Hydrophobia Prophecy PC

Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. May 16, 2011
    90
    Dark Energy Digital sets the bar incredibly high for every other developer out there as a company that not only cares and supports their games but continuously strives to improve them even after they have your money. Hydrophobia: Prophecy is not only the best iteration of the game to date, it is by far the most visually stunning and engaging game I've played on my PC since Crysis 2, and for only $12 you won't find a better game or a better bargain.
  2. Jun 13, 2011
    83
    A game that will steal you away with its ridiculously detailed rendering – of water.
  3. May 16, 2011
    80
    Dark Energy has proven that determination and commitment do actually pay off. Hydrophobia Prophecy is in fact a great game that deserves attention from both newcomers to the brand and gamers that might have already played the older versions of the game.
  4. Oct 27, 2011
    78
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. May 10, 2011
    78
    It's the best Hydrophobia yet, and it's absolutely worth a look, but it still falls just shy of greatness.
  6. May 9, 2011
    78
    Dark Energy is to be commended for their interest in community feedback and for releasing an improved version of the game rather than a half-hearted port.
  7. May 30, 2011
    76
    There's a lot of interesting fodder here, but at this point, Dark Energy would be better off running with a clean slate instead of essentially patching and re-patching this one. If you are curious and can tolerate the low points, give it a run. But if you have already stepped into Kate's shoes on XBLA, there's no need to lace them up again.
  8. May 15, 2011
    75
    Prophecy significantly improves upon the original Hydrophobia, but not all of the issues from last year's Xbox Live Arcade game have been resolved.
  9. May 10, 2011
    75
    Hydrophobia: Prophecy is a bargain title with a unique twist to the third-person run & gun. It remains to be seen if "swim & gun" games will make a splash in the industry, but this one is worth a look.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 58
  2. Negative: 15 out of 58
  1. May 11, 2011
    7
    Despite the criticism I have seen, it's not a bad little game, especially for the price. It's nothing too special... pretty linear, someDespite the criticism I have seen, it's not a bad little game, especially for the price. It's nothing too special... pretty linear, some platforming and cover-based shooting elements, and very pretty fire and water effects. Developers are active on the Steam forum and patching and tweaking based on player feedback, which is always good, although it's not buggy or anything at all. I'd say give it a go if it looks interesting to you. Hopefully they will have a PC demo soon. And I'd recommend a 360 controller for it, it just fits the game better. Full Review »
  2. Jul 6, 2011
    4
    Hydrophobia is a strange case. I would want to like this game, but all the technical problems in the game just make me not to. This game isHydrophobia is a strange case. I would want to like this game, but all the technical problems in the game just make me not to. This game is more like a short tech demo about the cool water effects the developers has been able to create. Only problem is that the game engine is half-done and broken. There are also lots of nice ideas that could have made this game really good if someone would have placed more effort into the game itself.

    The story is from a cheap B class movie, nothing complex or genius. Also the voice acting is from the same movie category. The game is also very short, which in this particular game was not a problem thoughâ
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 13, 2011
    0
    Nope. This game has myriad premise and fails to deliver in every single field. Water physics do nothing but get in the way. Objectives areNope. This game has myriad premise and fails to deliver in every single field. Water physics do nothing but get in the way. Objectives are simple find-the-button busywork. Platforming is shallow. Protagonist controls poorly. Combat is awful cover shooting against pathetic AI. Weapons feel like **** Narrative and characters are handled with a Call of Duty level of absurdity. Full Review »