Halo: Spartan Assault Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 111 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Available only for Windows 8 and Windows Phone 8, "Halo: Spartan Assault" is a new top-down action shooter that brings a "Halo" video game to touch-based devices for the first time in franchise history. Developed by 343 Industries in conjunction with Vanguard Games,Available only for Windows 8 and Windows Phone 8, "Halo: Spartan Assault" is a new top-down action shooter that brings a "Halo" video game to touch-based devices for the first time in franchise history. Developed by 343 Industries in conjunction with Vanguard Games, "Halo: Spartan Assault" provides an accessible, pick-up-and-play experience for fans and newcomers alike.

    Set between the events of "Halo 3" and "Halo 4," "Halo: Spartan Assault" is a new chapter of the award-winning "Halo" universe that explores the first missions of the Spartan Ops program and dives deeper into the backstory of Human-Covenant wars. Play through the eyes of either Commander Sarah Palmer or Spartan Davis stationed aboard the UNSC Infinity as they fight never-before-seen battles against Covenant forces.

    With rich storytelling, intuitive controls, and best-in-class action, audio and graphics, "Halo: Spartan Assault" brings the epic scale and action of the "Halo" universe to mobile devices through unrivaled action and intensity.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Aug 8, 2013
    83
    The emotions Halo inspires, like panic from hearing your shield beep as enemies overcome you or the explosive joy you feel from throwing a well-placed grenade, are all on display here. Spartan Assault is a true Halo game, even if the series’ signature scope and size are scaled down.
  2. GameStar
    Jul 30, 2013
    77
    Although smaller aspects such as in-app rip or missing multiplayer mode nerves, Spartan Assault is a worthy Halo offshoot that brings the big name no shame.
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    75
    Halo: Spartan Assault translates the Halo-franchise to a top-down mobile shooter successfully. The (touch sensitive) controls can be too complex and the game could lean less on micro transactions, but other than that Spartan Assault is the mobile game that Windows (Phone) 8 sorely missed.
  4. Jul 22, 2013
    70
    Vanguard's created a decent blaster which offers a couple of moments of genuine bullet-dodging glory: Halo's touch-screen debut is good-looking, colourful, and fun.
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    70
    It's by no means Windows 8's killer app, but provided you have access to a Windows 8 device, you could do much worse than Spartan Assault.
  6. Jul 30, 2013
    67
    Played with a mouse and keyboard Spartan Assault becomes a much more enjoyable experience, better able to recreate classic moments of Halo brilliance, but it’s still limited by hit-and-miss mission design and fiction that takes the urgency out of this fight for survival.
  7. Apr 9, 2014
    40
    It’s almost absurdly simple. The thing I’ve always liked about twin-stick shooters is a sense of escalating chaos - the idea that you’re only just keeping a lid on waves of baddies. Spartan Assault never manages this: there just aren’t ever enough enemies on screen, nor do they ever feel particularly dangerous.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Halo: Spartan Assault is indeed a good game, but I'm disappointed Microsoft didn't put other Halo games like Reach, 3, 3 ODST, and more forHalo: Spartan Assault is indeed a good game, but I'm disappointed Microsoft didn't put other Halo games like Reach, 3, 3 ODST, and more for the PC. Halo and Halo 2 PC did good. This is better than Halo Wars... because instead of controlling your whole army, you're controlling JUST one person. But Spartan Assault's campaign makes no sense and isn't apart of the official Halo series just a minigame kinda.

    Overall: Good, could have been better. Microsoft, port other Halo games for PC.
    Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2014
    8
    I bought this game from Steam when it was on sale and I really like it actually, kept me entertained quite a while. The scoring system worksI bought this game from Steam when it was on sale and I really like it actually, kept me entertained quite a while. The scoring system works and keeps you trying to best the previous score and keeps you involved. There was only one level that I got little frustrated with but all in all not a big minus. This game is however very small but does not lack replay value so it works as a big plus here. I haven’t played this on any other platform than PC so keep that in mind. I think this is one of those games that I will play again and again whenever I have time to spare. Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    As a fan of the Halo Universe from its inception this game gives a good insight to more back-story story to dig into. I'm a little ways inAs a fan of the Halo Universe from its inception this game gives a good insight to more back-story story to dig into. I'm a little ways in and the level designs have a "Halo Wars" feel to them, the shooter element is different form anything you've done in Halo up to this point and overall it plays great.

    I don't think anyone should expect the AAA quality of Halo 4 or Reach, but for $6.99 you are getting a really great/fresh take on the Halo franchise. The only question I have is how this plays on a phone, as I have been playing on PC.

    Hopefully there are some updates DLC in the future and for those of you complaining about the Gamerscore it's essentially a version of an Xbox Arcade game so 200 points is the norm.
    Expand
  4. Jan 28, 2015
    6
    Action heavy top down shooter that while is plenty of fun has a few quirks which are quite irritating. Still hard to find well controlledAction heavy top down shooter that while is plenty of fun has a few quirks which are quite irritating. Still hard to find well controlled native touch games for Windows 8 but this is probably still worth a go. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2015
    6
    Halo: Spartan Assault is a fun -pick-up-and-play game. But the game isnt worth being called a Halo game. After a few missions you wiillHalo: Spartan Assault is a fun -pick-up-and-play game. But the game isnt worth being called a Halo game. After a few missions you wiill realise that its boring, soulless and not an important addition to the Halo franchise. But Halo: Spartan Assault is a different from all the other Halo games. Its the worst Halo game yet, but that dosent mean it sucks. Expand
  6. May 6, 2014
    5
    Pros:
    + Halo
    + Low Price + 30 (short) levels + nice graphics and music + quick loading Cons: - No Co-op or Multiplayer - Frustrating
    Pros:
    + Halo
    + Low Price
    + 30 (short) levels
    + nice graphics and music
    + quick loading
    Cons:
    - No Co-op or Multiplayer
    - Frustrating mission objectives (babysitting or time based)
    - No Replay Value
    - No Zoom (too tiny)
    - HUD Filters (breaks immersion)

    Average game at best. (From the famous series)
    Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2014
    1
    just milking the cash cow called Halo Just an average at best game to take your money STOP MAKING HALO GAMES IF YOU NEED MONEY MAKE A NEW GAMEjust milking the cash cow called Halo Just an average at best game to take your money STOP MAKING HALO GAMES IF YOU NEED MONEY MAKE A NEW GAME OR RERELEASE HALO 1-3 ON PC Expand

See all 22 User Reviews