Hitman: Codename 47 Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take control of this old-fashioned, modern-time assassin, and stay alive long enough to revile your past. Think to survive and learn to plan your hits. Exploit your enemy's hideout in three continents, and go forward to get back to where you started. Enter the world and face your self among madmen. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. One of the coolest and most absorbing games we've played all year.
  2. 90
    The combination of "Thief"-style sneaking with smart enemy A.I. and the use of realistic weapons-piano wire, silenced pistols, sniper rifles, and even M-60s-creates an intense experience, though many gamers will be frustrated by the lack of in-game saving.
  3. The translation from idea to reality was apparently too much for the poor thing, and it falls far short of expectations.
  4. A fun game that gets fatally sidetracked. I coulda been a contender. [Mar 2001, p.96]
  5. The visuals sound effects and gameplay concepts are great, yet the length of the game will surely make this product less popular than other FPS sneaker games like "NOLF" and the "Thief" series.
  6. If you are looking for an action title, but are getting tired of playing rehashes on the "Quake" formula, look no further than the generic assassin wearing a barcode on his head.
  7. Styled to appeal to the shooter crowd. Unfortunately, it feels as if the developer lavished too much attention on making the violence stylized and realistic, and then just threw a game around it. Great concept, extremely sloppy execution.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. TheJackal
    Jan 5, 2002
    10
    Great game!!!!
  2. CboB.
    Jan 15, 2004
    10
    This is the best game since gta 4.
  3. JasonE.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    This game is and was amazing, even almost seven years on, maybethe graphics are dated but the gameplay still takes your breath away and leaves you thinking, whats happened to the gameplay today? Why has more effort been put into graphics whilst the gameplay gets left behind? Give me second rate graphcs and codename47 state gameplay any day. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    Ground-breaking idea for a game. Lots of different locals. Varied ways to finish missions (though the penalty for killing everyone is hardly strict enough to deter that from being the easiest/most used option). The check point saves are not the ideal saving feature (quick saving is needed). Also some secondary objectives are more ambiguos (or not even alluded to at all). Still a solid game and great starting point for an awesome series. Expand
  5. JohnD.
    Mar 12, 2002
    7
    Good game and lots of fun. Keeps you hooked. Down side is lack of game save. When you have advanced a long way in the game (after 10 missions) each mission can last up to two hours at a time. When I took on the drug lord in the jungle I managed to kill him and virtually complete the level only for my PC to crash. This happened several times. Two hours into the level and having to start again. Game save option is a must for any follow up. That besides I would recommend the game. Should be higher up this list though. It is better than "Anachronox." Expand
  6. Dec 5, 2012
    7
    The best Hitman ever made, as well as the probably best stealth game. I wonder if will be there another game like this one, but I'm sure it won't. Great, funny and competitive gameplay, there's a lack of story (although the final missions are epic, especially the last 2 ones), but this game doesn't need it, because it's already great. Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    This game doesn't even deserve a one out of ten. I bought the hitman collection for 11 they DARE to sell this game for 7 They should have to PAY you to play this game. graphics, story, worst AI ever seen in video game history, crappiest level design, no effort put in at all. I am at level 7 and this game hasn't given me ONE mission that I've actually enjoyed. Great work IO!!!!! AN APPLAUSE FOR THIS AMAZING GAME!!!! This game doesn't even deserve to be reviewed... Collapse

See all 30 User Reviews