Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Jun 5, 2011
    76
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Jul 21, 2011
    70
    The single-player mode fails to entertain. The characters are not really funny, and you can easily get bored by repetitive dungeon raids. But if you bring your friend along – it's a completely different experience. [August 2011, p.101]
  3. Jul 3, 2011
    70
    Proves that a co-op combat-based RPG can work and, while it's not perfect, it's definitely worth a look.
  4. Jun 15, 2011
    70
    After a false start, Hunted: The Demon's Forge delivers some good things along the way. The game let you choose which character you wish to play from a certain point on, though you can't switch from Caddoc to E'lara anytime. There are some nice fights, a lot of different enemies to deal with, large maps and generally good graphics. The single player campaign also lasts a solid 13 to 14 hours.
  5. Jun 14, 2011
    70
    A game with good ideas and a great cooperative experience, although it is not that polished and has some minor flaws in control and design. A mediocre title when played solo, but great when played with a friend.
  6. Jun 15, 2011
    69
    Hunted isn't an amazing game, but it will entertain action-RPG fans with hours of good old-days gameplay.
  7. Jul 14, 2011
    68
    Stuck on your own, easily ignored. With a friend, a solid hack-and-slash, but nothing special, or half as funny as it thinks.
  8. 68
    It has a pretty rough beginning section, but players who endure will be treated to some great gameplay. Whether or not it's worth trudging through the awkward tutorial or the burdensome first chapter is up to you. Personally, I'm glad I did it.
  9. Jul 7, 2011
    65
    Hunted: The Demon's Forge is a fun game but it never seems to reach its true potential. The concept is interesting but it looks like the developers didn't spend enough time creating better puzzles. The co-op and the special attacks are the only things making this game worthwhile.
  10. Jul 4, 2011
    65
    Your choice of the character (Caddoc, a warrior, or E'lara, a ranged weapon specialist) determines whether Hunted turns out to be a generic hack'n'slash or a quite decent fantasy themed shooter. I was surprised how much I enjoyed scoring headshots with a bow. [July 2011, p.70]
  11. Jun 17, 2011
    65
    Development of cooperative games is a contemporary standard. A gamer aware of the fact that he or she can play the game with a friend, brother, father or a stranger on the other side of the planet is a happy gamer. Even if sometimes it turns out that the game isn't as good when played alone. That's why it's hard to grade Hunted: The Demon's Forge – I had a good time, but I'm aware of all the imperfections of this game.
  12. Jul 7, 2011
    60
    A trivial hack and slash action with very little RPG thrown in the mix, which could be fun but only for a short period of time. From the story through graphics over to gameplay and game mechanics – Hunted is just above the edge of average, which is mostly due to a solid co-op mode.
  13. Jun 22, 2011
    60
    An action game in the Trojan horse of an RPG. There are better co-op experiences, but if you've already played those, Hunted will entertain for a little while.
  14. Jun 4, 2011
    60
    It's odd blend of cover-based shooting, a fantasy setting, and hot co-op action make it an eyebrow-raiser, but the execution is flawed.
  15. 55
    With its derivative world and characters, it's at best a guilty pleasure but probably isn't worth your time unless you can find it at a bargain bin price.
  16. Aug 8, 2011
    50
    Competent hack-'n'-slash with a few neat ideas wrapped in a package that's remarkably unremarkable. [Sept 2011, p.64]
  17. 50
    We didn't expect much yet we are disappointed. Linear hack'n'slash offers tedious contents, repeatable enemies and environments and above all it fails in cooperation mode. [July 2011]
  18. Jun 27, 2011
    50
    In a few months no one will look back to Hunted: The Demon Forge. The only aspect of the game that might stick, would be the atrocious artificial intelligence. It doesn't really offer the player anything to keep playing, and therefore it simply scores below average.
  19. Jun 21, 2011
    50
    Hunted has potential. It has the art design and spark, but the attempt at a genre hybrid ultimately falls short.
  20. Jul 26, 2011
    49
    Hunted is one of those action games that fly into one ear and exit through the other without even touching your brain.
  21. Jun 4, 2011
    45
    Hunted: The Demon's Forge buries its rock-solid ideas under a mound of execution blunders.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 55
  2. Negative: 12 out of 55
  1. Jun 2, 2011
    0
    this game was a waste of time and money, broken coop-up doesn't work unless you have hamachi or another VLAN program to help connect. the combat is not that great. i expect more for 50 bucks then a pile of crap. Full Review »
  2. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    Alright my first review was harsh and I DID get the multiplayer to work. Everything has changed. This game is great. All the critics who said otherwise are totally wrong and usually they are. I mean look at the guy at IGN - Ryan Clements. He doesn't know anything about games. Like saying there are several other games with "elves and dragons" better than this. There's nothing like that, especially with co-op, and MMOs don't count since you have to group with a bunch of losers & grind on lame quests. Hunted is good and the characters have really detailed personalities, and good voice actors backing them (BloodRayne and Dante (fron Dante's Inferno). Big and small choices matter in this, and some interesting game mechanics are put to use in relation to those choices. Sure there are some bugs and some things that could have been done a little better, but this is the case with all games. Art in general is never perfect and games never are. If you buy this for singleplayer you won't be happy though. Definitely needs a co-op partner to take advantage of the game.

    Oh and people who say this is like Gears or something are wrong. It's nothing like any of those games. There is a lot of thought put into this game and how combat works for each character. There are a lot of touching moments in the cutscenes too and the story is excellent. The only thing that bothered me was the bad ending. if you go for the good ending this game's story ties up nicely, but it definitely needs a sequel. I hope despite all the negative people that don't know what they are talking about, that this game gets a sequel. It's on my top 10 now.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 2, 2011
    7
    Ok. Coming back from having played the game in coop mode i can tell you this. It's hard, and it's fun. There's actually quite a bit of character customization which evaded me in the start. Besides the obvious 6 skills that your characters can acquire each of the 6 skills have 3 upgrades ..making it 18 + 3 modifiers for each of those 18 skills. The AI is nowhere near dumb as i initially thought. Barely reaching chapter 2 and playing on the 2nd difficulty there have been times when we died in coop. Considering most of the time you can even ressurect your partner (1 res for each vial you possess) that's quite a few deaths. Graphically speaking, the tutorial does no justice to this game. It was horrible and totally uninspired. However once chapter 1 started everything got better. Also the game's visuals can ba vastly improved if you have an nvidia card by forcing AA and Ambient Occlusion. With a 8xAA + performance AO in 1080p gtx 560 ti i stayed in the 60 fps range. And the graphics got way better. Only issue i had with this is once i tried to play coop with AA and AO forced the game crashed. Singleplayer was fine however so im not quite sure what to make of it. To finish this off : if you're expecting a loot-driven hack&slash similar to diablo/titan quest don't bother. However if you want to play a fun coop dark-fantasy setting game similar to gears-of-war system then this might be for you. I'll be giving it a 9 BUT ONLY AS COOP. Full Review »