Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters toHearthstone is a free-to-play digital strategy card game that anyone can enjoy. Players choose one of nine epic Warcraft heroes to play as, and then take turns playing cards from their customizable decks to cast potent spells, use heroic weapons or abilities, or summon powerful characters to crush their opponent. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    100
    Between its friendly design and its flexible approach to a free-to-play economy, Hearthstone has successfully pulled me into a genre that I didn't care about in the least. But even more incredibly, it's kept me rapt longer than any games I've played in years, and shows no signs of letting up.
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    90
    Blizzard's first Free to Play-game offers depth without becoming complex. It takes players seriously and is very playable without spending (a lot of) money. Atmosphere, speed and great sound effects make for fast yet satisfying games, where luck and tactics go hand in hand.
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone is a wonderful game. Nostalgic, simple and best of all: fun. This is the best online collectible card game you can play. Just be careful how much you spend in it.
  4. May 26, 2014
    90
    Hearthstone, the newest card game from Blizzard, will keep you hooked for hours thanks to the amazing presentation and the tactical, deep gameplay. This is free to play done right.
  5. Jun 28, 2014
    85
    Simple rules, high production values, low system requirements and huge tactical freedom make Hearthstone one of the best card games available. And if you take into account the free-to-play model – it’s the best one. [05/2014, p.62]
  6. May 11, 2014
    84
    One of the best free-to-play games on the market because you can actually play this one for free and have a good time while doing so. It is easy to learn and fun to master. [Apr 2014]
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    79
    Hearthstone is a well-executed and fun card game, one which lives the “easy to learn, hard to master” mantra to the utmost.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Hearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It isHearthstone is casual at first glance but I am unsurprisingly terrible at it, as it has depth that isn't that noticeable at first. It is extremely fun though, even losing is enjoyable to me and I can't wait for Blizzard to start expanding upon the game.

    For what it is now, I give it a 10/10 for being a well balanced and extremely fun game with enough depth to last for quite a while.
    Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    It is a card game and does have some level of a random element to it. When I started playing it first felt like just a card game but on forIt is a card game and does have some level of a random element to it. When I started playing it first felt like just a card game but on for your PC. I kept playing and really got into the game when I realized the versatility of the characters and how every class not only has a different play style but how you can actually pick out your style of play for each class. If you do not like strategy based card games, stay away - If you have never played one before, Hearthstone provides a great experience to learn the game and test your deck building and strategy skills. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    This game puts Magic:The Gathering to shame.
    Altough it's free to play you never feel like its pay to win.
    Great balance and its much faster
    This game puts Magic:The Gathering to shame.
    Altough it's free to play you never feel like its pay to win.
    Great balance and its much faster than Magic.
    Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2014
    6
    This is a great game... at first. It has beautiful artwork and graphical flair. There's definitely a depth of strategy to figure out. TheThis is a great game... at first. It has beautiful artwork and graphical flair. There's definitely a depth of strategy to figure out. The sounds are hilarious for anyone familiar with WoW.
    But eventually, you'll realize you're getting destroyed by people with a deck full of epic and legendary cards. In other words, it's a free-to-play, pay-to-win game.
    Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2014
    4
    No. Just, just no. This game is definitely not up to par. Because of one reason. Microtransactions. I mean, I think it's a decent concept.No. Just, just no. This game is definitely not up to par. Because of one reason. Microtransactions. I mean, I think it's a decent concept. It's a trading card game with no trading. So it's a card game. A card game slightly related to the Warcraft series. But it's a bloody MMO. Which means the developers are going to milk money out of it. Things cost a lot if you use in-game currencies. The in-game currency is quite hard to get, so things seem to cost a buttload of money. Guess what you can get more in-game currency with so you can buy some more cards and stuff? Real money. This... this. This is not a good thing. I mean look at all the games out there, which, after you've downloaded or purchased them, ask you for more money. DLC. Microtransactions. "Win by giving us more money". Things take quite a long time to unlock. Would suggest to stay away from it.

    In conclusion, I would wish to say that the game is a complete grind (or grindfest, if you will) and it gets repetitive fast.
    Expand
  6. May 5, 2014
    1
    Another pay to win game. You cannot normally play without buy a several card packs for real money because in some point you find yourself inAnother pay to win game. You cannot normally play without buy a several card packs for real money because in some point you find yourself in the situation, where you can't make in-game gold.
    Worth trying but just for training, which more interesting then actual game
    Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2015
    0
    Do you want to know how this game best works and how to succeed? Here is an explanation in its simplest form:

    1. Buy a metric **** of decks
    Do you want to know how this game best works and how to succeed? Here is an explanation in its simplest form:

    1. Buy a metric **** of decks (grinding is not worth it as it will take you ages)
    2. After you have almost entirely bought a lot of strong cards, carbon copy the most successful decks (as about 90% of people do already anyway)

    There you go, that is primarily the game in a nutshell at the competitive and productive level.

    Want to be creative?
    You will lose 90% of your games and make no progress when even winning gives you the equivalent gold of a lump of coal, so you need to win a LOT to have enough "coal" aka gold of value for anything (think an entire coal mining enterprise for a deck would be about right).

    Want to not buy a **** of decks?
    Even if you carbon copy the best freebie decks, you will still lose a lot of the time to other people who carbon copied the other best decks, but also have better cards then you, and keep in mind you are just copying a deck like tons of other players, why not just have a bot play the game for you. I mean honestly what the **** is the point?

    So are you prepared to lose a lot since you didn't buy cards then? Are you prepared to lose a lot since you didn't completely copy a competitive deck then? Unless you are insane of course not.

    Hearthstone in a nutshell. Give Blizzard your monies kids!
    Expand

See all 323 User Reviews