User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 301 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 301

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    Inccredible fun and great looking. A return to form for fast-paced PC shooters. Buy it so we can get more like this, developers like Flying Wild Hog are all too rare these days.
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Just awesome! I've been playing this game non-stop since I got it on steam. Really fun, reminds me of the Doom days, even if the levels are linear. It's still a fun game with upgrades to your guns. Great PC Exclusive. Check it out!
  3. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    - Little indie gem with visuals of AAA titles for millions $$$
    - Great cyberpunk-noir atmosphere.
    - Wonderfully built locations.
    - Incredible weapons upgrade system.
    - Fast gunplay with a bit of tactics.
    - Relentless and fun-to-kill enemies.
    - Good replay value with room for future DLCs
    - Reasonable price/value ratio.
  4. Sep 14, 2011
    9
    Its nice to see such fluidity in the controls back into PC gaming. The fast pace hardcore is also a huge welcome. Hard reset's music queues usually send onslaughts of robots for you to dispose of.

    Robots with range missiles, bowling ball robots, or bad ass robots that resemble the one seen in Judge Dredd

    The only gripe I have is the story line which clearly wasn't its main focus, and
    its easily forgiven given the game play provided. However given I bought it for 26$, the value provided compared to allot of 60$ titles is astounding.

    I look forward to more titles from Wild Flying Hogs, they've done a fantastic job!

    Do yourself a favor and pick up the title at 30$, you'll be supporting a developer who is dedicated to your platform and focused on value for your $.
    Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    Absolutely beautiful graphics and solid sound. Colors contrast and stand out against the backgrounds, I try to imagine I am running around in Bladerunner. Atmosphere is dark and edgy similar to some Unreal maps from back in the day. Animations have weight and move smoothly. While not as great as Painkiller or other hardcore shooters this game is refreshing to play.
  6. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    I never like shooters , but this game i can't take my eye's off ! It's so smooth and the visuals are just outstanding i've played it all Crysis , FarCry they don't have those visuals ! Wonderful Game !
  7. Sep 14, 2011
    9
    Even though this is Flying Wild Hog's first game. it made a good impression on me for this company. User clean interface, full throttle action combat, Importance of enviroment usage is unique elements for this game. If youre looking for some good action and avoidance combats you gotta get this. the only bad thing in game ended too soon. I've completed in 4 hours or so. This game surely deserve some expansions. Expand
  8. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    Great-looking-fun-to-play game. Don't believe the 4 hrs walkthrough time - it took me good 8 hours of play on normal difficulty to finish this. Yes, you die plenty, but it's a great way of dying :)
  9. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Imagine "Michael Bay's Blade Runner". Now imagine yourself at the controls. That's what this game is like: non-stop explosive action in a gorgeous and compelling cyberpunk game environment from start to finish. From the moment you suck your first group of 10 robots together with a gravity grenade then blow them all into the sky with an adjacent explosive barrel, or disable them with an EMP pulse and then electrocute them with the NRG Blaster, you will be in love.

    While the game is full of these adrenaline-fueled scenes of chaos (where seemingly everything in the environment can blow up and kill your enemies--or you), you will also experience moments of meditative peace as you explore the beautifully crafted city while being moved by a sublime soundtrack. When was the last time you played a game that encouraged you to find the secrets and presented you with a scoreboard at the end of each level? Hard Reset brings back mechanics like that to make a game that stands in stark contrast to the cutscene-filled "interactive movies" that modern FPS games have become.

    Add to all this a dev team that has been implementing gameplay suggestions from the community and you have a winner that should get way more attention than it has. Buy this game.
    Expand
  10. Sep 22, 2011
    9
    Excellent game. Challenging battles that make you want to upgrade weapons and replay. great environment, and generally has an addictive quality as you try to minimise the amount of times you are killed. Could do with more upgrades for replays, and being a bit longer. not very good on sli systems - patch needed.
  11. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Have you thought to yourself, "I'm getting sick and tired of these bulky space marines waddling in their corridors filled with waist-high obstacles, I sure wish someone would release an FPS with solid mechanics and an emphasis on the game play." If you have, Hard Reset is the thing you want.

    It's pretty much everything a decent PC shooter should be.
    It's not going to hold your hand. It's
    not going to play itself for you. It will challenge you, and boy is that refreshing in this endless stream of Gears of Duty: Waddling Space Marine Editions that have been rolling out non-stop for the past few years.

    Sure, there might be 2 weapons. What the negative reviews "forgot" to mention is that each weapon has 10 different fire modes. That's right, 10. Making the total amount of weapons actually well above the average. And even if it didn't, the weapon modes in Hard Reset are SO FUN to use. You have your general array of plasma guns and rail guns and shotguns, but some of the modes are very original. For example the stasis grenade, which can freeze time around the impact point. Or the Smart Gun, which fires homing balls of plasma that can penetrate through walls.

    The game is an absolute blast, and if you used to enjoy games like Unreal (or Unreal Tournament for that matter) or Quake, you most surely will enjoy Hard Reset.

    PS. Do take note that I didn't even praise the graphics as that's not what makes this game stand out, but they are absolutely stellar. You'll be hard pressed to find a game that looks better.
    Expand
  12. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    the incompetence in reviewing this game and the way in which gamers approach this are mindboggling to me. excuse me but did ANYONE throw away modern warfare after running through the single player campaign on easy after 5 hours or so?!
    it is simply moronic to say a game is short that is designed with a) exploration and b) multiple playthroughs in mind! if you don't want to explore and
    don't want to try to upgrade your weapons and don't want to finish it in "ex game" mode - that's YOUR issue, not the game's. if you don't like it... fine. don't play the game. but it pisses me off to no end that these things (summed up as replayability) are barely even mentioned anywhere. everywhere, it's the same dumb "it's short".
    don't let that fool you and consider that these morons are often comparing hard reset to full price games! (i would also recommend reading the thread "4 hours my @ss, no way!" in the steam forum...)

    aside from the fact that the length is perfectly fine for the price, the only things i would criticize about it is that the graphics are "just" good but nothing groundbreaking (which many comments made it sound like), that there is no quick save and the cut scenes feel pretty chaotic at times. i respect innovative story telling but it just feels like a bit sluggish writing to me. the look and atmosphere of them is great though.
    between that and the fun gameplay and the insane amount of upgrades (again - if you only run through it once, you probably won't even see all weapons!), this is a must have for any old school shooter (as in: quake, unreal, duke nukem 3d) fan!
    Expand
  13. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    This game delivers not only the most pretty picture of all shooters at the moment ( I personally was impressed way more than with Crysis 2 or any other FPS), but much more - this is true old school spinal shooter. This is the Quake 2011. And I looove this.

    The only small unimportant annoyances I didn't like were lack of quicksaving (able to be implemented through console bindings
    anyway, and even I'd say not required, as checkpoints are set quite smart not to enrage be after death) and ugly comic strips delivering indistinct story script.

    This team will go far, I believe. Buy game, support the, and we will get another id.
    Expand
  14. Sep 22, 2011
    9
    When they said, that this game is going to be like old-school fps, I thought it's some cheap buzz, but they succeed. It's fun, and fast-paced game. There is TEN guns, with few types of ammo. Campaign is rather short, about 7h, but it's really enjoyable.
    And the best in this game is really good graphics, I hope more developers make pc exclusives, because playing some horrible looking games
    on FHD just burn my eyes.
    Sound effects should be tweaked, but if don't mind few glitches it's ok.
    Expand
  15. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    Its pretty, fast-paced and fun as hell. Hard Reset is an inexpensive indie video game made by people who love old shooters. Its deceptive because the game looks and feels so good that you think that you're in a full-blown main stream video game but hopefully anyone with a brain will realize that anything that is lacking in this game is because there really wasn't a big corporate budget to back it. Look up the company that made the game, Flying Wild Hog and you'll see that they've never made anything else. As soon as people started talking about this game I dove right into looking up information about it and when I found out that it was made by developers pretty much on their free time I knew the game wasn't going to be Deus Ex: Human Revolution. I've never had so much fun on a brand-new $30 PC game. Don't let some of these knuckle draggers bring you down, its good mindless fun, just don't go in expecting Call of Duty, its a 30 dollar video game. Expand
  16. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    A gorgeous looking, amazingly fun, fast and addictive game, it's a must-have for any fans of the Painkiller series. The only downside is it's quite short.
  17. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    This game came from another dimension.

    There are three FPS games which shaped the whole genre. After Half-Life FPS games started adding dialogues. Almost every FPS after Stalker had RPG elements. And finally Call of Duty made FPS more casual. Now, imagine the world where these three games were never made. Hard Reset was made in this world. It denies all the cliches and instead gives you
    a good, old-school FPS, allowing you to carry around tons of weapons (technically, there's only two, but they both have five different modes) and fight giant bosses. In short, if you're kinda person who spent hours killing monsters in the original Doom and now is waiting to enjoy Serious Sam 3, this game is definitely "must have" for you. Expand
  18. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    Surprisingly good game. Good choice of weapons and system for acquiring more health/ammo was somewhat unique and worth checking out. Not much of a plot line and very hard to follow. However, this is an excellent shooter with plenty of challenging enemies. Give this one a try. It's a good value for the price.
  19. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Great shooter. Basically its not a game for everyone, as I believe, but if you are looking for old school shooter here is one of the best. Game as overall is very nicely done - great physics, graphics, weapons and aggressive AI. Everyone is complaining about story but... Well I haven't mind it during my 1st playthrought, but after that I just wanted to dig a little, and understand its meaning - and its also quite nice - small additional flavor to overall experience.

    But most of all this game is all about having fun. Gameplay just feel right, its all very intense except for some moments when you can take the breath an immerse yourself with this futuristic vision. Also it looks like devs will be supporting it for a while - as least I hope to get some additional content soon.
    Expand
  20. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    Epic PC-only FPS! Puts Rage and Deus Ex to shame. No crappy console port compares to the qulity of this project developed by a small company. Flying Wild Hog, you, guys, rule!
  21. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    This is an excellent old school shooter . It's fast, brutal, good looking and hard like the old days. It's incredible how critic don't know **** about games. What the heck were people waiting, your Call Of ****ty game? This a shooter from the old times and it delivers exactly that. Keep up the good work Flying Wild Hog
  22. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    Great graphics and cyber-punk atmosphere, gorgeous old style shooter in a brand new look. Little short but fun. What surely is missing is a big sign after the final boss: "TO BE CONTINUED". Looking forward to see the next episode/dlc or HR2 :)
  23. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    This is quite easily the greatest FPS I have ever played.. It's also by and large the best looking game you will see. It puts any other AAA FPS to shame because of the fact that it is made exclusively with PC technology in mind.. It is not created to play well on crappy antiquated console technology that is 5 years behind the PC. The mechanics and gameplay harken back to classic fast paced, actioned packed FPS games of the past when the industry wasn't coddling the masses. If you want a challenge, if you want something beautiful and if you want gameplay like you've never experienced before this is your game. Graphics: 10/10
    Ga
    Expand
  24. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    This is how more games should be made! The graphics are amazing, there's tons of explosions and fast-paced action, cool, robotic enemies, secrets, and I love the fact that I can upgrade my weapons. Also, the boss fights are epic and challenging, and the fact that your health does not regenerate makes it more challenging. Don't pay any attention to the negative reviews. This game is worth every penny! The only thing I didn't like was the ending, otherwise it would have been a perfect game. :) Expand
  25. Oct 16, 2011
    9
    Wow, what a nice sleeper game! Awesome graphics and cyberpunk and Blade Runner atmosphere, very optimized and polished engine and gameplay. Old school brutal FPS with variety of original guns. Could be little longer and little less linear, but still awesome fun!
  26. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    The graphics are amazing, the maps are fun and fast-paced, the gameplay holds the values of old-school FPS while innovating, in brief, it rocks. One downside is the length of the game, too short.
  27. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Fast, Brutal, Massive Hordes of Enemies? This game is for anyone who played Quake, Painkiller, or Serious Same. Minus the bunny hopping, this is a modern adaptation of the same game-play elements. People tent to knock it because it is short, this isn't really a problem if you play on the hardest difficulty as you will spend hours looking for all of the nano so you can upgrade fast enough to survive all of the fights. The engine reminds me of Unreal Engine 3 minus the high amount of Vaseline on everything. The Cyberpunk atmosphere reminds me of Blade Runner. Neon Signs everywhere, amazing lighting. Most recent patch added a survival mode with 2 locations. Please support Indie Developers who make great games like this, they are too rare these days. I'm really looking forward to more DLC or another game by this developer. The lack of Multiplayer, Game length, and the strange and somewhat forgettable story are the only downsides, but honestly, if you are looking for a fast paced shooter and not some gun porn, story is probably a low priority. To be honest, I'm slightly glad the developer spent time on a Singleplayer game, it added to the quality of both the coding, and the actual game-play rather then them focusing on something that would probably feel tacked on. They should try in their next game. Definitely a Flying Wild Hog fan.

    Pros: Painkiller style Fast paced single player

    Cons: No/Difficult Bunny-hopping No Multiplayer Graphics : 10/10
    Sound: 10/10
    Game-play 9/10
    Story 9/10

    Overall 9/10
    Expand
  28. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    This is basically Quake 2011. And I really like it because it's first game like this since...i don't even know! All the other ones are call of $hitty ripoffs that makes true PC veterans cry. This game brings the genre back to its roots. No infinite health, no infinite ammo, carry as much as you damn well please, explore the areas to gain edge against enemies, and most importantly - have some ACTION instead of cowering behind a box every 3 seconds because you got hit and your screen is flashing red. I don't understand why people are complaining about relatively short SP campaign - this game has tons of secrets into it, thus great replayability value. And remember - skilled player is able to finish basically any old school FPS in matter of minutes. Even very long ones like Half Life - record speedrun is just above half an hour. Try to do this with extremely scripted modern games that won't let you progress until script finishes (and there's one every 3 steps) Expand
  29. Dec 2, 2011
    9
    I've seen this game compared to Serious Sam, but for me it's a lot deeper than SS. The weapons are pretty diverse, and the game puts you in plenty of unique situations where you really need to think about your tactics and what weaponry to use, and that a furious pace. The graphics are wonderful, especially the weapon effects and the results on your enemies. Great fun!
  30. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    Very fast paced fps with a decent storyline. I played the demo and was very stoked to buy the full version, but the promises made by the demo fall short for a number of reasons:
    1) As mentioned by metalhead980, the campaign is not much longer then the demo;
    2) The storyline should have been played out more. The demo promised much more cutscenes, but like a lot of movie trailers, all the
    best shots are shown in such a way as to be BETTER than the movie itself;
    3) It's fast-paced because playability is VERY simplified; you have barely any jump clearance, a limited sprint and no crouch feature, something rarely omitted from any fps.
    Don't get me wrong, the game itself is very kick-ass and I still replay it from time to time. It just doesn't live up to the hype of the demo, which by itself is almost as kick-ass. And I totally love the cyberpunk genre immersion, which could be better with more interaction with civilians and some NPCs, as there are none. The only targets are rampaging robots. So I give it a 9.
    Expand
  31. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Hard Reset is basically Serious Sam in an awesome cyberpunk sci-fi setting. The setting feels like it's placed in some brutal radical parallel universe of the movie Blade Runner.
    If you think that dying should be part of a game, you will love the challenging gameplay. No quick saves, only checkpoints like the dude once said "Even my grandmother could beat the game if she saved as much as
    you do.".
    The game is full of annoying stupid enemies who will attack you in crowds and will make you yell at your computer and the bosses are unfair and will crush you dozens of times.
    If you love "old school" shooters with a challenging difficult, you will love Hard Reset also.
    Expand
  32. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    Hard Reset takes a futuristic throwback to brainless, unforgiving shooters of the 90's and blends it with some modern paradigms to give us a polished, enjoyable action-fest!

    I especially enjoyed the visually spectacular graphics, specifically its detailed environments, bright, colourful effects, discernible enemies and plenty of explosions! Throw in some fast-paced music and bassy
    sound effects and explosions, and you get a very visceral and satisfying FPS.

    Being an indie game, I was surprised to enjoy such a smooth and beautiful engine. Some of the modern paradigms worked really well, including the leveling system coupled with nostalgic secret-hunting. Find more secrets, and you're rewarded with better weapons and skills via the leveling system! The only drawback was the checkpoint save system was too restrictive, inhibiting the player from "messing around", and the interface can be laggy, especially when one wants to switch weapons or jump. It took me 7.4 hours to beat Hard Reset on Hard Mode, and was excited that I can replay the campaign to max out my level with an "Ex" mode!

    Overall, I loved the experience, and really liked the game's design, but felt that it could've been perfect with a smoother interface and less restrict save system.
    Expand
  33. Apr 27, 2012
    9
    I bought the Extended Edition (retail) and loved it. Nearly all the problems I had with the demo were gone or adjusted. The game also received a significant length boost in the version I played. All in all I had tons of fun. The graphics are AMAZING as well as incredibly optimized...the UI, the controls, the options and the music are all top notch. Flying Wild Hog has managed to do what a lot of AAA studios failed. This is a true old school PC shooter. I would recommend getting the retail Extended edition though (same price), as for the time being the extra levels have retail exclusivity and are not available on steam. Expand
  34. Jan 25, 2012
    9
    This is a very satisfying and highly enjoyable shooter and it is highly recommended.

    If you like shooters and the story, plot & characters are not that important to you & if you are a fan of an excellent weapons, clever upgrade system, excellent shooting mechanics & very good graphics with plenty of enemies & ammo this an excellent choice.
  35. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    Hard Reset is a fast-paced indie shooter with beautiful visuals and an interesting cyberpunk setting. Perhaps what was most impressive about the game was the fact that the presentation was so top-notch and attention to detail so good that it didn't even feel like an indie game. As probably everyone admits here, even the negative reviews, the visual aesthetics are really stunning (even on low graphics settings) and the environments are atmospheric. The gameplay is quite straight-forward. You go round from area to area, fighting off groups of robots, and then upgrading to new weapons and facing a bigger challenge. Although this may seem repetitive, I personally have had a lot of fun, because there was a very decent variety between the different weapons. You have two types: the ballistics type and the energy type. Each one had 5 different weapons you could acquire through upgrading, so that's 10 weapons in total really, plus each weapon had two different firing modes, so in a way you have up to 20 different ways to kill the enemies. And it's not like all the weapons are similar. In fact each and every weapon could be useful in certain situations. I personally found myself using every single one of them at some point. And the fighting itself was a little more engaging than what you might expect. There were a lot of destructible and explosive objects in the environment, so using environmental kills is highly encouraged throughout pretty much the entire game, which was a really nice touch, because many games of this style tend to suffer from the lack of this feature. The boss fights were pretty challenging too. In fact the whole game was challenging, and I notice a lot of negative reviews here criticised the game for being too hard. But that's what the Easy mode is for. If anyone wants a casual experience, they should play on Easy, and if they want a challenge, then they should try higher difficulties. As for story, yeah, maybe it wasn't anything too special, but it did add some spice to the game, and the comic-book style cutscenes in between the missions were a really nice addition in my opinion. Admittedly the game isn't very long. It took me about 7 hours to complete the original game plus the Exile DLC, but this is pretty standard for single player FPS games, plus the game was fun enough and I am sure I will be back to it again in the future, especially that there are plenty of Steam achievements to get. And speaking of DLC, I thought it was really decent that the DLC was actually free and comes together with the original game at no extra charge. Now this shows that the developers are really passionate about delivering a good, satisfying game to the fans and not for dishing out extra cash. Expand
  36. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    Juego impresionante grandes gráficos y con una jugabilidad a la vieja escuela, a un precio módico de 20 dolares, lastima de la durabilidad pero aun así no es un pretexto para no hacerte con el.. recomiendo 100% este juego..
  37. Aug 10, 2014
    9
    It feels like I have been dropped into the 2000AD comic series. It's like being right there.

    I seriously love the way this game looks. The city graphics are second to none for me, but I haven't played all the most modern games. Combat is great, if a bit tough at times. Although slightly short it has become one of my favourite gaming experiences. I played the demo a few times. I have
    played though on hard difficulty twice. My second play through took 12 hours including DLC levels. My first play through took longer partly because I was gawping at all the graphics.

    Combat with robots is extreme sublime.

    Really though I feel I am there in the comics, like they came to life, and I am in it. Incredible feeling. Awesome engine and concept. A good i5 and GTX650 Ti will keep frames rates above 25fps with settings maxed. It will be well over 25fps, but this type of hardware will keep it smooth in the most heated battles.

    Hint:
    Make the shotgun your first upgrade. It is a game changer.
    Take the railgun and RPG upgrades as soon as you can, as again they are game changers. (Other weapons may be just as effective, but I found these worked excellent. Other weapon types I did not even try.)
    These weapons are the game winners for me. I took them and all the combat gear upgrades.

    Minor bad point:
    One or two of the checkpoints are a bit far apart.
    My fight with the first boss nearly stopped me playing, but youtube showed me I had to use different weapons.
    One particular secret I can not work out. I could look it up online.
    Shame it is slightly short, even with the free DLC. I just haven't had enough for such a superb concept game.
    Expand
  38. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    GOOD: Nice video, good audio, WOW gameplay
    BAD: short campaign
    Hard Reset is probably the best "classic" FPS i played in the last 9 years (I say 9 to avoid a conflict with HL2): it combines 90s FPS tipical gameplay with modern elements. Its core is the interaction with the enviornment, that one can (in practice must) use to kill enemies. There are 2 weapons that can fire each in 5
    different modes with different effects. Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. Apr 27, 2012
    65
    Hard Reset isn't a bad game, but it's rote old school sensibility has passed me by. I don't have the same kind of reflexes I did 5 or 10 years ago to properly appreciate the twitch elements, so maybe I have to take some responsibility on that front. For me, Hard Reset is unremarkable because it seems about 5 years too late for me.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    75
    Hard Reset also does a lot of cool things in games that I wish we'd see more of, and it does them well. Interfacing with fictional computer terminals is fun, and scoping the strong art direction does a lot to set the game in a fairly original virtual setting.
  3. 70
    Short life span but budget price – this science-fiction inspired first person shooter has a lot to offer with stunning visuals and perfect old-school playability. Pity there's not a multiplayer option. [Nov 2011]