ Nick C. I am also 13, but I don't whine about zombies getting sawed in half. In fact, Ravenholm is my favorite level. @ Jordan M. Oh, so we have a perfectionist here? Okay, then. Tell me why so many games that use the Unreal engine are so freaking good?? Half-Life 2, along with ANY Valve game, don't need this abuse. Really, @ Marsh J. Okay, that was both racist and stupid. @ Nick C. I am also 13, but I don't whine about zombies getting sawed in half. In fact, Ravenholm is my favorite level. @ Jordan M. Oh, so we have a perfectionist here? Okay, then. Tell me why so many games that use the Unreal engine are so freaking good?? Half-Life 2, along with ANY Valve game, don't need this abuse. Really, this is just sad how many illiterate, stupid people there are out there. As for me, I give it a 9 for the awsomeness it contains. Although I was dissapointed how I couldn't take a turret with me from Nova Prospeckt. I brought it into the teleporter, but to no avail. I'll miss you, Mr. Turret. *sob* Expand
  60. HaLf-LiFeFrEAk
    Sep 6, 2008
    10
    It runs like crap on my computer but that doesnt mean I hate it. Only problem is the dialog stutters like heck: Mossman: A-a-a-a-a-a-le-e-ex, I-I-I-- Alex: Enough of your bul-bul-bul-bul-bullsh-shi-shi-shi-shi-...etc. Only other problem is that on ths laptop it can crash the entire system. But it is still one of the best games so far, bar none.
  61. AlexR.
    Sep 6, 2008
    9
    Haven't actually got the game yet, but a friend has it and seems really good, however the seems to complicated for my pc to run it well enough to play, so thats the major complaint, but the gameplay on my mate's comp is really good, so all is good about the game itself really.
  62. LukeM.
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  63. frankd
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    This game is very well thought out, smooth, and well curved design. it revolutionizes the gaming industry with the gameplay, physics, and graphics
  64. martinp
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    I love HALF-LIFE games! I have played Half-Life 1, its mods, Half-Life 2, Portal,Episode 1,Episode 2 many times, and I just cant wait to start playing Episode 3!
  65. StevenH
    Nov 7, 2009
    6
    Most overrated game on this site. Still no story, setting is a mishmash of sci-fi cliches, the whole thing is one scripted event and linear box canyon, and there was no multiplayer until terrible multiplayer was patched in.
  66. PutinVladimir
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    COOL!!!
  67. AnonymousMC
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    This game is the gratest I ever played, it tells a wonderfull story full of action and feelins, not all creatures are real, but it's very realistic. Besides that it gives you a lot of weapons and all the stuff to fight, u just can pic up a glas-bottle and throw it with the gravitrax so hard it flys som 100 meters, other than, it also gives ya houndreds of cars and boats and busses orThis game is the gratest I ever played, it tells a wonderfull story full of action and feelins, not all creatures are real, but it's very realistic. Besides that it gives you a lot of weapons and all the stuff to fight, u just can pic up a glas-bottle and throw it with the gravitrax so hard it flys som 100 meters, other than, it also gives ya houndreds of cars and boats and busses or trains you can drive mwith. ITS REALLY GREAT!!!! Expand
  68. AnonymousMC
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    From start to finish, Half-Life 2 is an amazing ride. Stunningly beautiful graphics and fluid gameplay make for a smooth play through an epic plot. The characters are great, the source engine shines from start to finish and nothing beats the thrill of beating the tar out of zombies with a crowbar when you're on 20 health and you've run out of ammo.

    All in all, Half-Life 2 gets
    From start to finish, Half-Life 2 is an amazing ride. Stunningly beautiful graphics and fluid gameplay make for a smooth play through an epic plot. The characters are great, the source engine shines from start to finish and nothing beats the thrill of beating the tar out of zombies with a crowbar when you're on 20 health and you've run out of ammo.

    All in all, Half-Life 2 gets a straight up 10 from me.
    Expand
  69. HughM.
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played.
  70. LukeM.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  71. DavidK
    Feb 10, 2009
    9
    The overall novelty value that the game has is fantastic. The ragdoll addition to gaming is great, but I found this game to be to say the least "unusual". The ending is atrocious but then they would not have had the Episode Expansions that they did. The environment is topnotch. And if you like a good fps this game is for you.
  72. AnonymousMC
    Mar 19, 2009
    3
    HL1/HL2 marked a time when masses were just catching up on the joys of PC gaming. The ratings entirely reflect this. Put into perspective from having played most of the notable FPS before these two came out, they both were at most an 8 at the time of release. Now I'm giving 3 just to make this point visible in the crowd of undeserved 10's.
  73. LukeM.
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  74. ShockK
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    As revolutionary as the first. All games should be based off the steam physics engine. The only reason people would give this a bad rating is because Steam is second only to AOL as the worst product ever created, which is unfair to the actual game. When my friend first started playing, he had hours of fun just throwing trash at the metro police. I can only imagine how much fun he'll As revolutionary as the first. All games should be based off the steam physics engine. The only reason people would give this a bad rating is because Steam is second only to AOL as the worst product ever created, which is unfair to the actual game. When my friend first started playing, he had hours of fun just throwing trash at the metro police. I can only imagine how much fun he'll have when he get's the gravity gun. Expand
  75. paulv
    May 26, 2009
    10
    Very good story a game that you must have played before dieing (:P) I also played episode 1 and 2 and now I can't sleep till I have half life 3.
  76. HI
    May 30, 2009
    10
    This game is a classic and its awesomeness is phenomenal. All you "What the f*** is Steam?," "I don't know what internet explorer is," "What's a driver," "This game is bad, because the puzzles are hard" and "What's a D... V... D...?" should learn a little about using a computer, reading and using their brains instead of just giving a lousy score. And all you people who This game is a classic and its awesomeness is phenomenal. All you "What the f*** is Steam?," "I don't know what internet explorer is," "What's a driver," "This game is bad, because the puzzles are hard" and "What's a D... V... D...?" should learn a little about using a computer, reading and using their brains instead of just giving a lousy score. And all you people who thinks the ending is bad should ask themselves "Hmm... what could Half-Life 2 Episode One possibly be?" Expand
  77. Mikael
    Jun 20, 2009
    6
    Good game, good graphics and good sound. However its plagued with weak team AI in your so called team mates makes part of the game more frustrating than fun. They are in the way, the trigger traps and then stand in the way when you try to avoid what they set off. Are they all double agents for the opposing side ?
  78. DigitalDevil
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Get it now!
  79. AkseliP
    Jun 5, 2009
    3
    Okay. I'm giving game rating 3 because enemies could be harder, AI was doing crazy things sometimes , zombies weren't scary and story wasn't always told well. Few good things were actors, rare fighting spots and it was fun to find G-man.
  80. JoshS
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    I remember the first day I played this on Christmas Day in 2004. I was absolutely amazed by the game, and I nearly fainted when I saw the Gman's face in the opening sequence. Truly a game to remember.
  81. AnonymousMC
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    Very good game people giving it 1 either it didnt work for them or it was two hard i think the game is challenging sometimes annoying but hands down for its time its the best game in 2003 04 and 05 i think nothing was comparing to half life in those days so 10 nice job valve i love your games keep it up
  82. SamN.
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Wow.
  83. AnonymousMC
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    Sure it's boring when you complete it but the first time I played it in 2005 I thought it was really nice, the graphics aren't to bad. I don't recommend this for new gamers though since it needs some more time to think etc.

    The AI Rebels helping you isn't so good but who cares. The face posing is really nice, what more could you want? Valve has done a great job!
  84. AnonymousMC
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    I rarely give anything a 10, but Half-Life is really the only game I know that perfects almost every aspect of FPS gaming, and of which I can say is in an entire league of it's own. I can play it over and over again and not get tired of anything but the lack of things to criticize. Great story, clean gameplay, and fantastic visuals and atmosphere- It's a legend.
  85. AnonymousMC
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    This game is what I call a masterpiece, good graphics for a 04' game, the best story line I've seen. I personally I love the havok engine, the way you have a enviroment where you can interact with almoust anything is great! You feel a lot more involved and free in the level, and thats why this game deserves a ten!
  86. AnonymousMC
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Half-Life 2 is just one amazing game. I played the original Half-Life when it came out, and after I beat it, I eagerly awaited the second. Fast-forwarding 9 years, I hear about Half-Life 2 coming out, and I am so amazed I can hardly contain myself.
    They did Half-Life justice. I consider this the best FPS story-wise and just an all around amazing game.
    Who is the G-Man? Who does he work
    Half-Life 2 is just one amazing game. I played the original Half-Life when it came out, and after I beat it, I eagerly awaited the second. Fast-forwarding 9 years, I hear about Half-Life 2 coming out, and I am so amazed I can hardly contain myself.
    They did Half-Life justice. I consider this the best FPS story-wise and just an all around amazing game.
    Who is the G-Man? Who does he work for? Why Gorden Freeman?
    In the Future, I hope to have these questioned answered!
    Expand
  87. AnonymousMC
    Aug 4, 2009
    9
    I played the first Half-Life, I do have to say the first Half-Life was much more challenging. However, Half-Life 2 has a better first person shooting system (I don't die in 2 seconds). Graphics are great even for its' time. I think the reason why this game really gets a nine is because the story is amazing. 9 out of 10.
  88. BobB
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    This game still exceeds every wannabe first-person shooter game made after it and most likely still will for years to come. Half-Life 2 has horror, action, comedy, puzzle, and sci-fi woven into it brilliantly and beautifully around every corner. It combines every aspect a gamer could possibly want in video game. The breathtaking graphics and wonderful personality of every character make This game still exceeds every wannabe first-person shooter game made after it and most likely still will for years to come. Half-Life 2 has horror, action, comedy, puzzle, and sci-fi woven into it brilliantly and beautifully around every corner. It combines every aspect a gamer could possibly want in video game. The breathtaking graphics and wonderful personality of every character make this game historical,not only for FPS standards, but for any sort of game available. Expand
  89. ByonH
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    I was amazed with the context throughout the storyline in the first parts of the game. One thing I disliked was the limited amount of weapons, but other then that, the game is worth the time, and is on my list for replay
  90. JihwanJ
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Really great. Characters also interact with is actually dialog and physics engine seems to be really good.
  91. OziR
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Definitely cannot compare to the first game but it was a 15/10, this without a doubt deserves all it can get
  92. HUMANHUMAN
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Game did almost everything well. graphics,gameplay, physics, story, characters, sounds. but there are some minor probs. like friendly NPC AI. some guns sound neutered like pistol and gravity gun. but there are so many good parts that i cant list them all. story is very interesting, soundtrack very good, characters loveable, and enemys... well not loveable. well, if you love fps games or Game did almost everything well. graphics,gameplay, physics, story, characters, sounds. but there are some minor probs. like friendly NPC AI. some guns sound neutered like pistol and gravity gun. but there are so many good parts that i cant list them all. story is very interesting, soundtrack very good, characters loveable, and enemys... well not loveable. well, if you love fps games or sci-fi games. or fps sci-fi game, this is one of those must have games. if you like halo, i can bet that you are gonna like this Expand
  93. LudoS
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    First of all I would like to disapprove of the comment below this one. He doesn't have to agree that this is an epic game, but this comment is way out of line. Now for the fun part. This game is epic, the whole thing with everything that surrounds it is epic. Can't wait for part 3!
  94. NatP
    Jan 15, 2010
    9
    Immersive gameplay, Good voice acting, Revolutionary, Awesome visuals for its time. AI could've used a little polish though. Hands down one of the best FPS I've ever played!
  95. dsgvedvadt
    Jan 19, 2010
    0
    Awful, disgusting game,without somefing new.This is not a real komputer game,only a simulation.
  96. JeffH
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest games i've ever seen. Everything everyone liked from the first game, just some extremely enhanced graphics, interface, sound and everything else. One thing I can't stress enough are the graphics, the people at Valve are truly wizards with the Source Enginge making the grphics look equivalent to a top-of-the-line game of 2009!
  97. GabrielU
    Jan 24, 2010
    8
    This is one piece of good fps. Interesting story and awesome characters too. Few dull moments, when I could hit the PC of the deck. That's H-F2 in few words.
  98. SamJ.
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    LOVE it!
  99. YoM.
    Mar 17, 2010
    8
    OK Valve, I get it, you like zombies. Oh and soldiers. You like soldiers too. What happened to all the space aliens!!! All we get is antlions and headcrabs (which lead to.. yes... more zombies). One of the best things about half life was the aliens - really well designed, alien looking aliens, not just humans in suits. And a cool top secret government base to explore. In HL2 all we have OK Valve, I get it, you like zombies. Oh and soldiers. You like soldiers too. What happened to all the space aliens!!! All we get is antlions and headcrabs (which lead to.. yes... more zombies). One of the best things about half life was the aliens - really well designed, alien looking aliens, not just humans in suits. And a cool top secret government base to explore. In HL2 all we have is zombies and soldiers, zombies and soldiers, in lots and lots of ruined buildings. HL2 is great in lots of ways.The graphics and facial expressions still look good 6 years later. The plot is sci fi ham but it fits together great and is really immersive. The gravity gun is lots of fun and the combine biotech, striders, gunships etc is cool. But while HL1 left me genuinely apprehensive and scared about what I would see around the next corner, HL2 didn't because I knew what was coming: a ruined cityscape full of zombies and soldiers. Again, and again, and again. Would it have hurt to make the enemies a little more varied? It's a good game, but it is no way better than HL1, not even close. Expand
  100. ChrisZ
    Mar 22, 2010
    10
    The story is cliche and terribly told. Vance is ok, but overall the poor implementation of the aliens is laughable to the story. It's almost as the developers just included them last minute. The design is interesting, but ultimately this game falls flat trying to remove the flaws especially the quick novelty of puzzles and the gravity gun wearing off too soon, and the terrible AI The story is cliche and terribly told. Vance is ok, but overall the poor implementation of the aliens is laughable to the story. It's almost as the developers just included them last minute. The design is interesting, but ultimately this game falls flat trying to remove the flaws especially the quick novelty of puzzles and the gravity gun wearing off too soon, and the terrible AI with graphics. Immersive, not so much, gameplay is boring, the experience is as cliche as can be. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 81
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 81
  3. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Nothing less than a revolution in the gaming industry that will keep gamers busy for years to come, just as the original did.
  2. 95
    An ephemeral and controversial ending, along with the few issues described above, means that for me, Half-Life 2, while a compelling and highly enjoyable game, falls short of the size of impact that the first title had on the gaming world.
  3. Playboy
    100
    A graphics overhaul delivers detailed facial animations and sophisticated physics that leave battle zones strewn with debris after intense shootouts with shuffling corpses, overfed curstaceans and other assorted foes. [October, p.37]