Heroes of Might and Magic IV PC

  • Publisher: 3DO
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2002
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 253 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 253
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I understand those who say this game isn't a good HoMM (too much changes, I guess), although I disagree this opinion, but you cannot refuse Heroes IV is a wonderful game. The gameplay is addictive, the graphics are beautiful and the soundtrack is gorgeous. HoMM IV probably is the game I have played for most time. And this means hundreds of hours thinking "just one turn more". For me, itI understand those who say this game isn't a good HoMM (too much changes, I guess), although I disagree this opinion, but you cannot refuse Heroes IV is a wonderful game. The gameplay is addictive, the graphics are beautiful and the soundtrack is gorgeous. HoMM IV probably is the game I have played for most time. And this means hundreds of hours thinking "just one turn more". For me, it has a lovely world such as Heroes II and a gameplay improved over the Heroes III standard with many changes. Some wrong, yes, but most are positive. In a nutshell, Heroes IV is one of the best games I have had the joy of playing, I really love it, this game will suck you in the wonderful world of Axeoth, full of stories and mysteries. Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    Very good single game and great multiplayer (hot seats and on-line) I really like this game because this is m favorite Heroes game. Amazing game play, good graphics, original and differend maps and no bad campaign. Music and sounds in game is very good, climate is great. Heroes of Might and Magic IV isn't perfect game but is really very good tour strategy. 9.1/10
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    It has some very cool features, but it lacks in good combat. Luckily, to make it up, there are completely different strategies, and you need to adapt to them. Worth it if you are looking for something different from HoMM3.
  4. Jan 1, 2016
    7
    It would be a really solid game, if it was finished. Some graphical assets are obviously placeholders, some mechanics don't work exacly as they were intended to. And there's an unfinished, crippled AI, that makes playing this game single player a pointless bore-fest.
    It's still a blast on hot seats.
  5. Jun 3, 2011
    8
    I really dont get why people say its the worst game in the series. Personally i think its almost as good as HoMM 2 or 3. Guess its that people didnt like all the new concepts like moving units without a Hero, and having Hero fighting in combat. I think it worked good, people just hate changes.
  6. JeremyE.
    Nov 13, 2007
    3
    Amazing premise, awesome evolution of the Heroes series, great music, and some excellent hard choices in town building made this game *potentially* the best Heroes game ever. The inability of 3D0 to finish the adventure-map AI unfortunately destroyed any hope of a game with long-term replayability. Once you see how inept the AI is outside the campaign missions, you just can't lose. Amazing premise, awesome evolution of the Heroes series, great music, and some excellent hard choices in town building made this game *potentially* the best Heroes game ever. The inability of 3D0 to finish the adventure-map AI unfortunately destroyed any hope of a game with long-term replayability. Once you see how inept the AI is outside the campaign missions, you just can't lose. An amazing sequel destroyed by the rushed-product syndrome. Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2013
    4
    I, myself, am a big fan of well thought through turn-based strategy games. When I started to play this game, most of my friend were saying "oh, Heroes 3 is so much better". However, I thought that it would be wise to try the game before saying that it is not worth any of my time. So I did. The first feeling was that the gameplay was OK. Nothing extremely bad for a 2002 game. The way theI, myself, am a big fan of well thought through turn-based strategy games. When I started to play this game, most of my friend were saying "oh, Heroes 3 is so much better". However, I thought that it would be wise to try the game before saying that it is not worth any of my time. So I did. The first feeling was that the gameplay was OK. Nothing extremely bad for a 2002 game. The way the game plays was certainly different from what I was used to in Heroes 3, but it did not make it feel worse in that case. It was just different with some new interesting ideas that fit the game quite well. The thing is, it feels sort of cheap, the graphics are just very edgy and does not form the harmony you would expect. After playing Heroes IV I turned back to Heroes III to compare. And from the moment I, once again, saw the undeniable truth: the older version is so much better and so much smoother, it just feels a lot more organic and enjoyable. The feeling that I did not really feel playing Heroes IV was the joy of gaming, it just did not feel right. The game does not feel polished or finished, it just forms some sort of feeling that it is hostile to the player. It even lost that sporty feeling of competitive gaming, which is due to removal of a normal grid in the combat. To sum up, I will not play it again, but if you want a taste of history, it would be a game to try. Don't worry, you probably won't hook up. Expand
  8. Msrat
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    Simply the best heroes of might and magic game EVER.
  9. Filip
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Ignore the people that gave the game a 0 just because of the AI, or some other trivial thing. (I didn't even notice the AI being that hard)

    This game is a magnificant piece of work, and it especially shines when it comes to story. So if you're looking for a great and compellin story, pick this - and more specificly - the Gauldoth Half-Dead Story. That, combined with the
    Ignore the people that gave the game a 0 just because of the AI, or some other trivial thing. (I didn't even notice the AI being that hard)

    This game is a magnificant piece of work, and it especially shines when it comes to story. So if you're looking for a great and compellin story, pick this - and more specificly - the Gauldoth Half-Dead Story.
    That, combined with the fantastic world of HoMM makes this game the best game I have ever played - end.
    Expand
  10. Tasho
    May 19, 2002
    9
    It is very cool but it needs much more ram than ever.
  11. RalphP.
    May 31, 2006
    10
    Whoever says this game is worse that 3 is ridiculous. This game has everything 3 didn't, especially graphics.
  12. Malkavian
    Jun 30, 2002
    10
    It's perfect.
  13. WellynR.
    May 25, 2002
    0
    This game is f.....g wank have New World Computing relized it before completing the game. It has the option to play multiplayer but when you click on it you have to download an update.
  14. W.Tamis
    May 4, 2002
    10
    It's a very cool game, and it rocks!
  15. AnonymousMC
    Sep 30, 2002
    2
    The do-nothing AI, poor difficulty level balancing within campaigns, and lackluster graphics make this game more of a chore than a source of recreation. A medium to high-level Might hero is invincible. Why use anything else? It's not like the computer players will ever leave their towns to attack you anyway.
  16. Ryencoke
    Jun 4, 2006
    0
    Horrible. HoMM 3 devours this game in every way.
  17. JasonC.
    Jun 19, 2002
    0
    The Whole Heroes of Might And Magic series sucks. No point to the game at all. Plus the crappy graphics. Come on, not even totally 3D. This game makes Age Of Empires look over rated. Don't waste your time or money to buy or download this game. This games was a disgrace to the gaming world.
  18. Dec 17, 2014
    5
    This is certainly the worst heroes game.It is insanely difficult and the vulnerability of your hero makes the game irritating as you can lose an easy battle simply because your hero died.The only really good thing about heroes 4 is its soundtrack.Oh okay it has good story too but how can you enjoy it when you are losing all the time?I finished heroes 3 without problem so what is the matterThis is certainly the worst heroes game.It is insanely difficult and the vulnerability of your hero makes the game irritating as you can lose an easy battle simply because your hero died.The only really good thing about heroes 4 is its soundtrack.Oh okay it has good story too but how can you enjoy it when you are losing all the time?I finished heroes 3 without problem so what is the matter with this game? Expand
  19. Jan 9, 2015
    0
    Am probably should give this game big plus for brave attempt to create something new original. This game have unique style and interesting RPG feeling. Unless its all broken to point that am not enjoy playing it as previously HoMM3. What is most important in strategy are statistics, informations and all that is like secondary to useless things. For example fonts with informations are tinyAm probably should give this game big plus for brave attempt to create something new original. This game have unique style and interesting RPG feeling. Unless its all broken to point that am not enjoy playing it as previously HoMM3. What is most important in strategy are statistics, informations and all that is like secondary to useless things. For example fonts with informations are tiny and instead you have that wide interface and pictures which anyway are bad. Also number one in tactic is visible grid where you may predict how enemy or you will move this is almost not existing here and I don't see benefits from 3D landscape in battles it could be flat. And few other things which should be done better like upgrade units more items in shop etc. Only concept is good maybe even better that in all other HoMM but it look bad broken, like made in hurry or something or not tested. Am actually would give this game chance and try to play it just because it have some good ideas and its probably better from nevest HoMM. But definitely am enjoyed more playing previously HoMM 2 and 3 Expand
  20. Osiris
    Jun 10, 2002
    8
    About what this kid said : "Wellyn R. gave it a 0: This game is f.....g wank have New World Computing relized it before completing the game. It has the option to play multiplayer but when you click on it you have to download an update." Whinin' sucker ! Learn to write The no-multi-available is an issue ... but doesn't kill the H4 experience. It's great ! Splendid
  21. ShadowPrince
    Jul 6, 2002
    2
    I have to agree that this game is geroin for it's funs. Dangerously addictive. But very poorly done, too many bugs, memory leaks here and there, even bugs in scenarios, sometimes game just crash my system. Very disappointing.
  22. MarchiusM.
    Jun 30, 2002
    9
    Finally, The Heroes IV appeared, and i'd like them. You know why? Because their interface is great and all game are good!
  23. AnonymousMC
    Feb 27, 2006
    0
    Terrible game!!!! HoMM 3 was so good, why did they have to go ahead and destroy it? its almost as if they did it on purpose. i understand that 3DO had no choice but to either release the game or go bankrupt, but i would preffer they didnt release the game. the graphics are completely SAD, especially of flying units. the whole new battle system is terrible. and they really could have put aTerrible game!!!! HoMM 3 was so good, why did they have to go ahead and destroy it? its almost as if they did it on purpose. i understand that 3DO had no choice but to either release the game or go bankrupt, but i would preffer they didnt release the game. the graphics are completely SAD, especially of flying units. the whole new battle system is terrible. and they really could have put a little more time into making the different towns and deciding which creatures go where. Devils and Vampires in the same town?!?!?! are you kidding me?!?! Expand
  24. [Anonymous]
    Apr 13, 2002
    10
    This game RULES! Little has changed since the third part, but enough for it to be a sequel. The concept is still the same. If you haven´t played the Heroes of Might and Magic series, this is your chance to get the most advanced version of the series.
  25. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    This game is a solid title, not the best but one that can be played with joy. I would say the most detracting thing is chopping animations and generally boxy and bland strategic map. On the other side, interface, music and drawn portraits are top-notch. Gameplay improvements are in my opinion, real improvements. It feels like Master of Magic in some aspects. All in all, a solid 7/10This game is a solid title, not the best but one that can be played with joy. I would say the most detracting thing is chopping animations and generally boxy and bland strategic map. On the other side, interface, music and drawn portraits are top-notch. Gameplay improvements are in my opinion, real improvements. It feels like Master of Magic in some aspects. All in all, a solid 7/10 because it's a mixed bag, but enjoyable. Expand
  26. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    Definately the best game in the series. Heroes 4 brings you the opportunity to take your hero into the battle, for good this time, in a wonderful 3D atmosphere, with amazing music and beautiful maps. Its colour and sceneries remind me of old fantasy tales and medieval movies, like a Heroes game should. The combat system is almost flawless, the map editor gives you a wide array ofDefinately the best game in the series. Heroes 4 brings you the opportunity to take your hero into the battle, for good this time, in a wonderful 3D atmosphere, with amazing music and beautiful maps. Its colour and sceneries remind me of old fantasy tales and medieval movies, like a Heroes game should. The combat system is almost flawless, the map editor gives you a wide array of scripting, the only thing that i would say it is missing, is the possibility to edit certain buildings. The choices you have to make regarding the creatures in towns is also a great aspect, making each town a powerful asset in your scenario/campaign. The lack of a random map generator is probably the only thing that drags this game down a little, but still, there are plenty of those created by users for download. Expand
  27. Oct 25, 2015
    8
    Of course, it's not as good as its predecessor, the legendary Heroes III, but the game is entertaining and addicting. Its mechanics are significantly different from what we know from other Heroes games - for example, heroes are not necessary in an army. Probably, IV will always be considered the black sheep of the Heroes franchise, but it's worth picking up and giving it a try. Once youOf course, it's not as good as its predecessor, the legendary Heroes III, but the game is entertaining and addicting. Its mechanics are significantly different from what we know from other Heroes games - for example, heroes are not necessary in an army. Probably, IV will always be considered the black sheep of the Heroes franchise, but it's worth picking up and giving it a try. Once you let it speak for itself and show what's made of. Very underrated game. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Computer Gaming World
    50
    The new combat system is an almost unmitigated disaster. [July 2002, p.73]
  2. 87
    The great balance and fabulous background of the game are simply outstanding.
  3. The title takes everything that has ever been great about the series and elevates it to the next level. The changes revitalize the Heroes formula and provide more strategic gameplay than the series has ever offered.