User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 328 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 328

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JimM.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    One of the best games. I have an AMD 2000XP, 1GIG PC133 SDRAM and an ATI RAdeon 970(non pro) and run the game at 1024X768 . The game runs fine for me. Super fast like the rest of my games. What is wrong with you people. Don't u know how to tweak ur system? Owell if your half way smart get this game and it should run great for u too. I'm talking about the single player and not on-line .
  2. PhillipR.
    Sep 27, 2003
    10
    "I've played the 1.5 beta........." I don't really think you can base your opinion on a trial version der bud. HALO prolly won't be the greatest FPS ever for PC, but I promise it will be remembered as one of the best.
  3. Dan
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    Simply amazing multiplayer!
  4. CarlosR.
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    This is bad ass you get new levels two new guns you should problably get this game it kicks but if you dont get then whats the point sitting there in the can and reading the script over and over again if you want new levels new vhicles and guns then stop getting in the can and buy it.
  5. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Seeing that the average user review is 6.4 i must say there is something wrong with you! Halo is one of the greatest fps's ever on gamespot and ign's top ten fps's it was 2nd in both. the game is now 7 years old and some people are posting review complaining about graphics? It's a 7 year old game. Yes it did not have an online multiplayer for the 360 but it is by far my favorite fps with aSeeing that the average user review is 6.4 i must say there is something wrong with you! Halo is one of the greatest fps's ever on gamespot and ign's top ten fps's it was 2nd in both. the game is now 7 years old and some people are posting review complaining about graphics? It's a 7 year old game. Yes it did not have an online multiplayer for the 360 but it is by far my favorite fps with a great campaign and it was extremely fun to play with friends. I am now realising this is a p.c review. FUDGE IT! I'm posting it anyway Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    this game is great has great weapons great ai especially on legendary the music just heals the soul and it has that touch of perfection for a sci-fi shooter with the most amazing architectures i have seen in a shooter
  7. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    It's Halo plus some new features like the Custom Edition, online multiplayer, new vehicles to use in multiplayer such as the Banshee and the Rocket-equipped Warthog, and new weapons such as the Fuel Rod Cannon and the Flamethrower. Plus, Bungie has a little something for the PC/Mac version: If you use the product key code on bungie.net, you get access to use the Halo nameplate for Halo: Reach!
  8. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    Halo brought us a fascinating and unique plot, lush textures, and an unusually compelling soundtrack. In hindsight it doesn't seem so great, but when issued it was way ahead of its time.
  9. May 18, 2014
    10
    This game had it all. It had balance, skill, and was revolutionary. It wasn't quite as good as quake, but it was a refreshing competitor to the best PC fps. For a console game it still remains the king to this day. No other halo, battlefield, or call of duty comes close to the competitive nature this game was built with. A true arena shooter. It's a shame Bungie strayed away from thisThis game had it all. It had balance, skill, and was revolutionary. It wasn't quite as good as quake, but it was a refreshing competitor to the best PC fps. For a console game it still remains the king to this day. No other halo, battlefield, or call of duty comes close to the competitive nature this game was built with. A true arena shooter. It's a shame Bungie strayed away from this formula as the series progressed. Expand
  10. SamF.
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    Amazing game. I played this twice in fact and still can't get over the graphics and gameplay. People Rating this Low are complaining about low frame rates and terrible graphics .One guy quoted he had a celeron!!! Give me a break...Get a Good computer and stop Ranking on possibly the greatest Sci-Fi FPS Ever! Anyone giving this lower than a 9 needs serious help. The only negative Amazing game. I played this twice in fact and still can't get over the graphics and gameplay. People Rating this Low are complaining about low frame rates and terrible graphics .One guy quoted he had a celeron!!! Give me a break...Get a Good computer and stop Ranking on possibly the greatest Sci-Fi FPS Ever! Anyone giving this lower than a 9 needs serious help. The only negative about this game is that some levels get repetitive (Library - Flood) Way Too Much. other than that it rocks! Expand
  11. ADD
    Nov 8, 2003
    10
    GREATEST GAME EVER, i dont care, i havnt got a brilliant comp, but the graphics are still good! great multiplayer, and mouse works better than xbox controller!
  12. Ron
    Oct 7, 2003
    9
    There are definitely some issues that need to be fixed concerning peoples perception of framerates. I have 2 machines one is the AMD 2600 on simple MX440 and the other is AMD 1300 also on MX440 and both machines run smooth as silk. My pal has a P4 HT 512MB on a 5600 card and the game really stutters. We are using the same drivers! I really love the game's storyline and the lovely There are definitely some issues that need to be fixed concerning peoples perception of framerates. I have 2 machines one is the AMD 2600 on simple MX440 and the other is AMD 1300 also on MX440 and both machines run smooth as silk. My pal has a P4 HT 512MB on a 5600 card and the game really stutters. We are using the same drivers! I really love the game's storyline and the lovely scenery. If its too slow on your system play something else. Expand
  13. AndrewL.
    Feb 19, 2004
    10
    I played Halo on X-BOX and loved it. Then i heard it was coming out for PC and I had to have it. I ended up getting it, and have played it every day. The graphics are great and the sounds are perfect (why do people think it sucks, when it's really just there comp. that sucks).
  14. Hotshot34
    Jan 15, 2004
    10
    I've never played Halo for the Xbox and I naver will. But this game is the best game ever and its fun torturing the grunts by shooting their feet with the pistol. If you don't like this game your a freak!
  15. HillBillyJIMWWF
    Apr 26, 2004
    10
    This game was amazing when I played it on xbox, and its even more amazing now on my pc with high crystal clear resolutions and new level/weapons. What an amazing phenomenon this game is. Almost as good as Farcry.
  16. Werdson
    Nov 28, 2003
    10
    It doesn't get much better than hiting a grunt in the face with a pistol.
  17. John7grain
    Nov 8, 2003
    10
    Wow this game is perfect.
  18. John7grain
    Nov 8, 2003
    10
    Wow this game is perfect.
  19. FredM.
    Oct 6, 2003
    9
    So what if this thing is a bit slow...I run a 2.4Ghz Pentium4 with 256Mb RAM and a 64Mb GeForce4 at 1024x768, on WinXP, and at the MAXIMUM GRAPHICS, it's only a BIT slow! And it ONLY slows at all at extremely high graphics, such as when a Covenant gun overheats in your hands. Does that happen often (if it does, you need to learn to conserve ammo better...)? Deal with it, you pansies! So what if this thing is a bit slow...I run a 2.4Ghz Pentium4 with 256Mb RAM and a 64Mb GeForce4 at 1024x768, on WinXP, and at the MAXIMUM GRAPHICS, it's only a BIT slow! And it ONLY slows at all at extremely high graphics, such as when a Covenant gun overheats in your hands. Does that happen often (if it does, you need to learn to conserve ammo better...)? Deal with it, you pansies! I have lived somehow without an Xbox thus far, and so this is the best thing since Half-Life! You don't like it? Go play your Gamecube (that was sarcastic). And if you want to complain about the fact that the game seems outdated, that's because it is! Released for the Xbox in 2001, it is bound to be old by now! The second Halo is already out! This is just a supplemental to those who don't have an Xbox or want to take it to the next level with a really good gaming computer. If you don't like it, buy an Xbox and play it there. Expand
  20. JohnB.
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played I have it for Xbox also and it is so cool. Now it's came out for PC. I have it. It is so totally awesome! All of those who oppose really have PROBLEMS!
  21. PaulR.
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    This is the first game out for xbox, and people still play it , its not too good when u play alone, but when u do i system link, and there are 12 people in ur basement, killing a fighting for first place, halo, is the best.
  22. ChrisD.
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    This game is not the best when you play one player but the multiplayer kicks butt!
  23. JoeS.
    Apr 23, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome it is a lot better than xbox version the new levels everything is just great.
  24. ElfrancheT.
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    Halo is one of the most soul-moving games ever made, in that it gives you the feeling you are taking part in something great and very important. The level design is not physically brilliant, but the atmosphere always is.
  25. halopcgmr
    May 29, 2007
    10
    THe People at the last review that said it was impossible to play at the second level THEY WERE WRONG.they probaly have cheap pc and didnt even play online i give it a 10. they should have more enemies like scott said like in halo 2 but its the best game i played so far as fear.
  26. infernoyourmom
    May 8, 2008
    10
    An amazing game ESPECIALLY with the Custom Edition of the game allowing completely custom maps, weapons, vehicles and what nots.
  27. HeadCrab
    Oct 16, 2003
    9
    The game is good, there's no disputing that, really. However, there is a small issue of choppy frame rates, even on more higher-end systems. Now, there's also you people who complain about system performance, while running a 64mb GeForce 4 MX440 card, or a Celeron, and that rare GeForce 2. Of COURSE your going to experience system lag, because quite simply, your hardware is The game is good, there's no disputing that, really. However, there is a small issue of choppy frame rates, even on more higher-end systems. Now, there's also you people who complain about system performance, while running a 64mb GeForce 4 MX440 card, or a Celeron, and that rare GeForce 2. Of COURSE your going to experience system lag, because quite simply, your hardware is outdated. I realize that it's expensive to upgrade, but the future of technology is ever evolving, and thus demands more and more from the end user, like it or not. Get better parts to end your sufferings. Or play older games. Expand
  28. LenardN.
    Sep 26, 2003
    9
    Halo..... although 2 years old, great gameplay never get's old. The AI is stil the best at the moment (after 2 years even!). MOH is a great game, but Halo is better IMO and many critics. Unreal 2.. ahem... why did i mention that game? lol....... Battlefield 1942 has a pathetic singleplay and a laggy online play. NOLF 2.. good game but Halo is stil better. Half-Life... RESPECT. But Halo..... although 2 years old, great gameplay never get's old. The AI is stil the best at the moment (after 2 years even!). MOH is a great game, but Halo is better IMO and many critics. Unreal 2.. ahem... why did i mention that game? lol....... Battlefield 1942 has a pathetic singleplay and a laggy online play. NOLF 2.. good game but Halo is stil better. Half-Life... RESPECT. But stil that is years old. The great FPS wil come out in the fourth quarter of 20024. Until then... Halo is the great FPS for now and i doubt that certain FPS wil stil beat it (HL 2 wil beat it, Deus Ex 2 wil beat it.. but that is it). Pick this game up now! Expand
  29. OrbitalShock
    Sep 27, 2003
    9
    This games has the best gameplay on my pc!
  30. ScottG.
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    Its totally awesome, I just think there should be more enemies.
  31. Sep 4, 2011
    8
    This is a fantastic game! Not only do you get an exciting single player campaign, but you get an awesome multiplayer expeirence! The campaign is engaging yet at times a little boring, but it is still fantastic! Your first play through is unforgettable. The multiplayer is even better and very fun to play! There are tonnes of maps with many game modes and even a game mode creator! And thereThis is a fantastic game! Not only do you get an exciting single player campaign, but you get an awesome multiplayer expeirence! The campaign is engaging yet at times a little boring, but it is still fantastic! Your first play through is unforgettable. The multiplayer is even better and very fun to play! There are tonnes of maps with many game modes and even a game mode creator! And there are always people playing online. It does not have the best of graphics but this is because it was made early 2000's. Not many games back then did.

    Graphics: 8/10 (for its time)
    campign: 9/10
    multiplayer: 10/10
    Expand
  32. Jan 13, 2012
    8
    I liked it a lot. Campaign was just as fun and it added a few new weapons (such as the fuel rod) to the game. Multiplayer was a ton of fun but it suffers from extreme lag if anyone in your match has lag. Also it features quite a few bugs and glitches as well. Overall it was an enjoyable game that was well worth playing imo.
  33. Dec 22, 2011
    7
    I've played the single player multiple times and have enjoyed the game for the most part. It is a classic. It does have shortcomings though which make it a pass for anyone who has it on Xbox. The most fun I had with this game was LAN multiplayer with friends. Don't play public servers.
  34. ZxZ
    Jun 5, 2013
    9
    very good game with action everywhere, quite addictive although history can be boring so strong is the multiplayer going to be can spend hours and hours playing
  35. Nick
    Oct 3, 2003
    8
    I have a P4 2.4GHz and a Geforce 4 Ti 4400 and I am running Halo at 1024x768 with high detail. Almost no slowdown, even in very large areas. Oh, and the gameplay is as good as the reviews say. In comparison, Unreal 2 and Chrome are weak...
  36. GeorgeC.
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    Hey this game is totally awesome in xbox... now its hitting pc with new weapons and new vehicle, it will only get better than the x box version so its gonna be 10 for sure since the original is already a "10" game.
  37. DarrylM.
    Oct 13, 2003
    8
    I don't know why everyone is having problems running this game on P4/Athlon systems. Halo runs just fine on my old PIII866 w/720megs of RAM and a 64meg GeForce 4 MX 440. I do have the resolution at 800x600 though. All in all it's still a fun game!
  38. [Anonymous]
    Sep 7, 2003
    10
    I bought an xbox for this game, it just died 2 days ago and im ready to get a new comp for this and some strategie games, Im ready to play online PROPERLY (xconnect sucked) and have a load of mod and modding tools at my disposal, give me halo or give me death.
  39. SnowW.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    Fast, beautiful and fun multiplayermaps. People say it's old and stuff, but they don't pay attention to its fun but only its name. I'd give this a 9 because I've had some lag with it once, no more. The grphics are nice, but aren't the best. so I'd still give it a nine out of ten.
  40. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    Halo is a good game. The graphics were a bit dull when I played it when I wars about ten. The AI need to be better because they are so dumb sometimes. I have to hand it to them Halo had an awsome
    stroy line. Out of all Halo gets an 8 from me.
  41. Jun 15, 2011
    8
    Halo is more famous on the xbox , than on PC, but the team did a great work on putting effort in this version. Is not the best PC game but is still superb.
  42. May 23, 2011
    7
    It may seem strange, but the thing that really stood out about Halo: Combat Evolved to me was the music. It's really, really good. Seriously. Check it out. Other than that, the gameplay is solid and feels tight. You've probably played games like this a hundred times before, but only because Halo did it first. Not as good as some other first person shooters, not even from that time, butIt may seem strange, but the thing that really stood out about Halo: Combat Evolved to me was the music. It's really, really good. Seriously. Check it out. Other than that, the gameplay is solid and feels tight. You've probably played games like this a hundred times before, but only because Halo did it first. Not as good as some other first person shooters, not even from that time, but definitely worth a play, if only because its classic status. Expand
  43. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    It's like Doom with better graphics, but not as good gameplay!
    The game is awesome in the first few levels but gets very hard at time!
    I strongly recommend!
  44. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    Although Halo probably isn't as good as much of the hype it got, it's still a pretty good game. Most of the time it's a matter of going in guns blazing, rather than using stealth or strategy, but it's still pretty fun to go around blasting aliens and mutants. The game's storyline is good--though it could have used more developing--and the banter is fairly amusing. Many of the levels canAlthough Halo probably isn't as good as much of the hype it got, it's still a pretty good game. Most of the time it's a matter of going in guns blazing, rather than using stealth or strategy, but it's still pretty fun to go around blasting aliens and mutants. The game's storyline is good--though it could have used more developing--and the banter is fairly amusing. Many of the levels can get rather confusing as you try to navigate around endless corridors on spaceships and fortresses, but all is forgiven once you hop into a Warthog and drive around running over enemies or chase down a screaming grunt and pistol whip him! Expand
  45. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    so confused how this game did not get better ratings compared to its xbox release.

    they are both the same freaking game- scratch that.... the only thing different about this game is the fact that because it is on the computer you could CUSTOMIZE AND MOD IT. which is freaking AMAZING. I know this is not related to the game but ever play Halo:custom edition? simply fantastic. if
    so confused how this game did not get better ratings compared to its xbox release.

    they are both the same freaking game- scratch that....

    the only thing different about this game is the fact that because it is on the computer you could CUSTOMIZE AND MOD IT. which is freaking AMAZING.

    I know this is not related to the game but ever play Halo:custom edition? simply fantastic.
    if halo for the xbox got a 97 without the ability to create god like player/ fan based mods then this game should have scored the equivalent or higher than the xbox version
    Expand
  46. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    I haven't played Halo on Xbox or in its early years but looking at it from 2012, it's still pretty good but has some glaring flaws. For some reason there's no minimap and destination points only appeared in a few missions for me which can make the levels very confusing and I did get lost more than a couple times. The level design is also pretty bland and repetitive, especially in theI haven't played Halo on Xbox or in its early years but looking at it from 2012, it's still pretty good but has some glaring flaws. For some reason there's no minimap and destination points only appeared in a few missions for me which can make the levels very confusing and I did get lost more than a couple times. The level design is also pretty bland and repetitive, especially in the mission with 343 Guilty Spark. Having to go through 4 floors of the same looking environment sure got stale. Those are my two main flaws with the game but it has tons of positives as well. The guns are awesome and feel great to shoot and there's a good variety of them as well, my personal favourites are the pistol and the plasma pistol. I dunno why, I guess I just like pistols. The vehicles are also amazing and I was blown away by how smoothly they controlled for a game that came out in 2001, especially the banshee which I had a blast with. I found the story pretty good for a shooter as well but I wish they could have started to give Master Chief more of a personality in the first game.

    The multiplayer is great fun and I was pleasantly surprised that it's actually still pretty active on the PC version, I always see servers that are full and thriving with players even after 11 years. I'm not a huge fan of the maps that take place in an interior because they can get very chaotic when the only available weapon is set to rocket launcher. I did love the outdoor maps and my favourite is Timberland for it's size and beauty.

    Overall a great game and still worth playing even after over a decade, it's at it's best in multiplayer though since the singleplayer campaign is pretty dated.
    Expand
  47. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    The soundtrack is awesome and the graphics are really impressive for a 2003 game. The campaign is lengthy and the story is good, and most of the levels are pretty fun. Except for the library. Multiplayer, however, is super fun considering its age. Pistols and sniper rifles are too OP though.
  48. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    I played this years ago. It was a fun game. I played multiplayer a lot. Mods were very cool, going up the mountains in some maps. My favorite maps were death island, the two snow maps, and some of the smaller maps. I liked oddball, ctf, bfm racing.
  49. Oct 21, 2013
    8
    NOTE: This is a single-player review.

    In terms of a port, it's actually quite good. The gameplay is engaging (especially with the improved control of the PC), the graphics are nice for an older game and it runs fairly well. It's also a very difficult game, seeming near impossible on the highest difficulty. Halo has a few flaws, though. The level design can be extremely repetitive,
    NOTE: This is a single-player review.

    In terms of a port, it's actually quite good. The gameplay is engaging (especially with the improved control of the PC), the graphics are nice for an older game and it runs fairly well. It's also a very difficult game, seeming near impossible on the highest difficulty. Halo has a few flaws, though. The level design can be extremely repetitive, having you walk through copies of the same hallway more than once.

    Despite the semi-average level design, it's definitely an enjoyable game. If you like first-person shooters, play this game.
    Expand
  50. Apr 7, 2013
    8
    By itself, halo combat evolved is nothing much. just an average game. But putting in Custom edition and playing all those different maps and mods makes the game so much better
  51. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    Polished. Its solid like Quake but updated for the next generation. Couldnt ask for more

    Halo:REACH updated the game engine. Play that for the next leap
  52. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    One of my most favorite childhood games a fun and addicting shooter with a great story and it can run on most PC's and with mods and Custom edition you will not want to stop playing this game!
  53. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    Accounting for 2001 it had a great campaign, amazing multiplayer with great maps (including the famous Blood Gultch). It was the pioneer for competitive shooters on console and has one of the greatest world designs ever. It's weaknesses lie in it's overuse of the same textures in the world and the crouching control mechanics (move the stick fully towards a direction and you move whileAccounting for 2001 it had a great campaign, amazing multiplayer with great maps (including the famous Blood Gultch). It was the pioneer for competitive shooters on console and has one of the greatest world designs ever. It's weaknesses lie in it's overuse of the same textures in the world and the crouching control mechanics (move the stick fully towards a direction and you move while standing, move it slightly and you move while crouching) Expand
  54. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    This Halo game is the one that started it all. It brought us even greater Halo games, those being Halo 2, Halo 3, and to some extent Halo: Reach. The multiplayer on the PC is still up, so go get this game and experience the awesomeness of the first Halo game.
  55. May 1, 2014
    10
    Halo: CE shaped modern FPS games, and also has one of the best stories, entangled in one of the best soundtracks of any game ever made. The atmosphere in the game was simply amazing. Sure the graphics are dated, it's from 2001 for god's sake, this was a launch title for the original Xbox! The game was revolutionary in its time, its a classic.
  56. Jun 21, 2014
    8
    Solid sci-fi FPS with fantastic well written plot and impeccable AI. The level design however is quite repetitive and the dialogue seems out of sync with the characters. Much fun to be had pummeling grunts with warthogs and destroying hunters! 8/10
  57. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    A great game full of action, adventure, great multi-player, and a great storyline. It has taken Sci-fi first person shooter to a whole new level. It has an amazing gallery of weapons, vehicles, enemies, and good guys. Outstand graphics and affects. An absolute must play before climbing up the franchise!
  58. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    Halo is truly the most innovative shooter since goldeneye. It set a new standard for the future FPS's to come. It is not only fun to play, but the graphics are excellent. Although there is not multiplayer on the xbox version, if you get games on the PC you will have the best multiplayer fun in years.
  59. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    This review is the second part of a fairly long but helpful review, go to the Halo: Combat Evoleved (Xbox 2001) page to see the first half.
    There are ten fairly long, open playable campaign (story-mode) levels in Halo: Combat Evolved and even more multiplayer (versus-mode) levels. You can play with one or two players in the campaign or up to sixteen players in multiplayer, which is great
    This review is the second part of a fairly long but helpful review, go to the Halo: Combat Evoleved (Xbox 2001) page to see the first half.
    There are ten fairly long, open playable campaign (story-mode) levels in Halo: Combat Evolved and even more multiplayer (versus-mode) levels. You can play with one or two players in the campaign or up to sixteen players in multiplayer, which is great fun when youâ
    Expand
  60. PatrickH.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Just as good, if not better, than the XBox version. Banshees are awesome, and the internet style of linked play is second to none.
  61. MastaGunZ
    Aug 13, 2006
    10
    Simply put, Halo is a great game, and defined the fps genre for the current-gen systems.
  62. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    I think that Halo: Combat Evolved defined FPS Gaming, this is the game that changed the way we played FPS Games. The online multiplayer is very addictive and it is a really good to play online with friends. I read some of these reviews that you noobs have wrote and I feel sorry for you because you are the ones that we pwn online. I think that it is a game that gamers will will keep playersI think that Halo: Combat Evolved defined FPS Gaming, this is the game that changed the way we played FPS Games. The online multiplayer is very addictive and it is a really good to play online with friends. I read some of these reviews that you noobs have wrote and I feel sorry for you because you are the ones that we pwn online. I think that it is a game that gamers will will keep players for many years to come. Expand
  63. Gosumaster
    Nov 5, 2003
    10
    OK this game is god- your all just pissed cuz u have sh.tty comps. ok you say u have a 5600 big deal- the rest of your system probly blows @$$. just cuz u cant afford a system capable of the godlyness of this game, doesnt mean you should bring it down.
  64. OlSkoolGamerReleaseV
    Oct 7, 2003
    0
    I am simply tired of spending $50 only to deal with poorly designed software. EVERY other current FPS game I own runs smooth as silk on my PC. I'm sorry but Microsoft needs to re-think their development dept. and release processes. Freelancer to Halo, Win2k to XP all equal to one thing . . 40 thousand plus known bugs and a series of additional lawsuits to come. HALO? Go find a spot I am simply tired of spending $50 only to deal with poorly designed software. EVERY other current FPS game I own runs smooth as silk on my PC. I'm sorry but Microsoft needs to re-think their development dept. and release processes. Freelancer to Halo, Win2k to XP all equal to one thing . . 40 thousand plus known bugs and a series of additional lawsuits to come. HALO? Go find a spot to spin because when DOOM3 and HL2 comes out, I really do pity you and your uneducated programmers . . . . DOOM3 and HL2 *drool* Expand
  65. StevenB.
    Oct 9, 2003
    4
    First of all, anyone who rated this game at a 5 or 6 or higher are imbiciles who don't know what a REAL PC FPS game is like with REALISTIC framerates!! Thats right, realistic framerates would be 55-60 MINIMUM for non corrupt online play! Not 15-35, especially on an awsome 2.2G computer with plenty of memory and a Radeon 9800 Pro! The graphics aren't even good. Damnit I'm First of all, anyone who rated this game at a 5 or 6 or higher are imbiciles who don't know what a REAL PC FPS game is like with REALISTIC framerates!! Thats right, realistic framerates would be 55-60 MINIMUM for non corrupt online play! Not 15-35, especially on an awsome 2.2G computer with plenty of memory and a Radeon 9800 Pro! The graphics aren't even good. Damnit I'm pissed! Microsoft, FIX THIS CRAP! Expand
  66. CarlC.
    Mar 1, 2007
    6
    Good game for playing with your buddies. Did not find it challenging for clans. Not really hard for an FPS, more of a spray n pray kind of deal. No one really makes custom maps.
  67. MarcelloC.
    Oct 13, 2003
    4
    This game is really horrible. not only it is way too slow to be acceptable by today standards (i have problems playing it a 800x600 minimum details on a xp1800 with geforce2 400) but the gameplay is simply boring. you get stuck in endless corridors which have no visual difference one from the other, then you have to make your way back. the enemies are often stupid and theirThis game is really horrible. not only it is way too slow to be acceptable by today standards (i have problems playing it a 800x600 minimum details on a xp1800 with geforce2 400) but the gameplay is simply boring. you get stuck in endless corridors which have no visual difference one from the other, then you have to make your way back. the enemies are often stupid and their characterization is almost non-existent (you don't think "die! you ugly b@#*@°% alien!"... it's more like "uh.. now i shoot another bunch of colored polygons". worst FPS i ever played. m Expand
  68. JanneJ.
    Apr 28, 2008
    1
    The game is so boring that i sold it for my friend and never finished it. Nothing happens in the game. i don`t know what other people see in shooting some midgets (or elfs). The only plus that i gave was for the "halo" that looked fine in the outside areas.
  69. Kholdstareo1
    Sep 3, 2006
    4
    this game isn't deep, the enemy is stupid, the graphics are bad (but good for when it came out, i guess) your freinds are stupid, and the whole game consists of running around shooting aliens. nothing strategic. nothing to nmake you think. just twitchy point-and-click action.
  70. Sep 18, 2011
    4
    A game most suitable for age 8 to 14. One of the alien bot model looked like a crab and moved like a toddler in diaper. Most of the models in the game are TOYS and TOYS, toys for 5 to 8 y.o. When you ran out of ammo of a specific gun, you need to held the same gun in hand before you can pick up the same dropped gun model by your feet. Max mouse sensitivity is too slow on some Compaq madeA game most suitable for age 8 to 14. One of the alien bot model looked like a crab and moved like a toddler in diaper. Most of the models in the game are TOYS and TOYS, toys for 5 to 8 y.o. When you ran out of ammo of a specific gun, you need to held the same gun in hand before you can pick up the same dropped gun model by your feet. Max mouse sensitivity is too slow on some Compaq made mice. Texture resolution compared to UT2003 is weak, model detail is pathetic. AI skill is average. I can clocked the game with difficulty Heroic without using the rocket launcher or the pistol that has the zoom view. The Warthog armored vehicle are not meant to be driving in some locations but if you know how you can actually drive the Warthog into some building structure's broad corridors and later when backing you way out and leaving the place you can used the mounted gun at the back of the vehicle to take out those harder to kill beasts (not meant to be played that way). Not many games has the projectiles fired from the a small handheld gun that has the lock-on effects of a missile. If you know how (editing game scripts), a game like Tread Marks, all of the game's fired projectiles from all the weapons could have the lock-on effect of a missile, including the fired cannon shell from those tanks. There are a lots of games out there released around 2002 and 2003 that can be a very good replacement for this game Halo, other than paying over priced $ just for a little Halo and Microsoft, I'd rather spent the $ on multiple games like UT2003, Unreal 2 and Tread Marks, and many more. Microsoft (Microft) is wasting their time by making Halo 2 Vista and above only, they kicked the XP users out for some nuts! I tried to copy Halo 2 from one hard disk partition to another, it takes over 30 minutes to finish, and there are about 4 prompts (about between 6 minutes per pop up prompt) that asked me if I'd want to move the read-only file or not, then another prompt that asked me to move a network file or not, AND THEN it's the system file, AND THEN it's a WTF file ... blah blah blah! Why can't Microsoft just ask me from the very start of the file transaction that if I'm a 12y.o-window-user or not, and that I know what I'm doing so just transfer all the files once and for all! I need to wait by my PC for over 30 minutes because there will be pop up prompts now and then telling me that Microsoft hired people that only knows how to feed donkeys like Billidiot Noob Gate$, so it's must be some illness as why everyone should be playing Halo and Halo 2. The up thing about Halo was that it has some flying and land vehicles that you'll see in UT2004, but I don't even play UT2004's vehicles either! Expand
  71. Aug 14, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Halo on PC is the most overated and worst port for a time when FPS gaming was in its prime.

    For starters its framerate is bad and choppy and people who say otherwise has got a win 7 gaming laptop or extremly good graphhics card from 2010, the graphics are quite bad, The level design is poor and worst of all the game is allmost unplayable on most older computers and the gameplay is so dodgy that It makes me want to tell developers to stop messing the hell around and make a game worth playing for more then an hour.

    Worst FPS period
    Expand
  72. Travis
    Oct 9, 2003
    5
    This game has the slowest frame rate of any FPS I've seen. When I went out to test the game before I bought it the game was on an Alienware computer. Even when I was playing it on that it ran choppy. So i said ok maybe its a crappy computer(yea right!), so I'll tried it on mine. Ohhh boy did it suck 3 FPS and thats at the highest I got.
  73. DemonicAngel
    Nov 29, 2003
    8
    I'd been waiting for Halo to arrive for PC for a long time, so when it finally arrived I was psyched. I installed and booted it... and was shocked. Why was it running so slowly? In all seriousness, the graphics, whilst very attractive, simply aren't as awesome as I'd expect from a game with this low level of performance (and my PC is no slouch, either). That aside, Halo is I'd been waiting for Halo to arrive for PC for a long time, so when it finally arrived I was psyched. I installed and booted it... and was shocked. Why was it running so slowly? In all seriousness, the graphics, whilst very attractive, simply aren't as awesome as I'd expect from a game with this low level of performance (and my PC is no slouch, either). That aside, Halo is one of the most fun shooters I've played for a while. Enemies are pretty smart, and will dodge in and out of cover and try to flank you. Graphics, as mennioned, are cool. Sound is adequate, though some of the voice acting is a bit dodgy, and the plasma weapons sound underpowered. The story is fairly standard sci-fi fluff, but it's done well, with humour at appropriate points to balance out the seriousness. If your system can handle it, definitely worth a play, just so you can see what the fuss was about. Expand
  74. DanD.
    Oct 2, 2003
    3
    WTF!!!! Why does this game run so slow. My Computer Specs 3200+, 512mb DDR Dual Channel, and 128MB Geforce FX 5600 Ultra. My Xbox Specs 733mhz p3 64MB Geforce = (TI 500) and I'm only getting and average of 34 FPS @ 640x480 thats with 1.4 pixel shader enable, with 2.0 it's even worst. Why even bother to add 1600x1200 not even an ati 9800 pro can run at that resolution? Bungie why WTF!!!! Why does this game run so slow. My Computer Specs 3200+, 512mb DDR Dual Channel, and 128MB Geforce FX 5600 Ultra. My Xbox Specs 733mhz p3 64MB Geforce = (TI 500) and I'm only getting and average of 34 FPS @ 640x480 thats with 1.4 pixel shader enable, with 2.0 it's even worst. Why even bother to add 1600x1200 not even an ati 9800 pro can run at that resolution? Bungie why didn't you finish the job? Gearbox nice port, but it runs way to slow for graphics that are 2 years old. Come on guys I don't think your minimum requirements of 733 and 32mb 3D card is even reasonable to play this game. I'm not giving this game a good score, because it wasn't ready for release and needs a major overhaul in the performance department. Expand
  75. GoloT.
    Oct 3, 2003
    1
    This game is horrible.... and anyone who gave it a good rating either has the fastest computer on earth that can actually run this game.... or you only have an xbox and decided to rate the pc version just to feel special since you dont have a computer to play a real FPS like Countet Strike or Medal of Honor to name a few.... the graphics suck... the mechanics and the game engine suck This game is horrible.... and anyone who gave it a good rating either has the fastest computer on earth that can actually run this game.... or you only have an xbox and decided to rate the pc version just to feel special since you dont have a computer to play a real FPS like Countet Strike or Medal of Honor to name a few.... the graphics suck... the mechanics and the game engine suck too.... HORRIBLE rushed port to the pc.. stay clear from this trash. Expand
  76. RancornGore
    Oct 3, 2003
    6
    So I got Halo and Freedom Fighters this week. First I played FF and was truly stunned by amazing graphics and the fantastic ability to actually command your fellow soldiers into action. That game is a true masterpiece imo! Then I started playing HALO,really high hopes for this one 2, because XBOX version was great and PC graphics could make it even better. But once I started playing it So I got Halo and Freedom Fighters this week. First I played FF and was truly stunned by amazing graphics and the fantastic ability to actually command your fellow soldiers into action. That game is a true masterpiece imo! Then I started playing HALO,really high hopes for this one 2, because XBOX version was great and PC graphics could make it even better. But once I started playing it was like going back in time. Graphics feel really dated and worst of all the framerates would only be appreciated by your grandmother.....It is NOT a bad game, its just that there are so many games today that are so much better, like e.g. Freedom Fighters or Chrome. HALO is most of all a really BAD conversion I think. I would not recommend anybody to encourage such activities by buing this game..... Expand
  77. PaulS.
    Oct 6, 2003
    3
    The game runs terrible! I have a p4 3200,1 gig of pc32oo ram dual memory with a geforce 5900 ultra and you have to drop the resolution to 800x600 to get decent framerate,stay away!
  78. Lutar
    Apr 19, 2008
    5
    Average game. Nice graphics, really good plot. However, all the time you are in the same environment and shooting the same enemies which makes the game a bit boring after some time. Plot is the strongest aspect of this game.
  79. Energy36
    Oct 12, 2003
    3
    OK i really like the game it has ok graphics and good game play but YES the game does seem to have just a few problems !!! Im running Win2k 512 ram 2700, AMD 2600, Radeon 9600 pro. and well it chucks to no end. I finding its getting worse the more i play the game. Later levels don't help. And im running at 1024 by 768 i did have it on 1280 by 1024 but my god i have changed all my OK i really like the game it has ok graphics and good game play but YES the game does seem to have just a few problems !!! Im running Win2k 512 ram 2700, AMD 2600, Radeon 9600 pro. and well it chucks to no end. I finding its getting worse the more i play the game. Later levels don't help. And im running at 1024 by 768 i did have it on 1280 by 1024 but my god i have changed all my settings in windows like Tru form and AA has been turned off. God Microsoft sucks. Expand
  80. RickG.
    Nov 4, 2003
    1
    While I'm impressed with the level of thought and detail this game offers, the simple fact is: this is just another FPS. At this point in time, unless it differentiates itself somehow, really what's the point? Halo XBOX had such a thing -- it's multiplayer coop story mode. Why this was removed from the PC edition is beyond me; without it, this is just another boring While I'm impressed with the level of thought and detail this game offers, the simple fact is: this is just another FPS. At this point in time, unless it differentiates itself somehow, really what's the point? Halo XBOX had such a thing -- it's multiplayer coop story mode. Why this was removed from the PC edition is beyond me; without it, this is just another boring shooter. About the only thing more tiring and boring than FPS are all these pointless Massively Multiplayer online games (evercrack, etc...). Yo game developers, try something new and different (like 'There'). Back to playing SSX3 on my console, the best current game out on any system... Expand
  81. FidoMaster
    Nov 8, 2003
    5
    Holy sh.t. Everyone who is bitching about the framerates on their GeForce f....ing TWOS should get a new f...ing computer, preferably one newer than 2001. That goes for you too, Mr. NVIDIA Vanta. The only people who have any right to complain about framerates are the people with actual computers, not silicon excrement. Jeeeeesus.
  82. ErikL.
    Oct 19, 2003
    1
    Man, im trying run this game on a amd xp2200 athlon on a k7 triton nforce2 chipset with 1.5 gb of DDR dual channel ram with a geforce FX 5200 AGP 8x 128 DDR and it has trouble in 1024 x 768 wtf is microsoft thinking????!! i can run Epic's Unreal 2 faster than a monkys ass tho!
  83. HolySh*t
    Oct 20, 2003
    0
    I am very disappointed in the game... it seems to run OK on my P4 3.2/1Gb DDR/Radeon 9800 pro, but the game looks pooooooor. As if the maps were made by some 5y old kid. Driving those vehicles with a mouse is only fun for players who love to have RSI... I love to play CTF but not in HALO... To me, for online gaming, BF42 and SOF2 are fun better!
  84. Matty
    Oct 21, 2003
    1
    All i can say is - WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY!! ive got a p4 3Ghz, 1 gig of ddr 400 memory, geforce FX 5600 Ultra and the game is barely playable. ive downloaded the update and its still the same. it must be running at like 10fps or maybe less. probably going to take it back this weekend. pfft...
  85. Hosef
    Oct 30, 2003
    1
    Veryveryveryvery choppy, when, for like 2 seconds, it doesnt chop up, i might get a kill, but otherwise its not worth my time.
  86. KostasM.
    Oct 3, 2003
    3
    The Game is very very slow on my computer. It is the first game that runs so slow on my machine. I have AMD 3200+ o/c 2500Mhz with 512DDR/400 and GEFORCE 5600 ultra. HELLO MICROSOFT FIX THIS GAME WITH A PATCH!!!
  87. EviLAnGeL
    Sep 27, 2003
    4
    Pfff. Some of you are either quite, quite insane or you haven't bothered to actually play the PC version before you rate the game. First of all you cannot have refresh rate fix installed at the same time as halo so all your opengl games will blind you at 60Hz as long as you have halo installed. Second. You cannot have anti aliasing on with a GeForce 4200 and probably most Nvidia and Pfff. Some of you are either quite, quite insane or you haven't bothered to actually play the PC version before you rate the game. First of all you cannot have refresh rate fix installed at the same time as halo so all your opengl games will blind you at 60Hz as long as you have halo installed. Second. You cannot have anti aliasing on with a GeForce 4200 and probably most Nvidia and maybe even ATI cards. This means that the game will be jaggy and look as smooth as something from 1998. Thirdly. Even WITHOUT anti aliasing the game runs VERY slowly. Even after turning all shadows and specular lights off and most of the other effects. it was STILL slow jerky as hell in fact. Fourthly Bad voice animation and timing in cutscenes makes things even worse. And just a million other crappy things. For instance when most characters talk their lips don't even move. And I don't mean they don't move in sync I mean they DO NOT MOVE. Basically I don't know what the hell is going on over at Microsoft games but if these and other games developers cannot start making good PC versions of XBOX games then just stop it. I don't care if they are easier for you to convert instead of starting from scratch, but I'm not paying good money for your shoddy work. All PC games that have been converted from XBOX should come with a warning or a reduced price tag if we have to expect this shoddiness. Expand
  88. JonathanS.
    Feb 18, 2004
    7
    While a decent game it definitely disappoints me. I played it on a 1gh system with a Geforce 3 Ti 200, and it ran like crap. Then I upgraded to a 2.8gh w/ 1gb ram and Radeon 9800 pro and it runs fine. Extremely repetitive gameplay, ok story (we have heard the save the unverse thing to muc), and bad engine really bring this game down. On the upside are good multiplayer and the vehicles, While a decent game it definitely disappoints me. I played it on a 1gh system with a Geforce 3 Ti 200, and it ran like crap. Then I upgraded to a 2.8gh w/ 1gb ram and Radeon 9800 pro and it runs fine. Extremely repetitive gameplay, ok story (we have heard the save the unverse thing to muc), and bad engine really bring this game down. On the upside are good multiplayer and the vehicles, along with a fantastic ending. I only wish Bungie has stuck to the origonal idea before they decided to make it an Xbox game. Expand
  89. AlexA
    Mar 1, 2009
    3
    So I'm playing this game now, in 2009, because I had luck to get a bargain Halo 2 - and so I also got Halo on Ebay, so I can start the story at the beginning. Well, the game got out in 2003 - and it doesn't show. If I'd play this in 2003, I might have been mildly entertained, but just mildly. I can't understand the fauvorable reviews. The game is just stupid, boring, So I'm playing this game now, in 2009, because I had luck to get a bargain Halo 2 - and so I also got Halo on Ebay, so I can start the story at the beginning. Well, the game got out in 2003 - and it doesn't show. If I'd play this in 2003, I might have been mildly entertained, but just mildly. I can't understand the fauvorable reviews. The game is just stupid, boring, repetitive, unintuitive, whatever negative you can imagine. Halo was released a year or two after the likes of Max Payne, Deus Ex, Mafia, Star Trek Voyager, Medal of Honor, same year as Max Payne 2, Unreal II... It's just no competition. Halo is comparable with shitty, stupid games such as James Bond Nightfire (funny the PC versions are both from the same company Gearbox). Gore is also quite comparable in unintuitiveness. I don't know about multiplayer, but the single player campaign is a thing to avoid. What happened to Bungie anyway? Expand
  90. ComputerIlliterates!
    Nov 2, 2003
    7
    With all settings cranked up to the Max, The game doesn't look bad at all. Anyone having system performance probably doesn't know how to tweak there system or update there drivers. Even my older a$$ computer can run this near perfect. To reply to the idiots here! Yes indeed you can play this above 60Hz, I have my refresh rate set at 100Hz! Anyone who has a Geforce FX 5200 and With all settings cranked up to the Max, The game doesn't look bad at all. Anyone having system performance probably doesn't know how to tweak there system or update there drivers. Even my older a$$ computer can run this near perfect. To reply to the idiots here! Yes indeed you can play this above 60Hz, I have my refresh rate set at 100Hz! Anyone who has a Geforce FX 5200 and has issues, Hmmmm I wonder why maybe because the FX Sucks, especially the 5200..... Expand
  91. Keith
    Oct 13, 2003
    6
    I agree with all the comments about this being a VERY choppy game. I dont quite understand what the problem is, but Microsoft needs to get a patch out....QUICK! Other than the horrible frame-rate its a cool game.
  92. PhilT.
    Oct 27, 2003
    0
    I can't even rate this ****ing game cuz I haven't been able to run it! It says certain NVidia chips have serious issues running it. WTF! A lot of ppl run Nvidia and to put out a game that dosnt even support many Nvidia chipsets is a waste of time. I am running a Nivida Vanta and it SHOULD run but it doesnt!
  93. GaborA.
    Sep 13, 2004
    3
    So inferior to the xbox version its puzzling. The controller literaly adds a new dimension to the game. On the xbox Halo is a game of strategy and sheer skill. On the pc its a slow and typical FPS with good level design.
  94. ArnoldS.
    Nov 28, 2005
    0
    Very poor game. Starts off boring, makes its way through tedious, and eventually sinks to the levels of utter drivel. The look and feel of the game are enough to make me feel sick, it either looks incredibly bland with concrete slabs everywhere, or disgusting bright colours. The "fearsome" alien race consists mainly of comical (except it's not funny) koopa troopers that run around Very poor game. Starts off boring, makes its way through tedious, and eventually sinks to the levels of utter drivel. The look and feel of the game are enough to make me feel sick, it either looks incredibly bland with concrete slabs everywhere, or disgusting bright colours. The "fearsome" alien race consists mainly of comical (except it's not funny) koopa troopers that run around shrieking and waving their arms around. The level design seems to be a lesson in cutting and pasting - how many times should I be made to go through the same room? The praise this game receives completely baffles me because I can't find a single positive thing to say about it. Expand
  95. PrestonJ.
    Jun 24, 2007
    3
    Broken... it was a broken product. The multiplayer server browser was ungodly slow, the graphics were ugly and dated, not to mention buggy, and then that gameplay was nothing short of underwhelming in light of all the high profile PC shooters in the last four years.... Terrible.
  96. Oct 17, 2010
    4
    It's boring, repetitive, and it's generic. There isn't any thrill in this game, it's just get it, get out, kill things, and mission complete. Quite disappointing.
  97. HungryMan
    Oct 5, 2003
    7
    This is a pretty average game, allthough the storyline is great. I dont know why everyone is complaining about how slow it runs? Im only using P4 1.6GHZ 512mB pc2100 GF4mx440 and game runs at very decent rate at 1024 with details turned down. Maybe it's something to do with winXP(as i presume that's what most people are running) because it plays fine on ME.
  98. MarcB.
    Mar 26, 2006
    8
    Heyyo, Great game. But the port to PC was a poor one that ran horrible and the netcode too was horrible, and they should've upgraded the graphics to PC standards as the textures were quite blurred. But luckly, even with these problems, that solid Halo gameplay was still present.
  99. Brian
    Aug 20, 2007
    5
    Simply put, Halo brought nothing to the table. In single player or multi-player. the game has its moments but niether single player nor multi-player required much skill. There was nothing "new" or "revolutionary" about it. It may be fun to play from time to time, but it is by no means a standard-setter.
  100. Marmoo
    Apr 18, 2008
    8
    Having completed Halo on Xbox many years ago i was happy when my bro bought me this last week, i have not tried the story game as i have done that, i was more interested in the online multiplayer. I can say i have no probs running it and it runs smooth on a dated cpu now (2.94ghz celeron, 2 gig ram, 160g hd and ATI 256mb graphics), i was impressed with the speed of online game but am Having completed Halo on Xbox many years ago i was happy when my bro bought me this last week, i have not tried the story game as i have done that, i was more interested in the online multiplayer. I can say i have no probs running it and it runs smooth on a dated cpu now (2.94ghz celeron, 2 gig ram, 160g hd and ATI 256mb graphics), i was impressed with the speed of online game but am struggling with the pace of it lol. playing with keyboard and mouse is a bit cumbersome so looking to but a controller - on the whole - very happy with product - cant understand why people have rated this game so low, especially those who cant get it to run - how can you rate he actual quality of the game without playing it- what a bunch of noobs lol. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. The Xbox is all about high resolution graphics. The PC version outdoes the original with better graphics with hardly any loading time. The models are fairly good but the enormous amount of activity that occurs on-screen makes the graphics that much better.
  2. Surprisingly taxing even on very fast PCs with tons of RAM and the latest video cards. Halo for the PC also loses the original version's much-vaunted cooperative play mode. But in spite of all that, and in spite of the very high standards for first-person shooters on the PC, Halo is still an incredible action game. It's a true classic.
  3. A decent storyline, lots of NPC interaction, and graphics that you have to see to believe. Anyway, if you are even remotely a fan of FPS games, this is an absolute must have, and one hell of a ride.