Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Blending classic tactics gaming with the fast-paced action of modern casual titles, Hero Academy delivers tense one-on-one battles with quick bursts of gameplay. The balance of power can shift in a single turn, and victory requires a carefully crafted strategy. Deploy different character classes, defend your turf with countermeasures, and with the placement of a few special items, you’ll conquer your opponent. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    90
    Hero Academy on PC might not be totally necessary, but it remains a great bit of asynchronous warfare. What it boils down to is the best of strategy gaming- a title that's light and welcoming for players who want a quick tactical fix, and also an involved, sometimes hellishly meticulous war of wits and attrition.
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    85
    Might, magic, and machine guns make Hero Academy a real treat.
  3. Sep 5, 2012
    70
    Hero Academy is a fun little game that gives a new dimension to games like chess. There is a good balance between the characters and the different abilities give you lots of room for various strategies. Although it's nice to see a Steam version of Hero Academy, it's still a game that works best on a mobile platform.
  4. Sep 6, 2012
    70
    Hero Academy is a fun title with some good ideas that fit to a casual mindset but also allow more serious gamers to enjoy as well. My main problem has to do with waiting for moves, and the fact that I can't play against bots while waiting for turns to finish.
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    63
    A lightweight distraction, but adding a competitive ladder or some more singleplayer content would've been welcome.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 8 out of 15
  1. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    This is a cross between starcraft and scrabble. Its the best version of a modern day chess I've ever seen. I tried every other title which claimed to be the "ultimate turned based strategy game"and probably gave up midway through 2013 accepting this as the best since I have so many of my friends loving this game too. Its very well balanced with its array of 6 teams: the teams are very diverse with a unique theme that really distinguishes itself, each with beautifully animated powers and abilities yet, the winning ratio for the teams is the same. If you some competitive friends who like turn based strategy, it does not get better than this. Introduced this game to about 20 of my friends throughout 2012 and 2013, and we've all been playing ever since. Challenge me if your interested in learning the ropes: sevenstyx. Prevents me from getting any work done for almost two and a half years lol come to think of it this game is awful. Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    This game is executed perfectly. It is a small turn based strategy game with a lot of depth and really awesome presentation. I'm having sooooo much fun with it. For the $5 price tag, it is well worth it. DLC teams are also very worth it. If you like turn based strategy games, you will love this. Get it now! Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I love this game. The game play is great, everything about it is really great. Strongly recommend it to everyone. A lot of people are complaining about the long waits but i dont really see it as much of a problem if you take into account most other app style games. Collapse
  4. Dec 31, 2012
    4
    This game was originally made for iOS and thus able to play against users from both iOS/Steam. When playing multiplayer, games can take weeks (or months I suppose! I stopped playing, but I can imagine so). This is the nature of this chess-like cross platform game; it is excruciating! The lack of a single player campaign, or even a simple custom game mode vs AI with varying difficulty, would have easily deserved your time and money. However, personally, I find this game unplayable due to long wait times between turns. Some people recommended playing several dozen games simultaneously , thus always "having something to do", but that's just not my style. I'd prefer to concentrate on one intense battle with immediate input/response/outcome. Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2014
    1
    This game looks bad overall. It doesn't auto-fit to the size of your screen, so this means that if your monitor isn't big enough, a big portion of the game will be cut off. This makes for a poor gaming experience. Not worth my money. Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    There goes $5 and 1 hour of my time that I will never get back. I should have taken the time to read more reviews but figured I'd trust the decent metascore of 75. I see people giving this 8-10 points and that could only mean a few things: you are high off your ass and really bad at math; you just crawled out of a cave where you have been living for the past 20 years; or you are high off your ass from smoking guano in the cave where you have been living for the past 20 years. Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2013
    0
    I am not having any fun with the game at all, There is no option on the game for full screen. the game play is slow for turns and I had to wait for days for someone to take their turn. Poorly made game by all means. Starting Characters are lame Team Fortress. Just a way to get you to buy the extra character models at $3.99 is off the wall crazy. This game sucks and should be free, if you are looking to spend money and days maybe weeks on one game and have the person your in a challenge use the undo button for that long your stressing yourself out with this game play. TOTAL GARBAGE! Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Trailers