Heroes of Might and Magic IV PC

  • Publisher: 3DO
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2002
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 254
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I understand those who say this game isn't a good HoMM (too much changes, I guess), although I disagree this opinion, but you cannot refuse Heroes IV is a wonderful game. The gameplay is addictive, the graphics are beautiful and the soundtrack is gorgeous. HoMM IV probably is the game I have played for most time. And this means hundreds of hours thinking "just one turn more". For me, itI understand those who say this game isn't a good HoMM (too much changes, I guess), although I disagree this opinion, but you cannot refuse Heroes IV is a wonderful game. The gameplay is addictive, the graphics are beautiful and the soundtrack is gorgeous. HoMM IV probably is the game I have played for most time. And this means hundreds of hours thinking "just one turn more". For me, it has a lovely world such as Heroes II and a gameplay improved over the Heroes III standard with many changes. Some wrong, yes, but most are positive. In a nutshell, Heroes IV is one of the best games I have had the joy of playing, I really love it, this game will suck you in the wonderful world of Axeoth, full of stories and mysteries. Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    Very good single game and great multiplayer (hot seats and on-line) I really like this game because this is m favorite Heroes game. Amazing game play, good graphics, original and differend maps and no bad campaign. Music and sounds in game is very good, climate is great. Heroes of Might and Magic IV isn't perfect game but is really very good tour strategy. 9.1/10
  3. Jun 3, 2011
    8
    I really dont get why people say its the worst game in the series. Personally i think its almost as good as HoMM 2 or 3. Guess its that people didnt like all the new concepts like moving units without a Hero, and having Hero fighting in combat. I think it worked good, people just hate changes.
  4. Msrat
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    Simply the best heroes of might and magic game EVER.
  5. Filip
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Ignore the people that gave the game a 0 just because of the AI, or some other trivial thing. (I didn't even notice the AI being that hard)

    This game is a magnificant piece of work, and it especially shines when it comes to story. So if you're looking for a great and compellin story, pick this - and more specificly - the Gauldoth Half-Dead Story. That, combined with the
    Ignore the people that gave the game a 0 just because of the AI, or some other trivial thing. (I didn't even notice the AI being that hard)

    This game is a magnificant piece of work, and it especially shines when it comes to story. So if you're looking for a great and compellin story, pick this - and more specificly - the Gauldoth Half-Dead Story.
    That, combined with the fantastic world of HoMM makes this game the best game I have ever played - end.
    Expand
  6. Tasho
    May 19, 2002
    9
    It is very cool but it needs much more ram than ever.
  7. RalphP.
    May 31, 2006
    10
    Whoever says this game is worse that 3 is ridiculous. This game has everything 3 didn't, especially graphics.
  8. Malkavian
    Jun 30, 2002
    10
    It's perfect.
  9. W.Tamis
    May 4, 2002
    10
    It's a very cool game, and it rocks!
  10. Osiris
    Jun 10, 2002
    8
    About what this kid said : "Wellyn R. gave it a 0: This game is f.....g wank have New World Computing relized it before completing the game. It has the option to play multiplayer but when you click on it you have to download an update." Whinin' sucker ! Learn to write The no-multi-available is an issue ... but doesn't kill the H4 experience. It's great ! Splendid
  11. MarchiusM.
    Jun 30, 2002
    9
    Finally, The Heroes IV appeared, and i'd like them. You know why? Because their interface is great and all game are good!
  12. [Anonymous]
    Apr 13, 2002
    10
    This game RULES! Little has changed since the third part, but enough for it to be a sequel. The concept is still the same. If you haven´t played the Heroes of Might and Magic series, this is your chance to get the most advanced version of the series.
  13. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    Definately the best game in the series. Heroes 4 brings you the opportunity to take your hero into the battle, for good this time, in a wonderful 3D atmosphere, with amazing music and beautiful maps. Its colour and sceneries remind me of old fantasy tales and medieval movies, like a Heroes game should. The combat system is almost flawless, the map editor gives you a wide array ofDefinately the best game in the series. Heroes 4 brings you the opportunity to take your hero into the battle, for good this time, in a wonderful 3D atmosphere, with amazing music and beautiful maps. Its colour and sceneries remind me of old fantasy tales and medieval movies, like a Heroes game should. The combat system is almost flawless, the map editor gives you a wide array of scripting, the only thing that i would say it is missing, is the possibility to edit certain buildings. The choices you have to make regarding the creatures in towns is also a great aspect, making each town a powerful asset in your scenario/campaign. The lack of a random map generator is probably the only thing that drags this game down a little, but still, there are plenty of those created by users for download. Expand
  14. Oct 25, 2015
    8
    Of course, it's not as good as its predecessor, the legendary Heroes III, but the game is entertaining and addicting. Its mechanics are significantly different from what we know from other Heroes games - for example, heroes are not necessary in an army. Probably, IV will always be considered the black sheep of the Heroes franchise, but it's worth picking up and giving it a try. Once youOf course, it's not as good as its predecessor, the legendary Heroes III, but the game is entertaining and addicting. Its mechanics are significantly different from what we know from other Heroes games - for example, heroes are not necessary in an army. Probably, IV will always be considered the black sheep of the Heroes franchise, but it's worth picking up and giving it a try. Once you let it speak for itself and show what's made of. Very underrated game. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Computer Gaming World
    50
    The new combat system is an almost unmitigated disaster. [July 2002, p.73]
  2. 87
    The great balance and fabulous background of the game are simply outstanding.
  3. The title takes everything that has ever been great about the series and elevates it to the next level. The changes revitalize the Heroes formula and provide more strategic gameplay than the series has ever offered.