• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Feb 24, 2005
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 13 out of 38

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. B.A.
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    Best game ever played.
  2. TomS.
    Apr 2, 2006
    8
    I have been playing FPS and soccer games for a long long time. My 1st RTS or whatever type it is. I decided to learn the game to teach my child of 11. Well, we both have an amazing time playing it in single player. Will try a LAN game. I'm buying the expansion packs. Don't believe all the reviews. It's a fun game.
  3. DanielE.
    Feb 9, 2005
    9
    If the demo is anything to go by this game is going to be worth it's money, Warcraft 3 type of camera which is a bit crappy otherwise best played in a long time.
  4. Th-WB
    Mar 21, 2005
    8
    I do like the graphics and the music, but the building of a city costs a lot of time and the AI is dumb. I get stuck as a rule around level 7 or so but I reached the end without any difficulties. Each level is roughly 1.30 hours building and 1 hour slashing.
  5. JamieSteevnson
    Feb 21, 2005
    8
    Its a strange mix of Settlers series and age of empires. You don
  6. JamieS.
    Feb 10, 2005
    8
    This is like a cross between settlers and age of empires. The graphics are nice, it plays well ... but it's lost almost the whole feeling of settlers. Bottom Line: It's an ok RTS. But if you really want another "settlers" experience, your best bet is the excellent "Cultures" series --- especially northland or eighth wonder of the world.
  7. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    While this game has no real resemblance to current Settlers games or previous ones, If you view the game as its own and not as a part of a series, you will find it to be a fun, if a bit slow, RTS game. Even if you wish to build your city and not be attacked unless you want to be, theres a mission for it. I myself found this game very enjoyable.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29
  1. If you felt "Warcraft III" had lost some appeal due to the shift from city building to more direct fighting, then The Settlers - Heritage of Kings is the game for you. It is a tad more oriented to the management side and has a couple more upgrading and research options than the Blizzard title, so you might enjoy the base building and upgrading.
  2. Settlers is far from awful, it's just mind-numbingly dull. Which is far, far worse.
  3. If you want your strategy to lean toward "SimCity"-style social engineering, then look no further than Heritage of Kings.