User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 941 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 941

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    Hotline Miami is an excellent game, up there in the best games I've played this year. Challenging, lightning-paced action abound as you make your way through apartments, nightclubs and other mobster hideouts, brutally murdering every living thing in your path.

    The controls, gameplay and frame rate are incredibly fluid, lending you total control and further enhancing the furiously fast
    Hotline Miami is an excellent game, up there in the best games I've played this year. Challenging, lightning-paced action abound as you make your way through apartments, nightclubs and other mobster hideouts, brutally murdering every living thing in your path.

    The controls, gameplay and frame rate are incredibly fluid, lending you total control and further enhancing the furiously fast action. You play from a bird's eye angle so you always have an idea of what's going on and how to quickly deal with any problems, yet also allows you to witness the full glory of your rampage.

    There's a great scoring system in place too which encourages players to be creative in their bloody massacres, and there's plenty of A+ grades, weapons and unique, ability-boosting masks to go after.

    The game oozes style, with a truly phenomenal soundtrack (if you don't get this game, listen to the soundtrack alone!), and it perfectly captures that idiosyncratic atmosphere of 80s Miami, drenched in neon and blood. It certainly doesn't hold back, either; you'll be regularly blowing limbs off with shotguns, bashing skulls to a pulp with baseball bats and iron bars, hacking people to bits with machetes, and a lot worse, so make sure you have a strong stomach.

    The only real flaw I can mention is the very out-of-place stealth section; it greatly damages the momentum and is poorly designed.

    Otherwise, the game is superb, totally worth its price, and I strongly recommend it to anyone who loves their action.
    Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2013
    9
    Atmosphere, gameplay mechanics, difficulty, artistic concept, psychedelic experience, awesome music etc. makes Hotline Miami a really good game. Totally worth playing, but beware of some bugs and a lot of unreasonable things happening.
  3. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    One of the best games I've every played, be it indie or not. Breathtaking soundtrack, amazing level design, mind-f*ing story line (still not sure if I've understood it).

    I hope they can create a couple more leves of this. I would be eager to buy it.
  4. Nov 5, 2014
    10
    Really really fun game, good mechanics and music. I love the idea of the masks. If you haven't checked this game out yet do so!

    The game is brutally hard, if your not into that there is no way to make it easier but this is the intention.
  5. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    1. This game has the best soundtrack I've ever heard.

    2. It plays like Super Meat Boy with GTA graphucs and a Fear and Loathing in Vice City vibe.

    3. It's ultra-violence at it's best.
  6. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    Amazing indie game, the people who are giving it 0s and 1s out of spite are hipsters and angsty teens who are trying to be relevant for once in their lives. Don't let idiots cloud your vision, this is a must-get!
  7. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    Hotline Miami is an excellent game. The game's artistic direction is great - the moment you turn the game on, you'll be sucked into it's universe, and it will be difficult to let go. It's like playing a bizarre music video. The colorful but gritty graphics seem to dance to it's pumping soundtrack

    The controls are easy to get and the game mechanics will soon lead you to a sequence of
    Hotline Miami is an excellent game. The game's artistic direction is great - the moment you turn the game on, you'll be sucked into it's universe, and it will be difficult to let go. It's like playing a bizarre music video. The colorful but gritty graphics seem to dance to it's pumping soundtrack

    The controls are easy to get and the game mechanics will soon lead you to a sequence of combos, and the game will reward you for your boldness and suicidal tactics. The masks you can choose can make a difference, so this game ain't no trial-and-error as some guys say. Some levels I would go all John Rambo on one moment, and in the other, I would catch a knife and give the enemies a Michael Myers slash-fest.

    The stealth level is a tad frustrating, but not THAT much. If you make good use of your 'look ahead' action, it will help you a lot.

    I highly recommend this to everyone!
    Expand
  8. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    This is not a game that everyone will enjoy. It presents a disconcerting, neon-glowing underworld through which the player is propelled by addictive, ultra-violent game mechanics. These actions, and their motivations, are turned on the player by posing them as questions - both outright, and implicitly, when the violence reaches its stomach-turning peaks. Hotline Miami presents one of theThis is not a game that everyone will enjoy. It presents a disconcerting, neon-glowing underworld through which the player is propelled by addictive, ultra-violent game mechanics. These actions, and their motivations, are turned on the player by posing them as questions - both outright, and implicitly, when the violence reaches its stomach-turning peaks. Hotline Miami presents one of the strongest explorations of video game violence and player motivations ever put to binary. It is also an important game. It brings to a mass audience what indie games are capable of: tackling issues that mainstream games **** around to avoid offending the press and the public, as well as eschewing the linear criteria of what's considered "quality" presentation in games. The game would be no better with more advanced graphics - in fact, the themes would be diluted by a greater focus on realism. The neon lights coupled with streaking blood and bright pink gore act like a scribbled highlighter on a page. The iconography of the character art works towards setting the player up: each enemy is faceless, their silhouettes only changing to convey what type of threat they are. They are set up to be classified as problems to be solved. This is what makes the questions posed to the player so powerful.

    The game is fun. But it's a strange kind of fun. I would implore you to try it with an open mind, without trying to frame it or categorize it at first. Like a great art-house film, it feels very "complete" in what it sets out to do, which goes above and beyond trivial issues such as "I don't like 2d art" or "why is there no health bar". Those who fail to open up to new experience miss out on a lot in life, this game being no exception...
    Expand
  9. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    I picked up this game the other day and I haven't been able to stop playing it. I'd say it's got a lot of things going for it, and I'm somewhat baffled by some of the more negative reviews I have read on here from other users. It is a top down shooter controlled by the keyboard for movement and the mouse for aiming. I can understand how the controls may give some people a hrd time, butI picked up this game the other day and I haven't been able to stop playing it. I'd say it's got a lot of things going for it, and I'm somewhat baffled by some of the more negative reviews I have read on here from other users. It is a top down shooter controlled by the keyboard for movement and the mouse for aiming. I can understand how the controls may give some people a hrd time, but I felt them clicking within about an hour of play. In my experience so far, it is incredibly easy to control, and I now find myself flying through levels at speeds that would have terrified me when I first started playing. The game is fast, brutal, and completely unforgiving. I have heard it compared to Trials HD on XBL, and that comparison is completely warranted. They are fundamentally different games, but they have that same rapid-fail, rapid-restart system that encourages experimentation and switching up yourstrategies to try to find the most painless, combo-streaking way to tear through the army of enemies littering the level. The use of violence, especially given the old-school graphics, is surprisingly over-the-top and visceral, and even manages to be unsettling to a certain degree, especially when, at the end of each level, you have to march back out to your car through a sea of mutilated bodies and blood covering the building. I have beaten the game through 3 times at this point, and I can't wait to get off of work to go back and blast my way through it again. It's simple, it's challenging, it's very unique (I can't think of any game to compare the actual minute-to-minute gameplay to) and I LOVE IT. It may not be for absolutely everyone, but it has won me over in a big way. If you're the kind of gamer who likes a challenge, and is up for mastering a new type of game you may not have extensive experience with already, this game is for you, and it's badass. My only real complaint in this flood of praise is that the game is kind of short, and with the simplicity of the basic mechanics, i'm a little disappointed that they couldn't throw in a few more level than what is there. But for 10 bucks, I definitely found it to be worth my money. Expand
  10. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Two guys. Old and primitive technology (Game Maker 7.1, 2007). One wonderful game in old-school hardcore style. Fantastic environment and atmosphere: from soundtrack to visual effects. Well designed gameplay / mechanics. It's godlike!
  11. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Pedro said that hotline miami is very good and he bought overlord to wipe your ass so that did not pay. And his mother took it and put it on the shelf of your home zazaTR your coconut.
  12. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    As well as being an incredibly exciting game which very smoothly brings puzzle elements into the top-down combat model it adopts, this is an arty and fascinating exploration of the psychopath. Don't let anyone tell you it's wrong to enjoy this game, it's intelligently designed and I had a great time.
  13. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    You can feel the true essence of hard boiled through all the game, it's like a good old game with a great and mysterious story. By the way, the music it's just perfect. Nothing bad, so for me it's a ten.
  14. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    First of all, I haven't completed the game, but I am close, and I fell that I have played enough to review it.

    Hotline Miami is a simple, yet gorgeous game! This game is a shooter, and a hard one. The average enemy needs one or two shots, or a single hit from a meele weapon, and so do you, so be careful! The gameplay is seen from above, and the game consists of 15 chapters, or
    First of all, I haven't completed the game, but I am close, and I fell that I have played enough to review it.

    Hotline Miami is a simple, yet gorgeous game! This game is a shooter, and a hard one. The average enemy needs one or two shots, or a single hit from a meele weapon, and so do you, so be careful!
    The gameplay is seen from above, and the game consists of 15 chapters, or levels, wich mostly concludes several maps.

    If you get a good score in a chapter, you will unlock new masks, with special abilities, and you'll also unlock weapons, wich can be found later on.

    The game also has a story, a twisted one, but I am not gonna spoil anything, play it for yourselves.

    The graphics of the game is pixelated, wich I think is fine personally; the game would've been badder if it was 'realistic' graphics in my opinion.

    The soundtrack is good, and fitting for the most situations. It's mostly electronic music.

    There is a few minor bugs here and there, like enemies going through walls, wich only happend once.

    Other than that, I can't say much more about the game; it's good, heart pumping, and difficult. I like that kind of games.
    9/10
    Expand
  15. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    The best game i've played since a whole ages. Soundtrack is making me play harder and harder. Violence, violence and violence makes it even better. Can play again and again just to make better scores. Masterpiece! The story is simple and straight forward, also makes You to play and finish game. Ending like in an old school games. Totally back to the past. I want more games like this one, please !
  16. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the best indie games that I have played in a long time. I literally spent a whole day dedicated to this game. Its brutal, fun, and addicting, and that's all I need for a decent game.
  17. May 17, 2013
    10
    Game is awesome soundtrack is awesome price is awesome graphics are correct. This game is just awesome.
    Runs on Windows, Mac and Linux (Linux port is planned for may, so in max 10 days we have it). 10/10 nothing more to say.
  18. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    Ignore any reviewer who complains about the graphics, or mentions the word 'hipster' they will have nothing meaningful to say.

    Sorry, but had to start with that. Yes, you're not buying a graphical pushing game, there are plenty of flash games with 'better' graphics, but this was the style they wanted and it fits the music and whole theme...It won't win awards, but as has been said
    Ignore any reviewer who complains about the graphics, or mentions the word 'hipster' they will have nothing meaningful to say.

    Sorry, but had to start with that. Yes, you're not buying a graphical pushing game, there are plenty of flash games with 'better' graphics, but this was the style they wanted and it fits the music and whole theme...It won't win awards, but as has been said playing a game for it's graphics is like watching porn for the plot.

    It can be tough, but I guarantee 75% of the deaths you suffer will be your fault...and you'll learn from them. You'll plan your run, then panic lob a shotgun at someone and sprint round a corner into a dog or forget the glass for the 100th time. You could probably complete all the levels in an afternoon but if you can pick it up for around $5 that's cheaper then a lot of evenings entertainment. And you will be entertained.

    It's a good game, and the 'plot' that is there and unfolds is just enough and just little enough to make you question things...you'll WANT to play more, to finish that level to see the next one....and the soundtrack to it is perfectly matched.

    Only a few gripes it's a little short, and to some extent limited replay value. I doubt I'd replay it for a while but I can see myself coming back in a year or 2. Some of the boss fights are just a little annoying, the biker has been mentioned by others, but really you'll get it in the end just the dialog every-time was needless

    I'd say it's more 8.5 but having to go one way or the other on the simple fact that it's a fun solid cheap game with a well played story and a great soundtrack it more then deserves the 9
    Expand
  19. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    Definitely one of the best games I have ever played. Once you get into it you will be hooked. Even if you are playing the same level over and over trying to complete it whilst swearing and smashing your desk at every failure, the thrill of beating the hardest levels will keep you playing. The soundtrack is also fantastic, you will spend hours in a pumped up Hot Line Miami trance. A must have game!
  20. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    It's a game that does exactly what it looks like. Makes you rage, and gives you violence. It's cool seeing the retro looking graphics with the rooster-headed, pipe-wielding crazy man. The story could use a bit of work, and the game is horribly punishing, but otherwise I would say it's definitely worth the investment.
  21. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Al principio parece que es un juego Indie cualquiera, pero a unos 15 minutos te vas dando cuenta que es Lo máximo.
    Tiene una buena trama y excelente historia, jamás me había divertido tanto con un juego como este.
    Y del soundtrack ni hablar es el mejor que he escuchado en harto tiempo, tiene una musica demasiado excelente que se adapta a cada misión haciendo sentir cada nivel y matanza
    Al principio parece que es un juego Indie cualquiera, pero a unos 15 minutos te vas dando cuenta que es Lo máximo.
    Tiene una buena trama y excelente historia, jamás me había divertido tanto con un juego como este.

    Y del soundtrack ni hablar es el mejor que he escuchado en harto tiempo, tiene una musica demasiado excelente que se adapta a cada misión haciendo sentir cada nivel y matanza como si fueras tu el que asesinaras .

    Si te adaptas a la historia vas a sumiendo la vida del personaje, como entra a la locura y como piensa en matar, poco a poco la dificultad se aumenta, tienes que pensar mucho más para pasar un nivel, para tener un excelente combo alto y mejorar tu puntuación.

    Lo que más me sorprendió al final fue que me entere que tan solo 2 personas desarrollaron esta maravilla de juego, y solo con eso se puede ver que su trabajo valió la pena.

    Sinceramente este juego lo recomiendo al 100 % y su calificación es de 100/100

    At first it seems that either is an Indie game, but about 15 minutes you begin to realize that it's the maximum.
    It has a good plot and great story, I had never had so much fun with a game like this.

    And not to mention the soundtrack is the best I've heard in sick time, he has too great music that fits each mission by killing each level and feel like you're the one who will murder.

    If you adapt the story're plunging the character's life, as hard to madness and how you plan to kill slowly the difficulty increases, you have to think much to pass a level, to have an excellent high combo and improve your score.

    What surprised me was that at the end I found out that only 2 people developed this wonderful game, and that alone can see his work paid off.

    I honestly recommend this game 100% and its rating is 10/10
    Expand
  22. May 6, 2014
    10
    Относительно недавно я "подсел" на инди-игрушки, и первой игрой, по совету моих друзей, из этого жанра стала именно Hotline Miami. Я уже с детства любил электронную музыку и стиль "retro wave", именно это и послужило поводом сыграть в эту игру.
    В первую очередь, что бросилось мне в глаза - это 16-32 битная графика и яркие цвета, которые придают свое настроение и навеивают дух 80-ых.
    Относительно недавно я "подсел" на инди-игрушки, и первой игрой, по совету моих друзей, из этого жанра стала именно Hotline Miami. Я уже с детства любил электронную музыку и стиль "retro wave", именно это и послужило поводом сыграть в эту игру.
    В первую очередь, что бросилось мне в глаза - это 16-32 битная графика и яркие цвета, которые придают свое настроение и навеивают дух 80-ых. Немалую роль для атмосферы здесь сыграл и саундтрек, который написали небезызвестные Pertrurbator и Scattle (об остальных я узнал именно благодаря игре, и за это разработчикам отдельное спасибо)
    Сюжет у игры есть, но лично он мне показался немного несвзяным, либо просто дело во мне. Честного говоря,я даже не знаю.
    Так же, на что меня подтолкнула эта игра - это на просмотр фильма "Драйв", и он мне понравился не меньше "Hotline Miami"
    Хочу выразить просто ОГРОМНУЮ благодарность Джонатану Сёдерстрёму и Деннису Уэдину, а так же Pertrurbator, M|O|O|N, Scattle, Sun Arraw, Coconuts, Jasper Byrne, El Huervo, Eirik Suhrke, Elliott Berlin. Я просто с нетерпением жду новую часть, и мне кажется, она выйдет не менее удачней, чем первая часть. Лишь для завершения процитирую известного блогера русской игровой комьюнити "10 из 10, госпаде! 10 из 10!":)
    Мое первое ревью на подобного рода сайте, прошу строго не пинать ^_^
    Expand
  23. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    This game is different. It is reminiscent of an old arcade game with a top-down view and classic joystick, button combination. With a hi-def bit design (pixelated, but the lines are sharp and contrast is perfect. Think minecraft, terreria, fez, etc..) but with a style of its own.

    Music: 10/10 It fits perfectly with the gameplay. It takes very general elements from older music in games
    This game is different. It is reminiscent of an old arcade game with a top-down view and classic joystick, button combination. With a hi-def bit design (pixelated, but the lines are sharp and contrast is perfect. Think minecraft, terreria, fez, etc..) but with a style of its own.

    Music: 10/10
    It fits perfectly with the gameplay. It takes very general elements from older music in games like pokemon, megaman, metroid.. etc.. but with a modern twist. It does this well, the pairing of the music with the visuals and gameplay create a truly immersive environment. There is variety within the areas you travel in-game to the point where you actually hear it. It is catchy as hell, loops, and best of all, it doesn't get annoying.

    Gameplay:
    Very good mechanics and responsive gameplay make controlling the player avatar efficient. It can be fast or slow paced depending on your style which makes this a deeper game than I originally thought. It is strategy meets reflexes and stealth. Do you like sneak around with melee weapons to avoid alarms as in splinter cell? Do you like the badass loose cannon that gets **** done by rushing in guns blazing? This game can satisfy your need for planning what you will do next as well as the need to shoot everything. However, the in-between in lacking. By that, I mean you will always do one or the other. You may plan as much as you want, but the rooms will always loop. The enemies in the rooms have a plan to follow [code]. They will patrol what they are programmed to patrol until you give them reason to attack you. This is fine, but feels as if the situations become very similar. Weapon choice is also limited with either a selection of [ranged] guns or [melee] weapons. You may also perform executions which, while a nice touch and nice way to make sure you got the kill, does not add or subtract from the overall gameplay. There are also [stat/effect] modifiers in the form of various masks your character may use while playing through the story, such as the ability to add lethality to opening a door, or increased walking speed.

    Overall: 8.7
    Hell of a good game. Difficult enough to keep you interested and playing with good tunes to listen to. You will be mad after a getting killed a few times, but you have to realize that is part of the game. Error is met with a restart of your last checkpoint, so it is somewhat forgiving. Great Indie game, would recommend.
    Expand
  24. Mar 10, 2015
    10
    If you where ever a fan of the first Hotline Miami then you will without a doubt like Hotline Miami 2. It takes the older game and only improves it! The story, graphics, characters all have been made very well. Even some minor problems like rebinding controls have been added to make the audience like it more. I cant stop playing this game it is Hotline Miami but improves on every base.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. 87
    From the get-go, Miami’s presentation has a unique style, with vivid colors, generous amounts of post-process filtering and a stunning soundtrack (you will just let the game play on, only to hear the tracks). But at the same time, all notions of continuous fast-paced action gameplay disappear. Hotline Miami is essentially a top-down stealth game, that rewards the player with imaginative (and quite violent) kill animations. [January 2013]
  2. Dec 18, 2012
    88
    A stylish slice of retro carnage. This is the bloodiest, least forgiving game of the year. [Jan 2013, p.85]
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    A drug-induced coma of violence, strategy, death and rebirth. [Jan 2013, p.67]