• Publisher: 3DO
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2002
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 175

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I understand those who say this game isn't a good HoMM (too much changes, I guess), although I disagree this opinion, but you cannot refuse Heroes IV is a wonderful game. The gameplay is addictive, the graphics are beautiful and the soundtrack is gorgeous. HoMM IV probably is the game I have played for most time. And this means hundreds of hours thinking "just one turn more". For me, itI understand those who say this game isn't a good HoMM (too much changes, I guess), although I disagree this opinion, but you cannot refuse Heroes IV is a wonderful game. The gameplay is addictive, the graphics are beautiful and the soundtrack is gorgeous. HoMM IV probably is the game I have played for most time. And this means hundreds of hours thinking "just one turn more". For me, it has a lovely world such as Heroes II and a gameplay improved over the Heroes III standard with many changes. Some wrong, yes, but most are positive. In a nutshell, Heroes IV is one of the best games I have had the joy of playing, I really love it, this game will suck you in the wonderful world of Axeoth, full of stories and mysteries. Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2011
    8
    I really dont get why people say its the worst game in the series. Personally i think its almost as good as HoMM 2 or 3. Guess its that people didnt like all the new concepts like moving units without a Hero, and having Hero fighting in combat. I think it worked good, people just hate changes.
  3. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    Very good single game and great multiplayer (hot seats and on-line) I really like this game because this is m favorite Heroes game. Amazing game play, good graphics, original and differend maps and no bad campaign. Music and sounds in game is very good, climate is great. Heroes of Might and Magic IV isn't perfect game but is really very good tour strategy. 9.1/10
  4. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    It has some very cool features, but it lacks in good combat. Luckily, to make it up, there are completely different strategies, and you need to adapt to them. Worth it if you are looking for something different from HoMM3.
  5. Jan 8, 2013
    4
    I, myself, am a big fan of well thought through turn-based strategy games. When I started to play this game, most of my friend were saying "oh, Heroes 3 is so much better". However, I thought that it would be wise to try the game before saying that it is not worth any of my time. So I did. The first feeling was that the gameplay was OK. Nothing extremely bad for a 2002 game. The way theI, myself, am a big fan of well thought through turn-based strategy games. When I started to play this game, most of my friend were saying "oh, Heroes 3 is so much better". However, I thought that it would be wise to try the game before saying that it is not worth any of my time. So I did. The first feeling was that the gameplay was OK. Nothing extremely bad for a 2002 game. The way the game plays was certainly different from what I was used to in Heroes 3, but it did not make it feel worse in that case. It was just different with some new interesting ideas that fit the game quite well. The thing is, it feels sort of cheap, the graphics are just very edgy and does not form the harmony you would expect. After playing Heroes IV I turned back to Heroes III to compare. And from the moment I, once again, saw the undeniable truth: the older version is so much better and so much smoother, it just feels a lot more organic and enjoyable. The feeling that I did not really feel playing Heroes IV was the joy of gaming, it just did not feel right. The game does not feel polished or finished, it just forms some sort of feeling that it is hostile to the player. It even lost that sporty feeling of competitive gaming, which is due to removal of a normal grid in the combat. To sum up, I will not play it again, but if you want a taste of history, it would be a game to try. Don't worry, you probably won't hook up. Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    This game is a solid title, not the best but one that can be played with joy. I would say the most detracting thing is chopping animations and generally boxy and bland strategic map. On the other side, interface, music and drawn portraits are top-notch. Gameplay improvements are in my opinion, real improvements. It feels like Master of Magic in some aspects. All in all, a solid 7/10This game is a solid title, not the best but one that can be played with joy. I would say the most detracting thing is chopping animations and generally boxy and bland strategic map. On the other side, interface, music and drawn portraits are top-notch. Gameplay improvements are in my opinion, real improvements. It feels like Master of Magic in some aspects. All in all, a solid 7/10 because it's a mixed bag, but enjoyable. Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2014
    5
    This is certainly the worst heroes game.It is insanely difficult and the vulnerability of your hero makes the game irritating as you can lose an easy battle simply because your hero died.The only really good thing about heroes 4 is its soundtrack.Oh okay it has good story too but how can you enjoy it when you are losing all the time?I finished heroes 3 without problem so what is the matterThis is certainly the worst heroes game.It is insanely difficult and the vulnerability of your hero makes the game irritating as you can lose an easy battle simply because your hero died.The only really good thing about heroes 4 is its soundtrack.Oh okay it has good story too but how can you enjoy it when you are losing all the time?I finished heroes 3 without problem so what is the matter with this game? Expand
  8. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    Definately the best game in the series. Heroes 4 brings you the opportunity to take your hero into the battle, for good this time, in a wonderful 3D atmosphere, with amazing music and beautiful maps. Its colour and sceneries remind me of old fantasy tales and medieval movies, like a Heroes game should. The combat system is almost flawless, the map editor gives you a wide array ofDefinately the best game in the series. Heroes 4 brings you the opportunity to take your hero into the battle, for good this time, in a wonderful 3D atmosphere, with amazing music and beautiful maps. Its colour and sceneries remind me of old fantasy tales and medieval movies, like a Heroes game should. The combat system is almost flawless, the map editor gives you a wide array of scripting, the only thing that i would say it is missing, is the possibility to edit certain buildings. The choices you have to make regarding the creatures in towns is also a great aspect, making each town a powerful asset in your scenario/campaign. The lack of a random map generator is probably the only thing that drags this game down a little, but still, there are plenty of those created by users for download. Expand
  9. Nov 12, 2014
    7
    For these who dislike it: whats the point to make another clone of HoMM3 ? It would look as DLC cash grab in result and would be vote 0/10 just by that. Maybe it not fit for everyone but at least its creative They redesign game giving it new style and new strategy of playing. Actually more RPG feeling and for me that fits. Many changes i see here is for PLUS comparing to previously game:For these who dislike it: whats the point to make another clone of HoMM3 ? It would look as DLC cash grab in result and would be vote 0/10 just by that. Maybe it not fit for everyone but at least its creative They redesign game giving it new style and new strategy of playing. Actually more RPG feeling and for me that fits. Many changes i see here is for PLUS comparing to previously game:

    PLUS

    -More RPG elements
    -You may lead team of champions
    -Characters have like skills tree
    -Shops with items
    -Town may not produce every possible units, you must design it wisely
    -Much better tavern
    -New perspective for battlefield its not flat anymore
    -I like some units and monsters
    -Supply of monsters come faster and they move independently
    -Monsters may not just guard but walk on map (and this can be switch off)
    -Beautiful music

    MINUS

    No upgrade for units
    Map screen should be wider, interface is too big
    Icon resources are too small and when you buy its confusing
    Graphic is worst from previously (but at least have own unique style)
    Units move on map very clumsy, ugly or even funny animations
    Grid on map is joke and its harder predict if monster will reach you or not (it lost tactic feeling)

    Am not played this game long, but must say some inventions are likable but some major parts are missing, because upgrade system was icon of that game also tactic maps was better previously. Many players say it was mistake to change everything and and am agree with that

    Ok but nevertheless it is unique game with several changes am very like, if they don't break few things it would have potential to be best in HoMM series.
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. The new combat system is an almost unmitigated disaster. [July 2002, p.73]
  2. 87
    The great balance and fabulous background of the game are simply outstanding.
  3. The title takes everything that has ever been great about the series and elevates it to the next level. The changes revitalize the Heroes formula and provide more strategic gameplay than the series has ever offered.